We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no worries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked the windjammer on a whim when in Washington DC with friends, going by the tripadvisor reviews. We booked two superior rooms (ocean view) without a meal package, since we like to eat locally. Everything was great, from the check-in (with rum punch) to the easy check-out. The view from the room (upstairs balcony) was a 180 degree panorama of the Caribbean. We had a choice of four very good restaurants on site and were just 10min from Rodney Bay (taxi), where there are lots of very good alternatives for lunch or dinner. The rooms were spacious, bathrooms nice, beach quiet, staff lovely, with lots to do (boat rides, snorkeling, swimming, veging out etc). After ten days, we could happily have stayed for another ten. Good JetBlue flight from NYC direct, too, BTW. We travel a lot all over the world and, for a relaxing and inexpensive (well. that's relative, I suppose) trip, I'd highly recommend the Windjammer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iain1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, French Market Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you fro your positive review iain1500!

It is wonderful that you spent a very relaxing time with us! It would be lovely if you can return one day to spend another 10 days! Just let us know...we will be waiting for you!

Kind regards from the Management and Staff at Windjammer Landing,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

This resort is sooooo beautiful!!! Trust me you want to stay here! It is immaculately clean and beautifully landscaped and maintained. We were there at the beginning of Feb ’14 and had a wonderful time! This is one of the top resorts on St. Lucia-even locals acknowledged that when we told them where we were staying. The beach is amply long with tons of seating. There is a shower and bathrooms right at the beach which I thought was great. The pools are pristine clean and beautifully landscaped. We were impressed with all the attention and help from the staff and especially appreciated our assigned personal ambassador Nick. He helped us by calling around the island to various places we wanted to book tours with and just getting general information. My husband appreciated that Nick worked hard to get a group together to go deep sea fishing-a dream of his-and lucked out catching and releasing a marlin! Management were all extremely top notch, friendly and helpful. There is another really nice person named Jessica who works in Time Shares and was very nice to talk to. Our rooms were always cleaned each day by friendly staff. My husband unfortunately has skin allergies to most detergents. This means bringing our own sheets and towels for him. The resort was very respectful and accommodating to help us spread the word to housekeeping, etc, to not accidentally take our sheets/towels while we were there. This was greatly appreciated. If you are not doing all inclusive, you will find the prices and selections in the restaurant were very good with the salads being exceptionally fresh and tasty. If you are a scuba diver, you can’t beat the services and prices they offer right at the resort for boating out to various dive sites. The staff there are very professional and friendly. The resort offers some free short boats trips to go snorkeling and can be done each day!!! That’s a great deal!!! There are also some small fee snorkeling outings that are totally worth it as well. For anyone that has read that St.Lucia has poisonous snakes, tarantulas and boa constrictors, there is no worry of seeing them (unless you are right in the rain forest). There are also no dangerous sharks in the water which gave us an ease for scuba diving. The ocean view from the rooms is breathtaking. We talked to one of the staff in booking named Marla and she was great at helping us get a room that suited our needs. We wish to thank all the staff at Windjammer for making a great vacation for us. PS the weather was awesome too!
Thanks again Windjammer
Leigh and Lianne

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Hibiscus Suites and were extra spoiled to have a long balcony with a hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, French Market Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello Leigh and Lianne ; You are most welcome! Thank you so very much taking time to write such a great review! I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is very beautiful and interesting resort. We could not decide which hotel we want for a long time. But finally we endid up there and we liked it from the moment we enetered to the area. It has little houses and villas all over one side of a little ben, little mountain, from where you can enjoy a beautiful sunset. It is situated directly at the beach, there are many pools and restaurants in the hotel. There are also shuttlers for use at any time to move between the rooms (villas, houses) and the main lobby or restaurants, because the rooms are situated on the hillside and it may be difficult to climb the mountain many times a day or you are just not up to walking or whatever other reason.
Staff is very friendly and helpful and they do everything for making yourselt feel important for them.

Room Tip: Villas are more far away from the main area, so you could want to use the shuttler all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tiina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Back for a second year and not disappointed. It was as fantastic as remembered. Friendly staff, beautiful clean and comfortable villa with a surprising villa upgrade giving us a wonderful view for a second year. Nothing to complain about which for me as my husband would agree is truely something. I am already looking to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, French Market Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Sue H; Thanks for visiting our Resort again; that is fantastic! Thank you the excellent review We look forward to welcoming you a third time at your home away from home!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We were here during the worst storm in three years. We arrived in the middle of it and access to our room was impossible. The staff upgraded us to a full single family estate villa on top of the mountain for free. Despite power outages and an issue with the water or stay was enjoyable, fun and beautiful. We weren't negatively impacted by te storm at all because the staff at windjammer handled it so well. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jinjejik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My daughter, fiance, my wife and myself searched the island of St. Lucia for the 'right' place for a beach wedding. Visited all three sandals plus one other hotel. Thankfully, Windjammer was our last (and best) stop. The other hotels were generally ok, but each had something that was not quite right. Sandals required you use ALL their own vendors for everything, whereas Windjammer was more accomodating. And then the beach - just a fabulous setting! Gorgeous sand, perfect sunset and no 'crowds' of onlookers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaddieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have just got back from Windjammer Landing.

First the pluses.
Jammer's staff and waiting staff generally were excellent this year. There was far less of the laissez faire attitude we had experienced previously.

Housekeeping (after an initial shaky start - no dressing gowns) were very good and our villa was kept spotless by Mathilda and her colleagues. They looked after us very well and we had towels and flannels a plenty. We rarely had to ask for anything. Excellent!

Food was good, and, as usual I really liked the Jammer's menu. Soups in particular. Big up to Virginia for her cooking of fish. My Red Snapper was so good I called her out of the kitchen to say thankyou. She also has a lovely singing voice !!

Pools were very clean and watersports were good. Trevor and Romanus in particular were great and Romanus continues to provide an exceptional snorkelling experience.

Our Jacuzzi was not heating up and I reported this to our Ambassador, Tasha. She got maintenance to sort this out immediately. Good for Tasha and Maintenance as I had a lovely warm jacuzzi to rest/sleep in for the rest of the fortnight. :-)

The hammocks at the end of the beach under mature trees providing shade are wonderful and were very popular with early risers. I understand that these and the trees are being removed as part of the expansion problem. I really hope that WJL will reconsider this as the owners are not happy about it and there were mutterings during the owners' party!!

Unfortunately there were negatives which impacted our stay quite badly.

1) Building work going on in Villa 47 - apparently unauthorised but involved angle grinders, hammering, drilling, tiles being dropped from a height etc. The Management were sympathetic and chucked the builders out but they kept returning and we had this going on for a week. We never had an explanation as to why the builders kept being let back in! Surely security at all sides of the access routes should have been told! I wrote to Management and have since received an apology but this is not good - especially in the High Season when our contract contains a non-disturbance clause. We were given a bottle of fizzy blanc-de-blanc as compensation by Franz Starker, the Timeshare head. Thanks Franz!

2) Electronic Keys
We had a problem with keys resulting in us being locked out of our villa in the dark in the rain and halfway up a steep hill after midnight. The shuttle driver (a trainee) did not wait to see if we could get into our villa. We used our mobile phones (at high cost) to phone WJ via England and ask for a spare key to be sent up.

On returning the old keys and getting new ones we were accused, quite forcefully, of having an extra set. We were pestered about this, in person and by phone by several members of staff. When we challenged this, the GM proudly stated that his system could "do no wrong" and pointed out that we had accessed the villa with the "new" set of keys at a certain time. As, at that time, we were at another resort where we met with the GM there and also worked with the band we could prove that we were not there at that time. The issuing of this second set to persons unknown negated our set causing us to be locked out!

The unauthorised access situation was eventually solved - after we had returned to the UK - when it was shown that a member of staff had used new guest keys to access our villa to put the blanc-de-blanc in it rather than using the Master set. We had suggested this as a solution to the GM but got laughed at, in public, for the suggestion.

We have, since our return, received an apology from the Managing Director, Mark Ozawa, who was off resort during this period. However, this matter was NOT investigated properly at the time and I spent the second week worrying that our security was compromised in the villa.... This was not pleasant at all.

In spite of all this, we did have a great holiday but those two incidents were enough to make me say that WJL need to sort out its problems and have some respect for their owners/guests should situations crop up like this. It is a great pity because we have always got on with the GM in the past. Maybe he was having an off week!

I look forward to our next trip and hope that it will be better than our last one :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £132 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, West Indies, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing