We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My wife and I came here for our one year wedding anniversary.
We would like to thank the management for providing a bottle of champagne a plate of chocolates and for the flowers on the bed when we arrived in the room for us to be able to celebrate - very nice touch!
We were blown away by the beauty of the gardens the wife Spanish looking buildings and the lovely beach.
The resort has everything you need for a very relaxing stay and ideal for a week's break.
It is slightly isolated but then so are most of the big resorts on the island.
Staff were always very cheerful and willing to help, food was good quality so our only gripe was that eating in the restaurants was pretty pricey. Whilst eating out on the island is pricey the restaurants in the hotel looked even more so.
Tips: Do not go all inclusive- unless you want to do waterskiing all day , book for restaurant of your choice the day before as it gets very busy, leave plenty of time for the shuttle bus to the villas from reception, as they often delayed especially in the evening by more then 20 minutes at times- owing to the size of the resort and expect slightly slow service in restaurants. Try our some set cruises catamaran tour which starts at the hotel unlike other boats, which starts on the south of the island. The day out was excellent!
Regardless of these few minor issues the resort is a lovely place to stay and after seeing some of the other bays on the island we are sure that we made the right choice and we would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Room located quite high up the hill as you'll get an amazing view of the beach and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimboha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,584
    704
    206
    96
    44
See reviews for
882
1,062
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Windjammer resort. The resort is absolutely gorgeous!!!

In the beginning my sister and I had an unpleasant experience with one of the staff's miscommunication, however when we raised our concern to our tour ambassador it was very quickly brought to the resort manager-Franz. He met us personally to apologize and offered a satisfaction credit. He handled it very professionally, which my sister and I felt extremely appreciated. Thank you!

All the staff were very nice and always smiling. We didn't like the fact we had to wait a long period of time to be assisted at The Jammer Resturant, the wait period to get served by the staff was over 15 mins. It seemed they were understaffed. Other than that all the staff were extremely helpful, always willing to go above and beyond to make sure we were truly satisfied. The staff deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent customer service.

Kudos to everyone for making our stay a great one- I will definitely be staying with the Windjammer Landing again with my husband when we come to St.Lucia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I just had a second visit to Windjammer, the property is very beautiful and the villas are spacious and very comfortable especially for large families or groups. We returned for our 20 year aniversary and had ana amzing time. the staff is excellent and customer service is tops!
When choosing this property just know that if you want to spend time at the Pitons or the rainforest side of the Island Windjammer may not be for you because the drive to the Pitons is approx 1 1/2 , most of your hikes, waterfalls, and snorkeling is around the Pitons. But if you are more of the type for city, markets golf,or just plain hanging out on the resort property Windjammer is perfect for you. Note that if you are staying up at the Estate Villas the walk down is not easy especially if you have children , but Windjammer is excellent about picking you up with in minuted of calling for a shuttle ride to take you uip or down.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived yesterday on LIAT from Barbados at about 9 AM. When we arrived at the WJL lobby we were immediately greeted and offered a rum punch while our reservation was being handled by the desk. The manager came out and greeted us personally and offered to let us occupy one of the smaller 1 bdrm villas ( #127) up the hillside while our room was awaiting check-out and housekeeping. Great service! The shuttle took us up to the nosebleed seats villas and we stayed, read and relaxed until they called and sent a shuttle with keys for our Hibiscus Villa # 312.

The older hillside villas are very old caribbean, no ceiling in bathroom, no solid patio sliding door but a thatch work slider that lets the "tradewinds" into the living and kitchen area which are not air-conditioned and VERY clammy. (Glad we're not on a budget..be forewarned you get what you pay for..)

Villa 312 was ready by 3 PM and we loved the location right next to the main pools, bars, restaurants and beach. No need to shuttle here, and views to die for (see photos).

Ice cold AC in the living and kitchen area, same in 1 bdrm area. They had placed a ginger and hibiscus, anthurium floral arrangement on the liv rm table and arranged two robes on the king bed, sprinkled with ginger blossoms... nice touch!

Washer and dryer in these villas, newer jacuzzi on the patio complete with a hardwood dining tabl for 6. All appliances and furnishings in good order. The mini-mart onsite had ample deli, staples and munchies for our afternoon kick back to watch the sunset.

Our only negative so far for us is that we " love kids " ( especially barbequed.) who are overrunning the resort, screaming happily all hours and driving Kelly nuts... They're from the UK this week on school break and filling the place up. Dining is so..so because these same Brits are eager to clammer over everyplace with their "all inclusive" plan which cheapens the experience for those of us who know better.

In fact, the wait staff didn't bring out the lobster menu thinking at first we were one of those people.

Kelly really enjoyed her lobster and I tore into a ribeye after we split a seared ahi tuna appetizer at the Upper Deck. Nice service there in spite of the pressure on the kitchen.

I think we'd come again if we could book the same quality of room at a time when the little kids are home and the resort is more couples oriented. Roti wrap today on the beach, stake out your beach chairs by 7 AM...

Room Tip: Book in the Hibiscus villas if you don't like having to take a shuttle bus up and down the hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Windjammer is everything I epected and more. I wanted to surprise my girlfriend (now fiance) with the best proposal I could think of and my conceirge Darryl made that happen. He went above and beyond to make it perfect! We had a candlelit private dinner on the beach overlooking the water to a beautful sunset. The food is good and I would note that the staff are very friendly. We had an amazing villa with a private pool, there was air conditioning in the bedroom but not in other rooms. People-it's the islands if you want to sit in an air conditioned room vacation somewhere else-that's not an island vacation. Their beach is relaxing and has enough room so that you are not immediately next to anyone. The only con to my experience in St. Lucia is the distance between any location. It is an hour to the resort and taxis are expensive even when compared to NYC's. There's not much of a night life but if you're looking for a very relaxed place and a good value I strongly suggest Windjammer Landing. And get the villa with a pool! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Villas with a pool closer to the lobby-shuttles are quick if you get one higher up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My family and I had stayed at the windjammer landing for 11 days. We went thru RCI exchange. We had a three bedroom villa the first 4 nights and had to switch rooms for the remaining 7.At first the resort seemed amazing with a few exceptions to the room. The place is full of cement tile stairs. Very bad for kids and even adults when the floor gets wet! My mother who is still young in her fiftys fell and got hurt. The bugs were terrible, we got eaten alive and half way thru the vacation of a 11 day stay really turned us away. The maids had stole $800 of our vacationing money. Everyone seemed so nice at first but as the time went on management said they were doing an investigation and will get to the bottom of the theft. However we got one of the biggest run arounds of our lives.We had switched to another villa which to find out was way more updated then the old villa they originally put us in. All sorts of confusion was going on from that point on. Staff thought we were new comers with a huge welcoming packet and lots of friendly invites. It was awesome but really we had already been there for four days and our old Ambassador did nothing like our new one. Very disappointed when we realized the huge difference in staff. We had asked on a daily basis how the theft was coming and they just kept telling us that we are still investigating. Finally, at the last day of our stay they tell us they are sorry they can not do anything for us. They do not have enough proof. If we are unhappy we may call the police. So that is just what we did and when the police showed up they yelled at the manager for not contacting them the day it had happened because now evidence was tampered with and they could no longer help us. Very disappointing vacation. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND OR RETURN!

Room Tip: Watch out for the maids they are thieves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica Estates, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at this resort through an RCI exchange in September 2012. We had a one bedroom suite overlooking the water and within walking distance of the main lobby (Rm 120). The bedroom was air-conditioned, but the kitchen and living room were not. In addition, the TV was located in the living room and there was none in the bedroom. Overall, however, the accomodations were very good. The breakfast buffet was somewhat pricey at $30.per person and offered the usual choices. We elected not to take the all-inclusive option. After the first day we decided to purchase breakfast food and eat this meal in our room. Dinners and drinks were priced as those in in any large city restaurant. A utility charge of $180. added to the costs. Night entertainment was available most nights, but we elected to travel into neighboring towns most evenings. We did attend the manager's cocktail party and this provided the usual tropical drinks and a few tid bits which were quickly consumed. The travel into neighboring towns was a major draw-back of the facility because taxi fees were high. These varied anywhere from $30. to $50. round trip. The fare from the airport to the resort was $85. one way since the resort was located 1 hour and 15 minutes from the airport. In summary I would say that the Windjammer is a picturesque resort with good accomodations, friendly staff, numerous pools and a beach area. During our stay the resort was only about 40% occupied,so the pool and beach areas were empty. Tours and water sports were readily available , but nightlife was almost non-existent. The remote location made travel into local areas costly.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lobby preclude waiting for a shuttle which was sometimes, but no frequently, req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drfredJamaicaEstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
7.2 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, West Indies, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing