We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, charming little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value, charming little hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We stayed 4 nights at this local gem, which is good value in an otherwise expensive but very nice area. The location is perfect, not far from a number of very good restaurants, shops and an excellent beach. A short walk up a steep hill that takes you off the main beach road and results in a quieter hotel atmosphere.

I would recommend this hotel to travelers who are looking for a smaller hotel with local charms as opposed to high end perfection and "pampering". If a traveler is seeking the latter, the other more fancy hotels within a stone's throw cost up to $750 more per night. One could complain about little things relative to the Tropical, but you get a lot for what you pay for relative to the environs.

The staff was friendly and the service was good. Rooms are not large but adequate and clean. The breakfast was included and was fine as continental breakfasts go. Beautiful and lush internal courtyard full of palms, ferms and tropical lushless, if you will, that added to a very attractive Caribbean atmosphere.

The website pictures provide an accurate description of the Tropical Hotel, which is helpful in making a decision. Often hotel pictures create a vision or image that is not experienced first hand. Not so with the Tropical.

We liked the place and would most surely return. Thanks Tropical for a great vacation.

  • Liked — Great value in a terrific location
  • Disliked — Not much. The rooms are smaller and are a bit dated, but just fine.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Francophile94027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    40
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
46
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

My husband and I we stayed at the Tropical hotel from October 31st until November 9th and we loved it, the location is very good even if we preferred orient beach, this hotel is a few meters from St. Jean beach, the rooms are well decorated and we choose sea view who was OK, the staff is very friendly and useful.
The only remark is the hotel is too small for families with children so in the morning some times is very noisy when the children are in the pool. The breakfast is simple but delicious
We definitely recommend this hotel for a first visit to st. Barth

  • Liked — The staff very friendly and efficient
  • Disliked — the noisy from the chldren in the pool
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RAGAZZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2007

We had been to St. Barts just once before, on a day trip and decided that we would like to return this year for a few days. Our vacation started in St. Martin (French side) for 5 days and then flew via Air Carribe to St. Barts. Someone from the hotel was there to greet us. He was cordial but spoke very little english. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a young french woman who checked us in and advised that the ocean view room which we requested and prepaid for was not available until the next day. We were compinsated for the situation with a complimentary diner in a fine restaurant located near the hotel. The room were very small. They supplied two bath towels, no hand towels or wash cloths for showering. Upon requesting the wash cloths, we were advised that you could only have two per room.

It seems that the hotel caters to predominately French clients. There english was by far the worst on the island. One night my wife asked for a napkin while having a drink at the bar. The yound lady serving the drink gave her peanuts when she asked for the napkin.

The rooms were small and the ocean view was not what we expected. The hotel is located at the top of a 90 degree incline hill and is more like 100 yards from the beach. It is a public beach with no aminities. If you have a heart condition or have difficulty in walking you will have a problem getting to the beach and more likely getting back.

I must say the breakfasts were not bad at the hotel and the girls serving them was cheerful.

I don't think I would return to the island until the value of the dollar gets stronger. On our vist to the both islands the value of the dollar was 60 percent of it value. Meaning you get 60 cents in euro for a dollar.

Our accomodations at the hotel in St. Martin was 10 times better for just about the same price.

  • Liked — The breakfast.
  • Disliked — Location and hotel employees.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ralphgumshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

"For the Fantasy" was why the very attractive young French Lady, Majaliene, who served breakfast at the Tropical, described her coming to St Barts. The Tropical certainly contributed to my "fantasy stay" last week. The hotel is a great value for the spacious room, beautiful gardens, and airy and immaculately kept sitting/lounge areas and bar.

Hotel is perfectly situated on the island - close to St Jean Beach and it's great shops and bistros and only 10 minutes drive to Gustavia and Saline Beach (my favorite). Most of my fellow vacationers were French folks and their young ones. The more expensive hotels seem to have the Americaines which suited me fine.

Breakfasts are great (with a view of the beach if you grab the poolside tables) especially when served by Majaliene!

Recommend the Nikki Beach Club for beachside Caribe's and an awesome scallop salad and the Wall House Restaurant in Gustavia for dinner.

Will return to the Tropical in a heartbeat.. One recommendation, be prepared for Euro/$ sticker shock while on the island.

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArtnStBarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Having never been to St. Barth's, we didn't know what to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised with Tropical Hotel! We are a couple in our late twenties on a budget, so we wanted someplace with a good location and relatively good value - St. Jean was the perfect location. It was a fun, young town, and it had some good shops and food. Not too sleepy! The Tropical Hotel was clean, bright, and quiet. And the breakfast was always delicious and relaxing! DEFINITELY rent a car - St. Jean beach is beautiful, but the ther island beaches are amazing too, and probably quieter. We're thinking about going back next spring as well!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, quiet
  • Disliked — steep hill at entrance. parking lot views along with the ocean view, but wasn't too bad.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank becky52381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
421 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

I have always wanted to visit St. Barts, but I was frightened of both the prices and the possibility of an atmosphere reeking with pretentious arrogance. However, this island surprised me on both accounts.

We decided to go with the Tropical Hotel's off season special of $170 a night with the use of a car. We were met at the quaint airport by a smiling Sarah, an employee of the Tropical Hotel, who proved to be indispensable throughout the week. The hotel was a few minute drive from the airport up a very steep hill. The front desk welcome was wonderful and our very poor French skills were tolerated and enjoyed.

Our room was on the smaller side, but nicely decorated with plenty of closet space and storage. A refrigerator and safe were provided, and although there was no use for it, a television was in the room. The air-conditioner worked well and everything was spotlessly clean. The bed, surrounded by decorative mosquito netting was comfortable enough. The bathroom shower invigorated us with hot water and their was ample room for all our toiletries. We asked for a room with a terrace over looking the water, and although the parking lot interrupted the view, it was lovely if you aimed your eye sight correctly. The bathroom towels were plentiful and beach towels are available daily after a refundable deposit is handed over. The room was not luxurious, but for this price, on this island, it was fantastic.

The pool was small but certainly served its purpose for this small hotel. It was very refreshing taking a dip every afternoon after our day at the beach. The inclusive continental breakfast was exactly what you expect, and the croissants tasted fresh and oh so Francois.

Although you are not located exactly on a beach, The Tropical Hotel has an ideal location. You are a few minute walk from the action of St. Jean Beach and a short drive from the restaurants, night spots and shopping of Gustavia.

The Tropical Hotel was an ideal place for a reasonable vacation on this charming, but very expensive island. As in many places around the globe, the high costs are indicative of the desirability of being there. Why are New York, San Francisco, London, Paris St. Tropez, St. Barts, Majorca etc. expensive? They all have a great deal to offer and people are willing to spend to enjoy it. Yet, as in all these places, if you do your research and are vigilant, you can enjoy a vacation without mortgaging your child's education. The Tropical Hotel is a perfect spot to enjoy this incredible island at a reasonable price in off season. During high season, the rates go up one hundred dollars.

  • Liked — The comfort considering the price
  • Disliked — The view of the parking lot
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

My 17 year old Godson, Philip, and I stayed here for Easter week, 7 nights. We booked room number 1, with a terrace facing the water. The room had vaulted ceiling with barn like wooden beams, and was done in pale blue and white. The bathroom was large with a stall shower. The staff were amazing and helped us at every turn. There is a small bar open early in the evening, where we had a rose wine or champagne before heading out to dinner at 9 pm. The location is FABULOUS as you can walk (2 minutes) to two of the most popular beaches, Niki Beach and Eden Rock. Also, you can walk to all the boutiques in St. Jean and the Creole Village. This is a real find and we will go back as soon as we can!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of pool
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiggyManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
572 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
16 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel St Barth

Property: Tropical Hotel St Barth
Address: Baie de Saint Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Hotel St Barth 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Hotel St Barth is one of the historical establishments of Saint Barthelemy. A charming Boutique hotel, located just steps from the beach in Saint Jean, 700m from the airport and 3km from Gustavia. The new owners have decided to update the design in a more contemporary style in 2016. As a result, The Tropical Hotel St Barth has been transformed into a bohemian chic boutique hotel, in the style one finds in Mykonos, Ibiza, and Saint Barth, a mix between large luxury hotels and small family-run properties. The 22 rooms were recently redesigned from head-to-toe, with new "Rock the Kasbah" furnishings by Philippe XERRI. The decor has simple, clean lines, very natural, and showcasing such materials as wood, cotton, and linen. The design is both simple and sophisticated-a successful reflection of the image of Saint Barth. When it comes to service, the priority is on excellent and personalized service to meet all of the clients' needs. The Restaurant BOHEMIA, located in the heart of the tropical garden of the hotel and is the ambassador of the French “Art de Vivre” in Saint Barth! Chef Bisani and his wife Linda bring to the island a wonderful marriage of French – Mediterranean and Asian cuisine. An authentic experience, both culinary and multi-sensory, in a chic atmosphere in the heart of the tropical garden of the hotel. Restaurant open daily from 07:00 a.m to 11:00 p.m Breakfast – Lunch – Dinner – Bar – Cocktails A wonderful addition to the hotel scene, the new Tropical Hotel St Barth is a great place to spend an unforgettable island vacation, while discovering the charms this newly renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Tropical Hotel St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel St Jean
Tropical Hotel St Barth St. Jean, Caribbean - St. Barthelemy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing