We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Windjammer Landing for a wedding + vacation and had a really great time. I stayed in an oceanview premium room, which was really gorgeous with a great view and was kept very clean. We ended up doing the all-inclusive which is worth every penny - especially with frozen cocktails and rum punch as good as theirs! I can't say enough about how nice the staff is at WJ. Everyone from the bartenders to the gardener are super friendly and they remember your name - kudos to the amazing staff!!! The hotel grounds/facilities are also emaculate.

From my room, I was able to walk down to the beach area, so no need for a shuttle, but the walk back up was definitely steep, so I did take the shuttle at times. Late at night the shuttle did require some waiting, which wasn't ideal, but not too terrible. No adult beverages allowed in the shuttles, so drink up before you get picked-up!

The one area where there could have been some improvement was the food. Generally, it didn't knock my socks off, but for the all-inclusive prices, I can't complain much.

As well, I would recommend that the hotel remove the large yellow slide and trampoline from the water as it vastly took away from the gorgeous view and I very rarely saw them in use.

Lastly, a small can of bug spray would not hurt to bring as I did have some issues with bug bites.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    697
    206
    96
    44
See reviews for
871
1,056
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went to the Windjammer landing in November 2012, and it was a fantastic holiday.

Even though the hotel is a little way away from the airport (about an hour and 15mins) it's a relatively easy going drive in the transfer and you get to see plenty of the island en route.

We opted for the all inclusive package and weren't disappointed.The water sports included within the package are great and there's plenty to do, even if it's just lazing on the beach. But they take their safety very seriously.

We stayed in the ocean view rooms with the private sundeck, which we didn't make much use of, but waking up to the beautiful view of the sea in the mornings through the big windows from the four poster bed is wonderful. (Mind out for leaving the windows open though as the birds have figured out where the tea and sugar is kept in the rooms and to our surprise they flew right in and started pecking away at the sugar sachets.)

Our room was located at the top of the resort and we walked to and from our room daily in an effort to work off all the calories that we'd consumed during the day, but the shuttle buses are great to use; they don't always come within their 15min time slot so be prepared for a bit of a wait.

The pools dotted around the resort are a bit smaller than expected, and with the main pool being shut during our stay the space around the remaining pools was limited, but we found that we spent most of our time on the beach or taking part in the watersports provided.

Highly recommend sitting in the beach side bar (Jammers) taking in the gorgeous sunsets and the entertainment whilst sipping on one of the yummy cocktails from the menu.

A very relaxed and chilled out week away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHolland83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We were a large group, so we rented a house just outside the resort & and spent most afternoons & evenings at the Windjammer. All of our boating & diving activities left from the resort as well. The drinks and food were good, but the prices a bit high for the quality. Happy hour was a good deal, but only the one hour and service was slow. I'm glad we used the report for a launch point, dinner and a few drinks, otherwise it wouldn't have been a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlsphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just returned from Windjammer about a week ago. Breathtaking views and sunsets The staff was friendly and tried to help with any questions and concerns I had. I never met my ambassador but a note was left at my villa after the 4th day. I loved the views, pools, activities and would recommend this place. I wanted to say thank you to Barry, Alexander, Jeff and Dunstan who were my favorite bartenders and a special thank you to Francis (Francois) for making sure we got around when needed. I didn’t mind the walk to my villa instead of the shuttle; I needed the exercise because of all the good food. I talked to the Manager Mark and he was very nice. There is a 90 minute travel from the airport to the resort so if you get car sick, pack pills and get ready for a very hilly ride. Only problem on the resort were the cats (which I’m very allergic too, glad I packed allergy pills) but they did not bother you too much, the mosquitoes are horrible (which the resort has no control over), kids at the bar and the bar closes early(1am). Definitely get the all inclusive option and relax. You’re on vacation. I will definitely be back in the future

Room Tip: If your ok with walking for waiting for the shuttle, get a villa. If you are handicapped or have tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeLange714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked airport transfer direct with the resort at a cost of $85 as we were told to expect a picturesque journey and to have our camera's ready. What we got was was a very boring journey which took about 90 minutes. Only later did we discover there are two routes one with views and one without (via Dennery) so we were a bit mislead by the resort.
On arrival we were assigned what they call an ambassador. Ours was called Nick. In the ten days we were there we never met or spoke to him, despite having cause to resolve a few problems and being promised he would get back to us. I'm not sure he actually exists.
There is a drainpipe that runs from the bar and Jammers restaraunt onto the beach and this leads to unpleasant smells in certain areas.
There are no umbrellas by any of the sunbeds either by the pools or on the beach so there is no chance of getting any shade during the day and the sunbeds are plastic and not very comfortable. The main pool is surrounded by the reception,shops,bar and restaurants so lacks any real privacy. For these reasons I don't think this resort could really be classified as 4 star and for the prices I would expect much better.
We stayed in one of the Hibiscus suites and ours was very nice in an excellent private area with lovely views from the patio and its own pool area.
Food in the restaurants (Papa Dons the best) was overall very good and if you aren't on an all inclusive deal will cost as a guide 105 EC$ for a rib eye steak, buffet breakfast is 75 EC$. Service was very friendly and mostly very good
The drinks as stated in other reviews ARE NOT premium brands and the house wines can at best be described as average. (Argentinian Pinot Grigio)
There is nightly evening "entertainment" (steel bands and Lionel Richie tribute acts) these are quite loud and can be heard in all restaurants (except papa dons) so if you want a quiet meal book an early table (7pm)
I got the impression this resort is really intended for the American market and have experienced far better for the same price in the far East.

Room Tip: Hibiscus suites - to avoid a long walk or the wait for the shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgmfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just returned from a short (4 night) stay at Windjammer. From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out the stay was perfect. Had a beautiful room (149A) with ocean views and a deck to enjoy them. We had dinner at each of the 4 main restaurants and Sunday brunch at the 5th (Embers). The food was good at all, with our vote for the best being Papa Don's. Our resort ambassador Darryl was helpful, answered all our questions, and called each day to check on us. Most important, besides Darryl the rest of the staff was amazing. Every one was friendly, polite, and accommmodating. Definitely the biggest asset for resort manager Mark Ozawa, and we were able to tell him this at the manager's party on Tuesday night (in between rum punches). Sand, sun, attentive staff, good food and drink. A combination that spells return visit.....

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sdb7375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were there for our silver anniversary and had the most amazing experience. The whole set up is great, the all-inclusive definitely a must. The highlight of the resort is the over friendly, courteous and helpful staff which made the whole experience an even better one. They just could not do enough for you. We were thoroughly spoilt. The villa we were in initially had a Mediterranean feel but 3 nights down we were upgraded to their premier modern Hibiscus suites,right on the sea, with super views, which was a cherry on the cake. Did not get involved in any time sharing discussions. Overall, a great resort for a chilled out break.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, West Indies, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing