We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halcyon holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Halcyon holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

What an awesome place! The staff was a highlight for us - so friendly and welcoming always. The grounds are exceptionally gorgeous and the view from our room was something I never got tired of. Yummy food at every meal and delicious desserts at the buffet. We loved the Paradise Pool for its serenity and the fire pits are a lovely place to relax with a bottle of wine or champagne in the evening. The bartenders mix wonderful tropical drinks - order a BBC (Banana, Baileys, and coconut creme). The rooms could use upgrading but so much else is beautiful that it doesn't really matter. One small complaint only - there should be a better system of organizing passengers for the shuttle between resorts. A bit of mayhem was apparent the day we tried to go to The Grande. On a joking note, my husband and I think they should provide grief counseling to people sitting in the lobby waiting to return to the airport on their last day of vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 100s block or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,094
    934
    324
    141
    117
See reviews for
75
2,908
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful week staying at this resort. If you're looking for a quite stay with beautiful scenery, this is the place for you. The employees really get to know you and do everything in their power to ensure your stay is the best. I did wish they had a phone to use to call the airline directly instead of having to pay over $3.00 a minute, but a very small detail I dealt with. I loved our week stay and couldn't have imagined a better vacation with the love of my life.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Starbucksone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A bit dissapointed at first, but it got better as we decided to join in on the activities, we met some great people, had a good time and went on a brilliant organised buggy ride as an excursion advertised by sandals and recommended by people who had already experienced the trip.
As for the hotel a little tired looking in places but we liked our room 217, overlooking gardens at front, kimonos at the back. We found staff very polite and helpful, we had a problem with out toilet but it was dealt with, (not promptly but it didn't cause us any problems) , but it could have!
Food was good but it wouldn't do Sandals any harm to add another resturant, some extra lighting and better seating around the sunset pool in the evenings. Plus Sandals competeitors are offering more for your money ie concierge, automatic free wi fi, we paid excactly the same price for 14 days in mexico as for 10 days with sandals, but we do love sandals anyway. It's all about preference really, yes there are cheaper places but we are always made to feel welcome and we would definately go back. Enjoyed our stay and the activities team work really hard and made us feel really welcome and were not pushy to make you feel you had to join in. Love "sexy slim" will be back for a return match. Bar staff are brilliant too, work very hard, been home a week now and already thinking of when we can return to any of the Sandals. Will wear my gold sandals with pride, cheers everyone have a great christmas and the very besy of wishes for 2014. Just to add first Carribean island we have been too and not been plagued with the vendors that sell their goods on the beach, they are very friendly and if you don't want to buy they leave you alone. St Lucia we found very friendly, very pretty in places and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking gardens rooms 300 to 200 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

When you arrive at the Halcyon St Lucia they say 'welcome home' and then do everything they can to make you feel welcome and at home. Lovely rooms (ours looked out onto the beach and the sea), comfortable beds (best pillows ever), good food and warm, friendly service. I didn't want to leave! Special mention for the play makers. I'm not really one for joining in things on holiday but Michael's aquarobics became a must in the mornings. And the pool volleyball became essential viewing!

Room Tip: We opted for the Concierge honeymoon room (I think). Great position with sea view and single story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Sarah.
We are delighted to hear about your fantastic experience at Sandals Halcyon Beach. The staff will be so pleased to know that they were able to make this trip such a pleasant one. It is our honor to have you as a part of the Sandals extended family and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were there for a week in November and I didn't want to come home. It was pretty quiet, of course people are celebrating so you have some people who are loud and rowdy at all hours of the night, but the food is delicious, the service is warm and welcoming.. the people are great. It is fantastic to go back and forth from one of the three resorts to the next. I loved it there, it was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmburJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Ambur.
We are delighted that you had such a terrific time at Sandals Halcyon Beach and thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! The staff is more than willing to do all they can to make sure you leave with many happy memories of your visit and they will be so grateful to hear that you do indeed have many of them!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Sandals Halcyon Beach and once again it has reached our expectations. Ther is no necessity for me to describe the property as many contributors do that and each time they duplicate one another. Suffice to say our room was 700 block, quiet and comfortable cleaned daily by our lovely housemaid to whom we are very grateful. We stayed concierge and were helped with meal bookings and any other requests. WIFI is now free to concierge for which we were grateful. Kimonos and the Sushi bar were new from last year and both are well recommended. I despair for guests who write reports full of complaint as we have never had a problem which has not been rectified if we have reported our dismay to one of the staff.
I discussed this with a staff member who said that on many occasions the disillusioned guest has not mentioned the problem during their vacation and if the staff are not made aware they are unable to rectify the problem immediately so enabling the guests to enjoy their holiday stay.
I also am of the opinion that you get out of this holiday what you are prepared to put in to it. If you go looking for things to grumble about then you will undoubtedly find something but should you be uncomfortable about anything then tell any staff member who will then report to the manager who will try to settle the problem.
We dived daily, sailed Hobies participated in many activities eg. water and land volleyball and the evening activities. We ate at all three resorts and had no problems. Many thanks to everyone for once again providing us with a wonderful Nov/Dec break

Room Tip: If you are not happy then ask if an alternative is vacant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukasGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We just returned from a fantastic visit to Sandals Halcyon Beach. We have stayed in several all inclusive resorts, and this is our new favorite!!

The service we received was incomparable. It began with Lauren Benjamin (Online Review Coordinator) who made "pre-diving" arrangements for me. This was the first indication of the fantastic service we were going to receive during our stay even though it was not provided by a resort employee. We also received outstanding service from Brian Tan (Bartender), Kurt Weekes (Director of Guest Services), Antonio (Mario's Manager), Stacy (our romantic dinner waitress), Tanya (masseuse), and John (boat captain at the scuba dive center). The surprise romantic dinner and chocolate covered fruit we received were especially noteworthy. For us, the service provided by the staff is the most important item a resort has to offer. Other resorts may have the same or better amenities, but none of them can match the staff at Sandals Halcyon Beach!!

This resort is smaller than the other resorts we have visited, and it provides a more intimate and relaxing experience. While it offers a number of activities and restaurants, a free shuttle to the two other Sandals resorts in St. Lucia allows you to use their restaurants and activities. Unfortunately, if you plan to dive during your visit you must also take a shuttle to an offsite dive center. While this is an inconvenience, the dive staff is excellent.

Our only complaint is that we received incorrect information from the Soon Come Back department. Based on our conversations with other guests at the resort, we plan to use either the 1-800-SANDALS number or a travel agent for our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
I am so pleased that you a fantastic time at Sandals Halcyon Beach! It was my pleasure to assist you and the team really does appreciate all of your kind remarks! We are thrilled that you had an excellent time with the dive staff and exploring the beautiful St. Lucian waters.
I apologize for any challenge you had when speaking to our Soon Come Back rep. Feel free to message me and I would be happy to look in to this matter for you.

It was our pleasure to have had you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, TravelUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing