We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windjammer Landing - St. Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I got married at Windjammer on 11 Nov. 2011

This place was really paradise. From the scenery to the service. We could not have asked for a better wedding. My wife communicated with the wedding coordinators (Melanie and Simone) via email. Every single request that my wife made was fulfilled. Melanie and Simone made my wifes fairy tale wedding a reality. They did not leave out any details and everything was perfect.

We had 35 guests all arrive and check in at the same time and the front desk was able to get them situated and sorted out right away so that could all begin enjoying themselves. The staff made everything go so smoothly and seamlessly the entire time.

Food
The food was very delicious and always fresh. It was clear that they used natural ingredients (not the preservative soaked crap we have in the US) to make everything we ate. While the food was pricey, it was expected as with any resort food.
Our wedding dinner was outrageous!!! There was over 10 buffet style dishes, and 5 deserts. They had all the local fare, cooked to perfection and served fresh. I really wish I could have eaten more that night.
I spoke to the chef close to the end of our wedding reception to ask them to send the leftover food to our "party villa" and they were more than willing to fullfill that request. I was expecting to get shot down, but they were happy to give us the leftover food. By the time my wife and I made it to the afterparty villa, all the food was there in nice little bowls and they even threw in some extra pasta that wasn't even part of our wedding menu!

Accommodations
Our wedding suite was perfect! It was our own little peice of paradise for 7 days. Everything was clean and comfortable. The furniture was first class all the way, flat screen TV's, nice drawers/cabinets, fully stocked kitched and even a FREE giant water bottle.
We also rented 3, 4 bedroom villas for most of our guests. These 3 story villas were awesome. Each room had its own FULL bathroom. Each villa had a little pool. I had no idea that we could have so much fun in such a little pool (with some alchohol involved).

Activities
There was no shortage of activities at the Windjammer Landing Resort. Aside from the beautiful beach, there ware plenty of activities on and off site from scuba to sulphur springs. On site there's beach table tennis (a concrete table with wooden paddles and a tennis ball), a great pool where they have water exercise class every morning, kids pool, indoor ping pong and pool tables, a water sports area where they have free kayaks, daily banana boat/tube rides, free snorkel rental, free peddle boats and outside vendors that come around with boats and jet ski's and all kinds of other things (all for a small fee to help the local community). Outside of the resort you can do anything you want, just talk to Suleka (the most helpful activity person I have ever met) and she will get you set up!

Staff
Again I have to mention how helpful Melanie and Simone were! If anyone is thinking of having a wedding in St. Lucia, they should definitely talk to one of these wedding coordinators. I also have to mention Rene, he helped us with all the food and getting our rehearsal dinner and wedding food and tables set up perfectly. All the staff there is very friendly and willing to help with anything.

Overall, our wedding was a beautiful event, for us as well as all of our guests. I would definitely recommend Windjammer Landing as a place to stay in St. Lucia.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby are better. The resort sits on the side of a mountain so if stay in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CR113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

Positives
- Views, particularly at sunset
- Great cocktails (especially Cool Breeze)
- Spacious clean villa rooms

Negatives
- Unresponsive (far less anticipatory) and sometimes insensitive service (think DIY holiday)
- Decent but overpriced food
- Dated central areas

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cliff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I travelled to St. Lucia from November 26th to December 3rd all inclusively to the Windjammer Landing Resort. While the island is beautiful and people were very friendly i was extremley disappointed with the resort itself.

Firstly it was built in a mountain with many of the rooms quite far away from the lobby and restaurants making walking to and from these places quite difficult. Although there was a shuttle at the hotel it only ran every 15 minutes from the lobby (which often turned into 20-25minutes) and if you called for one from your room it was often quite a wait (worst case - forgotten and had to call back again).
Secondly the flooring in the lobby and walkways between stores and restaurants was a ceramic tile which became extremely slippery when it rained (daily). 3 members of my party were even unlucky enough to fall while there. Major injuries were avoided; however they did leave with brusing.

All inclusive - previous experience with these packages involved water bottles refilled in your room fridge daily and generally a couple of beer as well...not at this resort. You had to ask for water down at the restaurants and they were very hesitant to allow you to take any beverages back to your villa. We were told that you were allowed to bring a maximum of 2 beverages per person back to your villas.

Food - A La carte was nice however there was quite a small menu selection to choose from with only 3 restaurants. Travelling with a child was near impossible as dinner menus didnt start until 630-700pm with no snacks available during the afternoon. Service at the restaurant - very friendly however it took approximately 1 hour from sitting in your chair to recieving your food...

Villas - We had to change villas as there was a leak in the ceiling above our bed...we woke to a nice puddle in the middle. Upon contacting the front desk they told us they could not change our room until they assessed the severity of the situation - how isnt a water puddle in the middle of your bed severe---hours later we were moved into another room that required maintenance i.e. safe, baby gates, baby crib which again took 2 hours and several phone calls to complete.

For the cost of this resort and travel to St. Lucia I expected much more from the hotel's offering! Was sadly disappointed and will never return to the Windjammer Landing again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Windjammer for 6 nights in early December on a Room Only package.
We arranged with the hotel to be collected from the airport (85 USD), and were picked up by Roger, one of their drivers. The drive from the aiport takes about 1.5 hours, but Roger was very nice and filled the time with a running commentary of the places we were passing through and local news, so the time passed quickly.

We were in a double room (37A), which had a veranda with sun lounger (only one, but enough for us) and a couple of chairs. The view was simply stunning, looking out over the bay, across to Castries where you could watch the many cruise ships arrive and depart. Our room was about half way up the hillside, so it was easy enough to walk down to reception and often to walk back up to our room if there wasn't a shuttle already waiting. As others have already said, the roads and paths up the hillside are pretty steep, and it's very good exercise if you want to walk up and down. We had quite a bit of rain during our stay and this made the paths quite slippy in places, and meant that the shuttle service was in high demand.

The room came with a small fridge, tv and dvd player, and it also had an internet connection (wired not wireless). You also get a tea/coffee maker, which we made good use of during some of the rainy afternoons. My one small critiscism of the TV would be that the reception was patchy. The TV was nice and new, and there was a wide selection of channels (BBC, CNN, HBO), but the quality of some of the channels was poor. We never got to use the DVD player - despite all of the rain - as we were surprised to discover that Windjammer charge $6 rental. This strikes me as a little bit penny pinching, and i think it would be a small improvement if the management decided to offer DVDs for free (and updated their library).

The bathroom was a good size,with a decent shower, although we did find that we needed to let it run for a few minutes before the hot water came through.

We hadn't pre-paid for any meals so we were paying as we went. The breakfast was a choice of a la carte or the buffet for 68EC (£17). We went with the a la carte every day and found this to be more than ample, coming in at around 70-80 EC for the two of us. So, if your B&B deal is £10 pppd more than the room only rate, my advice would be to go room only and pay as you go (unless you want to load up with the all you can eat buffet every morning!)

As Windjammer is fairly isolated, you don't really have any other option but to eat breakfast in the resort. There is a small shop in the resort that sells bread, milk and a few groceries, but it is very expensive. If you want to stock up on groceries for the room, you might be better to take a trip to Rodney Bay, (35EC/14USD each way), where there's a supermarket that sells most things for about half the price of the resort shop.

Lunch usually came in at around 100EC for the two of us, and dinner averaged at around 200EC for 2 courses plus drinks. The food at the resort restaurants wasn't anything special (Papa Dons was the pick of the bunch), so we made the effort to go into Rodney Bay on 3 of the nights we stayed there. The prices at the top restaurants (Big Chef Steakhouse, Spice of India, La Terrasse) are not much different to the resort, but the standard is much better and makes paying the taxi fare worthwhile. It's only a 5 minute taxi ride each way.

If you are paying for your booze/meals, our advice would be to make sure you check your bill carefully. On 3-4 occasions we were overcharged, and while we are sure these were simple honest errors rather than anything more sinister, it's worth keeping an eye on.

In terms of the guest profile, it was a nice mix of all ages when we were there. There were a number of families with pre-school kids, couples and a few silver surfers, mostly from the UK, Canada or the US.

I hope this review doesn't come across too negatively as we had a very enjoyable 6 days at WJ. There is a really nice atmosphere, plenty of watersports to keep the active types occupied, and the beach is in a great spot. If you want somewhere to kick back and relax, this is a great value place to do it.

Room Tip: 37A is a good double room if you want to be able to walk to and from without the need for the shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rex_Beardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Returned from two weeks at the Windjammer resort today, this is my honest opinion and my views are judged against other quality AI resorts in Barbados and St Lucia, so hopefully my opinions are reasonably objective. Hope they help.

First up, however, is a subjective view of how a resort 'feels', and we came away very happy having received brilliant service, a lot of smiles and genuine hospitality in particular from a couple of exceptional staff and having made some good friends and enjoyed the ambiance and amenities of the resort ... For the feel factor Windjammer won out no question.

To break it down into it's parts....

The service: the staff are pretty good with a few extremely good people, in particular Geanette and Ronette who were always really sweet and funny, making being a customer a much more personal experience. The only slight moan is the reception staff aren't quite as attentive as they could be but that's a minor point really.

The beach: the beach is pleasant enough, not the best quality sand and the water was a little cloudy, but the recent rains were to blame for that. The beach drink service is very nice and easy to get used to, champagne on the beach makes you feel very relaxed! The 96 degree bar, the small bar at the end of the beach is a great place to hide from the sun and lose an hour or two with friends. The waterspouts were well catered for even though we didn't use them, just watching people trying to waterski was entertaining enough! The only gripe would be that every single day without fail people would claim most of the sun loungers and shades by putting towels down, then fail to turn up for most of the day, this is a universal trait of selfish holiday makers and a hate of mine and I would ask the management of the resort to discourage this.

Food and drink: upper deck serves brilliant steaks cooked perfectly, embers does a great cheeseburger for lunch and dragonfly serves up nice Indian and Chinese, overall the food was good. It would have been nice to have a bit more local food on offer as when it was available it was very nice.

There was a variety of drinks, from a mean rum punch to kick start the day, to all branded and various cocktails, no issues here. Again, the beach service is a nice touch.

The only hassle, if you can call it that is having to sign for everything, when your on the AI plan everything is included anyway, so signing for everything becomes slightly tiresome, would have happily worn a band if needed. The other AI resorts have not needed the signature each time.

Entertainments: the evenings when it's dry have some great events planned, we had a limbo/fire eating show one night, there were steel drums when we were leaving, live music and dj's on other nights. The trouble was when it was wet things ground to a halt, which is when you need more effort not less, so would ask management to work on this. However, to be fair the weather the last few weeks has been bad for St Lucia.

Other holidaymakers: a mix of British and North American visitors, we found a lot of friendly people to pal up with, the resort is big enough to have a nice mix of people but small enough to still be intimate enough to make friends.

The Rooms: the room was basic, I don't know if it was one of the older ones, but could do with updating, having said that didn't worry us as you don't go on holiday to spend too much time in the room. It was always cleaned well and that's really the main thing.

Quality of resort: the resort is comfortable and pretty. However, on this one visit I would say it is getting tired, a big 'spring clean' of the entire place, renovations to buildings, facilitates, gardens would really give the place an added wow factor that it doesn't have currently. However, as said in my opening comments, I really liked the resort, and only would say it could be even better and it deserves to be. I would definitely recommend the Windjammer.

Hope you enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Surfbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Let's start with the positives. They have changed to key cards to enter the rooms and many of the rooms also have new safes where you set the code for them. It is very nice not to carry around a room key and a safe key anymore. We believe they also have put in some cameras to watch the property better. We weren't aware of where they might be located but will go with the assumption that they were installed. There are also some very visible security vehicles on property now as well which is a welcomed improvement but there appear to be less security on foot. The front desk staff was, overall, much more approachable than in the past. Helen, in particular, was very helpful. The beach has been expanded and they have put in many more palapas for shade. All good things.

Activities are many and readily available. They do post a list of the day's activities in the main lobby so make sure you read it and are aware of what's offered when. As always the watersports department is the best of the entire bunch. They are personable, helpful, fun and just plain nice guys. Thanks Vincent, Nic and everyone else in that department. They are such an asset.

Now on to the not so good. After multiple visits to this property over the past 8 years and regardless of the above stated improvements we can say that it isn't what it once was. What follows will give you some information on why we say this.

Prior to arrival we were contacted via e-mail by our "Ambassador" stating that we would be met upon arrival and they would be our contact for our stay should we need anything. That was the first problem. Never met nor heard from the supposed Ambassador our entire stay (which was to be 2 weeks total but we left early). This happens to be the second visit that we have encountered this specific problem. Don't know why they bother with this supposed service if they have no intention to follow through.

We were given a welcome drink and told that there was a large group who just arrived so they would just have us go to our unit after signing the required information. We were then brought to our room and it was not remotely what was noted on our reservation -- we were to get a villa with a pool. The person who checked us in assured us that the unit we were going to had a pool. However, we were given a small old unit with no pool and an old safe (which we were not given a lock for until we asked for one). Upon inquiry of the staff as to why we did not have a villa with a pool, they looked at us like we had 10 heads, informed us that we were assigned that unit for the next two weeks and that if we had a problem with that we needed to provide proof that we were to get something different. Fortunately we were able to provide the requested proof to them. Once we did this we were moved to another unit but not until the next day. Although the reassigned unit had a pool and was better than the first one it still wasn't what we were expecting. Not a great way to start one's stay. We suggest that you bring copies of any payments, e-mails, correspondence, reservations or any information relating to your stay with you so if they question anything you say you can just pull it out and hand it to them thereby, hopefully, ending the discussion or dilemma. We will certainly do this should we decide to return again in the future.

As to food, it was the same as always (which is basic and good) with the exception of Upper Deck which we felt had improved from our previous stay.

There is a shuttle service that bring you up and down the hills. The drivers are skilled and nice. The vehicles are old but run well. The seats desperately need to be reupholstered. Major tears, exposed coils, lack of stuffing and such -- they are way beyond their prime and present an image that makes me wonder how well the resort takes care of anything that needs maintenance.

You can definitely have a good time here but after many years of the same unresolved hassles we have decided that there are other places to visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you book exactly what you want and get it. There are many types of units as well as floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had some airmiles to use up so chose St Lucia and decided to splash out on The Windjammer. We booked the hotel through a well-known travel agent in London and got a fantastic all inclusive deal - far cheaper than booking directly with the hotel.

We arrived to be greeted with cold towels. Checking in wasn't perfect, but they gave us rum punches which eased the wait. We had requested two rooms next to each other, but in the end they gave us two rooms which really couldn't have been further away from each other!

We had read various reviews regarding the shuttle bus service, and on the whole it was pretty good. However, when it rained you could wait half an hour for it to come, especially at breakfast time. Perhaps they could have put on a few extra at busy times?

The rooms were supposed to be supplied with umbrellas (which we didn't get and could have used) and safes (which was missing from our friend's room, and never replaced despite many requests).

But those were the only negative points and they didn't spoil a wonderful holiday.

The Windjammer really did live up to expectations. Although they said they were fully booked, there were always plenty of sunloungers on the beach and by the pool.

There was a large pool near the beach, and another pool close to Papa Dons and the spa. However, The pool by Papa Dons was lovely, but there were no refreshments near by, and no towels, so it was underused.

Our room was large with a separate seating area (very useful for storing our suitcases!), The shower was large and quite powerful, although it took some time to get used to the settings and it could take quite a while to warm up.

Everywhere was kept scrupiously clean.

There was a good selection of restaurants, and although they said booking was necessary for some of them, they were never completely full. My favourite was the Upper Deck. The steaks were sublime. But the food in all of them was excellent. Breakfasts were also great, with a good selection of cooked food, freshly made omelettes etc., loads of fresh fruit and yoghurts and a good selection of breads.

As were were "all inclusive", we wondered what sort of drinks we would get. In the end, we could have anything we wanted - all the branded gins, rums, pastis, etc. Even prosecco (but not champagne!). And the cocktail list was extenisive. However, at dinner you could only order wine by the glass - this probably made us drink less, but a bottle on the table would have been nice.

The watersports were great and the trips you could go on were always well organised.

The staff were great, but in particular the watersport guys were fantastic!

If we went back to St Lucia, we would definitely stay at the Windjammer again.

Room Tip: Room 145 was close to Papa Dons and a short walk from reception, beach, pool etc,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
1.7 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 12 in Castries
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Gros Islet
2,229 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £173 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing