We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Quaint Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were here for a wedding in February 2014 and were extremely impressed with the level of service starting at the airport which carried through the entire week.

Staff:
Several of the bar tenders and attendants knew us by name just a couple days in and remembered our favourite drinks. Special shout out to Maverick, Sammy Davis Jr.Jr. and Agnes. These 3 went above and beyond to make our stay that much more enjoyable.

Rooms:
Our cottage style room was beautifully decorated, clean and well stocked with water, juice, pop and beer daily. We were located directly across from the massage and had a view of the ocean.

Beach/Pool:
The Halcyon is much smaller than the other 2 sandals and we never had a problem finding a lounge chair. The beach is pretty small and due to it's location can be a bit murky when the weather is not cooperating. The beach at the Grande was our favourite as it was long, white sand and crystal clear water. The water is very calm as it is located in an inlet.

Food:
The food was incredible from both the buffet and a la carte restaurants. Had a mimosa every morning with breakfast which I thought was a nice touch. The snack bar made great sandwiches, burgers and fries which was perfect for a light lunch. Kelly's Dockside was incredible (both food and atmosphere).

The nice thing about the Sandals, is you can stay at 1 and play at 3. There is a shuttle that comes every hour or so to take you back and forth to whichever resort you want.

Also recommended is a hike to Pigeon Island and the Joe Knows Tour!

All in all, this was a wonderful experience at a resort I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,650 - 1,656 of 3,886 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at the Sandals Halcyon during the last week of July. Looking back, it was a great decision. This review will include a list of pros and cons.

Pros
- The food was delicious. I've stayed at many different resorts and this was by far the best in food choice / quality.
- The maid staff always went out of their way to say hello.
- The sports shop on campus was very helpful and accommodating. My wife and I went snorkeling or scuba diving daily. The dive shop is only 10 minutes from the resort.
- The resort is fairly quiet and personable. It didn't feel overcrowded.
- The staff didn't expect to be tipped. This is unlike other all-inclusive resorts that I've attended.

Cons
- There are cats all over the resort. This can be a bit annoying as it doesn't seem sanitary.
- Some of the beach vendors can be too assertive. They will call out for you or ask you to get them drinks from the resort.
- One of the beach vendors brings a horse across the beach and doesn't clean up the horse droppings.
- The trip from/to the airport is a bit hectic - lots of hills and turns. It takes approximately 1 - 1/2 hours to reach the resort from the airport.

Room Tip: There's a second pool at the resort that's further from the ocean. It's much more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We arrived and was promptly greeted by our Butler who gave us a tour of the resort and then escorted us to our room. It was the perfect room that we have hoped for. Amazing view of the ocean and it was mere steps away from our patio. We had a snack and champagne waiting for us in our room as well. Our butler had our evening meals for the entire trip reserved for us. This was great because it saved alot of stress as to where do we eat and trying to get reservations. We went on three excursions that our Butler made the reservations for us. We had breakfast for a few mornings on a patio delivered by our Butler. And the morning we went for breakfast we had a table waiting for us with flower petals after calling to tell our Butler that we would like a table. I really enjoyed being able to relax and if we needed anything it was a phone call away. Getting a Butler room was perfect for us. It rained on and off but the showers were very quick and then it was back to beautiful island weather. My husband and I are both pretty outgoing so we were quick to join in to the activities that they had available. There were many cats at Halcyon which we loved. This is a great place to stay and we hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Get a butler room. It made out trip amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were absolutely delighted with Sandals Halcyon. The staff is incredibly friendly and does their best to remember your name ... and favorite cocktail. Rooms are pleasant and comfortable and the food was fantastic ... the Italian restaurant 'Mario's' is exceptionally good as was the French restaurant at La Toc. Only drawbacks ... the long (90 minute) ride to and from the airport, and there is very little in the way of Duty-Free shopping (or any shopping) on St. Lucia (but that's not Sandals fault). This was our first Sandals experience but we intend to be repeat customers ... these resorts are an exceptional value if you visit in the slow season/summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CapeCrusader2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sandals Halcyon for our Honeymoon and loved it! We booked this through Pan World Travel (Gary) and have NO complaints with him or the company. Sandals Halcyon was very quiet and relaxing (which my wife and I were looking for). Upon arrival we were greeted by staff, given warm wash cloths, and luggage was taken from us to be delivered to our rooms. The service the whole week was outstanding!!! The employees at the resort were always pleasant, saying hello, asking how our day was, and simply making this a vacation we will never forget! Another perk about staying at Sandals were that you pay for one but play at three! My wife and I really enjoyed this because we were able to see the other resorts without paying extra. In all, my wife and I had an amazing honeymoon and have no complaints about anything! If we would do it all over again we would not change anything! Thanks to Sandals and Pan World Travel (Gary) for making this Honeymoon one not to forget!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was not our fist visit at a Sandals Resort, but the first in a Buler Suite. We opted to reserve a personal driver from the airport and was treated exceptionally well, I would however recommend the helicopter ride if you get car sickness, as the roads are nothing but whindey. It took about an hour and half from the airport with one stop, which I desperately needed to settle my stomach down. Upon arrival we were met by our Butler and was escorted around the resort and than directly to our room with a bottle of champagne chilling on ice. We were given a cell phone, as the Butler directed us to call her if we need anything. All of our dinner reservation had already been made by the Butler and of course we could change those at anytime, our Butler made all the perfect choices for our meals. We celebrated our 27th Anniversay dinner in the Gazebo as it was fully decorated with candles and torches, soooooo romantic. The Halycon Beach is a much more laid back setting with beautiful gardens and separate pools, we found ourselves at the paradise pool everyday where it was quiet and not busy as the other pool had activities and music. We also set up a private photo shoot which lasted for about an hour of many different posses from the beach to the garden, we were not pleased at all with our photographer, the pictures turned out horrible. We mentioned it to our Butler and immediately she set up an appointment that afternoon for another photo shoot at sunset with another photographer. Yes, the photo's were beautiful and our photographer was the best her name was (Lana). We ate a Gordon's and it was the best, I would recommend that restaurant highly, it was absolutely beautiful!! Halycon Beach is a much laid back resort, quiet, clean and all around beautiful. I would recommend this resort to anyone who it not into the parting scene and who is looking for a quiet setting. Unfortunately we did not participate in any water sports or off property activities, we did speak to others that did and heard nothing but great reviews about the snorkeling, diving and shopping experiences. Overall this is a fabulous resort and would plan to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 146, our view of the sunset and ocean was spectular. The only down fall was we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NellieF221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We only visited St Lucia because of the Jazz Festival during this time period (May 7-11 2014) . Unfortunately we didn’t get to attend any jazz due to the St Lucia Jazz promoters changing all the groups and venues from the original advertisement (no fault of Sandals) but I will never trust them again. Of our 5 days there it rain all day for 2 days. So two major big disappointments there.
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia is the cheaper costing of all the other two Sandals on the island. The grounds were beautiful and the beach was pretty but there were more cons than pros.
1.There were stray cats running around in and out the open restaurant. I found that unappealing and unsanitary to say the least.
2. The grill/sandwich type restaurant was not open at 10pm as it clearly stated on the sign. Only thing what was open was the bar but no food.
3. Food was average or below average. Even when we visited the other Sandals on the island the food was just average commercial restaurant flavor.
4. The Halcyon was just “boring.” The staff said it’s for old people or people who just want to rest.
In conclusion I probably will not visit St Lucia again. Was not impressed with the city or Sandals. Sorry just my opinion.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach front room if possible, since nothing else to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajune1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your review.
We regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay at Sandals Halcyon Beach. Because of that, please accept my apologies. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We hope to welcome you back to one of our lovely properties in the future. We would love the chance to host you at one of our resorts and offer the true Sandals luxury experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
981 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,409 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
5.6 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £343 - £987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing