We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is an amazing place. Wonderful food, drinks, service, room, beach - everything! We tried out the waterspouts, all of the cocktails, the evening shows and activities. A really fantastic stay - the fruit boat visiting the beach was lovely each day too - fresh coconuts with a straw, doesn't et much better than that!
Im saving for a timeshare!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words. Also, we wanted to take the opportunity to let you know how honored we are that you referred to our resort as "Heaven". We happen to agree!

Your Private Residence awaits.

Very best regards,

Franz Starker
Project Director/PRC
fstarker@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

The culmination of a Big Trip for a special Birthday celebration.
Great setting, with its own beachfront and free non motorised watersports.
Need a car or taxi to get off resort so you are a little isolated.
Came here via New York and only a 4 hour flight but we felt that it wouldn't be worth an 8.5hour flight from the UK. Could get the same or better standard of accommodation, facilities and sunshine for a lot less money and without the jet lag!
Around 40 hotel rooms and 140 villas.
Had booked a Premium Ocean View room but arrived to find we'd been 'upgraded' to a villa. All sounded good but the villa was rustic and nothing like the standard of the room we had tried to book. Asked to be re-instated and waited 3 hours to get the stipulated room. All handled so badly, with no apologies at the time but later rectified. Our POV room was exactly as the brochure had portrayed - why we couldn't have had that to start with is beyond me. Chocolates and bubbly by way of an apology but the Manager didn't seek us out to say sorry in person. Poor. That said other staff who experienced our poor start were overly keen to right the wrong.
Housekeeping very very good, nothing too much trouble. Coffee machine in room was excellent. Extra toiletries brought on request.
Room safe invaluable.
Windows wouldn't shut, as frames distorted. Curtains unlined so you're awake once the sun's up. Take an eye mask!
Fogging done weekly to keep mosquito activity at bay and it worked!
Resort is very hilly so wheelchair users would struggle. Shuttle buses do take the slog out of the uphill walk and they will also collect upon request.
Resort is akin to a Greek Island in terms of look and feel and hence why we felt half the journey from the UK could achieve the same thing for a lot less cash. Probably worth visiting if closer to the Caribbean or en route to/from South America. Perhaps we've been spoiled by better hotels for less cash and maybe we under estimated what you get in St Lucia.
Beach is clean and safe for swimming. Free beach towels.

Room Tip: Premium ocean view rooms have more floor area and a roof top terrace. Quite a bit extra cost so need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank OutnAbout007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you did not like your upgraded accommodation as much as the type you had originally booked. Many guests like the additional space and nicer views but I'm glad we were able to accommodate you in a unit you enjoyed.

Warm regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I chose this resort over the potential of going to Mexico , and have to admit, it was the best choice I could have possibly made. The setting of the the property is absolutely outstanding , as is the quality of the rooms,to the high levels of housekeeping , all the way to the culinary expertise that is, in my opinion ,extremely exceptional. ( and I used to be a chef at one of the best hotels in Vancouver, as well as a director of food and beverage in some of the best hotels in the world) . My wife compares this resort as a close 2nd to the Fijian resort that we had lived at for two years , and I couldn't agree with her more. The water activity crew were superb as, on taking out a catamaran , had turned it over, only to have the crew, almost immediately, come to our aid with the ski boat. I felt that this was exceptional as, being a sufferer of Parkinson's disease ( although nobody within the crew were aware of my condition ) had possibly over stepped the mark by taking out the catamaran in the first place. The other department I should like to praise is the sales department in particular , a lady by the name of Nicole , who did an extraordinary job of up selling their time share program.
All in all, a superb property and one that we will most certainly be returning to !

Room Tip: Buy some snacks as the food is very expensive , being an island that relies on imported produce, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Tony B

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience at Windjammer Landing. It pleases us to know that you had an outstanding time & were able to enjoy all facets of our property, water sports in particular. In addition, thank you for recognizing our Private Residence Club & we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kindest regards,

Franz Starker
Project Director/ PRC Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I visited this resort in February 2014 .
We were so disappointed the standards of the villas were more like 1 or 2 star , very basic , poor decor , poor quality fixtures and 1 inch gaps on the windows and doors . We had a villa with an open staircase to the downstairs villa , no door to shut at the top end , if we had children then that would have been a real hazard . The balcony was very drab dirty basic , the balcony never had the sun , the furniture dirty and definitely needs updating , certainly not a place to relax .
Be prepared to walk steep hills , if it rains then it's slippy everywhere , they do have mini buses to run you around everywhere but sometimes you may just want to walk exercise etc .
The beach area is a good size however you cannot swim in much of it as it's got reef and rocks so it's about 20ft area for you to swim . The water sport area was very good and good choices and the staff were really helpful . The beach beds are just cheap nasty white plastic ones .
The buffet breakfast is very basic same thing each day , the waiting staff are not very friendly or helpful .
The other restaurants are ok the food was excellent and the staff working here were very good , think one or 2 ladies stood out , June especially in Papa Dons , the beach restaurant the food was good and the bar staff were nice .
We did decided to leave the resort on day 2 , we complained to the hotel and they moved us to Hibicus suite , this was much better , the room was very nice with good views , however it still didn't change are point of view on the resort , in MY opinion it was tacky and in desperate need of updating .
It's not a quiet peaceful resort there's always something going on and it's full of kids .
I've posted some pictures of the first villa we stayed at .
You have been warned if you book this hotel it most definitely doesn't warrant 4 star !!!

Room Tip: Hibiscus suite if you can that's a must If you do have a basic villa make sure your away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hayleys68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your unit and we appreciate the feedback.

Regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mark.ozawa@windjammer-landing.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We liked the Windjammer Landing so much on a visit about 7 years ago that we bought a timeshare. Three years ago we upgraded our timeshare to a 2 bedroom villa. Best thing we ever did. Every year we count down the days to our Windjammer St. Lucia vacation. Always fabulous! Thank you Windjammer and all your wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smyrnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hello Smyrnian

Lovely! Thank you for your review. I am happy that we make you very happy! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just returned from St Lucia (it was a multi-generation family trip). May parents, my wife & kids, and my sister'f familiy with kids). All of the kids ranged from 12-18. Our group's interests differed greatly with MANY different desires & priorities (ie: Activities vs. lounging, fine dining vs quick options, pool vs beach, etc.). The Windjammer satisfied all of us, with a huge array of options. Upon arrival, the Windjammer assigns an "Ambassador" to each guest/group. We had Essie - she was awesome! This ambassador's responsibility is to make sure that the guests have everything they need while at the Windjammer. We had a few instances in which the cleaning crew forgot to give us towels in our room - but Essie made sure we received them promptly upon out phone call.

Every resort has is pros & cons - the Windjammer's pros outweighed the cons.

PROS:
- Incredibly friendly staff - EVERYONE was nice, from the groundskeepers to Management.
- Family Friendly - Though there is a bar scene at night at the Windjammer, it was not rowdy to the extent of needed to censor it from our kids.
- On-grounds activities - This place has it all (pools, beaches, waterskiing, wakeboarding, snorkeling, tubing, etc.) - If you take the All-Inclusive option, these are ALL included in your rate).
- Beautiful Layout - This place is pearched up on a hill, and all of their units have a wonderful view of the ocean, with well maintaing gardening throughout the complex. The beach is huge & has swim activities for the kids that inlude inflatables).
- Great Food - We had some pretty elite diners in our group, and all were pleased with the food quality - the chefs at the Windjammer are incredible. (there are 5 restaurants on the grounds to choose from).
- Wonderful Rooms - our villa had a private hot tub, VERY comfortable beds, full kitchen, washer dryer, etc.). Bathroom were very nice, and furniture was very nice.

CONS:
The Watersport Activity Center is a 5 minute walk from the main grounds, which is a little inconvenient, but not the end of the world - BUT they will NOT let you sign up for activities any sooner than 15-30 minutes before the actual activity starts - They are VERY inflexibly about this - they made me wait 10 minutes to sign up for an activity that was going to start less than an hour away. I didnt want to walk back to the main groundss just to have to walk back again, to sign up, and then walk back to the main grounds and then walk back for the activity - There is a LOT of walking back & forth to this "displace" watersport center because of this silly policy. So be ready to walk back & forth if you are going to use their watersport activities.
- Pool Towels - You better wake up & get one early, or you wont have one for the day - they have shortage on pool towels & seemed to only stock them in the morning.
- Proximity to off-grounds Excursions - If you plan to do activities off site (ie: Gros Piton Hike, Ziplining, Rainforest Bike Riding, Kayaking, etc.) be prepared for a LONG car ride. We did the Gros Piton Hike, were is in the car for 2 hours each way on a windy narrow road. BUT the location of this resort & what makes is such a beautiful beach option (resorts that are closer to these activities do not have the beach amenities that this place has - so there is a HUGE PRO associated with this con).

In summary - If I go back to St Lucia, I would definitely go back to the Windjammer. You need to decide what is most important to you and go with the best options. Our group had so many different desires, and it is pretty incredible how the Windjammer satisfied most of our wishlist.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline J, Guest Relations Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Steve M

Thank you so much for your honest review. We do truly appreciate all feedback from our guests. It is indeed wonderful to know that we were able to please you and your multi generation family. I am glad to hear that you were impressed with our staff and our food; I am sorry about the towel situation. I will inform Esie about your kind mention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes to you and your entire family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived at the Windjammer after a 2 hour delay on the part of the infamous LIAT airlines. (That's another review for another time.) We were tired and hungry after almost 24 hours of travel from California. Before we completed the check-in process, the resort staff had us seated at a table for dinner because the restaurants were going to close soon. The shuttle bus to our villa was an absolute must! There was absolutely no way we could have gotten our luggage to our room without it.
The villa--a one bedroom unit--was wonderful; the ocean view breathtaking and a wonderful site to behold in the morning and evening. Probably the most difficult or problematic element of life was the mosquitoes. Still, the environment more than compensated for it. We were not on the all-inclusive plan, and the restaurants were indeed expensive. To leave the resort at all required a taxi, and the going rate was $14.00 (one way) to get to Rodney Bay the closest town to the resort and $30.00 to get to Castries. Our greatest expensive was transportation and food. Restaurants were a greater expense than we'd planned for, but with resort restaurants being so pricey, we decided we'd rather experience the more noteworthy establishments for dinner, and made breakfast in our room.
Everything that could be provided for your environment was provided including a wonderful Sunset Cruise on our last night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £130 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, West Indies, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing