We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My annual trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We come here every year. The accommadation is excellent with breath taking views. We sometimes bring guests with us and they are spell bound because they expect a normal timeshare. The service staff for cleaning and general upkeep are excellent. We have a 2 bedroom villa (2400 sq ft) at the very top of the resort overlooking everything so we are spoiled somewhat. We meet a lot of guests who are very freindly. What are the negatives? A car is needed or take a taxi to go off the resort. The main restaurand "Dragonfly" is not as good as it used to be because the chef has onned his own restaurant near Rodney Bay (The Edge).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your annual trip! We have a new menu in Dragonfly which features Caribbean cuisine. Not quite as fancy as Bobo's cuisine at The Edge but reflective of the flavors and cooking in our region. Let me know what you think when you come back next year!

Warm regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,667 - 1,673 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

As others have mentioned this resort is beautiful with fantastic sunset views. I was here the week of Thanksgiving via an RCI exchange and was disappointed in that our room was right above a cement mixer and constant hammering due to construction going on at the resort. As others have mentioned, it is hilly but our room was the first off the lobby as you head up the hills, so not that bad. We just could not enjoy sitting on the terrace due to the construction noise and the resort/timeshare rep did nothing to accomodate us, a lot "we'll see what we can do" but no action to move us. We did venture into Gros Islet for the Friday night street party which was a lot of fun. Also the catamaran cruise and a trip to nearby Castries were great as well. My review would have been a lot more positive if the resort had done a little bit more to move us, but that is why this trip was just average...after all your on vacation and do not want to hear the sound of cement mixing all day!

Room Tip: rooms higher up have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just spent a week here. I cannot say enough good things about the place. The staff are so helpful and friendly-they really do go above and beyond to make your stay special.

The location and views from the resort itself are amazing. Each room seems to have an amazing view as well. If you want to go outside the resort, Rodney bay is about a $14 taxi drive- Lots of bars and restaurants there.

The watersports are great-always something to do. They have free daily snorkeling tours.


Food is delicious- especially pappa dons restaurant. My only regret is that we did not go all inclusive- food/drink can be a little on the pricey side.

The only one bad thing I could say is that service can be a bit on the slow side for dinner- waited almost 90 mins one night for our dinner.

Re the construction work currently underway- honestly we barely even noticed it. Maybe it was worse a few weeks ago but it really didn't effect out holiday.

We will 100% be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lollie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review. I apologize for the slow service; we're working on ways to speed that up a bit. We look forward to your return in the future!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We just returned from our week-long honeymoon from the Windjammer. It is an OK resort all in all. The beach has a water trampoline and a small swimming area that is clear of sea urchins. The beach itself could use some clean-up. There was some trash and we saw the feral cats use it as a litter box. The main pool and the upper deck restaurant were closed during our stay and there was a lot of construction going on constantly which was kind of annoying, even though they gave us $25 per day for spa or tour use. The shuttle was also pretty annoying. Sometimes we would wait 10 minutes to get picked up to go from the lobby/restaurant/beach area to our room. There are lots of hills and steps which makes getting to your room on your own exhausting. Our villa had an awesome view and was close to Papa Don's which we thought was the best restaurant. The pizza was really good. I did not care too much for the rest of the food at the other restaurants. We had the all inclusive for the first three days which made things easier. We would get our day drink on then fall asleep by like 9pm every night since there did not seem to be much of a night life at the resort. There would be a band every night but people were mostly just eating dinner and listening to the music. The staff was very nice. We did have a problem with the key getting into our door. The key reader had no power and we had to tell them twice about it, but then it was fixed. We did snorkeling through the resort which was OK. The Jammers Day sail was an amazing excursion. We saw so much and they give you lunch and free alcohol. I recommend snorkeling when they stop for a swim break on the way back to the resort. That is where we saw the best fish and coral. The tree-top zip line was also a great tour. We went to the Rodney Bay mall ($28 roundtrip taxi) which I thought was disappointing. Not too many shops and a small casino. We also went to the market in Castries ($50 roundtrip taxi) which was overwhelming. Everyone is trying to get some money off of you and most of the vendors are selling the same stuff.

Room Tip: Try to get a plunge pool and air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Katelyn: Thanks for your review. We're sorry that we were doing some repairs during your visit; I hope you were able to use the credits to use the spa our take a tour. I appreciate the feedback on the rest of your experience and your suggestions to other guests.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We just completed a fabulous two week stay at Windjammer Landing. It is really a nice place to stay. We had a 1 bedroom villa (#148) which we enjoyed. The a/c bedroom was downstairs and the living room and kitchen were on the main floor. Eating on our covered sun deck was a real pleasure as was soaking in the jacuzzi on the roof.

The resort has a very nice beach. We enjoyed many an afternoon lying on the beach chairs and swimming in the caribbean.

The resort has a PADI dive shop in the Watersports complex. I did 8 daytime dives and 1 night dive during my two weeks stay. The dives south to the Marine Park around Soufriere were particularly good. The visibility was great, the coral was very colourful, and the fish were plentiful. Eastern Caribbean Divers offers a very nice dive experience.

We did not have the all exclusive option, but we did dine out a few times at Dragonfly, Papa Don's, and Jammers. We enjoyed the food particularly the Caribbean buffet and the Texas BBQ at Dragonfly.

My only complaint was that the roof leaked in 3 or 4 locations in our villa. It was not a huge inconvenience, but it would be nice if the roof was repaired.

Saint Lucia is a wonderful island - lots to do, and the people are extremely friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hibiscus rooms if you want to be close to the beach. Otherwise you have to take a shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Gerald: Thanks for the terrific review! I'm glad you had a great time on the beach, diving, and dining. I'm sorry about the roof leaks; we're making sure we address the leaks. We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We recently returned from a half term holiday in oct 2012.
In short, great location but the lack of shade for sun loungers on the beach and around the pools, was quite simply baffling.
I've paid for a luxury holiday, but I still had to be on the beach by 7am every day, to try and bag one of the few perminant sun parosols.
Any later, and you are stuck with a day in the blazing sun.
Utterly Ludicrous!
Staff at the reception are great, but at the bars and restaurants you get the real impression that they don't like serving you. This is a subjective view I know, but just getting a smile from some staff was utterly impossible.
All in all, a pleasant holiday, best restaurant was Papa dons, the upper deck was so slow as to be painful and waters ports were great.
Go there enjoy, but be ready to get up early to bag a parasol.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Petegm: Thank you for your resort. I'm glad the majority of your stay was pleasant and I am sorry for the service issues you encountered at Upper Deck. We're definitely doing some re-training with our F&B team. We are also planning an expansion of the beach area and will be including more shade! I hope you'll be back to enjoy the new area.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the Windjammer in October 2011 we waited so long so we could write an objective review since we were so blown away after staying here. A year on and several holidays later and this remains, without a doubt, the best holiday we've ever had.

It was our "official" honeymoon and knowing this management upgraded us to a one bedroom villa on the mountain side overlooking the bay. It was spectacular. Everything was very laid back and exactly what we needed.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay special. The service was second to none. One night we had a chef and waiter prepare a romantic meal on the balcony. The whole villa was decorated with flowers and candles.They went above and beyond what we expected in the preparation and presentation.

The whole place has a very friendly atmosphere. The restaurants serve good food and again,great service.

Jammer's is a great beach side bar and grill. We can't say enough good things about the staff. They made sure our glasses were always full, we didn't go hungry and a smile every time.

This isn't the place to go if you're looking to operate on a schedule. You're on "Island Time" and everything just works at a nice relaxed pace. We barely left the resort we were so comfortable.

There are great tours to see the sights. Well worth the money and you can arrange them all in the lobby with guest services. Definitely go on the booze cruise. You will see the botanical gardens, Soufriere, The Pitons, go inside the volcano and lunch at a cocoa plant. You'll get back on the boat and stop at a cove where you can snorkel, then jump back on board and drink some killer rum punch.

Eastern Caribbean Diving is on the beach and well worth the time to go and see the aquatic sights if you like that sort of thing. There are loads of dive spots along the western coast and plenty to see. Visibilty is excellent as well.

We can't say enough about this resort. Everything was perfect and now we have a tough time selecting our holidays because we compare them to the Windjammer. We're definitely going back soon

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Well, it was certainly worth waiting for your terrific review! I'm so glad you had a wonderful honeymoon. Thanks for the nice comments and suggestions - especially regarding sites on the island and diving. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £148 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, West Indies, Travelbag, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing