We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned home from the Halcyon all I can say is wow! From the moment we arrived we were treated as if we were old customers instead of first timers!! The staff were amazing I would just like to single out a few, Amanda, Martha, Delores and Davina were so kind and helpful every member of staff from the gardeners to the chambermaid to the bar staff were polite and always greeted us as if they knew us personally. Agnes at the quiet pool was a great laugh & always gae good advice with the cocktails. I am very particular with cleanliness and our room was cleaned to a very high standard each day. The food is amazing the standard and presentation in every restaurant at the Halcyon was fab couldn't fault it & we eat out a lot at home. The restaurants at the other Sandals were fantastic as well & again we were treated like family. We will definately be returning if you are thinking of booking Book with confidence I don't understand the other previous comments we thought our holiday was the best we ever had thank you Sandals!

Room Tip: Our room 141 was close to Red Lane spa quiet & suited us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LorraineB479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,890 - 1,896 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We visited Halcyon Beach from 7th - 14th Nov 2013. From the moment we stepped off the plane to the moment we had to come home, it can only be described as paradise.
We took the helicopter transfer as we had been advised the journey by road was not good if you couldn't travel. It was amazing. The pilot informed us of various points along the way. On landing we were taken to the hotel by taxi. The driver was so lovely, chatting and joking all the way (well all 10 mins) On arrival at the hotel we were given champagne and cold towels. We were quickly taken to our room, ( our luggage was to follow later as it came by road) The room was exceptionally clean and private. We had taken swim wear in our hand luggage so made the most of the day and walked along the beach. The beach was a little disappointing as it wasn't quite the white sand and clear sea's we were expecting. However there were plenty of loungers and towels. Our luggage was waiting when we returned to our room. The staff were so happy and friendly and made our stay even more welcome. The restaurants were all amazing, The beach bar where you can get a burger and chips, the French Bistro, the Italian and Kelly's restaurant where the choice of food and the service was second to none. We spent most of our time in the quieter pool, where we were looked after by a very special lady called Agnes. She is such a character and made sure that we enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed a candlelit dinner and took advantage of the photo shoot, where Deno made sure we enjoyed every minute. On return we took advantage of the check in chill out so once our luggage was in reception, we didn't see it again until we got into Gatwick.
If I have to be picky and grumble about something then it would be just that as we didn't have the concierge service we were not entitled to free wi fi.
Other than that, which wasn't really that important, I can only describe this holiday as totally amazing. It certainly was as special as we had wanted it to be and we will most definitely be returning to Sandals again and again.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone in the hotel for making our 25th wedding anniversary unforgettable in so many ways.
Lisa & Kev Cook

Room Tip: we had room 119 which was a single story bungalow. Others had 2 story's however they had no priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We got pregnant right away and were not able to take a honeymoon right away so after two years we were more than ready for our wonderful trip with just us. After seeing commercials and talking with our travel agent we decided that there was no other way to do this than visiting the "amazing all inclusive Sandals". Let me just say we were less than thrilled from the moment of landing. The moment we arrived to the airport some man came up ran with our bags and said follow me l'll take you all to the waiting room for your bus. Then after walking us maybe 10 seconds practically demanded that we give him gratuity. Once we arrived after the hour long bus ride to our resort we waited while the lady at the front desk walked us and another couple to our rooms, which by the way took forever for her to drop the other couple at their room. When we got into our room it looked nothing like the pictures, was very dirty! There were pubic hairs all over the bathroom floor and the room appeared very old and unkept. Once we let them know they upgraded us but the room would not be ready until the next day but in the mean time they said they would send over housekeeping to re-clean our room. We happily agreed to accept and hoped that our trouble would end there. The next day went awesome, we planned an excursion and it was amazing. We came back and changed rooms. Big difference and much cleaner. The manager even walked up a sorry card with chocolate covered strawberries. very nice touch. After that it went into a downward spiral. A roach came running through our room. The wine waiter at kellys dockside came by with the wine list, after I reviewed it and saw that there were prices I declined and said that I wanted just a glass of the pino and was told that I could not just have a glass that I had to buy a full bottle so I said no. Then come to find out he just didn't want to give me the house wine he wanted me to purchase the bottle but never even mentioned that there was a choice of getting just a glass of the house wine. Then he was very RUDE because we didn't want to purchase the full bottle. The food at all of the restaurant's were terrible except Kellys dockside. We expected five star everything. We also booked a couples massage and right when we showed up the masseur told us that there was a problem cause she told another couple that she would massage them. when I explained we had booked this months ago with our travel agent and showed her the ticket with the time and date she said un-oh idk I just told them I would massage them. I proceeded to get very upset. Ive worked for a very upscale spa and no matter what the mistake is on your part. you fix it and never let the client be aware of any issues even if that means getting another massage therapist to come in on a moments notice. My husband and I enjoyed every minute we were away from the resort. we loved all the excursions! Oh and we also had our things stolen from the resort twice. The staff is rude, there is not much to do other than lay out or park yourself at the bar and the resort is completely run down and dirty! when they tried to get us to book our next vacation and we declined we informed one of the staff members on why and he said yea this is one of our more run down resorts. to hear that from your own employees is saying something, Do yourselves a favor and just go ahead and shut this place down. Save everyone from spending thousands of dollars and being disappointed. No more Sandals for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your review, Abby.
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.
As you may know, we take theft very seriously at our resorts and while it is not a regular occurrence, we still make the necessary provisions to ensure that there is not a repeat. I will be contacting you privately for additional details so we can do a full investigation on your behalf.
We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate key personnel. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We attended as part of a wedding, and of the three St. Lucia Sandals this one is the most quaint and laid back. The service staff (bartenders/servers), especially Danny the bartender were not only attentive and kind, but highly personable. The room was clean and comfortable, even in the sweltering heat and humidity. The beach was clean and the amenities were so much fun. The food was fresh, well-prepared and delicious (as at all three resorts). Even the sushi! The idea of staying at one and playing at three is a great opportunity. We also did an excursion as a group with Julian Boat Tours and Cruises, who you'll find at the beach, offering but never pressuring a really fun time. The highlight was lunch at one of the tour guides's mother's house on the side of the volcano, with a home cooked meal. The only issue that we had was the inaccessibility of getting extra cash for excursions and off-premise events (such as the Fish Friday street party and taxis). There should be an ATM on premise. BRING plenty of American cash if you want to do anything outside of the resort. We'd return without question.

Room Tip: Some rooms are ocean facing, some rooms are pool facing, and all are great to get to amenities. Hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your review, Lisa!
It's great that you enjoyed the resort exchange program and took the time to explore all three of the beautiful resorts! It is a fantastic way to maximize your fun and explore all your options! This bonus adds even more value to your vacation!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our first time at a Sandals location. The resort is definately first class from the accomodations, the staff, the food, activities, just everything. We enjoyed this being a smaller resort. The only shortcoming of the vacation was the beach and the swimming area. The beach is high on our list of must haves and unfortunately this was lacking. We took local tours and you must do the snuba.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beachfront with the covered patio are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaels883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

* Pools dirty
* Internet subpar (when functional)
* Door card locks poorly functioning - 5 cards changed in two days
* Gas powered pressure washer three days in a row! Very Noisy!
* Only one 110V outlet for N. A. clients and no adaptors at hotel
* The employees were totally amazing
* The grounds were well kept

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside perimeter (East) are right beside a VERY noisy roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CFMEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Halcyon Beach.
We regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your concerns.
We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Sandals Halcyon from Nov 2 thru the 9th in a "regular" room which was very nice. We had a slight ocean view and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The pools are nice although chairs at the "activity" pool are hard to come by after about 9am. There were always tons of chairs at the quiet pool. We were very impressed with the grounds - flowers everywhere and everything was very well maintained. Our room was nice with two minor flaws - 1. Every time we took a shower the water would switch from hot to cold throughout the shower and 2. every single day we ran out of toilet paper. Not sure how hard it would be to leave an extra roll in there. The shower had some mildew but considering the humidity - it wasn't surprising but it could use a good thorough cleaning.
The Food - There aren't a lot of choices at this property and you can take shuttles to the other resorts but while we were there they only ran every 2 hours so you really had to plan ahead for it. The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful. Kellys Dockside had wonderful food but HORRIBLE service (more on this later) and Kimonos was AWESOME with the ONLY outstanding service we received all week. We did not try the Italian restaurant and Bayside was good as was the beach snack bar. The restaurants at Grande and La Toc that we tried had MUCH better service, selection and menus.
The Service - This is where the resort was SERIOUSLY lacking. The housekeepers and grounds people were always friendly with a smile and hello. It stopped there. The bartenders were NOT friendly AT ALL and sometimes were downright RUDE. In fact - we met a couple who owned a bar back in the U.S. and they told us that if this were their bar ALL the bartenders and most of the servers would be FIRED IMMEDIATELY. I agree with that completely. At Kellys our first night eating there when we declined the extra cost wine (we don't drink ANY kind of wine) the wine waiter was VERY rude and annoyed with us and refused to serve us any drinks the entire dinner. The waitress didn't refill our water and we asked for more bread and we didn't receive that either. We had a few questions about the menu and she sighed loudly at her annoyance. It was a very bad experience. The 2nd time we ate there it was marginally better but still VERY rude drink waiter when we declined the wine. It is VERY obvious he is paid on commission by how much wine you buy that isn't included in the all inclusive. We weren't being cheap - we don't drink wine ever. All the drinks were EXTREMELY watered down and the bar owners we met suspected that the alcohol in the bottles is watered down. We aren't big drinkers at home but like to enjoy some cocktails on vacation and one day at the pool had several drinks and felt NOTHING. I'm not sure there was ANY alcohol in them.
Tipping - Sandals is supposedly not allowed to accept tips however we did have a nice conversation with one friendly employee (probably the only one) who told us that they DO expect tips and even told us how to do it discreetly (leave it hidden under something on the table and gesture to it to the employee.) We are generally very generous tippers however since Sandals was very specific that they are not allowed we did not bring the amount of cash in small bills that we would need for this. Perhaps this is why we received such rude service but we assumed "no tipping" meant "NO tipping." Apparently this is NOT the case.
Overall we had an amazing time - we didn't let the service issues bother us but we DEFINITELY would not return to Sandals when we can get MUCH better service at a MUCH lower price elsewhere. St. Lucia is an amazing island that is very beautiful. I would definitely go back just not to Sandals.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Amy,
While we are pleased that you found the resort and its surroundings quite beautiful, we are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in terms of service. All staff members are expected to perform their services to our high standards regardless of what our guests purchase and never for a tip.
I assure you that this is not indicative of the norm for us and many of the reviews we receive from our guests highlight the excellent service they experienced. I certainly apologize if you felt that this was not the service that you received during your stay.
We do ask that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.
Thank you for your review and we hope that in the future you will afford us another opportunity to showcase the best of what Sandals has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.9 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £369 - £863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing