We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing like it. a class of its own....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

to much to say it is perfect. are considering moving there.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kimberly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,147 - 2,153 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

I have just returned after a fabulous week .Pictures do not do this place justice.It was so much more beautiful than we expected.The villas are out of this world and the view of the sea is breathtaking.
Keith whom works at the beach and the docks was the most gracious young man informed about his country and so proud of St Lucia.He taught us so much about the fish ,the historyeverything from the f rom the island size to its Independance.He would be a wonderful ambassador for the hotel.Visitors love to know the people have such pride in what they do and where they come from.
The food was great,not one complaint about anything
Hats off to Smartie,Ruffos,Terry and Valerie.Staff make a resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We were returned to the hotel having been there 4 years earlier. Reason being we have a small family and were happy the first time and new the layout. The accomadation was good and the beds comfortable. The one downside I would say about the 2 bedroom villa is the open air arrangement on the middle floor. Because of the problem with mosquitoes this of course lets them all in! I am not usually affected by mosquitoes but on this trip was eaten alive as were my children! The last time we were at Windjammer they had mosquito nets which this time they did not. I asked on more than one occasion and did not get the nets.

The restaurants are adequate. We ate in Jammers (which is the informal bar restaurant) mainly and the food was good. Embers (beach restaurant) was also fine with good pizzas. We found the Dragon Fly restaurant trying to be something it is not. It is Carib Asian fusian. I found the steak nicer in the Jammers restaurant.

The beach is clean and well maintained although for swimmers there is a limited area to swim in sectioned off as a square piece of sea.

The gym is minimal but adequate (1 bike, 2 cross trainers and 2 tread mills, weights).

Very pretty location although the 90 minutes drive there from the airport is a bit of a pain and currently costs USD 75. We looked at the helicopter which by the time you have flown to Castries airport and then jumped in a cab from there, there is little in it from a time perspective and significant difference in cost.

All in all we were happy with the holiday although the mosquitoes spoilt it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportbilly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at this beautiful resort from Jan. 30- Feb. 13 in Villa 2 . From the time we arrived, met with a cool facecloth and a rum punch, we were treated like royalty and made to feel so very special. The Villa was absolutely amazing with 2 beautiful bedroooms, three different balconies, our own plunge pool and magnificent views of the Carribean. The staff were so friendly and helpful, from our maid Delice who brought us flowers for the table and supplied mosquito nets for the beds...to the water sport staff especially Nicodemus, who took extra care and time with us. We found all the staff more than helpful and the daily cool cloths on the beach at 1230 was quite the treat. Shuttles were always available within 5 minutes but we also found the walk to the beach invigorating.There was always a cabana available on the beach and towels were always fresh and clean. I can't say enough positive remarks for this beautiful resort except that given the chance we will definately go back . When you go take the endless summer catamaran down the west side of the Island. It is well worth the money to see the Pitons, waterfall and the cocoa plantation. Go Go Go you won't regret it

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We are leaving next week for our 9th trip to Windjammer Landing. Yes, we have a time share there, but that just means we enjoyed the resort so much that we wanted to return regularly.

If you don't want a long car ride, then fly into San Juan, then into Charles Airport in Castries. Then it is only about 15 minute cab ride. Yes, it can be more $$, but it's up to you to decide than flying into the opposite side of the island into Hewanorra. Take motion sickness pills for the longer ride.

First and foremost, set your clocks to island time. Things are just not going to get done as fast as they get done here in the U.S. The workers at windjammer get paid little and get nothing but grief. I recommend just spending the first day or two getting to know the help, from the maid, groundskeeper, barkeep. Talk, be nice, tip well, and you'll soon get great service and you'll come off as genuine, and not a jerk tourist that demands to waited on hand and foot at a moments whim. For example, when we go to the beach, I make friends with the beach waiter that brings drinks. Tip him or her $20 bucks the minute you get there and you'll have a best friend all week, bringing you rum & cokes or Piton beers. I made friends with the groundskeeper once, gave him a sandwich and a drink, and his wife made us conch stew one night later in the week. Try to get the same maid for the week, be nice, talk, tip. You'll have extra pillows and towels all week.

I recommend getting a villa, condo, or room with a kitchenette with a fridge. On your way from the airport have the taxi stop a the grocery (Super J's) to get some beverages, breakfast, lunch, and possibly dinner stuff so you are not eating out every minute. We bring hot dogs and cold cuts frozen in our luggage. When we vacation, we don't move, thus we don't eat much. Heck, we hardly leave the room. Why? Great view, plunge pool, fridge nearby with drinks, easy access to bathroom, quiet and privacy.

The rooms are very nice. I do recommend bringing those small travel bottles of DEET. Hey, it's a tropical island, there will be bugs, though they fumigate the grounds very few days for mosquitoes, which I have never found to be a big issue. If you have food in your room and the windows open, birds will come in. Alot of people write that the birds are annoying, I find them amusing. Don't be dumb, put the food in the fridge if you want to discourage the birds. Ants come in too. So again, keep the food away, and crumbs cleaned up. The cuisine at the four or five restaurants to eat is good. I recommend Jammers, or the place on the beach, for simpler fair. The other restaurants are good too. They are slow, but order a drink, chat, relax maybe make friends and make plans to dine together one night. What's the hurry?

Speaking of making friends, this is a nice place to meet people. We exchange x-mas cards with a lovely couple from the U.K. and visited them twice in England.

We have a time share for a two bedroom in late February - early March, though we went in early December once which was great, not crowded at all. I sleep like a rock. I only have the bedroom and villa shut at night with the A/C on. The rest of the time, every window is open and let Caribbean breezes flow! I see many people leave the rooms shut all day with the A/C on. How dumb. I didn't leave Boston to hide in a room when it is a gorgeous 85 degrees out!!!

Don't overpack! Guys, where once nice pair of pants and a collared shirt while traveling, then another set in the bags. They rest, just a few pairs of shorts, t-shirts, 2 swim trunks, and undies. Ladies, the same, either slacks or dresses. If I need something washed, I scrub in the sink. I spend about 80-90% of the day in just my swim suit. Bring at least one swim suit on your carry on. If they lose your luggage, at least you have your suit!

All in all, relax. Let go. Disconnect. You'll find Windjammer like a second home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AN1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My wife and I travelled with our 3 small children over the Valentines Day holiday. The ride from the airport to any of the resorts in the area of Castries takes about 90 minutes but it does give you a chance to see the island and get a feel for what life on the island is like. We arrived at the resort and had an easy checki-in with everything ready to go from the start. The villas were very cozy and all had great views of the ocean. They had everything needed to make the stay very comfortable from great internet access to DVD players for the kids. The kitchenette was well equipped and functional. Must take a shuttle or walk down to the beach which isn't too difficult for younger folks but older folks may want to take advantage of the readily available shuttles to take you back and forth. The beach was cozy and private and security was always present all over the grounds which made us feel very safe. There were a good number of children at the pools and on the the beach for our kids to play with so they were never bored. The food was amazing. I was expecting typical island food with lower quality fresh veggies and poorer cuts of beef but I really surprised to find the food was second to none. There was an amazing assortment from lamb and steaks to fish other seafood delicacies that just blew us away. There was really no need to leave the resort to eat and usually at each meal there was some sort of live entertainment that was very family friendly as well. We will definely return and I would recommend it to everyone. A must do is to take the day sail down to the pitons and the volcano....very fun!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank papaCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Resort was beautiful. 2 Hour drive from the airport is brutal for a person who has car sickness cause you travel up and down mountains with sharp turns. Get a small taxi to drive you, it costs $22 pp.

Resort is all hills and steps. We needed to call shuttles to get around resort which usually were prompt (drivers were pleasant) but towards the end of our stay they were busy and took a long time to come.

Food was very good, Jammers by far the best. (Don't order Lasagna from Papa Don's). We were with a wedding party so we spent a lot of time at the bars...The staff working at the bars were SLOW and not friendly, waitresses were nice but not efficient. I once asked for bread 6 times, and on many occassions food ordered were not brought.

Partiers, def sign up for all inclusive, drinks and food cost a lot if paying cash and water sports are included if you participate. Make sure you check your bill when you are checking out... they made a lot of mistakes. Also, even with all inclusive, room service automatically costs $15 to deliver (they don't tell you that).

Bugs are bad at night. I bought an organic deet free kid safe sunscreen and that seemed to work best.

Good gym and fun water aerobics daily.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eac2479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
17.0 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £130 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Destinology, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing