We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - Truly Amazing. we will definitely return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My Husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon, on the beautiful island of st lucia, we were lucky enough to have won a week of luxury at Windjammer on a tv programme in England, they could not have picked a better destination for us.
Although there was a 90 minute transfer from Hewanorra Airport to the resort, it was definitely worth it when we arrived. We were greeted by friendly staff who took care of all our needs.
We stayed in Villa 57B it was gorgeous, but quite high up, . however, there is a very reliable and frequent Shuttle that runs direct from the reception area every 15 minutes on the hour, You do rely on the shuttle as all the Villas are built on a very steep hills, its not the kind of resort you can take a stroll around put it that way, and if you want to venture out of the resort, a taxi is needed or the hire of a car. Taxis into Rodney Bay cost approx $12usd one way and you ar expected to pay a tip (for everything i might add)

We would definitely recommend going to "Jump up" which is a street party every friday night in Gros Islet/Rodney Bay...great partying with all the locals who are all really friendly and have you up dancing, local cuisine is cooked and you can eat and drink all you like at a reasonable cost.
Rodney Bay itself has lots of restaurants, we didnt eat at any of them though but they did look nice and were told they were nice too, we were on an all inclusive basis at Windjammer, so we chose to eat at the resort every night, its not your normal all inclusive type holiday, you have a choice of restaurants to eat in and a menu to chose from, so they was always a choice.. Upper Deck was open in the evenings for dinner and was our favourite one, there was also Dragonfly (open for breakfast and dinner) and Jammers ( open for lunch and dinner) Papa dons (open for dinner) Embers Bar ( Open for lunch, snacks etc) All with a very good choice of menu and the food was great, we could not complain once.

The beach was gorgeous, and we really did feel like we were in paradise, the only downside to the beach was, they had a small part sectioned off for swimming, as the rest of the beach had "Urchins" which was a bit of a pain but we could live with it, there was a great Iceberg climing frame in the water which was a hit with the children and adults, also a water trampiline and a water slide.
The locals on the beach were fantastic, PALMER was a great laugh and offers some great Reflexology while you sunbathe, at a cost of approx $30-40usd NICK was a very charming man with a lovely smile and makes Hand Made Jewellery, we had a bracelet and Necklace made for our 2 year old daughter, there was also JANNO who does art work, and JAMBO who makes Bowls and Hats out of the Palm Trees, Great job too and such a lovely man.
The other good thing about the beach was the cold wet towels they brought round, and the flag beside your bed which you could raise and they would come and serve you direct, food, drink etc.
we travelled 15th-22nd Jan and the weather was glorious, it was a very windy island but it was well needed.
at 4pm every day you get free banana rides and dingo rides, the watersports are also free anytime of the day, providing there are not motorised, so catamarans, pedlos etc were free and we did take advantage of that.
The Villas and outside facilities were extremley clean and well looked after.

We would definitely recommend the Jammers Day Sail, $100 usd pp and well worth it, you get to see alot of the island and visit a waterfall, volcano, coco plant, marigot bay, you also get to snorkel and lunch included, and as many soft drinks or rum punch as you can take!!! very good value for money and a good laugh.
We also had a couples massage at the Serenity Spa which was amazing and by far one of the best massages we have ever experienced, and we have had a few!! although the spa could do with a little make over!!
We also took a 2 hour Horse riding trip where we got to swim with the horses, that was a great experience too... we were only there for a week so we did what we could and managed to come home with a great tan.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience, the people are so friendly, the rooms are cleaned and beds made everyday and fresh towels, the security is tight, there are always guards roaming around the place day and night which makes you feel very safe.
The only downside to this place was the evening entertainment, there were a couple of bands and singers and some fire dancers, but they didnt really live up to our expectations, however i would not let this put you off, the place is perfect for honeymooners like us, or families, the kids facilities are great and we were a little disappointed that our little girl was not with us, but it was our honeymoon! They have a kids club for 4+ and they children were well looked after, you often see them having fun and eating a healthy lunch.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone thinking of travelling to st lucia, it has everything to offer, amazing views, people, food, sun, ( oh and rain but that was needed too some evenings and never lasted long)
We will 100% be returning to this resort in the near future, next time with our daughter, we had a fantastic time and wish we had longer than a week!!

Thank you to everyone at Windjammer for makingf our honeymoon a dream in paradise come true, we cant wait to see you all again.

I would like to add that if you opt for the all inclusive package, to keep your eye on your room folio, you are given a bill after every breakfast, lunch and dinner and the charge is taken off at the end of the day - strange, we did have a couple of problems with this but nothing that wasnt easily sorted out.

Cant wait to come back

Grace & Jonathan Nash ( UK) xxx

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princessnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,164 - 2,170 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

We loved our stay at Windjammer! Our Hibiscus suite afforded us a jaw dropping view. The highlight was the evening show, a spectacular sunset we enjoyed while having cocktails in the private Jacuzzi on our balcony. In the room, there is also a full kitchen, stocked, a comfortable living room with flat screen tv and free (wired) high speed internet, and the bedroom is so comfortable, I decided I need to get pillows just like that for our home. Having our own laundry room in the suite was also very convenient. One of the things I appreciated most is the way the resort is designed. There are so many little nooks of perfect spots on the beach, on the deck, by the infinity pool, a few steps down to a lower pool, and so on, that we could easily go from one little hideaway to another and always enjoy a wonderful sense of privacy when we wished, or to be with others when we preferred company. We enjoyed the meals on the beach but the dinner at Papa Don’s was really beautiful, mostly due to the service and atmosphere.
Although the room did not have wireless internet, we enjoyed free wifi in the entire lobby zone including the main pool, bars, and restaurants - even the beach!
By the way, another highlight of our trip was dinner at The Edge restaurant about 10 minutes away in Rodney Bay. It was one of the most beautiful waterfront restaurants I have ever seen. It is not really vegetarian friendly in that there is nothing on the menu, but they did say on the menu they would make something, and it was excellent! Still, I would have preferred to choose options from a menu.
One issue we had was that we booked the zip line and the ladies at the tour desk said they strongly felt we should go to the farther one, the tree top adventure, but they said it would be 45 minutes away, while the closer one would be 30 minutes away, so it really did not make too much difference, and we would be back by 3PM. We were picked up at 10:20am and did not arrive at the tree top adventure until noon. We were not back until 4:40 so it took 6 ½ hours away from the beautiful resort, to get only 1 (very fun) hour of ziplining. For me that was not a good investment of time, so all I am advising os to be careful that you are getting all the facts. Maybe ask the concierge rather than the tour desk. We arrived at the tree top adventure at noon but did not start ziplining until 2PM, so we endured two hours of just standing in line because all the cruise line people arrived at the exactly same time. If you go, find out first which day has no cruise ships in port so that you don’t have the same issue. I was only bummed since this took precious time away from our gorgeous resort which was an oasis of natural beauty, warm sun, cool breezes, perfect comfort, and friendly service. The Windjammer seems to attract a lovely clientele as well, a mix of middle aged couples, honeymooners, and young families with charming well behaved infants and toddlers, and the community of people definitely added to our enjoyment of Windjammer. It was a fantastic value so we have already decided to come back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdeleNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I wanted to settle down and think about this review before I wrote it. This resort has plenty of potential, but the people that manage the hotel have a lot to learn. At first glance the resort is beautiful and you are very happy to finally arrive from the hour and a half ride from the airport. If you do decide to go to this resort fly directly into Castries! We stayed in a Villa. I believe it was 408 I can't remember now. The villa was very nice, but as you enjoy the view at night on the terrace if you are quiet you will be visited by rats! My wife had the first encounter with our new friends. She screamed and I came running out of the villa. I didn't believe her. The security guard peaked his head over the brush by the road looking down at us. I asked him what she could have seen he said that it is common to see Rats at night and told us not to leave food or drinks out on the terrace. I asked him to get somebody up to check on this and nobody ever came. The rats came back every night leaving us "droppings" to sweep up every morning! Don't leave the doors open! Also, PLEASE whatever you do LOCK UP YOUR BELONGINGS IN YOUR VILLIA! Insist that you have a key to a safe and make sure that you have it at check in! We had $240.00 stolen from our room while we were down at the beach. I read the reviews before we booked this trip and we didn't listen. This resort does have a SECURITY issue!!! It is such an issue that there are security officers, a security head master, and a company that watches the security department. I understand the missing 240.00. The people on this island are not making the best living. What really bothers me is the management and the security department didn't do anything for us besides giving us the run around. We arrived on a Saturday the money was stole on Tuesday and they didn't even read the locks on the door until Friday. The day before we left! And it was like pulling teeth to talk to management about it! They never did do anything for us. It was just gone and they didn't care! We heard similar stories from some of the owners at this resort. Stories about missing clothes, safes actually ripped out of rooms. Enough about that. Some other things you should consider! The shuttle back and forth up and down the mountain! I would not recommend this if you are handicapped in anyway. I am in pretty good shape and I was getting really sore from crawling in and out of the small vans to get back to the villa and down to the beach. Watch out for the "service charge" on every bill. You will be charged a service fee for everything you get. I talked to one of the workers and the service charge is spit between everyone who works the resort. All they could say is that most of that service charge goes to the management! No wonder this resort has a theft problem. We are very used to tipping according to service. We had a lot of good service especially from Papa Dons restaurant, but their waitresses suffered. The island is very beautiful around the tourist areas. If you venture off you will be very disappointed though. If you do decide to make this resort your vacation destination please just is aware of the issues we ran into. Protect yourself and your belongings! And while you’re down on the beach say Hi to "Hopper” He is the guy walking up and down the beach with aloe plants. Buy him a drink and have a conversation with him. He will give you all kinds of good information about the resort and the island.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank timmers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

this hotel was amazing. the location was wonderful and had a great nightlife experience. I travelled with my girlfriend and a bunch of other couples age ranges 20-27 we had an awesome time and we always had something to do.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasCowboys789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Most of the reviews on Windjammer are from those who stay in the villas. This review is from the perspective of someone who stayed in the Anthurium Lily (sp?) suites, 105B and 106B, being below Papa Don's. My wife and I stayed in one suite (105B) and our two sons 18 and 20 stayed in the other. While overall the holiday was very enjoyable and it is a beautiful resort, I think it makes quite a difference if you are in a Villa or a suite. If possible stay in a villa. The suites are, quite simply, not up to standard with the rest of the resort. Both our suites were quite small, probably about 14x10. The Queen size beds were actuually doubles. The A/C in 105B was underpowered. 105B comes with a small cubby hole (about 3x3) with a with a wash basin. The bathroom is attached but is open to the outside with no A/C. The washroom in 106B was larger with two sinks. Compared to the rooms which we have had at other resorts, these were the worst, although the view was the best we have ever had.

As many posters have noted the resort is built into the hillside with a steep climb to all rooms, except the Hibiscus suites which are at the bottom near the restaurants and main reception area. If you have to stay in a suite, stay in a Hibiscus suite.

The beach is very nice with lounge chairs readily available. If you have to stay in the Anthurium Lily suites the one nice thing is that there are a couple of small pools and a hot tub nearby, just underneath Papa Dons which you can easily access. But no diving as they are only 2 and 4 feet deep respectively, but good enough to cool off in.

I do not understand all the raving about the great service. We did not see it. I suspect part of the problem may have been that we were there over the Christmas/New Year holidays so the resort was full. They did not seem able to handle the number of guests. Service was consistently slow. But perhaps it was just a case of being on the Island where as they say you "live slowly".
Some examples.
We required a roll away bed so my sons did not have to share a bed. Are checked in at 3:00 and were told it would be done right away. 9:30 p.m still no bed. Call housekeeping. They will get to it. Walk down the hill to have a talk with the front desk. They call and housekeeping and it arrives.
There are no beach towels at the towle hut. They will be along shortly. One hour later still no towels. When will they be here. Shortly. How long is shortly. Shortly.
How long can and order of waffles forbreakfast take in a half empty restauarabt. About 45 minutes. Buffet the rest of the week.
Your server forget to bring something. Ask them for it and see how long it takes to get it. Vegas could start taking odds on it.
Room not cleaned yet and you are out of clean towels since the morning. Don't worry it is only 7:30 p.m.they will get to it.
Can't get into a restaurant because they are all full. You can eat on the pool deck.

We were on the all inclusive which I think is the way to go as the restaurant and drink charges can easily add up here. The food quality overall was good, although a bit more variety would have been appreciated. The breakfast buffet is small, very basic and is for all intents and purposes the same every day.

All four of us agreed at the end of our stay that compared to other resorts which we have stayed at the amenties (rooms, restaurants, pools etc) at Windjammer were at the low end. The views are extraordinarily beautiful and somehow the overall feel of the place was good which makes up for a lot of deficiencies.

The biggest plus is that this resort is on St. Lucia. It is a beautiful island. You have to get away from the resort and see some of the Island to appreciate it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nofold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

we had a great stay and a beautiful wedding. Everyone was very nice and helpful. we loved lounging on the beach having our food and drink delivered to us. if we had any questions we could ask a staff member, they knew everything!

Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
3  Thank Jules500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We travelled to the Windjammer 12/26/09-1/3/10. I can't complain about anything. OK....I can give you one or two. Positives first: Our villa was beautiful and clean and had all amenities. The staff was courteous and hardworking. Food was great. Our favorite was Papa Don's. I didn't love the makeshift Asian restaurant. We did 3 days of all inclusive just to try it out. This IS NOT an all inclusive resort that you are familiar with if you do All Inclusives. You just eat, drink and charge everything and it gets deducted at the end of the day. We had a terrible experience in Puerto Rico one time-when we checked out, we had a food and beverage bill of $10,000. Virgin daiquiries there were $8 each. I was afraid this was going to happen again so thats why we chose the minimum 3 day AI package. Turns out we did not need to do that. The prices were very reasonable. $2 for a virgin Daiquiri. Beach was beautiful. Chairs and palapalas were plentiful. Again, I am used to resorts that you have to get your towels out by 7AM to get good beach chairs. Not the case here. Water sports were all free and plentiful again. Rock climbing wall in the water, slide and water trampoline were all a draw for my kids. Ages 17,15,13,11. No one was bored. tennis facility was ok. Pools were just ok. Will not wow your kids by any stretch but they were sufficient.

Negatives: I did not like relying on the shuttle sevice. We were in the 400's which were way high. I walked once a day but that was about it and I am fit. It was a little bit of a pain because we had to plan for the whole day. It would take you about 20 minutes to get off the beach and get to your villa-by the time you waited for shuttle and then dropped other guests etc. This is the only reason I would not come back. Did not like the 90 minute ride from the airport but if you choose St Lucia and you want the North shore, thats what you get.

I do not enjoy excursions, so we chartered a boat one day and toured St Lucia that way. It was awesome. We checked out all of the spots, Marigot Bay, Rodney Bay, Soufries....we got off the boat here and took a taxi to Volcano and waterfalls that you could swim in. Kids thought that was fun. It would not have been worth it if you had to take a 40 minute bus ride. great restaurants in Rodney Bay which was only a 10 minute ride and $12 US.

All in all, I will probably try another spot next year, somewhere I have not been but I would come back here for sure

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
6  Thank MFmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £130 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing