We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" THE BEST!!!!!!!'' 50th Birthday ever!!”
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tom Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“" THE BEST!!!!!!!'' 50th Birthday ever!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had the best time! The Beach is fabulous and the service is unsurpassed!!
The whole set up could not be better; roll out of bed into the beach cafe for lavazza cappuchino and croissants, then to lounge chair in front of the prettiest beach ever, then ordering the freshest lobsters
delivered daily by boat in front of the beach is truly an amazing lunch and the most delicious ever!!!! The Food could not have been better its no wonder why chef Todd English frequents Tom Beaches restaurant, Le Plage often!
The entire staff was great but Guilluame the concierge helped me set up all the parties and arrangements for 25 guests which enabled me to make my 50th Birthday Party perfect!! He was wonderful and very nice and oh what a party it was!!!!

Room Tip: all the same except 2 on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    69
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
217
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Tom Beach five nights, Jan 21-26. Our package included a car and continental breakfast, as well as transfers for the ferry (We came from Anguilla to St. Maarten to St. Barths, then also ferried back from SB to SM on our departure day. We loved the ferry rides, beautiful weather and water).
Marie was very helpful with our booking and arrangements, and boh Marie and Daniella, as well as all members of the staff at the hotel and restaurant could not have been more helpful.
We very much enjoyed meals at La Plage, and Le Tom and La Plage are in the best location on St. Jean Beach, by far the best place to stay on the beach in beautiful SB. Always a great breeze off the water, windsurfers flying around, multi colored water, mountains framing the ocean on both sides, just perfect.
Had great dinners at The Hideaway, Le Select, La Plage, etc. lunch one day at Le Corial on Grand Cul De Sac was ideal. Had drinks at many places, including On the Rocks at Eden Rock (special) and Hotel Carl Gustaf.
Locals all over SB were outgoing and friendly, and we will return to Le Tom Beach !!

Room Tip: We liked our upstairs Room #11 very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This review is only for the restaurant, La Plage. St. Barth is a super chic, beautiful, yet expensive place to visit with good shopping and restaurants. St. Jean beach is a great place to relax due to the calm water, availability of services, and great people watching. Nikki Beach is another alternative. Our meal at La Plage was OK, and the service was a little slow. However, we would consider returning because some of the other dishes we didn't order looked really good. Plus, the atmosphere was very happening--DJ, nice views, relaxing, and even a lady modeling clothes--although the cigarette smoking is too much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Pleasant helpful staff and cozy rooms. Good housekeeping. Minus for a long time to get errors in the room corrected (changing the light bulb). Wifi in the room broke four days of six. Smelled of sewage running from room to pool. No cushions on the furniture, got some thin too small when we asked.Nice restaurant & staff with fulll speed during the day. Missing coffeemakers in the room.

Room Tip: Not for small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naffats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tom Beach - our 3rd or 4th time at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were comfortable and offered the requisite amenities. A car (we elected a SMART) was included which is a fanatastic add-on as well as VIP travel assistance in St. Maarten, which is very helpful in that you are whisked though customs. As a matter of fact, he met us before customs and personally led us through the airport to our connection while taking care of our luggage. He even managed to get us on an earlier flight.

The beach at Tom Beach is long and beautiful, although the property only has a small parcel of its own, so the lounges are closely set. But the staff has everything set up by 8AM every morning, and its clean and well tended. The small commuter planes landing and talking off from the small airport offer a bit of interest and excitment as the are right off the beach. They are not loud or bothersome, just an added sight.

The breakfast (included) consists of croissants and french bread and wonderful coffee or hot chocolate, as well as freshly-squeezed juice. You can get a full breakfast should you wish, but it's not inlcuded. The food is still really good, but I recommend only a few lunches and dinners at the hotel as the island offers so many other options.

You can walk to St.Jean (absolutely skip the Nikki Beach - the food is below average, it's way over-priced and the staff are snobs hired more for looks than intelligence. Nothng like being talked down to by 20 year old who makes $15k a year). Anyway, St. Jean is a cute little village with shops and restaurants.

My only negative comment about the hotel is the stench that comes from the garden area where the rooms are located. It was almost constant and I think its simply due to the watering system always running which makes the garden into a swamp. And that's the smell you get as you leave your room or walk to the reception/beach.

Lastly, Sundays are get-together days on St.Barths where families and friends gather for lunch. Tom beach had many such groups enjoying the day, one of which was a group of 8 or 9 young Americans (early 20s). Sad to say, they got drunk, began exposing themselves, simulating sex on the tables, and generally acting like white-trash (actually, they were white -trash, so that was to be expected). It's pathetic what a drunken 20 year old girl will do for a drink. The French families (many with young children) mostly left. Then some of the guys started getting beligerent and a drunken argument started. My only probelm with the Tom Beach is that, even after they were obviously drunk, the staff was still selling them bottles of Champagne and other drinks. They should have cut them off, asked them to leave, and if they refused, contact the gendarmes (police). They should never have let them take over the place simply because they had deep pockets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valandraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Fantastic location, staff were more than helpful, we were surprised at the level of service at this place. We would happily go back and stay with the team at Tom beach resort, LEGENDS!!!
Fresh lobster straight off the boat then on the bbq, cant get any better than that!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I can't say enough good things about this vacation. Staff were wonderful. The room was great (could have used an armoire). The beach and restaurant were great. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plpl1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
1.6 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
0.3 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Property: Tom Beach Hotel
Address: Baie de St Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the white sandy beach of St-Jean, on St Barthelemy, Tom Beach Hotel offers an outdoor pool and water sports facilities. There is a free airport shuttle, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The beachfront air-conditioned rooms feature a terrace with garden and sea views. Our rooms feature a King sized bed, individually controlled air-conditioning, flat screen TV with DIRECT TV channels, Bluetooth speakers, Nespresso coffee maker with Nespresso capsules, ceiling fan, mini-bar, electronic safe, « Molton Brown » bath amenities, hairdryer and beach towels. We also provide free high-speed Internet access in guest’s rooms and at La Plage Restaurant. The complex has Beach bar and a lively restaurant. Guests can request breakfast in the room. Shopping, bars and restaurants can be found in the nearby center of Gustavia town. Laundry service is available and can rent a car from the tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tom Beach Hotel St. Jean, Caribbean - St. Barthelemy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing