We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bel Jou Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Theddingworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have just come back from a wonderful 10 day holiday at Bel Jou. After a direct Virgin flight to St. Lucia and transport to hotel on a mini bus providing wonderful views - we were greeted with cool face cloths and a welcoming fruit cocktail. A quick distribution of keys from Henry the Saga rep. and we were ready to freshen up and look around the hotel. The hotel is up a steep hill but the views from bedrooms and restaurant are fantastic, you cannot stop looking at it. You can also see the odd plane taking off from the airport near the beach.

My bedroom was well equipped. I travelled with a friend and we were expecting a room each in the row of bungalows at the front of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we were both given a room with two double beds in the main hotel. Some information that may be useful to you, is that every room is equipped with:- an umbrella, room bug spray ,a torch, an iron and ironing board, a safe, a dressing gown, kettle and cups, a clock and a hair dryer. This will save you taking these items in your luggage. If you do have any space in your case, Saga help with two local schools, one being for special needs. If you could take any school supplies they would be very grateful. At the time of our leaving, one of the volunteer teachers said they needed little stickers (e.g. well done written on them or a smiley face). I am sure crayons, paper, books would all be appreciated.

The first morning we went to the welcoming meeting. This was hosted by Henry, who went through all the information you would need. Explaining about the excursions you could go on. Henry also offers to take you on a Beach walk with a swim at the end and a walk up to the Lighthouse. My friend and I went on both and thoroughly enjoyed them. (They were both free trips)

What can I say about the staff. We found them all very polite and friendly. Always had a smile on their faces and were very chatty. The hotel manager Camilla was in the background but helpful if you wanted to speak to her. Then there was Henry the Saga Rep. He is brilliant!!!! Although he has not been at this hotel for very long, he was very helpful. If he didn't know the answer to a question, he would find it out for you. His concern for every Saga guest was outstanding. If someone was on their own he would make a point of talking to them - very caring and professional. He always had a smile on his face and a little joke.

As my friend and I were on the Internet Special holiday, we did not receive the included tours. We did pay to go on the trip to the Pitons, Drive in volcano and Botanical Gardens which returned on a Catamaran with a stop for swimming. It was a long trip which lasted all day but it was a really good way to see a lot of St. Lucia. We had a really enjoyable time.

We were very sorry when our holiday came to an end and could have easily spent another week there. We had a good group of fellow holiday makers which made the holiday even more enjoyable. But the star in the show is definitely, Henry.

p.s. Look for Hummingbirds in the garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank audreysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    72
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
153
59
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet,Essex.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having enjoyed a wonderful visit to the Bel Jou in August 2011 (see previous ”Exceeded Expectations” review) we had not planned to return as soon again as this year. Saga however, came up with an internet package deal for 10 days excluding insurance and excursions at a price that persuaded us to return.
Often when you return to a Hotel it doesn’t measure up to an initial visit. This Year’s visit saw a couple of major changes, the 2011 excellent Rep Ian and Manager Patrick had both gone and we both wondered if this would be detrimental to the holiday. We need not have had any concern as their replacements Henry the Rep and Camilla the Manager were both first class. The Hotel was still as lovely and the staff warm, friendly and always ready to help. Food and drink were as before of a really good standard and there was live music 8 out of 10 evenings (Henry doing a fun quiz on the other 2 evenings) A word of advice if you prefer to eat on the outside terrace of the restaurant then you should dine early rather than late because the outside tables are usually taken first. The coffee shop type menu in the Cabanna was still a great lunchtime option with a BBQ as a weekly alternative. Henry the Rep is always around to ensure that things go smoothly and his enthusiastic approach should be applauded. The hotel now has a laptop in the lobby which has internet access and can be used free of charge, the mobile phone rental service however is no longer available. As I commented last year this Hotel is not on the beach and going to the beach or town means using the Hotel shuttle bus. As the bus has a limited number of seats it is necessary to pre book but this worked fine during our stay with a very reliable driver picking up clients at appointed times and places.
Bel Jou in our opinion is still well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank pjbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a wonderful 2 weeks at the Bel Jou. The view from our balcony was just stunning, We overlook the garden and we can see the lights of Castries twinkling at night. On a good day you can see Martinique too.

The rooms were large with 2 yes 2 king size beds. The air con was a godsend for a good nghts sleep as it was so hot. After a day out the room quickly cooled down to make everything much more comfortable. The housekeeping staff did a great job keeping everything spotless.

The food was excellent with plenty of choice that it would have been hard to be in a situation that there was nothing you liked. The vegetables were outstanding, so well cooked with just a hint of crunch. The first holiday we have come back from not craving some veg, The chef was just so funny especially when doing the cookery demonstations. However his comment about fat melting was not confirmed by my trousers at the end of the 2 weeks. All the restaurant staff were very helpful and always had a smile and a cheery greeting.

The Saga rep Henry can be likened to the Phantom of the Opera - he was everywhere keeping the guests happy and entertained. Even on his day off he was round and about the hotel still happy to help.

My first impression of the pool was that it was small. Having said that there were never more than 6 people in the pool at any one time and there were plenty of loungers and unbrellas and even more in the garden area. The only real disadvantage is that there is not really anywhere to walk as the roads are narrow there is no pavement.

This was our first Saga holiday and it will definitely not be our last.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orkney, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

just returned from the Bel Jou. Had a great time. Accommodation spot on, staff incredibly helpful and friendly, excursions fun and interesting, fellow holidaymakers a fun crowd with one or two grumpy exceptions, food varied and very good standard. Gold star to Saga rep Henry who really made the holiday special. Even on his day off he was always around and helpful and hugely entertaining. What a professional! Manageress Camilla also very hands on and super efficient.
Only improvement I would suggest is opening up the cabana area for the evening entertainment. We had great fun dancing to various musical offerings every night but it was so hot undercover that its surprising one of us didn't succumb and keel over. Open air in this humidity would make more sense.
But overall a holiday I would recommend to anyone wanting fun in paradise.

Room Tip: Go for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lynette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We returned from the Bel Jou last Saturday, what a joy, what a country!! St. Lucia is Paradise and the Bel Jou helps you enjoy this Paradise. Everything was perfect as far as we were concerned. Lovely location, clean rooms, wonderful staff, great entertainment in the evenings and plenty to do during the day if that is what you want. Thanks in particular to Henry Phillips, the Saga rep. making sure that we all got what we wanted out of the holiday, whether it was playing croquet, or just chilling out by the pool!! We have been to this hotel before and we certainly hope to go again. Thank you to Camilla and all the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MaryJ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just returned form the Bel Jou and have to say how impressed I was. The Hotel Manager is a lady called Camilla who is fantastic, she is helpful and kind and runs the hotel fantastically. The staff are happy and helpful and nothing is too much trouble (always a sign of good management) The hotel is clean and well maintained. Food excellent. Pool area, smallish but always plenty of sun loungers, comfy ones too.
The gardens are beautiful and everywhere is spotlessly clean. My bathroom light stopped working and it was fixed within an hour of me reporting it., you can't ask for more than that. Will definitely be returning. There are nice touches such as umbrellas, binoculars and bug spray in your room, which is great. Well done to all at bel Jou.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank PlymouthTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Travelling with my daughter's husband on a weeks break in St. Lucia turned out to be the best , relaxing time for us both ( we're both carers with our wives being taken care of at home ) , yet still a joy for us as well. At the Bel Jou we were met by the General Manager , a lovely lady , Camilla , and Andy from SAGA ( easily the best Rep I've known ) . We were both assured that all would be done for us to have an enjoyable trip , but they were quite wrong ,simply because we had a truly wonderful time. All of the staff in the Hotel were quite young , the Waiters, the Bar staff, the security guards , and each and everyone of them were so polite and helpful and would "go the extra mile " to aid to our enjoyment , yet were never " in your face " at any time . The rooms were spotless, as was the whole Hotel , kept scrupulously clean by all. The meals were so well done and well balanced ,and if there was nothing on the menu that you liked , the Chef would prepare a meal for you and to your taste ( a first for me at least in any hotel ) such was the attention to detail . There were three people there at the same time who would complain about everything , but were constantly laughed at by all the others in the hotel , so much so that they themselves became th laughing stock of us all and a great source of comedy to us all . I actually thank them for the laughs !!!! To Camilla, Andy and all the Staff I thank them profoundly and profusely . Would I recommend this Hotel ?
A resounding YES . !!!
Would I return there . ?
In a flash !!!!
Go see , and enjoy , for yourselves .
We both loved our stay. !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank BathgateShug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
1.4 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Resort
Rendezvous Resort
#2 of 12 in Castries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Property: Bel Jou Hotel
Address: La Pensee Road, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Jou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia's wonderful, adults only hotel. Boasting stunning views over Castries and out across the gorgeous ocean from its setting atop a lush, tropical hillside, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today's adult and senior travelers, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel's relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bel Jou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing