We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful week in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Guanahani
Certificate of Excellence
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A fantastic stay for a week. This hotel is one of the best and most relaxing I have stayed at. The overall feeling was one of “Thomas Crowne Affair Island retreat”. This is a top hotel in St Barts so it is not be cheap. We found the Spree package to be extremely good value as it included car hire, spa vouchers and breakfast plus one other meal a day. We’ll be going back at some time.

The rooms.
We had interconnecting rooms as our 2 children are now 13 and 11. The beds are great, excellent views, Lavazza coffee pod machine in the room. The TV seemed Ok but we didn’t use it other than to see what there was. The English language TV was US centric. The toiletries are Clarins. Some have plunge pools but ours did not.
The restaurants - The Indigo and beach bar. Breakfast is in the beach/pool restaurant (Idnigo) and was well put together. The same restaurant is also used for the lunch and beach bar menu is the same. Interesting choice of foods with some excellent dishes of international and local cuisine. My favourite is the poached lobster starter. We only ate at the main restaurant (Bartolomeo) twice in the evening and those dishes were also excellent.

Gym and Watersports
A great mix of high end cardio machines, weight machines and free weights in an air conditioned gym right on the beach. The non motorised watersports are free and at the time we stayed they had a couple of paddle boards, about 10 sailboards including some small 3.5m sails for the children. 5 Canoes and loads of snorkel gear. The lagoon is a nature reserve so snorkelling is easy and interesting for a few hours. You might want to take your own water shoes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHBPCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, Directeur général at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear BHBPCP,

Wow, What a Great Review ! Those are the first words which came to my mind when I read your article. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Guanahani & Spa. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed all the facilities of our Hotel : rooms, restaurants, watersports, fitness…We could not have wished for a better description.
I hope to welcome you back very soon to Hotel Guanahani & Spa.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    76
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
124
283
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Came to St. Barth's for the first time last year and stayed at Hotel Guanahani. We liked it so much we came back again this year and were not disappointed. As some of the other reviews say, the property is beautiful, rooms are very comfortable and spotless(!!!) and the location is great (nice beach!) however the staff is really what puts the Guanahani on the top of our list.

We were pleasantly surprised when at least three of the team members remembered us from last year. Stephanie at the beach bar is an absolute gem. Anthony from beach dining was our waiter last year (now supervisor), and even Mael from the watersports desk remembers that our friend liked wind surfing lessons! All around great service by the beach for chairs, thatched umbrellas, kayaks, SUPs, towels, etc. so you can just relax and enjoy the view!

Even the basic rooms are very nice and if you can splurge for one of the suites with either an ocean view or private pool, as our party did you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Even the basic room we stayed in last year was very nice and if you can splurge for one of the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotts343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, Directeur général at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Scotts343,

Thank you very much for sharing your marvelous experience at Hotel Guanahani & Spa.
We strive to provide excellent services and make each of our guests feel like home. I will make sure that everyone from our team will hear your kind words, especially Stephanie at the Beach Bar, Anthony and Mael.
It is with much pleasure that we are waiting to welcome you back very soon to your Caribbean 5-star Hotel.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
565 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Everything needed for a pleasant stay is available. Lovely 2 beaches one sandy and another half sandy with a much appreciated slight wind, 2 bays to swim and snorkel with turtles, chairs, towels and umbrellas, beach service, kayaks and other sea equipment available free of charge, great breakfast buffet, 2 good restaurants, friendly staff, a kids club, a gym, a shop, a spa,... Rooms are spacious, clean, nicely decorated with free Evian bottles every day, and free anti mosquitos, in the closet you'll find as well beach towels and umbrellas should wish to go to a public beach (loved the latter details). Wifi is free of charge but unfortunately, it is probably the only negative point in this hotel as it is slow and we could hardly connect particularly around 7pm when all guests are back to their rooms. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this hotel more particularly for families with kids.

Room Tip: The first 2 days we stayed in rooms 58 and 59 with an amazing view on Marigot Bay. But they are far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, Directeur général at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Tanmouss,

I am very delighted to read your very nice review. Thank you very much for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor about your experience at Hotel Guanahani & Spa.The support of our guests is the best recognition we could receive and we highly value your recommendation on Tripadvisor.
We already look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Guanahani & Spa.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in July 2013 and would definitely go back. We had previously stayed at Hotel Christopher and Hotel St Barths Isle de France, and while those are two great hotels, Guanahani is probably our favorite. There is a nice long beach with plenty of chairs and umbrellas so you will always have a place to sit. There are free water sports in the lagoon, like kayaking and kite surfing. There is a large pool just off the sand, as well as several restaurants where you can eat with your toes on the beach, or inside with a very nice decor.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the spa, which is one of the nicest we've seen anywhere. Both of us had a spa appointment almost every day, and while expensive, they were worth it. The spa building is quite impressive with a long list of treatments available.

We upgraded to a one-bedroom pool suite that was plenty big with a private pool we used often towards the end of the day. The service everywhere was excellent so if you are looking to splurge a bit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perkeo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear M Perkeo73,

Merci beaucoup as we say in France!
Indeed thank you very much for taking the time to share your marvelous experience on trip advisor. This exactly the kind of feedback we wish for. I am thrilled to read that you have enjoyed our large and intimate beach, the spa by Clarins and your private pool suite.
We look forward to welcome you back in our colorful cottages.
With my best regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband & I travel in and around The Carribean 3-5/year. This was our 2nd trip to St Barth's, our first to Guanahani! "Wow" is all we kept saying for 10 days! The staff truly makes this resort! They do not know the word "no!" Our suite was right on the beach and pristinely kept! The gourmet French restaurant in the resort, was excellent and the service outstanding!! We have not been this happy in a resort! Worth the cost and the hassle to get there, from Indiana! We can't wait to book next year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sskindy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Sskindy,

The entire team of the hotel Guanahani & Spa would like to thank you for your very nice review on trip advisor, we are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We can’t wait to welcome you back soon in our little piece of paradise.
With my best regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Granted this was our maiden voyage to St Barth so my ability to compare the Guanahani to other island hotels or villas is severely limited. However, I cannot imagine that any hotel on the island is finer. The property is absolutely beautiful, the accommodations off the charts and the service top notch. Food also extremely good. Any hesitations regarding "windy" or "big property" should be quickly dismissed. This is truly a world class resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Nelson B.,
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Guanahani & Spa and experienced a great service from our employees and that you appreciated our intimate size. I hope to welcome you back soon.

With my best regards
Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

For years when anyone suggested staying at Guanahani I would “too far” or “too windy” and choose Eden Rock or Isle de France. No Longer. Despite the wind and distances, unlike the other two, Guanahani is quiet, peaceful and with a sense of being in St Barth’s not Miami Beach. It is also well tended and well managed.
The wood hutch units, most of which have been redone, are beautifully appointed and spacious and bright.
The beach, wind and coral reefs aside are as good as St Jean. It is also private so one does not share it with the hordes of day-trippers. The same is true of L’Indigo, the beach bar/restaurant. Great food, well served on the beach without the crowds.
Every January we rent a villa in St Jean, and wonder where to stay when we extend to avoid January

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Venamo

We were delighted to read your excellent review on tripadvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay on St Barth and Hotel Guanahani and that you appreciated the tranquility and privacy of our resort, all within minutes of Gustavia. We hope to welcome you back soon.


With my best regards
Martein van Wagenberg
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
0.8 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Property: Le Guanahani
Address: Grand Cul-de-sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing