We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coal Pot

The Coal Pot
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$75
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fish and seafood specialties restaurant on water front at Vigie Cove, Chef Xavier Ribot has lead this charming restaurant for 15 years offering french and Caribbean cuisine.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have been to the Coal Pot since it opened many, many year ago. The reason we find it to be unexpectedly lovely is that the road that leads to the restaurant would make one think they are not going to a fine dining establishment. It surprises you as it opens to a small lagoon, is candlelit, and small and quaint. The dining concept is simple; you select starters then move to the main event which consists of meat or fresh seafood with a choice divinely prepared sauces to top off your entree. The china is designed by the owner, the wine is tasty, and the ambience superb. The service is not rushed and the flourless chocolate cake is well worth the trip to Saint Lucia. This restaurant is not inexpensive, so one may want to go here as the splurge of your trip. It will be a place to remember and return to many times.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sb6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    206
    67
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Coal Pot experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great atmosphere delicious food friendly wait staff. They also do lunch which is great also. Go with friends or a romantic dinner it just great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times over the years. This occasion did not live up to expectations. The setting is stunning and quite romantic.

The menu is much as we recalled. The wine list was ok too.I had the crab starter (very nice ) and the jumbo shrimp, in my view, not so jumbo. I requested creole sauce on the side- this lacked depth of flavour for me. My husband ordered barracuda with a curry sauce on the side. The sauce was served all over his fish. He was not keen on the dish.In these situations do you reject the dish and wait while your bubbles get warm and your food cold? We cracked on.

The service was too quick, annoying when this is your evening out and was a reason why we did not order dessert.

A nice place, but not the destination restaurant we remembered, where we used to come though all inclusive. It is a cab ride with no bars nearby so it really needs to maintain that special something.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Shrimp cocktail followed by steak. Absolutely delicious. Lovely setting. Great service. Beautiful pottery to purchase by Michelle Elliott.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegant and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

we ate here our first night on St Lucia and it was a perfect choice. The view at sunset was charming, being right in the harbor at Castres. Not cheap, but the food was excellent and we were given time to enjoy the ambiance and watch the fish 5 feet away.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiplee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coal Pot also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Been to The Coal Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing