We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for relaxing on beach, not much nightlife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We just returned from our week-long honeymoon from the Windjammer. It is an OK resort all in all. The beach has a water trampoline and a small swimming area that is clear of sea urchins. The beach itself could use some clean-up. There was some trash and we saw the feral cats use it as a litter box. The main pool and the upper deck restaurant were closed during our stay and there was a lot of construction going on constantly which was kind of annoying, even though they gave us $25 per day for spa or tour use. The shuttle was also pretty annoying. Sometimes we would wait 10 minutes to get picked up to go from the lobby/restaurant/beach area to our room. There are lots of hills and steps which makes getting to your room on your own exhausting. Our villa had an awesome view and was close to Papa Don's which we thought was the best restaurant. The pizza was really good. I did not care too much for the rest of the food at the other restaurants. We had the all inclusive for the first three days which made things easier. We would get our day drink on then fall asleep by like 9pm every night since there did not seem to be much of a night life at the resort. There would be a band every night but people were mostly just eating dinner and listening to the music. The staff was very nice. We did have a problem with the key getting into our door. The key reader had no power and we had to tell them twice about it, but then it was fixed. We did snorkeling through the resort which was OK. The Jammers Day sail was an amazing excursion. We saw so much and they give you lunch and free alcohol. I recommend snorkeling when they stop for a swim break on the way back to the resort. That is where we saw the best fish and coral. The tree-top zip line was also a great tour. We went to the Rodney Bay mall ($28 roundtrip taxi) which I thought was disappointing. Not too many shops and a small casino. We also went to the market in Castries ($50 roundtrip taxi) which was overwhelming. Everyone is trying to get some money off of you and most of the vendors are selling the same stuff.

Room Tip: Try to get a plunge pool and air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Katelyn: Thanks for your review. We're sorry that we were doing some repairs during your visit; I hope you were able to use the credits to use the spa our take a tour. I appreciate the feedback on the rest of your experience and your suggestions to other guests.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,679 - 1,685 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We just completed a fabulous two week stay at Windjammer Landing. It is really a nice place to stay. We had a 1 bedroom villa (#148) which we enjoyed. The a/c bedroom was downstairs and the living room and kitchen were on the main floor. Eating on our covered sun deck was a real pleasure as was soaking in the jacuzzi on the roof.

The resort has a very nice beach. We enjoyed many an afternoon lying on the beach chairs and swimming in the caribbean.

The resort has a PADI dive shop in the Watersports complex. I did 8 daytime dives and 1 night dive during my two weeks stay. The dives south to the Marine Park around Soufriere were particularly good. The visibility was great, the coral was very colourful, and the fish were plentiful. Eastern Caribbean Divers offers a very nice dive experience.

We did not have the all exclusive option, but we did dine out a few times at Dragonfly, Papa Don's, and Jammers. We enjoyed the food particularly the Caribbean buffet and the Texas BBQ at Dragonfly.

My only complaint was that the roof leaked in 3 or 4 locations in our villa. It was not a huge inconvenience, but it would be nice if the roof was repaired.

Saint Lucia is a wonderful island - lots to do, and the people are extremely friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hibiscus rooms if you want to be close to the beach. Otherwise you have to take a shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Gerald: Thanks for the terrific review! I'm glad you had a great time on the beach, diving, and dining. I'm sorry about the roof leaks; we're making sure we address the leaks. We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We recently returned from a half term holiday in oct 2012.
In short, great location but the lack of shade for sun loungers on the beach and around the pools, was quite simply baffling.
I've paid for a luxury holiday, but I still had to be on the beach by 7am every day, to try and bag one of the few perminant sun parosols.
Any later, and you are stuck with a day in the blazing sun.
Utterly Ludicrous!
Staff at the reception are great, but at the bars and restaurants you get the real impression that they don't like serving you. This is a subjective view I know, but just getting a smile from some staff was utterly impossible.
All in all, a pleasant holiday, best restaurant was Papa dons, the upper deck was so slow as to be painful and waters ports were great.
Go there enjoy, but be ready to get up early to bag a parasol.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Petegm: Thank you for your resort. I'm glad the majority of your stay was pleasant and I am sorry for the service issues you encountered at Upper Deck. We're definitely doing some re-training with our F&B team. We are also planning an expansion of the beach area and will be including more shade! I hope you'll be back to enjoy the new area.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the Windjammer in October 2011 we waited so long so we could write an objective review since we were so blown away after staying here. A year on and several holidays later and this remains, without a doubt, the best holiday we've ever had.

It was our "official" honeymoon and knowing this management upgraded us to a one bedroom villa on the mountain side overlooking the bay. It was spectacular. Everything was very laid back and exactly what we needed.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay special. The service was second to none. One night we had a chef and waiter prepare a romantic meal on the balcony. The whole villa was decorated with flowers and candles.They went above and beyond what we expected in the preparation and presentation.

The whole place has a very friendly atmosphere. The restaurants serve good food and again,great service.

Jammer's is a great beach side bar and grill. We can't say enough good things about the staff. They made sure our glasses were always full, we didn't go hungry and a smile every time.

This isn't the place to go if you're looking to operate on a schedule. You're on "Island Time" and everything just works at a nice relaxed pace. We barely left the resort we were so comfortable.

There are great tours to see the sights. Well worth the money and you can arrange them all in the lobby with guest services. Definitely go on the booze cruise. You will see the botanical gardens, Soufriere, The Pitons, go inside the volcano and lunch at a cocoa plant. You'll get back on the boat and stop at a cove where you can snorkel, then jump back on board and drink some killer rum punch.

Eastern Caribbean Diving is on the beach and well worth the time to go and see the aquatic sights if you like that sort of thing. There are loads of dive spots along the western coast and plenty to see. Visibilty is excellent as well.

We can't say enough about this resort. Everything was perfect and now we have a tough time selecting our holidays because we compare them to the Windjammer. We're definitely going back soon

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Well, it was certainly worth waiting for your terrific review! I'm so glad you had a wonderful honeymoon. Thanks for the nice comments and suggestions - especially regarding sites on the island and diving. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was a mother daughter trip for my Moms bday and we both had an excellent time! Although the hotels are FAR....like 90mins from the airport, it is well worth it. The resorts are kinda secluded so there is no walking around...however...you won't want to after staying here because the hotel is on a mountain and you'll be exhausted from walking up the hills, if you choose to. They have several vans to take you up the steep hills to your room or wherever. The views are amazing, there are tons of activities to do during the day which include snorkeling and a ping pong contest. The food is okay. I recommend Embers bar/grill....best fish and chips ever and the pizza at Papa Dons is good too. Our trip ambassador, Gemma, was great. She scheduled/coordinated our trip and made sure we got everything we were supposed to. She booked our zipline trip though Tree Top Tours...which was awesome! Ask about Lisa, our tour guide for the tour she was great too. Overall, it was the best trip ever! We missed the fish fry party on Friday so I recommend going to that. There is so much to do make sure you search Trip Advisor for the best activities! Good job Saint Lucia...I'll be back soon! :-)

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Glamgirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thanks for taking time to write a review! I'm so glad you and your mother had a great birthday trip! Thanks for the nice comments and recommendations - especially about Gemma. We're glad you'll be back soon!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I would agree with some of the most recent comments on this place. Our room 37A was basic, but clean, nice with an amazing view of the beach with a good aircon unit :oD.
Windjammer resort itself was very picturesque in many places and the sea and beach were lovely. The gardens were nice and colourful throughout the whole resort. The weather was very humid, which was unexpected (should have done our homework more) but you were unable to get away from it as ALL restaurants were open air, which is nice but some aircon would have been very welcome!
We went B&B, which for us was great, as we like to explore, and explore we did. We did eat in the hotel twice for dinner and a few times for lunch. Steer clear from room service though, was bad quality burgers with soggy chips, it arrived cling filmed, GROSS!
The restaurant food was hit and miss. Papa Dons was nice, but the upper deck was not so good.
Generally speaking the service was odd, almost scripted & insincere and we generally felt very rushed, not ideal for a romantic chilled out break, depends what you like. We are happy pouring our wine when we want it or even occasionally, topped up, but they were excessive! (Mind you this was the case in some other places outside the resort too...)
Windjammer is a nice resort, ongoing building works weren't great but we were away from them, but as were were there before they all kicked off could appreciate how nice the place could be.
In a nutshell- Staff were fosty and seemed like we were an inconvenience at times, resort was pretty with a beautiful beach, a little trek (£10 cab to next town) to eat out of the resort, we had a great time but don't think it was down to the resort. Had we not have had the room we did might have been dissappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Beth: Thanks for the review. I appreciate the comments about F&B; we are doing some re-training in order to get the service up to the levels we expect. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and I hope you'll be back so we can show you the quality of service we normally provide.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Windjammer with my husband's parents during the last week of October 2012. A reunion since we live on opposite ends of the globe. A few things I wish we knew prior to booking:
1. The resort is a minimum 90-minute drive down winding roads from the airport. Taxis will start at prices of US$120+, but you should be able to negotiate down to at least US$80 one way
2. Unlike the traditional resorts, the Windjammer is spread out into separate mini-villas that are built along a 30 degree slope. They have mini-bus shuttles to take you to/from, but expect to wait an average of 10+ minutes each time you need to go somewhere. Prepare to SWEAT if you decide to walk and don't even think about putting on a pair of heels.
3. This is NOT a resort intended for honeymooners. It's jam-packed full of little children (ranging from infants to teens). Great if you're parents. Not so great for everyone else.
4. Don't stay here if you're looking for the no-stress, all-inclusive option. Again, the villas are spread out so it takes some serious thought/planning if you want to get a drink or food. They will charge you upwards of US$150 per person per day for their all-inclusive option. Not worth it. Most of the villas have a full kitchen so rather try to stop at a local grocery store on your way to the resort - you will save a ton of money.
5. The staff are hit or miss. Some of them can be extremely friendly, but with all the issues that came up throughout our stay, to be frank, they weren't of much assistance. A lot of very unfulfilled promises. "We'll take care of you" means... nothing really. Case in point: I had to wait 25 minutes at the front lobby to receive a beach towel! Odd... since you'd think the beach resort would have ample beach towels. Apparently not.
6. The resort has 4 restaurants (including the breakfast only "Dragonfly") and again, plan ahead if you need to eat there because there is not much seating. Not to mention, it took over an HOUR before we got our bottle of wine.
7. Did I mention our "suite that sleeps 4 comfortably" really meant my husband and I had to sleep on a sofa bed in the middle of the room which destroyed my back? Not to mention, there was no counter space in the bathroom, there were no electrical outlets in the bathroom, the shower didn't drain, and there wasn't floor space to unpack my things. Another example of how the Windjammer made 0 effort to accommodate us.
8. It's worth noting the beach is man-made. And small. There is no such thing as long strolls along the white sandy beaches. You can walk from one end to the next in about 7 minutes.

The best part of our trip was when we left the Windjammer and did local activities. Coal Pot and Spinnakers were both amazing restaurants. Keep in mind though... taxis to off-resort locations start at a minimum of US$30 one way.

In summary, keep looking for an alternate option. St. Lucia is a beautiful, mountainous island (seriously, no flat roads), but the Caribbean can do a LOT better than the Windjammer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the beach as possible. The higher up the cliff you are, the more incon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Tamara: Thank you for the review. I appreciate the feedback and comments. It is true that the majority of resorts are 90 minutes from the airport. The drive, however, does present a great opportunity to see the island and some fishing villages, banana plantations, etc. and learn about Saint Lucia. We do have many families during school breaks (we had the UK half-term break in November) but are much quieter outside those times. We do offer an all-inclusive option along with MAP, breakfast only, and EP dining options for those who want to cook. I'm glad you enjoyed Saint Lucia as it is a terrific place to visit.

Regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,198 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
761 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £175 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, West Indies, TravelUp, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing