We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, it is that good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third visit, it is that good”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After having to postpone our holiday from March to May due to illness, I was so delighted that Windjammer credited us fully even though we had to cancel on the day of flying. This is our third visit and we are so looking forward to it based on our previous two holidays. On our last visit we took our son and daughter plus partners and even though we expected them to disappear to Rodney Bay in the evening they were as happy as us to enjoy excellent food and atmosphere and only on planned days out did they leave the resort. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food excellent. We found the rooms clean, well furnished and comfortable and over the past three years have recommended them to anyone who will listen to us enthusing about Windjammer. Looking forward to Thursday 15th!

Room Tip: After our first visit I would say choose a room close to reception but the walk up and down the stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Debbie E

Thank you for your taking the time to w review. We're always happy when guests like you come continue to visit us; thanks a million! We do hope that you will continue to make our Resort your home away from home! We would love to meet you; please stop by to say hello!


Warm regards to you and your family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    710
    206
    96
    44
See reviews for
890
1,068
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We travelled as a family to WJ this April including the Easter weekend.

First big takeaway was the quality of ALL the staff from Reception through catering and cleaning. Their friendliness, helpfulness and positivity was a joy - nothing was too much trouble

Second there are three good quality a la carte restaurants with good menus and a good selection of premium wines complemented by attentive service. Our son who is somewhat pernickety was accommodated - no trouble at all. my wife was enchanted by the quality of the steaks and more particularly the coconut cheesecake. The general restaurant and beach restaurant were also good albeit with more simple food.

Third the beach area is spotless with plentiful sun beds and watchful staff.

Fourth the resort particularly the water sports caters for youngsters and therefore adds to the adult relaxation quotient. We were very impressed with the hotel staff running this aspect - very patient and attentive to ensure maximum enjoyment regardless of ability.

Finally all in all a great holiday and guaranteed repeat business from us

Room Tip: just a note of caution all of the villas/apartments are on a steep sided hill and the laid on (on de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello Ian1939

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that your family had a great time at our Resort. We do hope that you will visit soon and recommend us to your friends and family.

Best wishes from the Management and Staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Total bait and switch! The room pics on their website are NOT what the rooms look like!!! Rooms are ok but worth about what we paid with a Groupon, maybe should be a bit less.

Rooms were clean but shower never worked right. Thank goodness we were traveling with others and used the shower in their room.

One of the two rooms we were in did NOT have a/c in the living room. Even in early May it was very hot returning to the room in the afternoon.

This property is a time share but they did not hassle us about that.

We will not be returning to St Lucia. No where near as nice an island as others we have traveled to in the Caribbean. Waaaay too long a cab ride to get to N side of island and thru dirty and unattractive countryside. Towns were also dirty. Most other Caribbean destinations we have traveled to are enjoyably scenic, not here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank ScottTripAdvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great resort. Visited April 2014. 10 night stay had a great time. Would have given five stars but for a few niggles over food.

Breakfast. Queuing to check in before being given a table even though plenty of tables available. basic shortage of staff. Once or twice entered my own details into the book and strolled in. Not good enough. Staff did their best but there really should be one person responsible for greeting people. Rarely met with a smile, stressed staff.

Dinner, quite long delays in service. Took travel scrabble to every dinner, we were all mensa standard at the end of the stay.

Overall, really fun place, food average to good, shame about the patchy service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What an incredible place. I have been on many all inclusive vacations in the Carribean and this was by far my favorite.

I'll see if I can make this as helpful as possible

-the food was fantastic. If you care at all about food quality, you won't have to worry here. I can't speak highly enough about the variety, taste and appearance. I never would have expected to find food this good at an all inclusive resort.

- the alcohol was premium liquor, wine, many mixed tropical drinks, and beer.

- I would highly suggest all inclusive. Well worth it.

Great for couples (we are in our late 20's) and also great for families. Enough space for everyone.

We went in April and the weather was great. You never have to worry about not getting a beach chair, or finding shade if you need.

- we played tennis everyday. Bring you own racquets and balls. The courts were in great shape and we could pretty much play whenever we wanted ( sign up for times at the front desk)

The Rooms

- we had a king size bed with an ocean view. It was beautiful. It reminded me a lot of the Greek Islands. We also had a roof top private balcony with beach chairs- well worth the upgrade. We took drinks up there every night and watched the sun set.

-Resort is very clean and the staff are all very pleasant. They didn't bother us at all- and bc tips are already included, they aren't pushy or annoying.

St. Lucia is a beautiful island- the airport pick up went smoothly with no problems. The resort is about an hour ride from the airport.

I would absolutely recommend this resort and would go back myself in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Meghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Meghan D

Thank you so very much for your kind review! We are always elated when guests are happy at our wonderful Resort.

Please tell your friends and family about us. It will be fantastic if you can return some day.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went to St. Lucia for 8 days in March and stayed at the Windjammer Landing. This was our family's first trip to the Carribean and I don't think we could've had a better experience! Before we even got there, we had wonderful service from Denise in booking our stay there. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with a plunge pool and did the all-inclusive plan, which I highly recommend. It's well worth it!!! We had a beautiful view of the water and would sit out on our veranda and take in the beautiful view each day. After our long journey to get there, we were welcomed by Nick with a cold towel and rum punch. Wow! We still talk about how wonderful our welcome was there. We spent a lot of time on the beach and at the pool, which of course were beautiful! My kids and husband loved swimming out to the water trampoline and to the inflatable rock climbing wall. There were a ton of water sports to participate in all of the time. We loved the snorkeling trips and the tubing. Gordon was always so nice and positive in helping us with the water sports. It was so nice eating lunch at Embers, which was right on the beach. The service we received from Marcus, Herbert, and Oswaldine there was wonderful! They even gave us a flag to put in the sand when we wanted another drink. They always went out of their way to make sure our vacation was top notch. There were a ton of fun activities everyday for the kids, too. We loved playing Bingo. Stacy was great! She taught us the term "sauce", which means you only need one more number to win. Now every time we play Bingo at home, we say "sauce" when we only need one more number. The other restaurants were great, too. We loved the breakfasts at the Dragonfly. There was always a variety of food to choose from. We looked forward to it each morning. We did order room service a couple of mornings and ate breakfast on our veranda overlooking the water. It was well worth the delivery charge. We loved Jammers and the Upper Deck. Jean Louis gave us great service at the Dragonfly for dinner and at Jammers. The Carribean Night was so much fun. We took a 1/2 day and went zip lining through the rainforest. So much fun and great experience! We also took a day and went to see the Pitons, volcano, mud bath, and waterfall. So beautiful and fun! We did a lot of research booking our trip and we are so happy that we chose Windjammer Landing!!! It was so beautiful there and the people were wonderful! It was the trip of a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 370meganc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear 370meganc

Thank you for your review. We too are indeed delighted that you chose to spend your family's first trip to the Caribbean at our Resort; we feel very special!

We do appreciate that you took time to mention our staff and they surely will be informed.

Please do recommend our Resort to everyone!

We wish you and your family the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a special holiday to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary with our children and grandchildren. We were 15: 8 adults and 7 children aged 6-11. We could not have picked a better resort. We can recommend it without hesitation. It provided good spacious accommodation, decent food, charming helpful staff and lots to keep children and adults amused. There were plenty of activities laid on but no pressure to join in. The evening bands were local and fun – sometimes a little too amplified for my ears but there were no dreadful US style ‘themed’ entertainments which we have experienced elsewhere. For families It is an ideal resort – the grandchildren enjoyed all the water sports, the kids’ club, the beach, the pools, the food, ice cream and ‘virgin’ cocktails. The adults enjoyed everything too including non-virgin cocktails and the grandchildren enjoying themselves.

The resort is well located at the end of a bay and Spanish style white villas of varied sizes and shapes with red roofs set among trees and vegetation climb up the steep hillside above the bay– looks good from the sea. The resort’s setting is much better than the fashionable Rodney Bay nearby which seems more built up with a suburban look albeit with low rise hotels.

The April weather was wonderful – around 26C-28C, with trade winds reducing the heat. Beware the strength of the sun: long sleeved rash guards are a must for children (& adults)

This was an expensive holiday – we were on an all-inclusive package but it felt worth it. Prices in St Lucia are high (it must be difficult for the locals) and excursions to the rainforest and ‘zip wires’ and the hotel’s catamaran cruise (highly recommended) down the East coast to Soufriere, the Pitons and the volcano were expensive. A taxi to Castries is $25 US each way.
We were told 450 people were staying that week (out of possible 500) but the resort never felt crowded, even though the beach is not huge. There were plenty of sun loungers and sufficient shade – though I would have liked more shade closer to the main swimming area.

The water sports team, Gordon, Romanus, Winston, Coletta & Dillon, were outstanding with their enthusiasm, helpfulness and patience – teaching several of our grandchildren to kneeboard & water ski. Three Hobie Cats meant that there was ample availability to sail each day. There were sufficient pedalos, kayaks, paddle boards & wind surfers. Snorkelling is not good near the hotel but twice a day a resort boat takes you to two areas nearby with good but not outstanding snorkelling.

The kids’ club team were also excellent with Kizzie & her colleagues – our grandchildren mostly played on the beach and in the pools but they enjoyed all the activities they did at the club and especially the evening activities. They were impressed by a morning visit with the kids’ club to a local primary school, which the resort helps to support. We wished we’d known about this before we left the UK – we had some pens, a couple of books and table tennis bats to give to the school but would have brought much more with us if we’d known. Visiting families might like to bring spare books, art materials and sports equipment etc with them to give to the school.

Food in all the resort restaurants was good with plenty of local Caribbean dishes (unlike other resorts we have stayed in). The staff were all extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. The service was not always the fastest – but it hardly mattered as we were on ‘island time’.

Our accommodation in two semi-detached three-story 4-bedroom villas (17 & 18) suited us very well and was close enough to the restaurant and beach area for all our grandchildren to walk by themselves to and from the villas, which gave them an added sense of freedom. The villas were well furnished with comfortable beds, ample storage space and a spare bed was brought in without any fuss so the cousins could have sleepovers. There was a large double aspect airy sitting/dining/kitchen area in each villa, which were only partially glassed in. Villa 18 had mosquito netting on the windows in both the living area and the bedrooms while villa 17 did not. This meant that in the evenings that we could not leave bedroom windows open in 17 but there was air conditioning. The shuttle service was good with very brief waits for me (granny) whenever the slope seemed too much.

It seems invidious to single out individual staff as everyone was so good, but I would mention: Mr John Maycock, General Manager, and Executive Chef Bill Munn who were very helpful with a special request that we had. Other staff include Tasha, on reception, Valerie, from the pool area serving team & Andre at Papa Don’s. Our villas were serviced beautifully by Dorna and Domnina, from Room Service.

Little things were good: plenty of beach towels and a large wooden container on the beach with an assortment of buckets, spades (not many) and other plastic sand shapes for communal use.
This may not be an ideal resort for couples without children but with private plunge pools and balconies with fabulous views in villas higher up the hill couples could enjoy peace and quiet and there were two quieter small pool areas set well apart from the main pool and beach area. We met some couples from UK and Europe with and without children who own timeshare properties in the resort and clearly enjoy it very much (not a cheap option).

Downsides: none.
Minor grumbles: The air conditioning in one bedroom was not working fully which was reported but not repaired while we were there.
It would be nice to have full mosquito netting in all rooms (including balcony doors) so that one can take advantage of the trade winds and fans without resorting to air conditioning.
Every room had ceiling fans but some had lost their pull cords and were only on low settings and could not be adjusted.
Working bells on the villas’ external doors would be an asset to attract the attention of those inside (especially useful for children).
There is an open air shower between the beach and the pool but it would be useful to have a changing room/area in one of the toilets in the beach/pool area.

The resort is expanding with plans to build about 80 more bedrooms on a lower wooded hillside behind the beach to the north. One can only hope that this will not destroy the current pleasing balance between the resort and its wooded surroundings. Will the current infrastructure of beach/pools and restaurants be able to cope with more guests?

Room Tip: Villas 17 & 18 suited us very well - with good views but close enough to walk easily to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theoptmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear theoptmist

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am glad that you spent your Golden wedding anniversary and you had a good time!

I will let the staff know that you mentioned them and that you appreciated; thank you so much for that!

We hope that you will visit us one day soon.

Best wishes to your and your family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
935 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,120 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
904 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, West Indies, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing