We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but wouldn't take much to make it amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Windjammer for 14 nights between 6-20th November. We had a premium ocean view room on the all inclusive package. We are both in our late 20s / early 30s. Overall we had a really enjoyable and relaxing holiday. There are many good points to make about Windjammer such as:

- Very high quality food and drink selection.
- The all inclusive package is very good value for money (I would highly recommend it if you plan to mostly eat in the restaurants as we did).
- Stunningly beautiful location and beach.
- Excellent water sports programme and range of activities.

However there were just a few niggles that prevent me from awarding five stars to Windjammer:

- Variable quality of service. At times we had to wait a long time for service in the restaurants. You just got the feeling sometimes that staff would serve you when they were ready rather than anticipating when you'd need attention. A particularly bad example was one night in Dragonfly when we waited about 25 minutes for our plates to be cleared after our main course and to be offered dessert. All the staff just seem to have disappeared - at 9pm! We got bored and frustrated and had to get up to find someone to give us our bill. Other guests we met agreed that the service could be a real problem at times. I must admit this was surprising as reviews we had read prior to travelling suggested service was a real plus point. It was a real shame as the food was consistently very high quality.

- Disappointing bed. Windjammer's website says that premium ocean view rooms come with four poster beds. What we actually got was two singles joined together. Every time I rolled over I sunk down into the "gap" between the two beds which was rather irritating.

- Slightly tired room (44A for the record). Our room had a lovely view of the ocean but we felt it was beginning to show its age. For example, the roof started leaking significant quantities of rain water on our third to last night which we reported but hadn't been attended to by the time we left (had to use towels to soak it up). The toilet was rather temperamental throughout and flooded our bathroom and hall on our last night which was upsetting at the time as some of my girlfriend's clothes got wet and will need dry cleaning. The TV in the room was probably 15+ years old with poor reception a broken remote control. There was also nowhere to sit down to eat in our room (despite it being a "premium" room) and when we arrived there was only a solitary chair and tiny table on our large balcony (admittedly this was addressed by the hotel who provided another small table and a sun lounger). We also asked for additional coat hangers for our cupboard on our second day which never arrived.

- We generally didn't order the shuttle service as we weren't too far up the hill but when we asked for it to take our bags on the last day it hadn't arrived after some 45 minutes despite a chasing phone call from us. We ended up having to wheel our bags down the hill to make our check out time.

The above comments shouldn't be taken too negatively as they by no means spoilt what was a great and memorable holiday. Compared to some of the other hotels on St Lucia we saw whilst on excursions around the island, Windjammer has to be one of the best. The all inclusive package also felt like good value for money. However, if they could sort out some of these "little" niggles that collectively add up, it really would be truly legendary place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeb456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,875 - 1,881 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

My fiance and I traveled to St. Lucia and decided to stay at the Windjammer. All i can say is WOW!!! If you want to stay in a place that looks like a postcard of a tropical island, then stay at the Windjammer. We stayed in Villa 214 and i damn near passed out when i opened the curtains on our first morning. The view from our villa (and I'm sure everyone else's too) is like nothing else that I have ever seen. We saw about 4 rainbows and 4 spectacular sunsets on our week long stay from our balcony. We had a hot tub on our porch instead of a plunge pool but it would have been nicer if it heated up rather than just bubbling air temperature water. Sunsets were spectacular our view was extremely relaxing. Beach was comfortable and there were multiple places to get drinks from while sunning yourself.

The water sports were a lot of fun. We did 2 of the snorkeling trips and really got to take advantage of our underwater camera. We took a 2 person kayak out into the ocean and took a banana boat ride as well. I got the opportunity to go water skiing and picked it up really quickly. The boat operators were very friendly and informative anytime they were around.

The staff there really makes you feel special. We got to know the drivers of the shuttle that take you to and from your room. Andy was kind enough to help us bring our luggage inside and showed us around the villa and really made us feel at home. Helen from the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful and my buddy John greeted me with a big smile and hello every time we encountered him. Borden from activities got me to play cricket on the beach even though I didn't have the first clue how to play the game.
If I had to say one thing that we wished we hadn't signed up for was the "timeshare talk". The women from the sales department were very nice and accommodating but didn't want to take no for an answer. My fiance and I don't like to be rude, so we agreed multiple times to "coming back to talk with them again" but it ended up making us avoid the entire area of the lobby where they were stationed so we didn't have to see them again. It was nice getting $100 off our bill for listening to them talk but be prepared to schedule multiple "appointments" to go back and see them. If we ever get a chance to come back, we would definitely decline future sales pitches.

Food was great, we chose all inclusive for 4 out of our 7 days due to the fact that we left the resort for many excursions during the beginning and end of our trip. We ate at Papa Don's on a few occasions and the food was very tasty, including the pizza's. Embers had great lunch and kept our bellies full on the days we were on the beach. Jammer's was also good and had nice views of the beach. Be sure to find out what restaurants are open what days because some of them close on certain days for buffets. Jammer's is always open so it turned into our fallback on a lot of the days.

We booked multiple excursions while at the WIndjammer but purchased some from our resort and some from a wonderful tour company called Serenity Tours. Prices were fairly comparable but Serenity Tours really made our excursions extra special. Serenity's drivers were more on time when they picked us up versus the "island time" that the resorts drivers were on for their excursions. We highly recommend the "conveniently late" (through the resort) boat tour that brings you to the Piton Peaks and cocoa plantation and drive in volcano.
Horseback riding (through the resort) was also a lot of fun and the authentic Creole lunch you get was amazing. We booked ziplining and private VIP transport through Serenity and highly recommend using them as much as possible.

In the end, if you decide to go to St. Lucia, Windjammer is definitely were you want to stay. Even our various drivers and other couples that we met said Windjammer is the only place to be.

Room Tip: Our villa 214 had a spectacular view and you need a shuttle to get to most of the rooms. The shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saharajeepman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

On arrival we were upgraded from an Ocean View room to a 1 bed villa which was a good start to our holiday! The villa was spacious with stunning views to the caribbean from the large sun terrace, watching the sun set each day was worth the trip on its own.

We spent 9 nights on an all inclusive basis which proved the right choice for us. All 4 main restaurants are of a very high standard and the cocktail list is never ending.

The beach is a good size, superbly maintained and swimming is very safe (so long as you stay within the marked areas). Unlike many other resorts there are no unwanted hawkers working the beach which really helps the relaxing atmosphere. There's always plenty to do if you want to try the watersports on offer and each day the staff make a real effort to have a full set of activities to try (not just watersports).

For the price we paid and from what I saw of the other places to stay on the island I can't think of a better all-round resort in St Lucia, you could easily pay much more and only find marginal differences in quality. On our last day we took a trip to Rodney Bay and most of the hotels there looked far less welcoming, it made me certain we'd made the right choice with Windjammer.

Excursions are on the expensive side but thats typical of St Lucia. I recommend the volcano/mud baths, especially after hiking up Gross Piton (which was worth the effort but hot work!)

My partner used the Spa and was very impressed. The swimming pools are well maintained and clean, our favourite was the one by Papa Don's - always quiet and with stunning views.

Keep up the good work Windjammer!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMBJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Wow! What a place to spend our 16th wedding anniversary. The views are stunning! We stayed in a studio in the Habiscus Suites. It was beautiful, from the tile in the bathroom to the most wonderful view from our balcony. We were very close to the pools and beach and lobby! The staff was always friendly and helpful, never making us feel like a bother.The manager Mark and others were very attentive and accomodating. It was the best experience we have had in the carribean! If you want quiet you can have it. If you want to have activities they are there! Truly the best and most wonderful sunsets and clear warm waters you can imagine. We were very impressed with the houskeeping staff-Joelle -took such care of our room! She went above and beyond! Five star service! Thanks so much to Mark , Richard, Joelle and Kirby for making this a most memorable time!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Amazing sunsets & star lit skies from the terrace of our beautiful 1 bed villa (210). A very comfortable traditional St Lucian style apartment with full kitchen, washer dryer & plunge pool. Sleeps 4 (2 on sofa bed) with 1.5 bathrooms. Lovely for 2 cosy for 4 people.

Free cable/wired internet in the villa so bring your laptop. Do NOT forget your binos. The birdlife around here is abundant.

The shuttle bus service around the resort is excellent. The villas are situated up the hillside so a shuttle is essential.

We only ate out once. Papa Dons a bistro style restaurant. Attentive, efficient & friendly staff. An excellent meal.

The staff here are amazing. Once they had heard that I was ill they sent up a plate of prepared fruit & a get well card. A wonderful gesture & appreciated by us.

There are many repeat guests here and we can see why. The facilities are great for all ages. The staff attentive friendly & nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for the review! I'm glad your had a great stay and we hope you are feeling terrific!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This was my first time in St Lucia so I have no other places to compare this to, but the experience was amazing! We stayed with friends who had a timeshare at WindJammer and our villa was amazing. It had 2 floors, (Villa 417), the floor when you walked in was the upper floor and there were 2 bedrooms, one with a King Bed and One with 2 doubles which they ended up tying together for us to make it one King, and they even put a top mattress on to get rid of the gap in the middle. Both had large bathrooms, all stone and marble, very nice open shower with no door, very nice. On the lower floor down a nice twisty staircase with a lwindow facing the plunge pool outside, was a LARGE living room with 3 couches, a nice glass table, TV and large credenza, with French doors going out to the insanely large terrace, old stone style with a view that was to die for, all ocean, lush vegetation and Ocean front, with a giant plunge pool in the center and a nice table for outside dining or drinking. There were also 4 loungers for tanning. This view compared to the Royal in Mexico in one of my earlier reviews. Food at the resort was AMAZING, roti's, blackened fish, we even rented a fishing boat rom Exodus (best boat and captain crew), we caught a 33 pound mahi mahi (Dorado) and the resort restaurant cooked it for us no charge, we just paid for our drinks and sides pretty amazing I would say! All of food i very good. The shuttles were very fast, when we called from the room it took 2 mins max, such good service! I would go back for sure, in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silversun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thanks for the terrific review and congratulations on your fish! I'm glad you had a great stay and we look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Just finished a 10 night break at Windjammer Landing and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All inclusive package is excellent and includes imported spirits as well as local drinks. Unusually, motorised water sports are also included so it was great to try out the waterskiing as well as the Hobie Cat sailing. Rented a car for two days and thoroughly recommend a trip up to Pigeon Island which offers fascinating history and fantastic views as well as an excellent beach restaurant.

Hotel food was good, particularly Papa Dons and Upper Deck. Only small comment would be that breakfast at Dragonfly would be so much better if the sides of the restaurant were opened up to get rid of the dark and rather oppressive brown Louvre shutters. Then there would not be disappointment a
s all diners could see the beach rather than the lucky few to get the limited number of outside tables.

Overall, a great place to relax with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - especially the water sports and the food. I'm glad you had a great chance to relax.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £130 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, West Indies, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing