We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base from which to explore St. Lucia, or just to stay and relax.”
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bel Jou Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Watford England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good base from which to explore St. Lucia, or just to stay and relax.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Bel Jou caters almost wholly for SAGA customers, who are usually in the "senior" age bracket. It does not offer some of the sporting and leisure facilities that might be found at a hotel serving a wider age range but provides most of the other services that would be expected.. We stayed for one week in March, and found it quite acceptable and good value. The hotel is located on a hill above the capital, and a courtesy bus runs a regular shuttle into town and to local beaches - this was very helpful and gave more options than if the hotel had been an enclosed beach resort. There are two restaurants, although the pool-side one was only open at lunchtimes. The food was good - a mixture of Caribbean and British dishes, with a good choice at all meals, although the selection of house wines was rather poor. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There are good views from the upper floors of the main block - ground floor rooms have no view but direct access to the very attractive gardens. Several species of birds can be seen in the grounds. There are just sufficient loungers and garden chairs for the number of guests (the hotel was full during our stay) but the pool is small and space there is limited. As the hotel is built on a hillside, there are many steps to get from place to place. This might be a problem for some people. A good range of excursions is available and St Lucia has a number of attractions which are worth visiting.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rogerdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    75
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
160
62
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February for two weeks and had a relaxing stay. My husband and I wanted to get away from the cold dreary British winter to warm sunshine. However we had a lot of rain, and St Lucia is famous for it apparently! Weather apart, the hotel was welcoming, the staff very pleasant and we had a relaxing stay. As other reviewers have noted, the position of the hotel on a steep hill is the only downside, as you cannot really go out for a stroll, but the views are excellent right down to the harbour where you can spot the cruise ships coming in. Rooms are clean, spacious and modern and public areas have a colonial feel, with wicker chairs. There are probably not enough relaxing sofas to sit on in the evening though, and many guests remain at their dining table because of this. Food was good, as was the service. Javid, one of the waiters was particularly helpful. The courtesy bus was excellent and we found Pigeon Island a little gem. Care must be taken with the steep steps at the hotel, especially after rain, and there is no way of avoiding them if you are in the main block.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank green_naturelover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

i had 18 wonderful days at the bol-jou i arrived on my own to find several more single people i met another lady betty on the first night and we got on great .bel jou has an old colonoal feel even afternoon tea and cakes .the food is very good and i am fussy you only had to ask as my friend did as she was vegetairian and they came up with some new dishes that delighted eveyone .definatly go back again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank virinaChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is rather nice, rooms spacious, fresh and clean, top floor ones have great views over to the sea and gardens, which is what we had. Nice pool and good poolside lunchtime eatery serving light meals. The gardens are very well kept. However, this hotel is more for the Saga upper age group as there is no real atmosphere for the lower age Saga group. The evening meal is average and not what we'd expected as we found it to be pretty dull, the salad choice was extremely limited with hardly any variation. Its a buffet restaurant where a dress code is essential for the evening and as this is the Caribbean and the hotel not even what we would consider a four star (3* max) think this is unnecessary, smart shorts collard top for the men should have been expectable. The saving grace was that the staff are lovely except for a couple of surly ones. Would we return, not for another 10 years or so!!!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor rooms for beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Lucia
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stay for one night it was my wife Birthday. Which she Enjoy the time there , the Staff was wonderful thanks to ms Carlyn for make it all wonderful .the food was the Bomb .the Room is to died for .very nice place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roger20122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The Saga owned Bel Jou is one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. It is certainly not the smartest but it has something very special that makes people go back, often more than once. The staff, headed by Camilla and Navin, are delightful. It's hard to pick out any one in particular but I must mention how lovely and helpful Navin is and also the lovely Brettany and Mani who drives the shuttle bus. The food is really excellent. At the buffet there are always several choices for each course and there is something for all tastes. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bungalow rooms are a little dark because of all the vegetation in front of them but that is a small niggle and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the humming birds and small lizards that inhabit the area. I am sure that if the rooms were painted white and dressed with some of the beautiful brightly coloured batik that is available on the Island then they would be more cheerful. The gardens are beautiful although the access from the pool terrace involves a lot of steep steps so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems. There is a well stocked air- conditioned library next to the bungalows and a nice little bar by the pool. The Saga representative, Elizabeth, is a lovely lady who does an excellent job. She is really efficient and will sort out any problems you may have. The shuttle bus provides regular free trips into Castries, Rodney Bay beach and shops and the fabulous Pigeon Island. The access roads to the hotel are incredibly steep so walking around the area is probably not a good idea! Do take plenty of insect repellant.......there are midges aplenty and they will get you! Having said all that I can't wait to go back to this lovely relaxing and very special place!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank retiree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

"This aint no disco!"..So goes the song by 80s rock band the Talking Heads...My wife Kay had used Saga for a holiday in Malaysia with her father prior to our holiday at the Bel Jou and always praised the quality of service,flights,reps.etc...I admit it was with a little trepidation that I embarked on a Saga Trip. However we did really enjoy our stay at the Bel Jou..Staff were welcoming,helpful and genuine.The gardens are lovely,we would recommend the free weekly tour with Eugine the gardener who explained the plants and foliage and showed us the uses and properties of alovera grown in the garden,He even made some snacks from plantin and banana plants for us to try..A really nice man! Our room [3rd floor] was clean and air conditioned ,Saga left us a special anniversary cake and card on arrival.....The restaurant is a veranda style with many tables outside, sharing our breakfast with the little birds, on one occasion a beautiful humming bird, was fun. We found the variety of food good quality and style,although we did hear some mutterings that it wasn't Carribbean enough!. Im sorry to disappoint the "foodies" amongst you but this "Meat and Two veg man" found the variety of fare excellent...The free courtesy bus was great,We enjoyed days at Rodney Bay, Pigeon Point and Castries Harbour and the driver was always on time.A special mention to Saga rep Elizabeth How..a human dynamo of help local ,knowledge, and enthusiasm. Elizabeth organised Quad Biking for us and Kyaking for another guest...Minor complaints would be about the lack of variety at the bar..I could have died for a "pint of bitter" In true Henry Ford style "You can have any beer you like! ..as long as its local Piton Lager!"...the beer glasses used to serve in the pool area are so small ,your drink is warm by the time you've hit your sunbed!..that aside we would return to this little gem of a hotel...And not a Zimmer Frame in sight....."this aint no Disco."

Room Tip: upper floors ..main block..overlooking harbour and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
1.5 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
658 reviews
12.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
4.6 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Property: Bel Jou Hotel
Address: La Pensee Road, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Jou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia's wonderful, adults only hotel. Boasting stunning views over Castries and out across the gorgeous ocean from its setting atop a lush, tropical hillside, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today's adult and senior travelers, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel's relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bel Jou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing