We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful resort, lush, right size (not too big), excellent food and options and amazing employees.

The people there are exceptional in terms of personality, warmth, memories ( they remembered our names), senses of humour, hard-working etc.

Notable personalities and great staff:

Agnes the Paradise Bartender. Really takes care of you and will make almost anything and they work.

Angel, Davina Devine at Marios and elsewhere were a real treat in addition to being great service staff.

Dwight at Kelly's & buffet was fun and worked hard to make sure you had everything you needed

Nadia, Garie and Severina were very responsive.

If you go on a snorkelling trip, Joe Knows was great. We had the boat with Snoop Dog ( don't call him Snoop Lion ), Big Al and Big Will - fun & talented crew

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDM4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Halcyon Beach and that all of your expectations were exceeded! Our staff members are genuinely happy to be of service and their efforts are reflected in your kind remarks.
Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    947
    328
    145
    117
See reviews for
76
2,956
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our first trip to the Caribbean,and after reading the reviews was a bit wary the bus transfer.Need not have worried transfer was no bother in an air conditioned mini bus,with some great views en route On arrival at the resort we were greeted by staff who gave us cold towels which were very welcoming given the heat.We checked in and our luggage conveyed to our room 115 ,no problems at check just the obligatory form filling.The room was excellent ,comfortable bed ,large TV i phone dock,radio,tea and coffee making facilities and a socked fridge of water and soft drinks.The daily tour of the resort was not till 10AM next day,but with the aid of a resort map we soon found our way around. We ate at all the restaurants in the resort with the exception of Kimonnos the Japanese restaurant,because neither of us enjoy Japanese cuisine or sushi. Bayside was the place for breakfast where you literally can have anything you want ,from Champagne to bacon eggs and sausage,you name it they try to delive r.beach bar and grill was great for snacks burgers and hot dogs. Kellys was a great dining experience with a great location above the Caribbean sea,and excellent food and service,and piano playing in the background.Bayside in the evening was a choice of French cusine,Barbeque night,Asian Buffet night,or Caribean buffet night all excellent,and changed nightly .Lastly Marios Italian,excellent food and service,with a great anti pasti buffer,special than to Angelo the owner who took hospitality to a new level Bars are plentiful,although our favourite was the Paradise pool bar ran by Agnes aided by Jean,spirits all seem to be popular brands,large variety of cocktails on offer and good beer,service was no problem even at evening peak times,staff are very good in knowing your place in the queue to be served The staff at this resort are a credit to Sandals, from the gardeners who keep the grounds in such a good condition, to the housekeeping staff for the cleanliness of the rooms,to the front desk staff who solved any problems,changed money ordered taxis etc.Special thanks to Agnes and Jean at the Paradise pool,and Delores at the Bayside.We must have really enjoyed our Sandals experience as we remained at Halcyon for the duration of our stay and did not visit Grande or Le Toc,only ventured out once to Castries,on market day(worth a visit) Only one small disappointment the entertainment at night could be better and go on longer,but the steel band ,fire-eaters and limbo dancers were great.

Room Tip: Room 115 was an excellent location sea view yards from the restaurants sunset pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach.
It is such a privilege to have hosted your first visit to the Caribbean and we are absolutely thrilled that you had a wonderful time on your holiday to St. Lucia. We truly appreciate all of your kind remarks and our staff will be so pleased to know that you enjoyed their company. We cannot wait to welcome you back for more fun in the tropics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

St. Lucia has 3 Sandals on the Island. We stayed from May 28 to June 4. The Halcyon Beach is the smallest of the 3 but it's in the middle of the two and they take you to the other two resorts. We had room 404 and you could see the sea from your patio. The room was big with a king bed, two chairs and a flat screen TV. The bathroom could use a bit of upgrading but I have been in worse. They have two big pools. One quiet and the other with music and activities. Both have swim up bars. The staff could not do enough for you. The food was very good and reservations only needed at one of them. We ate at them all. Mario's was the best. The manager of Mario's was fantastic. We also ate at the French restaurant at La Tocone of the Sandals. You needed a reservation for that one. I would have liked to see a bit more entertainment in the evening but they always had a singer. One night they had a steel band with Limbo and fire dancers. That was very good. The bars served some good booze. The wine that came with your meals or at the bars was OK. Nothing to write home about. By the way the ride from the airport was not bad at all like some people say. You get to see lots of things. We went on the Jeep Tour and went to the mud baths, waterfalls and had a good lunch at a different kind of restaurant that you could see the Pitons. The Piton beer is not bad also. They have some cats on the property but they are fed and did not bother us one bit.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 and it was great. You could not hear any noise in the room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, o at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Elaine and Ed,

Thank you for your great review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. Our staff will be so pleased to hear of your kind remarks and that they were able to meet all your needs. It's lovely had that you had a fantastic time in St. Lucia and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Simply perfect. Nothing I would change. Great location, amazing food, fantastic rooms. Beutiful beach. Very romantic - a perfect setting for our wedding moon.

All inclusive meant all inclusive- very little extras to pay (the odd bottle of more expensive wine).

Room Tip: You have access to the 2 other Sandals resorts which are no more than 10 minutes away on a free shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonnybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here April 28th - May 1st 2014 In short. One word: Amazing. The ride from airport to resort. Horrible. I was having second thoughts on where I have gone. When you get there.... Paradise sets in. The food was top notch. The service at Mario's was the best. The entertainment was OK, not like Jamaica, however, still provided and was nice to sit back and hear the band and listen to the singers. The fire dances were good too. Love the fact that you can go to the other 2 resorts. We liked the laid back feeling of Halcyon, however, took the bus over to the Grande because the beach is way better. We did go to the La Toc once, however, back to the Grande 3 days out of the 5. Kinda like having the best of both worlds. Love this resort. One adventure we took was Joe Knows tour. You get to see St. Lucia from the water and get to see the Pitons and the volcano and waterfalls. (because who will want to get back into a van after that ride from the airport). Thinking about going back again. And this is from someone who doesn't like to go to the same place twice. it was that amazing.

Room Tip: The rooms with private balcony much better than any other higher priced room. The patios are not pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gslovetovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had such a great time at Sandals Halcyon! The food was great and most of the staff were very friendly and remembered you. We did visit the other two properties but we did so many excursions that we didn't leave us much time to relax and spend full days at the other two resorts. However, we always felt like tourist at the other properties because they were so big and we didn't know where anything was. We never got that feeling at Halcyon, even on our first day. It was quaint and friendly.

Most of the staff was very friendly but like with anywhere, there are some sour apples. They never did anything awful but they weren't going above and beyond like the rest of the staff. My husband and I are both in Hotel Management so we may have been looking for these things more than someone else.
We did the Horse back ride and swim- pretty good. A slow relaxing tour however our tour guide took our horses WAY out and the horses didn't like it. They were moaning and he was slapping them. So that wasn't fun for the animal lover in me. However, the same company but different tour guide took the other group and just trotted through the water and they had a blast.
We also did the ATVs. This was a blast but do not expect to be able to go full speed. You are trekking up very rough terrain. The best part of this tour is they take you to a nice secluded beach to swim and have snacks. This was the prettiest beach we saw on our whole trip! It was stunning..straight out of a Corona commercial!
We did the treetop zip lining, which we highly recommend. Very fun. The tour guide makes the long drive to the site very entertaining.
And Lastly, we did Joe Knows. Worth every penny you spend. I honestly do not feel they charge enough for this trip. You are gone all day and they feed you lunch and rum punch! Very fun way to see a lot of the island.

As I mentioned before, I am an animal lover. It was hard for me to see the wild cats with gashes and scars because they fight each other. Also, most all the animals on the island are so skinny! Very hard for animal lovers. We had a cat that adopted us. She wouldn't leave our patio and was very sweet. She was not skinny so I would say we weren't her first people she adopted and used the Puss in Boots eyes to get you to feed her.

All and all we have a magnificent time! We will definitely return this property one day! My only suggestion would be to stay 10 days vs 7 days. We didn't have enough time to do all the fun stuff and relax!

Room Tip: We were in room 201. Very centralized location and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLehman0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We LOVED this resort. We had the opportunity to visit many other resorts on the island and found we enjoyed Halcyon beach the best due to it's low key relaxed and get away feeling. With two private beaches, water activities beautiful pools good food lovely rooms and breath taking grounds, hammock swings for two!! we hope to return soon. This resort is for low key relaxation!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing