We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lush tropical gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited Sandalys Halcyon in July 2014 for an early birthday celebration. July is the rainy season in St. Lucia but it was still beautiful. The gardens are very mature and lush and just beautiful. Our room was originally at the very end of the property but due to a sewer smell and the highway behind our room, we were moved closed to the main area in the honeymoon hideaway. We have visited several sandals properties and the staff and service are always 100% excellent. If something is not right - they will do whatever they can to make sure you are happy. All of the restaurants were very good and the buffet breakfast every morning was excellent - great variety. The beach is nice, not very big but it was never crowded. Beach has a darker sand - not white but still very nice. This property is much smaller, older and more intimate than the other sandals properties. Overall very nice.

Room Tip: Not really necessary to upgrade unless you want to see the ocean from your balcony - otherwise all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunwave5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,681 - 1,687 of 3,922 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I went on our honeymoon. The trip cost us a lot of money so we were praying that the trip would be great. Let me tell you, our trip was unforgettable! Right from the start there were good vibes! we met a lot of great people at our resort from other honeymooners to the staff members. I The gardens and beaches were beautiful! Food and drinks were beyond amazing, the on and off site activities were so much fun! We booked all of our excursion at the front desk and online. We went horseback riding, zip-lining and went on a tour call Joe knows. JOE KNOWS IS A MUST!!!! so much fun!!!! I would like to give a big thank you to the staff members at Halcyon St. Lucia Yeann, Roger, Eslyn, Lenny, Michael, Gary, Aryn, Viana, and Maverick for making our honeymoon a trip of a life time. Not only were they there to make our trip special but they also became friends during our stay!!! Sandals is a wonderful company and we look forward to vacationing with them again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Halcyon.
We had a club sandals room so had special attention from Melissa our TLC manager. Thanks also to Anselma, Lloni, Fauve, Crystal and Che. Prisca on the come back desk was fantastic! I wish she was staying at halcyon and not going back to the grand!
The bar staff are all amazing! Fantastic drinks are refilled before asking and their comedy is brilliant! Thank you Ado, Kenzely, Mickey, Rita, Val, Shara, Gessler, Garvie, Agnes, Devon, Venessa, Aaron, Jimmy and anyone I've forgotten.
My favourite food was the pier! Nathalie and Celina are excellent hostesses! We were served by Casie, Marcella, Sheina, Dwight and Davies. The food is wonderful and they cater to my gluten free diet well. Curtis the piano player is excellent.
The food is really good in Marios and Bayside. A special thanks to Angelle, Davina, Delores, Tanya and Julietta.
We had lunch at the beachgrill a few times with Bradley and Martha. The menu isn't very extensive for allergies but its sufficient and nicely presented.
The entertainment crew are truly special! Eslyn is queen and Neyland, Viana, Greg and Junior are good too.
Our room on the beach was quaint and we fell asleep to the sound of the sea. The bar was always well stocked by Dylan and Yves.
We are divers and dived a lot. Impressed with Barny, Martin, Ali, Nelson, John and Antony. I enjoyed the hobie cat with Keith, Parker. Jonas, Glen, Yohanne, Yahn, Warner and Daniella.
The grounds are beautiful, clean and well maintained.
I went to la Toc and the grand but it was good to come home!
I look forward to revisiting this Christmas!

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank TiffanyBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Staying at Sandals Halcyon, my wife and I enjoyed our first resort upon arriving in St. Lucia. This was our honeymoon, and Halcyon was very well equipped for a great couples' stay. We appreciated Halcyon being much smaller in total rooms offered compared to the other two Sandals locations on the island, but we could be shuttled for free to any of the other resorts to enjoy their amenities. We had the opportunity to interact with others or keep private if we wanted. The honeymoon suites were only a short jaunt to the beach, but located in beautiful gardens. The service was excellent, and a low-stress detail for us is that tips are included in your overall bill. At most places in St. Lucia, we found ourselves practically "mugged" for tips.

We stayed the second part of our trip at Ladera and visited Sugar Beach. Ladera can't be beat when it comes to the view and breathtaking nature of the rooms. Next time around, we would have visited Ladera for 3 days to begin and Sandals for the rest of our 5 days. Halcyon made it easy to not only relax, but find adventures and ask questions. No question or curiosity was an inconvenience for the staff. Ironically, the service at Sandals that we experienced strongly beat that of the higher end resorts.

The food served is very good- bordering on basic to borderline gourmet. There is much selection and variety in food, and you can eat or drink at mostly any time during the day.

We did the romantic dinner on the beach- expensive, but worth it. Also, the Joe Knows tour arranged through the hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. There are lots of water sports to choose from- all included in the stay.

In summary, Sandals is a great stress-free location to relax, pursue adventure, eat food, and do pretty much whatever we wanted in the moment. It's not the highest end or luxury per se, but its level of attentiveness to detail, casual atmosphere, and activities made it the best part of our trip.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites are quiet and perfect for just that. Not a far walk to the beach, and more afforda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JustEmHug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Sandals - yep we were expecting a little more luxury to be honest to match its price. Being a wedding anniversary holiday we thought we would treat ourselves and upgrade to a room nearer the beach. Nothing special and rather dingy also small area to exist for a week. Excellent beach and sea but not a lot else. Staff were great and the food good

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor and near then each a Though you will have to pay considerably more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Patsyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were here for a wedding in February 2014 and were extremely impressed with the level of service starting at the airport which carried through the entire week.

Staff:
Several of the bar tenders and attendants knew us by name just a couple days in and remembered our favourite drinks. Special shout out to Maverick, Sammy Davis Jr.Jr. and Agnes. These 3 went above and beyond to make our stay that much more enjoyable.

Rooms:
Our cottage style room was beautifully decorated, clean and well stocked with water, juice, pop and beer daily. We were located directly across from the massage and had a view of the ocean.

Beach/Pool:
The Halcyon is much smaller than the other 2 sandals and we never had a problem finding a lounge chair. The beach is pretty small and due to it's location can be a bit murky when the weather is not cooperating. The beach at the Grande was our favourite as it was long, white sand and crystal clear water. The water is very calm as it is located in an inlet.

Food:
The food was incredible from both the buffet and a la carte restaurants. Had a mimosa every morning with breakfast which I thought was a nice touch. The snack bar made great sandwiches, burgers and fries which was perfect for a light lunch. Kelly's Dockside was incredible (both food and atmosphere).

The nice thing about the Sandals, is you can stay at 1 and play at 3. There is a shuttle that comes every hour or so to take you back and forth to whichever resort you want.

Also recommended is a hike to Pigeon Island and the Joe Knows Tour!

All in all, this was a wonderful experience at a resort I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at the Sandals Halcyon during the last week of July. Looking back, it was a great decision. This review will include a list of pros and cons.

Pros
- The food was delicious. I've stayed at many different resorts and this was by far the best in food choice / quality.
- The maid staff always went out of their way to say hello.
- The sports shop on campus was very helpful and accommodating. My wife and I went snorkeling or scuba diving daily. The dive shop is only 10 minutes from the resort.
- The resort is fairly quiet and personable. It didn't feel overcrowded.
- The staff didn't expect to be tipped. This is unlike other all-inclusive resorts that I've attended.

Cons
- There are cats all over the resort. This can be a bit annoying as it doesn't seem sanitary.
- Some of the beach vendors can be too assertive. They will call out for you or ask you to get them drinks from the resort.
- One of the beach vendors brings a horse across the beach and doesn't clean up the horse droppings.
- The trip from/to the airport is a bit hectic - lots of hills and turns. It takes approximately 1 - 1/2 hours to reach the resort from the airport.

Room Tip: There's a second pool at the resort that's further from the ocean. It's much more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 11 in Castries
7,492 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £333 - £961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing