We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We just spent a week at this lovely resort on the beautiful island of St. Lucia. The staff is so friendly and welcoming and the accommodations were perfect for the four of us in a two bedroom villa. The resort has all the amenities, activities and restaurants that we needed and we had no desire to venture out to the villages nearby. My husband and son did 2 days of scuba diving and the four of us took advantage of the morning snorkeling trips to the resort's cove. The staff at the water sports dock are very friendly and helpful and made our water activites fun. My daughter-in-law and I did the all day trip on the Endless Summer sailboat and enjoyed seeing the Diamond Falls Gardens and having lunch at the cocoa plantation. The sunset cruise to Rodney Bay was also a highlight for us.
The beach is perfect for families and couples with clear turquoise water and soft white sand and plenty of lounge chairs. There is a trampoline and slide as well as a climbing mountain float to swim out to. At the watersports dock you can take out sailboats, kayaks, peddleboats as well as waterski or wakeboard. There are several pools scattered around the property which are all well maintained. In fact all the grounds are well manicured and beautifully landscaped.
We ate all our meals in the restaurants and enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had a chef making eggs/omelettes to order. Embers has a great menu for lunch right on the beach. We really enjoyed Papa Don's menu and the steaks and fish at the Upper Deck are great.
A real highlight was the Tuesday night performance of the Limbo dancers and fire eaters at Jammers bar. Getting around this large hillside property is no problem since there is a van/shuttle service readily available with friendly drivers, although we mostly walked down the lane from our villa to the main buildings/beach.
There is lots of security on grounds and we felt very safe on the property.
We really appreciated the assistance that Carolyn in reservations gave us before we arrived and for showing us some options for our visit next year. All the staff is very helpful and pleasant. We had spa treatments our last day which were very relaxing and one of the best massages we ever had although the spa facility is not up to the caliber of the staff's skills. We understand that a new spa is being built this summer.
The weather this last week of January was perfect... warm and sunny low 80's with tropical breezes so we never felt hot or humid and the occassional "liquid sunshine" only lasted a few minutes. We had a great experience and hope to return with our other son and his family next year.

Room Tip: The resort has a variety of rooms, and villas from one room suites to 4 bedroom villa estate homes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okemospike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thanks for the terrific and detailed review! It was such a pleasure meeting you during your visit; I look forward to your return visit next year! I'll make sure to pass along your nice comments to Carolyn. We're working hard on the plans for the renovation and new spa!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,606
    712
    208
    96
    44
See reviews for
901
1,070
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

St Lucia is a truly wonderful place for a relaxing vacation and the Windjammer resort is a fabulous place from which to enjoy the island. It is built like a Mediterranean village with private terracotta tile roofed white villas clinging to the hillside above the sparking Caribbean sea, ans set in manicured gardens that lead to the central resort facilities. Some of the rooms/villas can be reached on foot, but for most, a short (and "exciting") shuttle trip is necessary, leading one up and down narrow steep lanes through the tropical landscape. The location is magnificent, and facilities at the resort were more numerous than one has time to enjoy. Our room was fabulous with a roll away wall leading from the sitting room onto a completely private patio, with magnificent views. it was also a wonderful place to relax after dinner with a glass of the excellent local rum! The bathroom was partly open air, with great views from the open bath/shower. The restaurants were plentiful and of a high standard, such that we only ventured out for one evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the all inclusive package was definitely worth it. The only criticism is that some of the common areas are in need of renovation and a coat of paint; All in all, this is a fabulous place for a getaway or prolonged vacation.

Room Tip: Get the upgraded room. Some of the comments from guests in regular rooms were not so complimentary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at Windjammer with our 4 year old daughter for a week in January. We had a fantastic time and found St Lucia beautiful and the people friendly and welcoming. We spent some time trying to decide where to stay and were delighted we chose the Windjammer. From the moment we walked in, the staff couldnt have been more helpful (especially Nick and Donizette on reception) and fussed over our daughter which was great. We found the resort very child friendly although lacking in kids so the kids club was often deserted!

It was our first trip to St Lucia and we stayed in a Hibiscus suite which was spacious, stylish and well equiped. The location of our villa was perfect, being next to 2 of the pool and close to all the restaurants, beach etc. The hot tub on the terrace was a bonus. We didn't know what to expect of the food but the all inclusive option worked well for us and we enjoyed some great meals, cocktails and ice-creams on the beach.

Overall, we had great holiday, met some lovely people and loved the resort. We'd definately like to go back (especially as it's now snowing here!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wombles_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Windjammer Jan. 1-9/12 in villa #23 with our 2 teenagers (17, 15). From snorkeling, jeep tour, catarmaran, ziplining, spa and golf - we had an amazing time! The beach area was beautiful and always had room to sit and relax. The restaurants at the resort are good. We did venture out one evening into town for dinner - many people do this. The resort is on the side of a mountain which is pictureque from the beach. There is a shuttle that leaves every 15 minutes to bring guests to their villa so you can walk up and down the mountain all week for excerise or take a ride. Our villa was extremely spacious with a huge main living area and veranda too (also a personal plunge pool). The room is open with no glass on the windows just bars. Needless to say we had a cat visit us daily and birds would fly through once and awhile. The bedrooms were air conditioned and big. Bathrooms were clean and lots of room in the powder area. We had a balony outside our bedroom which was an awesome place to sit at night and watch the gorgeous sunsets and cruise ships leave. We did have the opportunity to go through some of the time share units that are avaiable to buy. There is a difference between our villa and the timeshares. It made the one we stayed in look "tired" but we never would have noticed if we hadn't gone on the tour.
Overall we would recommend Windjammer. St. Lucia is gorgeous island!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kanton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Windjammer for our honeymoon beginning on January 15, 2012. I cannot speak highly enough of this resort. We have a timeshare interest with the Ritz Carlton and routinely go to the Ritz location in St. Thomas. THE WINDJAMMER IS MUCH BETTER.

Being that it was our honeymoon, we were seeking solitude. Initially our room was next to a couple who had a rather unruly baby that felt inclined to scream for eighteen hours straight...not the ideal ambiance for a honeymoon. We spoke with Nick at the front desk and were promptly shown several other rooms and took our pick with zero hesitation from the staff.

All of the restaurants are fantastic.

The service at the bar was great.

Things to do:

The zip line is a must.

If you like touristy things the catamaran tour is good...not my style but my wife loved it. It's a pretty good way to see the island from the water.

If you want a tour of the island.."Anthony Bourdain style" ask around for Gus's phone number. He has a nice sedan and at an extremely reasonable rate he will take you around the island and show you the true tastes and culture of St. Lucia. I cannot speak highly enough of Gus and the time that we spent with him.

We are already in the process of booking a return trip to the Windjammer for our anniversary...if that says anything.

Room Tip: We were in 33A...Fantastic views, quite solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HornedFrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Windjammer Landing January 2012
We stayed here as part of our timeshare weeks. Our villa was undergoing maintenance so we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom Estate villa, number 504. This was a lovely vila with a shaded veranda which was useful to me as I get sunburnt easily. The plunge pool was very clean if rather cold due to the shading.

Shuttle service was prompt on most occasions and all the drivers very friendly and helpful with our heavy suitcases. The resort has new shuttles which are more comfortable than the old ones.

Our first week was fairly quiet but our second week was busy. This was reflected by the number of people on the beach and we witnessed “towel rage” several times. In spite of additional cabanas there is still not enough shade on the beach for everyone. Rather than fight for space we tended to stay up in the villa in the morning and come down for lunch and watersports in the afternoon.

CheckIn and CheckOUt much improved. We had one problem with the lock on our front door not working but this was quickly fixed. Tip. Do make sure that the shuttle drivers wait to see if you can get into your villa! This is particularly important if you are in one of the high ones as it is a steep walk down to get help…

Food at Upper Deck was very good, particularly the starters and my mahi mahi main course was good perfectly, not dry and overcooked.
The new “comfort food” menu in Dragonfly was just starting as we were leaving.

Special thanks to Millie at the Spa for an excellent pedicure and massage, Tanise and Heather in Reservations for sorting out an upgrade on arrival - much appreciated, all the shuttle drivers - especially Andy for coping with my very heavy suitcase, most of the Jammers Bar staff, Dominina in Housekeeping for keeping our villa very clean and security who were friendly and professional.

All in all, a much-improved experience. Standards of service were good, pools were clean and shuttles were prompt. Richard Mark, Mark Ozawa and John were all around checking the property and making things happen. I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdovey, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at Windjammer Landing. It was great. The accommodation was superb and the staff helpful and very friendly. One disappointment was that we had paid a fortune for a Hibiscus suite with a hot tub. The hot tub was not working and couldn't be repaired. They did offer to move us but instead we took a $(US) 1,000 reduction in our charge. The food was good in all the restaurants.

Three adverse thoughts so far as we were concerned. Located on a hillside and consequently there were 97 steps from the beach to our room. My 67 year old knees just managed. They do have a shuttle bus to take you to your suite but this was not about when I wanted it. Throughout the resort there are steps. It would be a real problem for anyone who has mobility problems. It is located 1 mile from the main road and a $14(US) taxi ride, one way, from Rodney bay and all the great restaurants shops and bars. OK if you just want to stay on the property but a bore if you want to visit other restaurants etc. Finally it is a "Family" resort and miserable old folks should take this into account. There were a good number of young families there.

There must be some great deals about at present as the hotel was less than 50% full during the 10th to the 24th January 2012.

Room Tip: We were in Hibiscus 333A a great room better when the fix the Ht Tub. Quiet, great views of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,141 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, West Indies, Destinology, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing