We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place I've been in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best place I've been in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

While this is not the fanciest resort I have been to in the Caribbean, the overall combination of natural beauty, sizable villas, activities for adults and kids, beach, cost/value and more than anything the staff, made this my favorite of the many places I have been in the Caribbean. The one item that was slightly lacking was the food quality, although we still enjoyed many of our meals. We preferred Jammers and Papa Dons to Embers and Dragonfly. On the plus side, the villas have kitchens so you can also pick up some groceries and enjoy breakfast on your picturesque veranda, many of which have private pools or hot tubs. But more than anything what set this resort apart from many of the others we have been too is the staff. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay a good one. They upgraded us for free from a 1 bedroom/1 bath villa to a 2 bedroom / 2 bath villa since they thought it would better accommodate our kids, and then when I injured my foot they moved us for free to a fancier unit which was lower down the hill and had less stairs. Our kids really enjoyed going to the Kids Club and their staff was great too. Lawrence, Richard, Macreena, Gail and others were all amazing and made it a trip to remember. Lawrence exceeded all expectations and even used his own his free time to make sure we were well taken care of. Even the check-in process was wonderful where instead of waiting in a big line, you sit down, they serve you a welcome drink and cool towel, and they bring the check-in papers to you. I would absolutely go back to Windjammer Landing.

Room Tip: All the Villas are built up the side of a small mountain and some can be quite a hike or require you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jginbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    682
    204
    96
    43
See reviews for
833
1,044
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic time here. My wife, who never says she would go back somewhere we have been to, said she wants to come back here (can't think, personally, of a better review than that for me). We stayed 8 nights and the weather, even for December, was fantastic. I recommend the all inclusive package. It is well worth the money.

Room Tip: pick one with a pool. Villa's usually have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The views are the main appeal of this resort. Loads of activities for kids and generally a beautiful place.
The rooms were nice, a funny musty smell, very rustic but again- amazing views. Food was very limited- I hope you like Mahi Mahi! 3 restaurants on site- Papa Dons is the best but how many times can you eat in one restaurant in 7 days!
Lovely staff, especially the shuttle drivers but the shuttles themselves are a pain. You can't pop back to the room to pick up your hat if you forgot it- its a 15-20minute round trip!
A beautiful island and a nice resort but don't think we'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shosh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The plus for this resort is the views. They are lovely. The negatives begin with being told to sit down upon arrival and half an hour later a very busy reception person come to give us the key to our room. The entry to the resort area is directly below the single suites for the hotel, so you will get horns honking at all hours o the night to alert the security guard, you will get boisterous party goers yelling at one another late at night. We reported our internet was not working five time and it was only fixed an hour before we left and only because we said we would mention this on tripadvisor. Not sure at all why Conde Nest gave this resort such a high ranking in 2009. The staff are nothing short of curt. The system of taking folks to their units is cumbersome. The coffee for breakfast in the morning was undrinkable We could hear the folks next door sneeze...so if you are on your honeymoon (we weren't) well...not sure I would want to be heard. On the plus side, the pool was clean and large. There is no snorkelling on the beach, but there is a roped off swim area with very dirty and somewhat unsafe floats. My husband fell on the wooden platform and badly bruised two toes. Lastly, we were told we would get a sunset room....but those only come with the villas, not with the single rooms. THis was the first place we stayed at in St. Lucia. We loved the other two.

Room Tip: The villas that have multiple rooms might afford a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the poor service you received; I will be reviewing your comments with our team and we will address these issues.

Regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polis, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

In the course of our nine nights we stayed in 3 different types of room, so can make some comparisons.
Our initial booking was for an Ocean View room, as this was all that was available, in which we spent our first night. The room & shower-room were clean, but smelt slightly musty, looked a bit tired and offered just average size. The 4 poster bed was very comfortable and had mosquito netting round ( there were a few of these critters around - but not swarms - and the grounds are sprayed every 2 days or so), however due to the 4 poster frame the netting did not make a perfect seal. For a couple just needing somewhere to sleep and planing to spend most of the time on the beach, doing activities and outings this type of room is OK and reasonable value.

The next day we were able to upgrade to a 1 bed Villa which was at the end of a block of 3 or 4 where you walked into a lounge/kitchen with reasonable size terrace with steps up to a sundeck with 2 loungers, and downstairs to the roomy bedroom/shower-room. All very clean and done in the colonial/rustic style. This villa suited us much better as it offered privacy, space to sunbathe & relax, good views and the ability to make our own hot drinks, if we wished, in the fully equipped kitchen (previous room just coffee making). We were fully inclusive....not good for the waistline! To try and mitigate this we walked down the hill and back, about 2/3Km to/from the main area/beach, and went for walks around the extensive grounds. Actually we cheated a bit by getting the readily available shuttle bus to take us up to the highest point and then walking back down via various routes. For the budget conscious, who are not afraid of getting their hands dirty in the kitchen, I think these villas are ideal to use on a B&B basis and get fresh produce from the mini market near reception.

The buffet Breakfast is comprehensive and good, keeping us going till diner time. The food in general we felt was good with the Upperdeck best for service and quality. Prices are high, but I think, in line with what one has to pay on St. Lucia. We felt that we had eaten/drunk to the value we paid for All Inclusive even though we are not big drinkers and skipped most lunches.

As our flight home departed in the evening we asked if we could check out late. There is normally a charge for this, but to Windjammers credit, they said that although unfortunately our 1 bed villa was needed, they would provide us with a complementary room for the day. This turned out to be one of the newer Hibiscus Suites, which are situated near the beach and reception. We had a one bed with balcony. Very nice, clean, spacious and offering good privacy and sea views. Ideal for a romantic couple who want to "push the boat out".

The resort endeavours to cater for all, young/old, couples/families, children/weddings, and we felt, did a reasonable job in all areas. The beach is large enough to not feel crowded and with secluded areas, and this goes for the rest of the facilities. Yes the resort is on a steep hill and some of the larger villas are quite a long way away & up necessitating the shuttle bus, but there are plenty of options lower down and closer to the main area/beach. For us it was good to have the space and not feel crowded.
What stood out for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, just the odd one a little frosty. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday and we feel we got what we paid for. We enjoyed seeing the very friendly wild birds and listening to the frogs singing at night.....much better than city crowds and traffic noise.

Room Tip: Blocks J & I reasonable price 1 bed villas on 3 levels close to Papadons Restaurant, a pool/Jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalichui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for your thorough review! I'm sure readers will appreciate the comments about the various room types. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your late departure and I'm happy you enjoyed the food! We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Resort is expansive and beautiful. Stayed for a week on a timeshare getaway with spouse. As other reviews have said it IS very hilly, but the shuttle service is reasonably prompt--worse going back to room at end of day. Took full advantage of free water sports--snorkeled, kayaked and used paddle boats. Had an older one bedroom villa-with open air living, dining and kitchen--after a while birds, geckos, gnats and mosquitoes were a bit off putting. Unfortunately after a heavy rain we learned our villa's roof leaked. Front desk could not have been more accommodating-moved us to new villa that day. The new villa was gorgeous and all enclosed. Both villas had plunge pool on decks. Part of the real beauty of resort is also a drawback--it is very remote-you must take taxi $14US one way to nearest town Rodney Bay-where shopping and restaurants abound. Without competition the 5 on-site restaurants are quite pricey. We ended up going to supermarket and I cooked breakfast and dinner each day. But all in all resort was beautiful and staff friendly and helpful. Romanus at water sports was the best!! Friday's Sunset Cruise is a MUST. Suleka at the activities desk was knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for fully enclosed and as close to beach as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RDD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for the terrific review! I'm glad you had a great stay but I'm sorry about the roof leak. I'll be sure to pass along your nice comments about Romanus and Suleka!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked our trip more than 6 months ago as an Interval International Getaway. We contacted the Managing Director at that time, requesting as nice a suite as possible, given that we would be there for two weeks. He only responded many months later, after two more emails.
The resort itself is reasonably nice, however our unit was badly in need of upgrading, with dirty kitchen curtains and a generally 'tired' appearance. We made staff aware of our displeasure with the unit, but nobody seemed interested in addressing our concerns, although all staff with whom we spoke readily admitted that this was an older unit in need of renovation.
The resort is built on the side of a mountain, with shuttle service running all day up and down steep, winding roadways. We were not too high up, but it still required a fair bit of energy to get up and down to the beach, even though we are in good physical shape. We didn't want to wait at all times for a shuttle to be available.
They advertise internet service, however wifi is only available in the lobby and we were not informed that only ethernet connection is available in the room. We would have brought a laptop, rather than IPad had we known.
The restaurants we sampled served good food, but were on the pricey side. The resort is not within walking distance of other restaurants or any other commerce. Rodney Bay, with high quality, reasonably priced restaurants is a $14US taxi each way.
The Dragonfly restaurant had an excellent Friday night barbecue buffet. Service was pleasant enough.
We ate several dinners at Jammers. Service was variable but food was generally good. The setting is lovely, overlooking the beach and water.
Our favourite restaurant was Papa Dons. It is Italian, but has a very wide menu, It's reasonably priced and the service and food were the best of the entire resort. We ate several meals there.
We did enjoy our stay, however, we feel that for a supposedly high end resort, Windjammer is lacking many of the finer things. It is badly in need of updating for it to really be first class. We would not hurry to return.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus Suites are the nicest, but we were told none were available, in spite of our having req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank judykball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. First, I apologize for my slow response to your earlier messages. I am sorry your stay was not as positive as would like but I appreciate your feedback. We are planning a renovation of rooms starting this summer and installation of wi-fi in the units as well. I hope you'll give us a chance in the future.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
22.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
7.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing