We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is our first trip to Windjammer Landings and we are currently here. We spent a great deal of time researching St. Lucia and chose the Windjammer Landings because of the many positive reviews. The people here are lovely and very courteous and our room is very nice. It appears to be recently updated, nicely furnished, sparkling tile bath and the sea view is magnificent. So far we have eaten in two of the restaurants....The Upper Deck....great food and service, charming atmosphere. The second restaurant was in The Dragonfly Restaurant during a Caribbean buffet night... Not so great. The food was fine but there's no a/c on the outer deck and the heat was just oppressive which made us so uncomfortable. Again the servers tried their best to be accommodating. With all that said, I must mention the construction that is currently taking place right now. The hotel is expanding and the noise from the heavy equipment running constantly is less than pleasant. Additionally, one of the pools is closed for maintenance and an underground pipe has broken and is also under repair. But sadly we were disappointed that the sea water is so murky "due to the rain" that you can't even see your feet. Very unusual for the Caribbean Sea. Some issues also currently going on with the internet service in the rooms.....so I hope this gets published. All in all though we have enjoyed our stay and would consider coming back when the new construction is complete. By the way, the cats don't bother us at all and are never intrusive.

Room Tip: The rooms are located on a hillside but the hotel provides a shuttle which makes room accessibility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I got home last weekend from our dream wedding and honeymoon at Windjammer Landing. From the moment we arrived at the resort until the time we left, we were surrounded by friendly staff, pristine beaches, delicious food and perfect weather. We want to go back just as soon as we have the chance.

We spent just about two years planning our wedding with Melanie, Simone (who works in another department now) and Lynn. They were kind, helpful and on the ball with planning every detail. I was a little nervous planning a wedding from thousands of miles away at a location I'd never been to in a country I'd never been to. I did a ton of research and everything I read said that they are awesome. All those reviews were right! They totally put my mind at ease because they are true professionals who know exactly how to get every detail just right. We had a very modern, fun, small-detail-oriented wedding (I am a graphic designer, so the "look" was really important to me) and everything was flawless. They decorated everything exactly how we wanted them to...the ceremony and reception spaces were flawless.

We had a small, intimate, 13-guest wedding on September 28, 2013 on the beach just before sunset followed by a beach-side dinner and dancing reception at Embers. The DJ was phenomenal, better than any DJ I've heard at any US wedding. He was actually mixing on the fly. We sent a HUGE playlist to give him a lot of choices and he picked the absolute best songs; our guests (and us!) danced for the entire 4 hours, nonstop. Everyone had SO MUCH fun. Our guests all said this was the best wedding they'd ever been to and we had multiple other Windjammer guests come up to us afterwards to tell us they wish they'd been invited because it looked and sounded like such an awesome party. Our photographer, Peter, was also exceptional. We've seen a lot of wedding photos from other resort photographers and were definitely nervous about capturing the day in a way that matched our style. Peter is a pro; we originally purchased a 75-photo package and when we got home to review the photos, we couldn't narrow it down to less than 191 photos.

As for the accommodations, we were fortunate enough to be put in Estate Villa Orvante, 403. To say this place was spectacular is an understatement. It was a 4-bedroom villa which was perfect for getting ready with all of the girls on the big day. It had a huge kitchen and dining room area, a sunk-in livingroom with an upper deck along with a huge sun deck off of the giant master suite (which, of course, looks out over the Caribbean Sea). Outside the downstairs bedrooms (with stair access from the sun deck) was a full sized pool with incredible views of the Sea. We had nightly views of the sunset, which was super romantic.

The restaurants were great. I wasn't a huge fan of having to make reservations every night for dinner, but it wasn't the worst thing ever either. Papa Don's was our favorite restaurant overall, but they were all really good. The coconut cheesecake was amazing...I miss it already, along with the Papa Don's lasagna! Sunday Brunch at Ember's was awesome and the daily breakfast buffet at Dragonfly was delicious...their banana pancakes are awesome, the omelet bar was great. Yum.

I would highly suggest bringing bug spray...I got eaten alive by no-see-ums.

We can't wait to get back to Windjammer. It was the best vacation ever and a dream come true as far as our wedding and honeymoon goes.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have amazing views...you can't go wrong. We loved our Estate Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our 3rd trip to Windjammer proved to be as good as previous visits. 2 years sice our last visit but the feeling of 'family' remains as we were recognised by so many staff, from the bar, restaurants, spa and reception. This trip we stayed in a 1 bed villa on an all inclusive basis, definitely worth it.

The resort has seen a number of improvements including the re-opening of Upper Deck since our last visit, the nicest place to eat dinner. There was some building work going on whilst we were there but it was not intrusive and had no impact on our stay. Despite this an automatic discount was added to our bill to acknowledge this - a nice touch.

Free snorkelling and other water sports give you plenty to do. After a bit of advice we became quite expert in paddle boarding quickly. Not as much to see on the snorkelling trips this time round bu probably more to do with the rain stirring the water than any deterioration to the area.

We did a tour to climb Gros Piton which was marked as 4 hours. This is true but expect to spend a day as you need to factor in 4 hours travel and lunch. A great experience, a tough climb, but worth it for the views.

I cannot imagine not going back to Windjammer again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDgoesGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 all inclusive. Our apartment was nice and big and well maintained. There are 5 restaurants on site all serving good food. This resort has its own beach which is well looked after. All the food and drinks were included in the all inclusive package including branded drinks which is good. The only negative I would say is that there are a lot of timeshare holders here and it can be a bit clique especially around the organised beach games.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were three couples staying in villa 407. The villa was beautiful! The breezeway connecting the kitchen to the bilevel living and sleeping area was a wonderful place to spend time together whether around the private pool, sharing a meal, or enjoying the breathtaking view! We split our seven night stay between fending for ourselves and going all inclusive. We used the "fending for ourself" days to do a couple of offsite excursions. The best day was a private day sail with Bateau Mygo--which I did review! We hired a driver for the rum tour and some shopping in Castries.

Our driver was arranged through Windjammer (Paradise Taxi). His name is Stevenson Auguste. He was Great! A very pleasant man and an excellent driver! He picked us up from the airport, took us for one excursion, and took us to Soufriere, where we stayed our last night in St. Lucia. On the way to Windjammer he pointed out points of interest, stopped at scenic overlooks, and stopped at Super J (where we shopped for an hour+). He was patient to allow us all the time we wanted when shopping and doing the rum tour! We had told him that we wanted to see a few sites on the way to Soufriere. He took us to the volcano and Diamond Botanical Gardens. I can not say enough good things about Stevenson!

We did some snorkeling in front of the resort and the fish were interesting. We took the free water sports boat to snorkel, and did the $5pp trip once. Both were enjoyable! Our guide was named Romanus. He was great! He found a seahorse for us to hold. He found an octopus; he nudged it, but it wouldn't budge:(

Having stayed at AIs in Mexico,we all agreed that the $150 AI is pricey! We found that the food was good, but the service was very slow. The beach bar made a great drink, but I'm not sure what it was called--Windjammer Gold--maybe. Just ask for their best rum drink.

Gemar, at the tours desk arranged our day sail. She is a sweetheart!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is an amazingly beautiful resort! We stayed in a 3 bedroom hibiscus suite the week of September 22. Overall I would give this resort a 4 out of 5 star rating. The only reason I would not give it a 5 star is...the food could have been a little better and more variety would have also been better. Don't get me wrong, the food was good, but if you go into town and eat there, you will see the difference. Other than that it was the best vacation ever. Since it was September (their off season) there weren't that many people there. We never had trouble getting a shady spot on the beach, or even getting a hammock on the beach. Just know that this island is nothing but mountains, so the roads are very curvy. If you have a problem with that I would suggest you not go to this island at all. If you can get over that, this is the most beautiful island I've ever been to.
Restaurants:
Papa Dons- is the pizza and pasta restaurant, we ordered pizza delivered to our room so I cannot comment on the service, but the pizza wasn't that great.
Embers- is a casual lunch restaurant right on the beach with burgers, salads, nachos etc.
Jammers- is a casual lunch and dinner restaurant right on the beach. It has the same lunch menu as Embers, but we did not eat dinner there so I cannot comment on that menu.
Dragon Fly- is mainly buffet, there is an amazing breakfast buffet, and they will cook anything you want if they don't have it. We didn't eat lunch there so I cannot comment on that, but we did eat dinner there and it was just as good as breakfast
Upper Deck- is the fancy restaurant. The food there is very good, but the menu does not change. The service there is very very good, makes you feel as you are eating at a 5 star restaurant. It is a bit pricy though.
Rooms: our room was the 3 bedroom hibiscus. It was amazing!! We had our own private pool and had a huge porch with an amazing view. The villas up higher on the mountain had better views, but I would rather be at the bottom so I could walk to the beach rather than wait on a shuttle.
Shuttles: when we did use them they were very fast and we never waited more than 5 minutes.
Staff: was very friendly and had no problem with helping you with anything you needed.
Beach: was very beautiful but if you didn't go inside the swimming area, there was this a coral type of bottom rather than sand. I would not suggest swimming there as there were signs warning of sea urchins.
The Island: is soooo beautiful. There are some poor areas that you travel through to your resort, but don't let that bother you. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. There are a few people that kind of bug you about buying something or asking for money, but that is everywhere you go.
Must Do's: you have to do the "day sail" to the pitons, the volcano, and the cocoa plantation. That was amazing!!!! Also the zip lining was soo much fun, but very hot...you are in a rain forest so it was expected.
Last but not least....you have to go to the local Friday night party in Gros Inlet. There you will find the best seafood you have ever had in your life!!!!!! There are plenty of tourists there so if your a little weary about it let me set your mind at ease. The locals there are very very friendly. There are people selling souvenirs, food, drinks, cigars, and music playing with people dancing. We went with another couple and one of them got sick, the locals helped us with him, got them a cab and had him on the way back to the resort.
Overall I would suggest this resort to anyone who wants to relax but also have a good time! You have the best of both worlds there. If you want privacy you got it.....if you want to have a good time and party, they have that too! Hope this review helps you decide. I will DEFINITELY return!!! Make sure to ask Daniel, one of the bartenders at Jammers, for some local spiced rum!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Returned again this year as a private residents club owner, it is becoming a real home from home! Stayed in a 2 bedroom estate villa with own plunge pool, accommodation was spacious and well decorated. Great see view for breakfast on the patio. Have been here many times, the resort is set in wonderful grounds and has a great beach area. Loved our water sports as usual, waterskiing and sailing being the main attractions. Special recognition needs to go to Gordon and his Watersports team who are always cheerful, welcoming and offer great support and advice.

Great fun in Jammer's bar with special thanks to Barry, Elisha and Daniel. Happy hour watching the sunset is a must!

The staff across the resort are great, they really create a welcoming atmosphere. Helen Richards on front desk with her beaming smile being the real star.

Best fish and seafood is at the Upper Deck restaurant and Papa Don's is great for pizza and pasta. One concern was the lack of white Zinfandel in any of the restaurants despite being on all wine lists...here's hoping for next year!

Some of the estate villas are in need of upgrade, there is a plan in place that has been talked about for the last couple of years...this needs to be put into action if standards are to be maintained.
This place is great for families or couples, fail to see how anyone would not enjoy the warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Estate villas at the top of the hill have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banksodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
962 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £148 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, LoveHolidays, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing