We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aanola Villas(Castries)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Poinsettia Villa Apartments(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartment Espoir(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Vega(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Porsuette Inn(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,842)
Filter reviews
2,842 results
Traveller rating
1,727
746
221
101
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,727
746
221
101
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspapa donsupper deckplunge poolkids cluball inclusive planhibiscus suiterodney bayjammers bartime sharebanana boatdragonfly restaurantdragon flywater sportsall inclusive optionshuttle servicesea urchinsst lucia
Filter
Updating list...
2,566 - 2,571 of 2,842 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2006

just got back from the Windjammer Landing resort. It is a beautiful resort. You do get a great workout from climbing up to your villa each day. My boyfriend and I did not mind it since we like to work out, but for some of the villa locations you definately need a shuttle to and from.

Our workouts each morning were to climb to the top, beautiful views. We stayed probably in the cheapest room with no pool and it was beautiful. 2 balconies, big size room, walkin closet etc. It does have regular USA outlets in case anyone was wondering which was great.

The beach is nice and the people are pretty much friendly some didnt really try that hard and there seemed to be 2 reservation desks we didnt know what either one did? We did not do all inclusive and instead bought food at a local grocery store in Rodney bay $10 cab ride cheap groceries and stocked them in our frigerator in the room. Saved us a ton of money and only ate out at night at the resort restaurant mainly jammers on the beach pretty good food and or went into town. The GROS ISLET jump up on Friday night was fun great local food.

I highly recommend DAL's (tuna and pees in a crossiant type thing) The chicken roti's were okay they have potatos in them or you can get veggie. It is so hard to get around the island, we wanted to rent a car, but there are no street signs, its on the right hand side of the road, crazy drivers, very bumpy. So we did however get a great deal by Aldrin (taxi guy) for $70 each we took a tour of the whole island about a 7 hour trip. Started at Pigeon bay up north down to the Piton volcanos at the southern end.

We ended up at Ladera Resort restaurant overlooking the volcanos so beautiful go and take pictures. My favorite place was Marigot bay, gorgeous place. If I ever come back I would stay here. We had a great time! Hope you enjoy your stay as well.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jillerkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

We just returned from a week long stay at the Windjammer Landing in St. Lucia. This was the first trip to the Caribbean for myself and my boyfriend. The Windjammer was an overall good place to stay, and for our first trip to the Caribbean all of our needs were met and the staff was very helpful. The setting was beautiful and the resort was very clean. We would probably not return to the Windjammer because of a few issues and the fact that it is very much geared towards families with children, plus we want to try other places in the Caribbean.

One of the unique aspects of the Windjammer are the individual villas. You really feel like you have privacy, with your own entrance. Our room had a large terrace and nice amenities, but could have used more outdoor lighting as we almost tripped up and down the stairs a few times in the beginning of our stay. Our villa was luckily located close to the beach and restaurants, so we could walk down and not have to rely on the shuttles. We loved our villa the first 3 nights we were there, until a large family moved in to the villa next door. There was no insulation between the two, so you can virtually hear all conversations. Our little paradise was dampened due to the noise factors. We inquired about switching villas but there were none available. Also, because our villa was closer to the resort, the music playing at the bar at night was rather loud.

The restaurants were all pretty good, though if you are staying more than a week you are quickly going to get bored. Some were better and more formal than others. The nice part was each restaurant has a very different ambience and menu so you feel like there is a wide variety. However, the quality was better at some of the restaurants than others. The Jammers restaurant and Dragonfly were the better ones. The breakfast was probably the best and most reliable meal of the day. If you get the all inclusive it makes it worth while to try all the restaurants.

The beach itself at the Windjammer was average. There was absolutely no visibility to snorkel at the beach, not even at the place they take you for daily snorkel trips. To really snorkel we took day trips booked through the hotel to Anse Chastenet and Anse Cochon, where you could see lots of fish. The water near the Windjammer is not very clear and the sand itself is not very smooth. The beach gets quite crowded with families so we tried to go further down the beach where it was a little more private and quiet. The waiters at the Embers club were very nice and attentive. Loud music of various types (not always good) played throughout the day, which was sometimes annoying when we just wanted to relax. The best part about the beach were the breathtaking views. There was also a good variety of watersports, and we witnessed three weddings in one week.

The tours desk was very helpful in booking the tours. This was essential to us feeling like we got the full St. Lucia experience. The staff was very nice and eager to accomodate, though at times it seemed that they were very busy and service could be slow.

Overall the Windjammer is a very nice resort full of lots of activities for all ages. It is very much geared to families and children, and would be a great place to have a family reunion. The staff was very nice and it was professionally run. I recommend the Windjammer resort, but if you are looking for some real peace and quiet, then maybe this is not the place to stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chewy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

The Windjammer Landing resort is a nice retreat, set into the hills surrounding a cove north of Castries. The quality of construction and setting of the resort is top-notch, and the views out over the water and on to Castries across the bay are pretty both day and night.

It also serves as a nice jumping off point for activities on the north side of the island. We had easy access to golf at St. Lucia Golf & Country Club (a respectable layout, if a little unforgiving...don't take your good balls, and be ready to buy a bag of Pro V1s from the groundskeepers who make their secondary income from scavanging for the spheres) and the restaurants and activities of Rodney Bay are just a short drive. (You MUST eat at The Edge in Rodney Bay...the food is superb on every level.) Pigeon Island is just a skip away as well, and a nice spot for a few hours of history and scenic beauty.

The food quality in the four restaurants is quite good, although for dinner our favorite was Papa Don's italian, and for lunch you can't go wrong with the Beachburger from Embers. The wait staff is somewhat hit-or-miss in their level of efficiency and attentiveness, but if you're persistent you can always get what you need.

This is true of the management staff as well. We booked through Expedia, and the listing on that site had wrong information as to which rooms came equipped with a king bed. Because of this confusion, the resort upgraded our room to a villa with a king bed at no extra charge (although it took some cajoling...again, be persistent and pleasant and you can usually get what you want).

Major drawbacks: take heed from all the other reviews about the hillside room locations. This resort is tucked up into a very steep hill, and you'll spend a lot of time on shuttles getting carted back and forth to your room. We were in one of the lowest villas so we could walk it in about 5 minutes, but we definitely got our exercise!

Also, the water is quite warm and there are free watersports at the beach, but this particular cove doesn't have the crystalline blue water you expect from the Caribbean. Other spots on the island do, but for some reason not here.

If you want to see more parts of the island, being in the north side will require some patience. We rented a 4WD car for the week and that made us mobile, but the driving is on the left and the roads are marginal at best, so caution is required. And driving up and down the windy-twisty-pot holed roads is a challange; from Castries to Souffriere is only 28 miles, but they are hard earned and it takes an hour and a half.

Recommendation: Windjammer Landing is as good a place as any if you want to relax on a beach all day, not go very far for food and drink and want a casual ambience. If you want more adventure or to see other things on the island, we would recommend spending half your trip up in the north part, and then another half at one of the resorts by Souffriere where the scenery is even more spectacular, the water is clear for diving, and there is a different sense of adventure.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Jeff_S_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

We stayed at Windjammer Landing for 11 nights in October 2006. This was our second stay at Windjammer, the first being in 2003 and it was just as great the second time around....
We came both times through an RCI connection and both times were treated wonderfully by everyone and were accomodated whenever possible with all of our requests....I cannot say it enough that the staff at windjammer from the top to the bottom convey verbally AND demonstrate through their actions a strong desire and genuine concern for their guests' satisfaction. Everyone went out of their way to accomodate...
We were reserved into a two bedroom two bath villa with a plunge pool. It was a lovely villa with three levels and the master bedroom upstairs and the second bedroom downstairs from the main level, but neither of the two bathrooms were on the main level. Because of and injury just before our trip, my wife had difficulty and pain climbing the stairs to use either of the bathrooms, so we requested a villa change....Heather and Beverly in the reservations department were so great and so helpful and took us around to see several available villas and actually ended up upgrading us to a beautiful villa with the bathrooms all on the same level.....We were SO VERY APPRECIATIVE!!.....Thanks also to Helen our ambassador, Dawn and Clary at the front desk, Ronny and Madaline in management and a BIG thank you to LAWRENCE our shuttle driver who went above and beyond and showed us such great kindness throughout our stay.
I cannot say enough about the incredible beauty of the resort and the island of St. Lucia in general....We have travelled to many beautiful places in the caribbean and the pacific, tropical islands and resorts, and Windjammer is the most beautiful.....What makes Windjammer unique among timeshare resorts is the fact that you have all the services of a fine hotel....Come on....here you have TWICE daily maid service including turn down service.....Show me that at a time share resort....you're lucky to get more than once a week maid service at most time share resorts!....Room service was wonderful and if you are on the all inclusive plan (optional for most guests....but I would highly recommend it as the a la carte charges are quite high) the room service charge was only about $7 US to deliver and set up your meal in your villa at your dining room table or on your deck at the table there....WOW!!!!....Needless to say with the INCREDIBLE VIEWS from our villa, the beauty all around and the low service charge for room service (the food for room service is included on the 'all inclusive plan') we had many meals right in our villa.....But we did eat at all of the restaurants for dinner at least two or three times each (Jammers, Upper Deck, Dragonfly and Papa Don's) and lunch at Jammers and Embers at least two times each....Breakfast buffet every morning (you could order off the menu or have breakfast room service) at Dragonfly was terrific!! The restaurants were all very good and the quality of the food was very good.....the beef was better than I've had at other all inclusive resorts and definitly better than in Mexico or Jamaica...No complaints at all about the food...

Didn't use the water sports this time but enjoyed them with our first visit in 2003.

Didn't use the pools as we had our own at the villa but they looked to be well kept up and very clean....Fewer kids at the pool by Popa Don's.....Only saw one wedding going on while we were there but no disruptions to us.....Time share people were pleasant and not high pressure.....

The Beach was very nice and very well kept up by the staff....Water was crystal clear....Not much surf and VERY CALM....Almost like a pool....but great for and safe for kids....Great bar/food service on the beach.

We did not find it much of a problem with insects/mosquitos etc....never used sprays or other measures and didn't feel we needed it....May just be the time of year....I like the open air concept but would have preferred screened in main areas for bird control when you're eating....Not hard to deal with though, once you get used to it.....AC in bedrooms worked well and was a must.....

It was just such a terrific and relaxing vacation with everything I was looking for: Privacy, Beauty, Peace and Quiet when I wanted it, Great Food, Good Value and MOST OF ALL WONDERFUL STAFF WHO TRULY CARED ABOUT THEIR GUESTS......"HAT'S OFF" to Windjammer Landing!!!!.....We have already booked our next return visit and can't wait to come back.

I could go on and on but hope this has been helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank AGKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

I believe the greatest bit of St Lucia is the people. The most friendly we have encountered across all the Caribeban islands we have visited.

The Hotel is OK but I found the distance from our room to the beach a bit of a chore. OK walking down but you really do need the shuttle going back up.

Food was average, with Papa Dons [Italian] scoring the lowest marks. Not Italian food as we know it in the UK; or indeed in Italy.

The Dragonfly restaurant was too complicated with competing flavours. The best was either Jammers or the Upper Deck where the palate is not confined by fancy mixtures of sauces and herbs that do not go together.
Service was great; I have to mention Ben, Benson, Sandy and Simeon who made the Upper Deck / beach entertainment great fun. Plus Dawn at Reception who moved us because we were troubled by cockroaches. This appears a problem for others giving trip advisor feedback.

Also the beach sports both non motorised and motorised were good with a range of fun packages.
A great hotel that could be better especially some of the rooms that do need a makeover.

Our holiday was also spoilt by the building works currently taking place which we were not informed of.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank mrmikeprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews