We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Vacation, Exceeded our excpectations by far, very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Floral Park, New York
1 review
“Superior Vacation, Exceeded our excpectations by far, very pleased”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We just came back from our short (3 nights, 4 days) but extremely relaxing getaway to St. Lucia.
The hotel was great, the views from the villa were breathtaking, we took many pictures from our terrace and a window. All look like a Carribean vacation ad poster. Overall the hotel is very clean, with peffectly maintained landscape and a beach. The food was just simply the best and fresh. The restraunt service was immaculate. This hotel has the freindliest and niciest staff that I have ever seen in hotels. From the security guard to a concierge desk, everyine just genuienly nice. It makes a stay even more pleasurable.
The suite was spacios, clean and very well decorated, giving off an authentic Midatereanian feel. Special thanks to staff at tours and trips desk (Suleka), very good service and excellent attitude, also the Serenity Spa staff - Diane and Pam, very very good and super freindly.
This hotel is on a quiet side, more relaxing and private, great for a romantic getaway, or spending time with family. No loud noises and partying. If you looking for a large resort experience and 24hour room service, this is not place for you. This hotel has very exclusive private feel, and the staff make you feel very comfortable.They have great sunset cruise which we reccomend. Also, special thanks to horseback riding guy, "Lizard". He made the experience safe and fun, Judy - the snuba instructor was great , and Marjorie Lambert of Cas en Bas Beach Bar who were great! Defenetely will go back to Windjammers!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments! I will pass along your kind words to our Chef as well as our food and beverage team and will also let our management team know about your positive words about Suleka, Diane, and Pam.

Warm regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    710
    206
    96
    44
See reviews for
890
1,068
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My wife and I stayed in a 1 bdr. villa at the Windjammer for 7days . We were extremely pleased with our vacation on many counts. The service provided by all the resort staff was efficient and friendly. (Kudos to Nick at the front desk who always seemed to have an eye out for us and dealt smoothly with all requests).We arrived late in the evening and even though the kitchen was closed they still provided us with a meal. The weather cooperated and allowed us to take advantage of the facilities at the beautiful sandy beachfront. The attempt to recreate a mediterranean look of the resort and the geography of the bay itself made for stunning views from our villa. Some people may have issues with the slope. We managed always to walk down but most often took the shuttle to our unit and rarely had to wait more than 5 minutes for it. We were pleased with our villa and in particular the private sun deck. We did not use an all inclusive plan. We ate 2 meals off the property and would certainly recommend the Coal Pot to others.( The $25 cab fare could be offset by sharing with others from the resort.) . After a grocery shop to cover breakfasts and in house drinks our only other expenses were our tours and remaining meals at the resort restaurants that were combined ,very capable of satisfying our taste buds.Where to eat was a difficult decision each night . Papa Don's and the Upper Deck were our favourites. A slight concern might be the mosquitos. I seem to attract them. It was only a problem at night and once we got into the habit of spraying our room before going to dinner ( the resort gave us the spray immediatey on request) it was no longer a problem. A small travel spray might help for bare ankles at dinner in town and on the resort if you were sitting outdoors at night. This would not in any way stop us from returning to Windjammer as the positives certainly outweighed this concern. On our final day we were allowed to keep our room until a 6:pm airport transfer. We felt like we got an extra days holiday. Thankyou Windjammer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niagaranomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide such a positive and detailed review. I'll certainly pass along your comments to Nick and his manager. We look forward to seeing you back soon and I'll have the bug spray for you!

Warm regards,
Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Owned by an engineering company, Windjammer Landing's development was stunning in the '90s and early 2000s. Now that the property is 20 years old, the infrastructure is literally falling apart. The lack of basic maintenance and updating sees the buildings looking very tired, roofs leak, the resort laundry can't keep up with linen needs, the once beautifully kept grounds are becoming wild and weedy, the beach receives little attention (half hazard) so year over year it continues to look worse. The food is safe but boring (little change) for persons who return to the property frequently.
The staff are the #1 asset of WJL, they are friendly and do their best to provide guest services albeit that many guest needs can not be attended to due to the lack of capacity (housekeeping, maintenance, groundskeeping etc.).
Hopefully the property finds it's way to hiring either hospitality expertise or allow the property to be professionally outsourced to a hotel management firm so the the deteriorating of the buildings, infrastructure, accommodation and services can be turned about.
As people who have used WJL since 1989 (year it was built) we are disappointed that it has slipped badly through years of inappropriate leadership.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
First, thank you for the nice comments about our staff. As you noted, we are lucky to have a wonderful team of employees and we all agree they are our #1 asset. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We have a number of initiatives underway and I generally think we are on the right track. For instance, we revised all of our menus in December and January and are getting very positive comments. In fact, our meal counts are up significantly and we now find reservations are necessary most nights. Also, we will be renovating additional units this summer as we did last year and plan to address many of the issues you mentioned. I hope you will experience many of these additional improvements when you return. I have enclosed my e-mail address; as always, I am happy to discuss any specific issue with you.

Regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Just returned to UK after very relaxing 10 day stay. St Lucia was fantatsic and this property lived up to expectations. Taxi arranged by hotel from UVF for US$85. Was surprised after some reviews that the road up to Castries was very good with great scenery en-route. Repairs from the Hurricane damage are almost complete and the trip took 1hr 15 mins. Quick check-in with rum punch and taken to Anthurium Lily Suites in Antigua Block - great location just at the top of "cardiac" hill so no need to use the shuttles. The room was fine with good facilities and a nice sundeck with lovely sea view. It could however have done with a bit more storage especially in the bathroom. The free internet connection was a bonus.
The all-inclusive package was excellent as you could eat in any of the 5 restaurants and drink in the bars without restriction. As you signed for everything (always quick and easy) there was no distinction between guests. Food in all outlets was always first rate and service brilliant. There was little reliance on buffet food with good varied menus. Also there was a choice of wines by the glass which were good quality.
The beach was first class - always raked every day. There were plenty of sunloungers with unlimited beach towels. Great service from Nona at the beach bar though lounger service including cold towels was available.
The thing that set this resort apart from the others that we have visited was the genuine friendliness of all the staff and desire for us to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoosetrolleydolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. I will thank Nona for providing you with great service and I am happy our team took such good care of you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sperryville, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My wife and I just returned from a trip with friends to the Windjammer in St Lucia. We've been there before and it just keeps getting better. They have almost no turnover with staff, and I hope it stays that way because they are really great. The villa we stayed in hangs off the side of a large hill and overlooks the Carribean and the town of Castries. It was terrific. The on-site restraunts are also very good. We'll go back again and will look forward to it. This is a place that all ages seem to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are indeed fortunate to have such wonderful people on our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 15th year (unless of course you want to come back again this year!)

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We LOVE Windjammer as much in our 14th year here as when we we drove around to many properties on the island before finding this special oasis. We love the beauty of the setting, the comfort and privacy of the villas, the honest food, and even the hills—we walk up as much as possible to compensate for the effects of the delicious tropical drink specials at the beach bar. We especially love the warmth and caring of the staff. When we were leaving, for example, the security guard we passed said “thank you for coming, and may you have a safe trip home.” Our outstanding housekeeper, quietly (and proudly) asked, “Did I do a good job?” And I could go on with many examples of what is the greatest asset of the resort: the genuine niceness of the staff who have been here for many years. This cannot be taught, or trained. Visitors like us are initially attracted by the beautiful buildings and landscaping, and come back because of the people.

Windjammer is quiet and laid-back, so don't come if you or your teenagers are looking for night life. Villas sit on a hillside amidst beautiful landscaping, and generally involve steps and riding a shuttle van to the room. Spacious quarters and beautiful views of the sea and the sunset from the terrace more than compensate for the distance from the beach. If you don't want to use the kitchen in your villa, four different restaurants offer a variety of excellent food on site--a good thing, as taxis to go a distance elsewhere are expensive. Instead, we rent a car for a day to do local adventures, such as climbing the Piton at the other end of the island, buying fresh vegetables at the market in Castries, or eating at a simple beach restaurant in the park on Pigeon Island. I wish it wasn't a drive of over an hour to the big airport, but that's true of all the resorts on the northern side of the island, where the best beaches are.

In short, after trying a number of different resorts on different Caribbean islands, we happily return to Windjammer every year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thank you for the very nice review. The details are very helpful! I agree - our staff is our biggest asset and I know they will appreciate your compliments. We look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Hurstwood
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We had a six night, all inclusive, stay at the Windjammer. Having been to the island a number of times before we opted for a different location, the Windjammer was a pleasant option with exceptional accommodation (two bed villa). All the staff were excellent & really went out of the way to make our stay very comfortable. In terms of negatives, visitors should be aware that the complex is located on a VERY steep hillside & whilst this both offers exceptional views over the Caribbean and seclusion you need to call for the very efficient shuttles for collection to the main lobby area (you can walk but unless you are really keen, particularly in the heat of the day it is to be avoided). In terms of the food we were on an ALL INCLUSIVE package which I would highly recommend as the restaurant prices are high. Food quality, overall, is good but could be improved upon.
If you decide to opt for the non inclusive food option most villas have adequate kitchen facilities. All in all I would highly recommend the Windjammer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicksand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Thank you for your review! It is true we are situated on a hillside which results in amazing views from many of our units as well as good exercise if one wants! We recently revised the menus in all of our restaurants and are getting terrific reviews from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can try them for yourselves. Let me know when you are returning!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
15.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
22.1 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,123 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
910 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, West Indies, Destinology, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing