We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in room 19”
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Guanahani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in February after the Hotel Christopher did not honor the room that we booked through Expedia. We are so grateful that we were relocated to this hotel! That unfortunate event brought us to this incredible place! This is truly an amazing hotel. We had great views of the Grand-Cul-de-Sac and the Atlantic Ocean. The service at this hotel is exceptional and the grounds are very well maintained. The breakfast buffet is excellent and so is the option to have breakfast on your terrace. We ate at some other hotels and walked around them a bit. We both agreed that we were at the best hotel. The beach is relaxing, the spa and the spa services were fantastic and It is a very quiet and clean hotel. We are planning to return to the Guanahani in November.

Definitely rent a car and check out some of the other beaches on the island. AND, yes, the Guanahani will pack you a cooler with ice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Tracy S

Thank you so much for your very nice review. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with such a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in November.

With best wishes

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, as well run as any resort hotel. The rooms are lovely, the terraces huge and comfortably furnished, the food excellent and the staff attentive, professional and friendly. We had a marvelous stay. There are better beaches than the one the hotel fronts but that is one of the reason renting a car is a must on this island.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms on bay side (for instance, number 45) have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxtravelsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear luxtravelsNYC

Thank you for your review and we are very happy that we were able to provide you with a wonderful vacation. Hope to wlecomeing you back soon.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a truly amazing stay at the Guanahani. We stayed for one week in February in Room 40, which is right on the beach with a wrap terrace and expansive views of Grand Cul-de-Sac. Our room was perfect and so was the furniture on the patio. The service was impeccable, and the spa services were terrific. The grounds are meticulously kept; there is a man whose sole job appears to be picking trash and dead leaves from the landscaping with tweezers. Everything is freshly painted, crisp and feels new.

The breakfast buffet had french pastries that were to die for. Their formal restaurant, Bartolomeo, has great ambience and delicious food with a DJ at night that added a festive touch.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcisrhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear jcisrhiannon (New York, New York)

Thank you so much. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with such a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

there are places you go with your kids and places you go with each other. this is one of those places which is probably great for kids, but we wouldn't know first hand as it's so nice to go without the kids, we never bring them! we LOVE the guanahani as it's the perfect balance in st. barth of beach and spa, fun and quiet, away from town, but not too far away, etc etc. one of our favorite places on the planet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Sam A
I am really pleased to read your kind message. It is such a delight to hear that you found our dedicated team to be both friendly and helpful, this is exactly the kind of comments we strive for.
I look forward to welcoming you back to your caribbean home, the Hôtel Guanahani & Spa, with your wife and the kids very soon.
With my best regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We are about to return to Le Hotel Guanahani for our fifth consecutive year. This review is based on our many visits. Having stayed at other hotels in St. Barts, here is what we love about this hotel:

The staff is happy, helpful and fun. From the moment they pick you up at the airport and offer you a cold bottle of water, their smiles, warmth and enthusiasm creates a very welcome feel.
The location is perfect. It is the only hotel with its own beach (Eden Rock has a beach, but it feels public and it right near the airport).
The villas are well maintained, comfortable and surrounded by well-tended gardens that create privacy.
Breakfast is served on your terrace by two people, making set-up and delivery quick. It also has the freshest most finely cut fruit salad you’ll ever find.
The tennis courts are lit and we always enjoy a game after sunset. They also keep good equipment and will often give you a new canister of tennis balls, not old used ones.
Small details are observed by all staff. For example, housekeeping leaves fresh cut hibiscus flowers in your room. These are not only beautiful, but if you happen to find a turtle in your garden, the hibiscus flower is their favorite food.
The beach stretches long enough away from the island hills that you can enjoy direct sunlight almost up to sunset.
The toiletries are Clarins, and they are generous and never let them run out. In addition, you will find two pair of sandals, a citronella candle and bug spray, though the ocean breeze usually keeps the away flying insects.
Barto is much improved over the past few years and now one of the best dinner places on the island.
The spa is beautiful, peaceful and has a private pool.

This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenCampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Darren C,
It is a great pleasure to read your praiseful review. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Guanahani for the last 5 years and sharing your experience on trip advisor.
I personally passed on your kind words to the entire team which was very pleased. We are honored that you were so impressed with the service you received and the design of our luxury hotel. We are very grateful that you definitely recommend us
Thank you again for all your great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to your Caribbean home, the Hôtel Guanahani & Spa

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I just got back from our incredible 9 days-8 night trip to St. Barth yesterday. It was our first trip to the island, and we are glad we decided to stay at Guanahani. (We went to look at other contenders (Eden Roc, Isle de France, Christopher- glad we stayed where we were.) Our garden 1 bedroom suite - cottage was tastefully decorated and spacious. We had a wrap around terrace with our own fenced in backyard. The property is spacious. Their beach area is very cute with thatched roof umbrellas. It is well set up to accommodate all of the guests even when the hotel is fully booked.

As many reviewers stated, their entire service staff is well trained and the outstanding service they provide really adds that magic touch to your vacation. Their excellent service is consistent throughout entire property -from the concierge who made all of our dinner reservations to the waitstaff at the restaurant truly made our vacation wonderful. We used the spa steam room and the pool everyday. The food is wonderful at all of their restaurants. - We had breakfast at Indigo every morning - overlooking the beach. Their Bartholomew restaurant was excellent. We had an incredible stay here at Guanahani.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Lisa C,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Guanahani & Spa. Every years, we do our best to improve our services and our accommodations in order to satisfy all our guests and provide them with an unforgettable experience. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Warmest regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing service... Great experience overall
The staff is well trained and truly makes you feel special.
The rooms have also been recently renovated.
The only negative comment that I can possibly mention, is the Internet was weak and needs to be strengthened.
We would definitely recommend this to all our friends, and in fact brought a group of friends with us, and they loved it.
By the way the food in the restaurant Bartholomew at the hotel was really good and very beautiful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Paul2445

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was great to welcome you back to Hotel Guanahani & Spa and meet your friends. Thank you for recommending the hotel and we seem to have found a solution with the internet provider of improving the complimentary WIFI dramaticly. Should be in place by end middle March. Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Hotel Guanahani & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
0.9 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
619 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
379 reviews
17 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
50 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
24 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Address: Lieu Dit grand Cul de Sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing