We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Caribbean, Windjammer made it great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our first time to the Caribbean and we really did not want to come home. We read some of the reviews on trip advisor regarding poor satisfaction etc, and kind of put some hesitation in my mind but ignore these comments as we found the complete opposite! (People complain very quick, but will not take time to say how great something is)

The resort staff on our arrival were very welcoming, cocktails, warm face towel and the admin sorted very quickly and shuttle bus waiting to take us to our villa. Initial impressions very good customer service, and the reception staff through out our stay were very help full.

The accommodation was very comfortable, spotless and attention to detail was outstanding. (Iv stayed in a lot of hotels and most have fingerprints on windows, glass doors etc, but here, no, the glass was spotless). The cleaning lady came once a day, bed sheets changed once during the week, new towels three times a week, tea, coffee, milk, sugar all replaced each day (no need to go asking at reception!). AC also in rooms, with tea / coffee maker. The resort its self is well kept and very clean even the beach. Security staff are about and friendly. No complaints on cleanness or comfort at all!

Food / Drink

Plenty of restaurants to choose from. We tried all of them at one point. Service is good and menu is varied. Food was very good in general and your not rushed. Again the staff can’t do enough for you and friendly. Example I was about to pour a glass of water, waiter came over, took the bottle and said I will do that for you sir, you relax. (Cant see that happening to often in UK).

Breakfast is good, menu or buffet to choose from.

Beach

Very clean and plenty of chairs, waters ports centre just 200 meter walk away and cater to every thing from snorkelling, diving, pedlelows, kayaking just to name a few. Again staff helpful. They advise of areas to stay away from when snorkelling due to sea earchins and you can loan equipment if needed.


Transfers

I arranged private transfers, which was relaxing, no hanging about waiting. It’s about 1 hr 15 mins from airport but the roads are good so a smooth ride. Drivers are good and want to tell you about St Lucia. A/C in vehicles. The staff at windjammers confirmed pickup back to airport for me so no need for me to sort it.

Summery

Very good all round, staff are extremely helpful and do go out of their way to help organise things such as tours etc. Food and drink, plenty to choose from and enjoyable.

All ages represented here from babies to retired people, Windjammers has something for everybody no matter how much or how little you want to do.

Looking forward to getting back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevie747Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear stevie747Uk

Thank you for the great and thorough review! The information which you provided will be very useful to future guests. I am happy that your first time in the Caribbean was spent with us and you had a great time! It would certainly be an honour if you can return one day soon.

Best wishes to you and your family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,272 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have recently come back from the Windjammer, and are trying to figure out when we can return!
I travelled with my husband to be and our two children aged 5 and 2. We had a fantastic two week stay in a 2 bed villa.
From the moment we arrived I knew we were going to be happy there. The amazingly happy, friendly staff greeted us on arrival with warm towels. The reception area looks out over the pool with the beautiful beach a few steps beyond.
The resort is built on the side of a hill so it's very steep in places. There is a shuttle service that supposedly runs every 15 minutes but it is much more regular than that. The drivers are always helpful, we had a pushchair most days, which could fit in the back.
The reason we chose Windjammer was because we wanted somewhere to get married and that was child friendly. It did not let us down!
Our wedding Planner, Mel (part of our wedding package with windjammer), was AWESOME! Being a 'not that bothered kind of bride' Mel basically did the whole thing for us and it was fabulous. Any queries were dealt with immediately and the wedding setting was beautiful. If it hadn't had been for Mel our day would not have been as seamless and special as it was. I highly recommend the sunset cruise for in between the ceremony and dinner. We had a party on the boat with lots of rum punch and dancing. We kept it as a surprise for our guests (18 of them) and all of them kept saying how much fun it was and it had made the day. Great suggestion Mel!
Our villa (villa 1) was set over 3 floors. Each floor had a terrace and each bedroom had AC. There was an enormous decking area outside with a plunge pool, sun beds and 8 seater table. The villa's living area didn't have any glazing, which most of the time I loved. The only time I didn't was when it was really humid and if the Mosquitos came in. That said it looks like most of the other villas and rooms are glazed.
One of my friends who has a 7 month old baby asked to move rooms, as theirs had quite a lot of stairs to get to it, which was difficult with the pushchair. They were moved straight away to something more convenient.
Having a few wedding guests, we got to check out some of the other types of rooms and they were all of a great standard. Housekeeping kept us fully loaded with lots of fluffy white towels and clean sheets. Beach towels are available free by the pool and on the beach.
All of the restaurants are excellent. In two weeks we did not have a bad meal. We chose to have our wedding meal in Upper Deck, with most of the guests choosing filet Steak, each one was cooked to perfection and delicious. The staff are all so helpful and friendly and are great with the children. Most of the staff would great my boys by name every time they saw them and make a big fuss of them.
There are sooooo many things to do there, yet at the same time you don't feel like your at some action packed noisy resort. You can lay on the beach and be unaware that there are water skiing lessons going on at the same time at the dock. The water sports staff are also fantastic. Most of my family had a water skiing lesson and they're ranged from mid 20's to mid 60's. They are truly helpful and patient.
We met a lot of guests that have been coming back to Windjammer year after year, and we can understand why.
I could keep going on about all the great things about Windjammer!

Room Tip: If you have a young child ask for a room closer to reception, it is very hilly to push a buggy aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello Hannah D

Congratulations on your wedding! Many thanks for your review. It is always wonderful to read when guests like you have a wonderful time! I appreciate your nice comments about Mel; she is a terrific Wedding Specialist. I will let her know of her kind words, but I think she has already read them! Please do recommend our Resort to your friends and family. I hope you will indeed visit us again!

Best regards to you and your family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a wonderful time, the staff Tasha, Casandra and Esise made our vacation one that we can put at top of our list as one of the BEST. We will diffidently return. We loved our villa #21, it was very clean and enjoyed our own private pool, views were AMAZING!!!!!!!! The 5 restaurants the resort had to offer were great variety and by far the best food we had after visiting 5 different islands in the past year. WE WILL TELL ALL OUR FRIENDS THAT THIS IS A MUST DO RESORT!!!!
JD and Angela

Room Tip: No bad views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelamjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear angelamjames

Many thanks for your review. I am indeed delighted that you had the best time ever at our lovely Resort. I will inform Tasha, Cassandra and Esie of your mention. It is wonderful to know that you will tell your friends about our Resort; a big thank you for that! We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at Windjammer for a week during May as our friends were getting married there. From the minute we arrived the staff looked after us with rum punch in the beautiful reception area. Strolling out to the swimming pools we were greeted by friendly staff and immaculate surroundings. Crossing to the beach, we found smooth golden sand and relaxed open air restaurants - and a nice cream shack!
Around to the right was a secluded area with hammocks big enough for two - perfect to while away the hours in the shade staring out to sea.
To the left is the watersports area - hobi-cat, sea kayaks, snorkelling, jet ski, diving... Friendly staff on hand to help get you started.
The resort offer quite aloft of excursions - We went on the snorkelling trip round to Rodney Bay - amazing! Saw so much sea life!
The Friday Sunset Cruise is one not to be missed - watch out for the strength of the punch though! ;)
The aerial zip lining was exhilarating, and our tour guide Lisa introduced us to various fruits in the bus on the way there whilst regailing us with tales of the effects certain herbs and fruits have - serve a man bay leaf tea ;)
The villa we stayed in was immaculate and serviced every day. Laid out over three floors we all had our own space (there were three couples in our group - one with a six month old baby). All the staff at Windjammer loved baby Archie, and he was made welcome everywhere.
Food served in the resort was delicious, and always came with a smile.
The wedding planner and staff were fantastic and arranged a perfect day for our friends. The service was in the tropical garden at the top of the resort - with breath taking views and stunning plant life we were all overwhelmed. The resort provided parasols and fans to keep the heat at bay. Our friend had asked for her flowers to be 'whatever was in season'... And she wasn't disappointed - the colours and variety of shapes and textures of this islands natural flora and forna is so different from anything we see here in the UK. I would recommend any bride to go the same way.
Following the ceremony we were driven down to the beach for more photographs and the wedding breakfast, which was served to us in a private gazebo right on the waters edge - perfect end to a perfect day. Except that wasn't the end! After the meal we walked along the beach back to the resort for cocktails and dancing to the live band which had set up in the main beach front bar - Jammers.
The resort is laid out across a hill side with steep roads zig zagging it's way up through the villas. Don't be put off by this - you can call a shuttle bus to drive you up and down at any time and they are there in no time at all. The hillside has the benefit of giving every villa an awesome view - as a group we watch the sun set from our balcony every evening before going down for dinner.
Shops on site have a wide range of essentials - including plenty of baby necessities.
To sum up - Windjammer is an amazing resort, I'd go back tomorrow if I could.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello Michelle D

Congratulations to your friends on their wedding! And a big thank you for the fantastic review about our amazing Resort! You indeed had a wonderful time and that makes us very, very happy! Please, do recommend us to your friends and family. Come back as soon as you can....we are waiting for you!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you've already seen pictures of the beautiful beach and the tropical scenery and I still have to explain why you should go to Windjammer St Lucia: there are always enough sunbeds, an all-inclusive board includes five service restaurants to choose from (wine by the glass included) and unlimited drinks and ice creams, beautiful, air-conditioned rooms, friendly staff, kid and teen clubs, a spa and gym, free watersports and did I mention unlimited pina coladas? It is brilliant for families, however if you are going without children don't go during the school holidays as that is the time whereby small children run riot and throw sand which can ruin the atmosphere a tad. However the staff are courteous and appreciative and the scenery is stunning meanwhile the price isn't too expensive considering it's a beautiful, clean resort with steaks and wine included in their all-inclusive. There's no reason not to go. And I think I've already mentioned unlimited pina coladas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Anna B

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind your review! I'm glad you had a good stay with us. Please encourage your family and friends to visit our Resort.

Best wishes to you and your family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Windjammer was amazing. We loved our accommodations and the food was great. Our view from our villa was spectacular as was everything at the resort. The staff is incredibly friendly and go out of their way to make everything perfect. We enjoyed zip lining, snorkeling and took a tour of the island. We also enjoyed the banana boat at the resort. Shouting out a big thank you to Heather Alexander who made it all possible when we booked our trip. She went through hoops to make it work. It was a dream come true for us and we had the best time of our lives. We hope to have this awesome opportunity again one day. Thank you Windjammer for the best vacation ever!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyE601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear ShirleyE601

Thanking you for your review! I am glad you had the best vacation ever! I do appreciate your nice comment about our staff and I will pass on your appreciation to Heather. We look forward to your return!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Overall, the Windjammer is a great resort. The views can't be beat, the villas were huge, with multiple decks, large bathrooms, etc. Decor was a tad tired, but still very nice. The staff is extremely accommodating and courteous, with the exception of some of the wait staff - they could be a bit more attentive. The kids club was fantastic, and all the ladies who worked there were wonderful. The beach is on the small side (sea urchins force the hotel to cordon off a smaller swimming area than i would have preferred) but it was very calm and easy to watch the kids. When my husband stepped on a nail and had to get a tetanus shot, the staff immediately got him a cab and even accompanied him to the nearby medical center in Rodney Bay. The downside is the hotel is 90 min from the airport (and these are treacherous, windy, hilly awful roads) and the island itself is difficult to explore because the roads are so bad, there are no street signs, no markers for tourist attractions... if you're very adventuresome, go for it. for us, we ended up tied to the resort more than we would have liked.

the food at windjammer is ok - papa dons was the best, followed by upper deck. being all inclusive paid off because the prices would have been high otherwise. breakfast at dragonfly wasn't great, but with a buffet you could always find something to eat. drinks at jammers were great, but getting the bartenders attention wasn't always easy, and the waitstaff there were slow. island pace, i guess they call it?

the tours we booked through windjammer were great - the catamaran trip to the pitons was beautiful, drinks plentiful, and the guides very charming. same for the sunset cruise - very happy with the excursions. snorkeling in/around windjammer not great, but that's not the hotel's fault.

the pool was always clean and warm, and fresh towels were plentiful (sometimes had to grab them from the beach area). public restrooms were all spotless and updated, and the grounds were immaculate, despite the drought - looks like management does a good job conserving water and they encourage guests to use water sparingly without making it uncomfortable for you.

all in all, if this resort was closer to the airport and on a more "explorable" island, i would give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: lower road rooms are walkable to pool, beach, dining, etc. rooms further up the mountainside have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nstolz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you fro your review. It is great that you think our Resort is beautiful and good for families! I am happy that your children did enjoy our Kids Club. I will certainly pass on your kind comment to the ladies there.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
962 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £148 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, West Indies, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing