We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Officially a Sandals convert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Officially a Sandals convert”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Before this trip, I never really got the Sandals hype, but after spending the last 7 days of our honeymoon there (after 5 at Ladera), we are hooked! The staff was incredibly friendly (I would especially like to single out Robert from the Beach Bistro and Agnes from the quiet pool - both were great!). We had a great time and it was nice to just relax by the pool and have as many cocktails or order whatever you wanted at dinner without having to worry about money or tipping. The service was terrific all-around, so their strategy clearly works.

Let's start out with the positives. The food was tremendous (Kelly's and Kimono's in particular) and every night, you felt like this was legitimate fine dining. The swim up bars were great. It was never hard to get a drink and the drinks were definitely not weak. Try all the cocktails, we liked the Purple Rain and BBC the best! The staff does a great job to get you a drink whenever you want one. The room were great and we liked the feel of the resort. In fact, we thought Halcyon had the best rooms out of all 3 resorts (every room at Halcyon had their own patio/balcony while La Toc/Grande had your normal hotel hallways, this just felt more like a tropical resort paradise to us). It was nice to only have to go 15 min each way to the other resorts. We went to La Toc and Toscaninni's and really enjoyed those restaurants. The other two resorts are more "party" resorts with what seemed like all young people while Halcyon was 2/3 young people and was more laid back and quiet, which is what we preferred. But I'm sure that some people prefer the party atmosphere as well. We felt like La Toc had the best pool and beach while the Grande had the best restaurants and layout of the resort.

We tried all the water sports, they offer kayaks, Hobie catamarans and paddleboards among other options. We didn't try snorkeling or scuba diving. Very easy to sign things out and use. We didn't book any excursions through Sandals, but would recommend doing one of the excursions to see the Pitons (where we stayed before Sandals) - absolutely amazing! We did go shopping for souvenirs. It is a 10 minute cab ride ($16 each way - a bit of a rip off, but the only option) and you can walk through the marketplace and buy whatever you can't at the gift shop.

While food was great, we felt that Halcyon was a little lacking in that area. Only 2 options for lunch (Bayside's buffet and Beach Bistro), it would have been nice to have another option. The other 2 resorts have a pizza place and Halcyon could use something like that as well. Kimono's and Kelly's are great and must do's, but we didn't like that Kelly's falsely advertises a Filet Mignon on their menu everywhere. We asked our server why it wasn't on there and she said they have never had it. I would be livid if I came over from the other 2 resorts expecting that only to find out it isn't on the menu. We did go to Mario's one night, but it pales in comparison to any Little Italy from any major U.S. city. Toscaninni's at the Grande is much better. Again, it would be nice if Halcyon had more dinner options, but you can go over to the other 2 if needed which is nice.

Another downside for some people would probably be the lack of activities and nightlife around the resort. Every day, Sandals provides a free paper and you can just see the amount of pool games and things to do at the other 2 are much more than what is offered at Halcyon. However, once again, this is known as the quiet resort and we preferred it that way.

One thing of note is that the hotel is 1 hour and 20 minutes away from the airport and the roads are very windy. If you get motion sickness, I would make sure to take something for that beforehand.

Overall, we would definitely recommend Halcyon. Out of the 3 Sandals in St. Lucia, it is the cheapest, has the best rooms and is the most relaxing. If you are looking to party, I would go to one of the other two, but this suited us well and we can't wait to try one of the other Sandals locations!

Room Tip: Every room is great at this hotel! We chose the cheapest (Caribbean Deluxe) and got everything we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMO816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,168
    961
    337
    146
    118
See reviews for
77
3,016
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This was our first visit to St Lucia although we have stayed at other Sandals resorts many times. On arrival at the airport in St Lucia there was no Sandals rep to show you to their lounge we had to ask where it was. When we found it there were no cold drinks or towels to greet you we again had to ask for water which was warm and not very refreshing. At other resorts we have been welcomed by a friendly rep who escorted us to the lounge where cold drinks and towels were readily available.

However once we got to the hotel everything changed. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. As previously mentioned the hotel is the smallest and quietest of the three available which is ideal if you like to relax or you have the choice to visit the others if you want more entertainment.

We had a lovely room close to all amenities block 6. The food was excellent and again you have the choice of dining at the other resorts. I think the bus times to these resorts could be revised as sometimes the timings meant either a long wait or a rush to catch the earlier one.

Another concern was the mossies and other biting insects which were evident by the bite marks on everybody's legs etc. This indicates that the pest control was insufficient.

Although this review seems somewhat negative I agree with all the positive comments left by others and would not hesitate to return as the positives outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort! Great staff, great food, beautiful accomodations! The ride from the airport to the resort was a little hairy- 90 minutes of switchbacks and scary roads. I was happy we stayed during reunion week and got several tours at no cost so we unexpectedly had extra money to take the helicopter ride back to the airport. Highly recommend all the restaurants on this resort, we stayed 6 nights & never ventured to the other Sandals- Halcyon had it all. Shout out to Lisa the resort manager, she was so nice- we had met her previously at Sandals in Jamaica.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank IloveSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is the second time my husband and I have been back to the Sandals Halcyon Resort and we just love it here!!! The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, our rooms beautiful and very well kept. The staff well words could never describe as they all go above and beyond to make sure your stay is wonderful. It truly is an amazing place. The food is fantastic and entertainment was great. The staff really goes out to make sure you have a good time. This resort is a very intimate one out of the 3 resorts in St. Lucia. The Halcyon being our favorite by far. The Grand and La Toc are very nice but we really enjoyed getting to know our staff and having them come by to say hello. Everyone knows you by name and it is such a welcoming feeling as the other two are much too large to get this type of service. From the food to the beaches to excursions to the photography shop - all is just unbelievable and we will definitely be going back a third time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We spent 1 week at the Halcyon Beach Resort and were impressed as soon as we got to the airport. As with most Sandals resorts the service starts at their own lounge at the airport where your luggage is dealt with by the resort staff.

The hotel is not as modern as some other hotels on the island and indeed other Sandals resorts but retains a lot more character and better for it.

The restaurants all provide excellent service and a good choice of well presented food. The bar area provides a good atmosphere around the main pool. The staff are very attentive and remember what you are drinking.

During the day the main pool nearest the beach is noisier than the pool in the gardens. We preferred the quieter pool however this is not to say the main pool was rowdy, just a bit more upbeat. Both had good bar and snack facilities on hand and the staff were only too happy to chat and attend to your needs or leave you alone it that is your preference.

The snack bar on the beach is good for more simple food during the day and indeed late in to the evening, whilst the a la carte restaurants serve very good food in the evening. During our week in the resort we did not find the food repetitive, however any longer and you may be visiting the same restaurants twice, which is not necessarily a bad thing as the menus were wide-ranging.

One minor criticism is the small area of the sea in which you're permitted to swim, plus the beach is not as white as in other parts of the island.

Rooms were spacious but the bathrooms a little dated. All usual amenities were available but nothing especially luxurious.

Overall an excellent resort which lots of charm and character, a move away from other larger less personal resorts.

Room Tip: A room around the larger main pool tends to be noisier during the day, a room near to the smaller po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClaudioSilvermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The grounds are beautiful and kept very well. However, we found the service to be terrible. We weren't allowed to enter into the grill because it was 30 minutes before their closing time. When we asked for a coca cola, it was like asking for a million dollars. We usually were 3/4 way finished eating our meal before we ever got our drinks. The bartender totally embarrassed my friend and made my friend cry because she split her drink at the bar (no she wasn't drunk, it just slipped out of her hand). A lady in the photo shop was rude to me when I asked what the wonderful smell was and asked if it may be her perfume. On a positive note, the GRAND in St. Lucia is breath-taking and the workers there do their best to go out of their way to be friendly and help you if needed. We did NOT find this at the Halycon. I'm not at all hard to please, but I do expect what I paid for and that was service which was terrible. If you expect great nightly entertainment, stay at home. Best advice I can give you is to stay at the GRAND!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hello Lori,

Thank you for your post. We were disheartened to note that although you were very pleased with our beautiful property, you were not completely satisfied with your stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian. Our excellent service and helpful staff has been the highlight of many reviews, which leaves us quite disappointed that your experience was not indicative of the norm. For this, we sincerely apologize. The General Manager and his team are aware of your comments and will be following up with in these matters promptly. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at Halcyon for our Honeymoon and had an AMAZING time! The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help at any time! From the start of our trip, Maverick who helped with our bags, was hilarious and so much fun! Then Euroni at the Bay Side Grill (after 10:30 pm) made the best Jamaican Jerk chicken wings and had such a fun personality!
Probably the only down side was that this was our first time at a resort like this, so we were not prepared to have to dress up for dinner every night. Now we will know for next time though and will make sure to pack more collared shirts for my hubby.
Overall, the food was good, but really it was the service and atmosphere that make this resort so incredible. It was fun visiting the other Sandals on the island for the day, but we are very glad that we chose to stay at Halcyon!

Room Tip: Any room is great, but for a small upgrade you can get a mini bar which is restocked daily. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
935 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
1.6 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
20.2 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing