We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My wife booked us at the Windjammer in St Lucia. The beach and water are beautiful, the hotel and the service is bad. In addition to the bad service, all of the restaurants are outdoors. Don't be fooled by the indoor/outdoor language on their website. This is very deceptive. It you like sweating through your meals this may be a place for you. Our second night there we made reservations at their "premier" restaurant Upper Desk. It was a two and a half hour miserable meal. Our waitress disappeared for 20 - 30 minutes at a time. Since I was sweating heavily it would of been nice to have my drink refilled occasionally.

Many of the villas only have air conditioning in the bedroom. The kitchen, living rooms and dining areas are open air. Again, if you sweating on you couch this may be a good place for you. Like many others we talked to here, we asked to change villas after a couple of miserable days. They did move us to a villa with a/c until the villa lost power on our last night and we got to stay in a third villa.

To top if off they are undergoing major renovations. My wife called ahead of time to see if the construction would be a noise problem. They said no, they were just draining the pool and specifically said no jack hammering. This turned out to be clearly false as we continued to be bombarded with continuous construction noise. The noise greatly limited the time in our plunge pool. If you are really set on coming to St Lucia there appear to be some nice places to stay on the island. Spend a few more bucks and pass this place by, not worth the money or aggravation.

Room Tip: Book at place. Do not waste your money or time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, Front Office Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Greg: Thank you for the review and I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We do have both open air and fully enclosed Villas; the open air units are the traditional Caribbean accommodation with air conditioning in bedroom and open breezes in the living room. However, many people prefer the air conditioning in all areas and so we offer both options. I'm sorry we didn't communicate this to you before your arrival. I'm glad you enjoyed the island and hope you'll return to Saint Lucia again.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,686 - 1,692 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

My 12 year old and I did a one week all inclusive at Windjammer in October of 2012.

Check-in was really awkward. They have you sit on a couch with your rum punch, but it just doesn't work. I didn't like giving my credit card to an employee and then they walk away with it. I like to watch where it goes. Standing at the main desk would have been preferable.

We were told that the ambassador would contact us at the beginning of our stay to assist us, but it was only by luck that we ran into him at the end of the week. It's never good to over promise and under deliver.

We booked the lowest level of room and when we saw our accommodations, we were shocked. They were stunning. There were three levels: jacuzzi on the roof, kitchen and living room on the main, and bed and bath in the cool basement. The bathroom had a newer renovation but the rest of the suite was showing a bit of age. The jacuzzi on the roof really needed a clean. I shut it off once and a giant cockroach floated out of one of the jets. If they changed the soft furnishings (couch, mattress, etc.), it would go a long way. But overall, we were very happy having so much space.

The food was strangely inconsistent. Some meals were stellar, some barely edible. Not a tomato to be seen the whole week. Lots of chicken and green peppers. Texas night had an awesome brisket though. If there was live music, we made sure to book our dinner so that we could listen to it.

Although tipping was included on our package and added to all the bills that they make you sign with each meal, make sure to tip extra in cash. The breakfast servers quit serving us towards the end of the week. No coffee for me!!! It got to the point that we would stay away from some staff. Actually, they needed to bring in some better managers. Some of the staff had bad attitudes and as a guest, you almost need an advocate.

The best part about the resort was the water activities. We never missed the afternoon tubing and the snorkeling was fun. My 12 year old learned to waterski which was a highlight. Great staff in the water sports section. We picked this resort because it appeared to have an inflatable water launch but it did not. There was an inflatable trampoline that was fun. But not crazy fun like a water launch. And they ran out of towels with a 40% occupancy rate. The water, however, is a great temperature and the surf was really mild.

I was interested in the time shares, but in speaking to the current owners, there seem to be many unresolved issues with them and I would give them a wide berth.

So if you do decide to go, make sure to go all inclusive. The meals and drinks add up fast.

If you are a light sleeper, take ear plugs for the crickets that chirp the whole night.

And bring bug spray and antihistamine cream for the bites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hintontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Myself and my family, with children's ages between 16-8yrs old have just returned from this hotel.
We found the hotel to be worthy of its 4star rating, and the location is to die for!
We stayed in a 3 bedded villa with plunge pool, and the views where amazing, fully equipped kitchen, 3 bathrooms, air con in all the bedrooms, which was greatly appreciated!
We stayed all inclusive, which as a family would definitely recommend, as the prices of meals, drinks were very expensive, and it was great that all the water sports were included, eg sailing,
Knee boarding, banana boat rides and snorkelling.
THe staff we found to be very warming and friendly, and always at hand if we had any questions.
The beach although public was very safe, and absolutely gorgeous! Must say hello to Jambo who made bamboo hats etc on the beach.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday, and cannot wait to go back to this little bit of paradise we have found, thank you for a great holiday, and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: HIbiscus rooms lovely, we stayed in villa 6, easily within walking distance of reception and Dragon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My family and I have just returned from almost a week at this resort (lost a day due to 24 hour flight delay), and am still feeling chilled out from the experience, which is unusual! I would agree with most of the other comments, the slightly annoying part of the break was the service, a bit hit and miss, but hey it's the Caribbean, chill and slow down, who's rushing?The rooms were great, we were in 142, great view, bit of a noisy air conditioning system but didn't seem to disturb our sleeps. The staff were pleasant and I feel if you show kindness and respect, you usually receive the same. The food was great, we went all inclusive, and I wasn't expecting the quality and choice so gained a few pounds as well, the drinks also very good especially the great cocktails and smoothies. What was brilliant was the water sports that were available, the Sailing boats were kept busy by my family, and the snorkelling trips amazing, and made even better by the guy who took us there, pointing out all the amazing things under and out of the sea. Yes there were lots of families there, but I do not agree with Captain Tar's rather snooty comments, the half term holiday makers were not a problem, infact I find his comments offensive. My only gripe apart from the slowish service, was that it is very annoying when people stake out their sun beds early morning then don't return to them for ages after.....why do this, pathetic?! Would I go again, yes I would love to take my family there again, I haven't felt this relaxed after a holiday for a long long time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Llondbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

What a wonderful location. We were pleasantly surprised with our room which felt like our own little studio apartment with a roof terrace. Spacious, clean and bright with a fab view.
The beach wasn't crowded (week after half-term) and we loved it. An upgrade in deck chairs would be nice but they were fine.
We ate in the Jammers bar on the first evening and although yummy, we found it expensive compared to restaurants outside the resort. The grocery store is also overpriced. We decided to get a taxi into Rodney Bay the next day and eat there.
A taxi costs $35 ec. Which is reasonable considering how much you save on meals etc.

The waitress we had was friendly. The nurses were great (badly bitten before arrival at wj). Reception staff need a lot of training. They were very nice on the surface but the minute you query something we could tell they were annoyed. One gentleman who may have been the duty manager was the best, his manners and attitude needs to trickle down to the rest of staff.
That said we will be returning next year.

Also the shuttle bus service was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sticky2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 children 11 & 3) stayed here for two weeks on an all inclusive basis. The location, with its pretty cluster of villas clung to the steep hillside has breathtaking views. We stayed in a 2 bed villa within reasonable walking distance of the hotel (easy 5 min going down - 10min steep walk up) - highly recommended otherwise you have to wait for the shuttle bus service to take you back and forth - a pain if you've left something in the room! We had no real complaints about the food quality in any of its four restaurants, the Upper Deck being overall best for quality. Breakfasts were plentiful and good choice of hot and cold dishes, service in some restaurants was slow, more so in the bar, but we've found this is not untypical in the Caribbean - it's not up to Mauritius standards. There were certain individuals who gave excellent warm friendly service and some who needed to learn how to smile. Children's club was very popular with both our children, as it was the UK half term it was packed but that meant lots of new friendships, the staff there were very attentive and popular. The water sports was plentiful, good pools, and if you stayed around the beach area, all amenities were easy to reach. The beach was safe for children with gentle slopes and daily cleaned sand, and with clearly visible security staff we felt safe in allowing our children to wander without fear. There were a few grumbles - yes the rooms were in need of some refurbishments unless you stayed at the Hibiscus rooms which are modern and right by the beach. The system for payment for each meal / drink was cumbersome - they should have a more efficient process for all inclusive packages. On the plus side the resort has a mix of owners and time shares so this meant we met people who were regulars, friendly, and a good source of local knowledge. Would we return? Yes, a refurb is needed but the kids had a ball.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 44 - a good location for a) views and b) walking access to the main facilities an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grovewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My family stayed at this resort on an all inclusive basis in October. It is well designed complex with white mediterranean style villas nestled into the hillside. Our accommodation was good but perhaps a little tired for a 4* resort, the whole place could do with some money being spent on it - for example the toilets near the pool were in serious need of an upgrade and several of the patios had significant cracks running through them.

As mentioned in other reviews the location was stunning, if perhaps a litle remote and we had a great holiday.

However, what really let our experience down as the attitude of the majority (but not all) of the staff and the level of service - having to wait at the bar for 10 minutes before being acknowleded when there were only a handful of people waiting, surly greeting of waitresses and waiter in restaurants and so on. A number of fellow guest did complain and service did pick up a little towards the end of our stay but not to the level we would expect for a 4* resort.

At the beginning of our stay we did consider buying into a time share (pleasingly we didn't get a hard sell) but at the end of the wekk we decided that the negative points outweighed the positives.

Would we go back? Possibly, but not for a while and dependant upon the latest reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate789York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,198 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
761 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £176 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, West Indies, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing