We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Windjammer Landing is the consummate getaway for a multi-generational family vacation! We were there with three generations, and everyone from young kids to adults enjoyed their stay! The food was delicious, the employees extremely guest-focused and it was a relaxing stay from start to finish!

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights, request a villa close to the restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smittys_Littlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    682
    204
    96
    43
See reviews for
833
1,044
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Windjammer for 11 days and enjoyed ourselves very much and would return.
Accommodation: We didn't stay in a villa, instead just had a room. The room (151B) was clean/spacious and perfect for what we wanted - how much time do you spend in a room anyway?! The hill/walk up to the room was tough, and we could have taken the shuttle bus, but it kept us fit and meant we could have an extra cocktail.
Food: Papa Don's (Italian) was very good and the service very efficient, but you don't want Italian every night. Embers for lunch was great, but sadly not open for dinner. Jammers was ok, although not very high quality at times and the attention to detail was not great. You ordered something and it came with something else, the vegetables were so undercooked they flew off the plate when you tried to cut them! Upper Deck again was ok, but nothing outstanding and the same for the food in Dragonfly, we had 4 shrimps in our Shrimp curry....! One thing to improve with breakfast, there are apparently many different types of Mango in St. Lucia - why then did we never once have fresh mango on the breakfast buffet???
Fitness/Watersports: very helpful and efficient staff, friendly and each day when we went out sailing they were quick to get out on the water. The lady who takes pilates and yoga was very motivational and enthusiastic - wish more guests used her services. The gym was basic, but had good quality equipment and was not too busy which was perfect.
Wifi: the hotel recently installed a great system that covers all the beach areas and nearly all the villas - very efficient, good signal and complimentary. A great addition.
Service: In general very friendly, helpful staff. Smiling and respectful, even the gardener said hello without being prompted!
Overall the property is very good and a great place to stay, just don't expect outstanding cuisine.

Room Tip: Whilst the Hibiscus suites are very nice, the rooms at the top near Papa Don's are less expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We've just returned from a 2 week stay in St Lucia, spending 7 nights at Windjammer Landings. The resort was very nice, the accommodation was excellent and the view from our villa was stunning, but unfortunately, in our opinion the resort was hugely let down by the beach!! The beach is nice, (although most of the shady sunbeds are taken quite early in the day) but the sea is full of seaweed (that's attached to sea bed not floating in the shore) and had warning about sea urchins, this was very disappointing and made me not want to go in. One of the reasons we go to the Caribbean is for the wonderful sea/beaches.

Also another disappointing aspect are the shuttles from the room to the main restaurant/pool/beach area. All accommodation is set in the hill (we requested one close to the main area and even that was a 5 min walk up a steep hill, but manageable!!) however as it wasn't on the beach and the room layout wasn't right for our family we moved further away. We never had to wait more the 5 min for a shuttle, they were usually VERY prompt, which was great, but it just meant you had to plan when you wanted to go to breakfast/beach etc. Also staff in resturants were very slow with service sometimes, Although it didn't matter as we were on holiday, but having to get up and go to the bar for a beer a couple of times during lunch was a bit annoying!!

Having said all that, The food was very good and of a high standard and the Kids club was great too. We have a 7 & 5 year old, who had great fun there (they asked to go every day)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpOt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We just got back from a seven night vacation. We had a great time. The food was excellent, the staff was friendly, and very helpful. I waterskied every day. Gordon and his team from the water sports were fun and professional. Darrel. a concierge was welcoming and helpful with planning our week. This was the first resort we went to that we did not have to get up at six to save a chair on the beach or by the pool. The resort is located on a hill which could be difficult to walk around the resort for some families with children or elderly folks. I enjoyed the exercise after so many great dinners and cocktails. They do provide shuttle service to all points. We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West mids
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We were just in st. Lucia for a two night/ 3 day birthday stay, and really enjoyed spending our time this hotel.

The room was gorgeous, very Mediterranean feel to the place with a great private roof top terrace and the bed was beautifully decorated on arrival. This was followed by complimentary welcome chocolates delivered to the door.

Room 154a had great views through the Romeo and Juliet balconies, was right next to a quiet pool and jacuzzi (with great sunset views) and one of the restaurants.

W chose to go room only but we found the lunch and dinner prices to be very reasonable indeed - and delicious.

All the staff were friendly, very polite and courteous - even the chefs wouldn't pass us on a staircase!

The gym looks out onto the beach, and the beach itself is well kept. The water sports seemed to be a slickly and safely run, we only had time to try the daily banana boat ride.

Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just returned from the Windjammer after an 11 day stay there and I can honestly say I have had the best holiday of my life. This holiday was to be where we held our wedding and our meeting place for our friends from around the world. It not only met but exceeded our expectations of what a resort should be.

ROOMS
We had 60 guests so managed to see all different types of rooms, the standard rooms, the villas, the suites, and I can say each and every room in the place is spectacular. They were all quite different with each having its own character. They all had breathtaking views and were immaculately clean.

BEACH
Their beach was beautiful and it is only for Windjammer guests so it was quite nice. We had visited other beaches on the island and they are also nice but they are packed with loads of people from different resorts and the windjammer's wasn't. It felt very exclusive.

FOOD
We were a bit nervous about all-inclusive food. I didn’t expect much from it to be honest, but the reality is that it was some of the best food I have ever had and it was ALL included. The steaks, and burgers, and wraps, and pizzas, were all fantastic. I quite happily gained a lot of weight while there.

STAFF
Each staff member goes out of your way to make you feel at home. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. They helped us to handle all of our requests or issues that we had and treated you as if they have all known you their whole lives. Particular staff members I would like to give a shout out to are Melanie, Lynn, and Simone for being the most amazing wedding planners ever, and Jeff and Manasa for going out of their way to take care of our wedding party. All of them were really warm and lovely people.

WEDDING
I had been working with the Windjammer for a year planning my wedding prior to our arrival. Needless to say I was quite nervous on how it would all turn out. We were choosing flowers and colours and food and facilities without ever seeing, or tasting any of it. First of all, throughout the process, the wedding team was great. They were wonderful wedding planners and were always helping me to make better decisions as well. They knew what worked and what didn’t. The process was seamless. The day of the event, we had scheduled cocktail hours and steel bands, and a dj and a dance party and they made everything go so smoothly from start to finish. I know my guests weren’t being just complimentary when they say it was the best wedding they had ever been to. All the flowers were perfect and gorgeous, our cake was fantastic and the decorations were all so beautiful. They day went better than I had even imagined it could have gone and I couldn't recommend going to them enough. It was wonderful.

I have nothing but good things to say about this place, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Hibiscus Suites are amazing! (all the rooms are good really, but choose the all-inclusive option. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Usually stay at Marriot timeshares when we travel but ended up trying the Windjammer.Ended up with a 2 BR villa. The kitcher wasnt mordern at all. We did have about 3 issues..icemaker, radio, leak in the roof ...but all were taken care of quickly.The villa was a second row and had 4 decks and 3 levels. Alot of room and privacy . Very clean. Would be difficult for someone not good with stairs since there was no bathrooms on the main level. Plunge pool was nice also. The downstairs BR had alot of privacy also since it was down 10 stairs and had it own bath and deck. Very spacious accomadations.The resort itself was nice but a bit off the beaten path. We had a car so not bad but your not walking anywhere.Cabs are available.There were 3 restaurants on site. I though papa Dons was the best. They did have nightly enertainment ....different bands which were great. Nice mix of people from couple to older folks and people got along great. Staff was great and the manager party was good.Did seem to have activities for kids also. The gym was tight but they did offer morning classes and wed yoga in the afternoon.The shuttle service to villas was good but if you need a pickup you shuold give them more time than they say.Overall I loved the place and would return .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
22.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
7.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, West Indies, Holiday Gems and Southall Travel so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing