We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We read the reviews and were not disappointed--quite the opposite in fact. I am amazed by people who moan about the airport close by--- a few turbo props each day but nothing which is going to detract from anything whatsoever. As for people complaining about the cemetary adjacent to the hotel --- pleeeease--you can't even see it and it is certainly not noisy!
The staff were wonderful and if there were any things which needed attending to, they were addressed immediately---this is the sign of a well run hotel. Yhasmine Remy clearly runs a very tight operation.
It was wonderful to be in a couples only resort where the whole staff ethos was to make you feel welcome and ensure you enjoyed yourself whether you wanted to take part in some of the many activities or not.
As for complaints about the quality of the buffet food---I simply do not get it. The qulaity was good and very varied and certainly beats other buffets we have used world wide. We travel on buiness world wide staying in 5 star level establishments and the facilities at Rendezvous and cuisine whether in the buffet or at Trysting Place are well up there. I guess some people have to moan about something for the sake of it!
OK the Piano Bar was not finished---the other one was wrecked by the hurricane but that was no problem as the regular is nice, uncrowded and as good as you would find anywhere.
We can't wait to book up again for next year and cannot recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ianinwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    498
    126
    49
    38
See reviews for
31
2,076
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Expectaions were set high after reading all the good reviews!!!! Unfortunatly there are quite a few things that let this hotel down! Overall the stay was good but for the money paid i was expecting slightly better then good!

i will start with the bad.....
The hotel is undergoing renovation on the piano bar, thus this being shut leaving only one real bar to drink at during night time, which caused a lot of noisy distractions on some days which was not what we wanted during our time in "paradise"!!!!
Also regarding the airport, i know a lot of people say this doesnt bother them but we found a lot of large planes using the strip, one woke us every morning at 7am!!!! The small planes were fine but we found the majorty to be big noisy planes maybe 10 flights a day 7 being bigger noisy jets!!!(sorry im not a plane buff just know they were big and noisy)

Also the food at the buffet resturant is just not up to scratch! i am by no means a fussy eater, but on several occasions i found myself just eating the chciken they had there as couldnt really find anything else,the desserts seemd ok and on a plus side Sunday is roast day and the beef wellington is very good!!! breakfast the same to be honest the egg lady was good cooking any eggs you want but everything else seemed very below par! The coffee at breakfast was also horrible!also the only chocie is dining outside at the terrace and there were quite a few annoying flies/birds during meals, the birds were ok but the flies were very annoying!!! The only saving grace was the waiting staff with with most being very friendly and happy and chatty! but this is the case everywhere in Saint Lucia so does not make up for the bad buffet food!
The reception staff were also moody(expected i guess) and it took us 2 days and about 5 phone calls to get our I pod docking staion fixed! We stayed in a beach front room which had a lovely view but dont expect any privacy on the balcony as you are within whisper distance of your neighbours!Also the room seemed very small!!!
Now it would not be fair to just point out the bad without listing the good,
The drinks service round the pools was very good, on the days that mini me was working and we always had a drink and a friendly conversation every hour!!! we spent most of our days on the lazy river and he was allways coming there to bring us drinks! when he wasnt working tho we maybe got 1 drink every 4 hours!
the lazy river is amazing and beautiful with lots of private secluded sun beds along the river (not a acutal river)
The Trystin place was very very good! its a shame the menu only changed every 4 days as we went there maybe 10 nights out of 14!!!!! the food is cooked to a very high standard and verges on fine dining!!!
The drinks and House wine were brilliant!!! There are plenty of named spirits and amazing cocktails to choose from!!!
And the watersports provided by the hotel were great and fun! and mostly free, you pay extra for some scuba dives etc.
Also the weddings here looked amazing and very well organised!!!

All in all we had a good trip, if they could sort out the terrace resturant and have the paino bar reopened would have been a better stay, and i know that people say the staff make this resort great but we found all the people in Siant Lucia friendly we went to the Almond morgan bay for a day and they all seem to have this friendly happy chastty vibe so in the future i would stay somewhere else as i think you could get the same friendliness better food and chaeaper accomAdation!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedaddy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This was our 3rd vist to the Rendezvous but was spoilded this time by jet cleaning all the roofs, the noise was constant round the pool area and allso the Piano Bar was being refurbished .
The staff were as good as ever as they have been before,we will return hopfully next year
as it is a great hotel,just a shame we were not advised when booking.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Our first visit to St Lucia and to the Rendezvous Resort. Our welcome after flight delays was lovely, and our Seaside Suite 217 was delightful. The buffet food in the Terrace Restaurant was pretty good, with caring Staff, but the Trysting Place was excellent a la carte and all inclusive. Entertainment and Beach and Water Sports and Bars very well managed and great fun. The beach was great but the sea was disappointingly cloudy - maybe just the extent of rainfall and the rivers that discharge locally. Wish the Locals could be persuaded to carry bags for dog mess. Five rainy days out of fourteen but nobody's fault!
Good range of age groups and we enjoyed socialising with other Couples. Castries wasn't worth visiting, but the chance to spend a day and evening free of charge at Le Sport was great - lovely clear sea and thousands of fish to see only 30 yds from beach - the Tao food was just excellent - definately worth $50 return taxi for two. All in all a great relaxing holiday - big thank you to all of the Staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMGEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Like most people we read the reviews before going to this hotel. With the result being a few negaive and mostly positive we chose the Rendezvous. As all positive comments have been made. There is little to add but we can't praise it enough. Lovely food, beautiful accommodation, beautiful location. But its biggest asset, its staff, is the jewel in its crown! We've been to many locations all over the world over the past 30 years or so. We've stayed in many 'classy' hotels, some which are pristine and have no atmosphere, some which have service that borders on embarrassment because they won't allow you to do anything but when they think your back is turned you see they're resentment. We're glad to say that the staff can't do enough for you but also have a healthy approach to their job. They'll talk to you if you want them to or they'll discreetly serve you with mimimum interuption if you want to be left alone. The result is a very friendly place indeed with a good ambience. The young staff have a vibrance which is infectious. The mature staff proved service with dignity...........result, all staff are professional and courteous. It's hard to believe some of the things people have complained about in the reviews. This hotel is as close to perfect as you'll get for the money and if we were to return to St Lucia we wouldn't even bother looking up other hotels we'd just go straight to the Rendezvous. Graveyard beside the beach? A bit odd but in no way interferes with your stay. Airport noise? Did have concerns before we arrived but our fears were quickly aleviated. Finally, locals on the beach? How arrogant! It's their beach they have every right to be there. Just for the record though, they don't trouble anyone at all. I wasn't approached to buy anything until my husband was with me (he was ill the first day and I went to the beach alone) which I greatly appreciated.

If you want a little 'heaven on earth' the Rendezvous is for you. It's as close to perfect as you can get!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Having read all reviews prior to our trip I know how important they can be for your forthcoming visit to the Rendezvous.

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said. My husband is one of the most cynical persons you could meet and even he said the resort was fantastic and gave it 10 out of 10 which says it all.

We were there from 1 - 15 May. Only had one day that rained all day and the staff laid on fun games where you win a Rendezvous T-Shirt (1st prize) and Bottle of Rum (2nd Prize). We both won these prizes.

We stayed in a Seaside Suite and was very happy with our choice. We had a bath with shower in spacious bathroom. The bedroom was also spacious with a mosquito net completely surrounding the 4 poster bed which was a novelty in itself. There was also a seating area with sofa. Outside we had a small terrace with 2 reclining chairs which overlooked the pool and sea.

The hotel is surrounded by awesome trees, foliage and tropical plants, and the lazy river is so pretty. You can wade through the shallow parts then there are some waist height plunge pools to cool down in.

The food was fantastic for an All Inclusive and the buffet style restaurant on the Terrace changed every day for the week then repeats. The Trystings Restaurant (fine dining) is open 6 days a week and their 3 course menu changes on Monday and Thursday with a choice of around 5 on each course. We went 5 times and always knew we were in for a real treat. The restaurant was air conditioned and offered a little respite from the extremely warm temperature outside and to be served by the excellent restaurant staff. On their closed day Sunday this is used as a Casino which was made great fun by Ivan.

We couldn't get over how friendly all the staff were and a special mention to MiniMe (Imran) who kept us well watered throughout the day with beer and cocktails as we laid by the pool and to Sean in the Terrace Bar with his recommendations to try something a bit different with the huge choice of top brand alcohol.

The beach was exactly as you would expect a Caribbean Beach to look like with warm seas and swaying palm trees. I got some great sunset pictures from the pagoda above the pool bar. Sunday was the day you saw quite a few locals and horses on the beach but this was not a problem.

The small airport next to the hotel which people comment on was not a problem as the planes land from the opposite direction and take off over the hotel with a bit of noise for 30 seconds. We actually liked watching them flying over and eventually didn't even notice.

There is so much going on in this place you will find it hard to do everything and relax at same time. We chose to relax, although I did make an effort to do aqua aerobics a few mornings with Pauline who was excellent. She also took you on walks to the lighthouse and into Castries to visit the markets. They also take you to Castries on a bike if you are not nervous of the busy traffic.

The staff are multi-talented and put on great cabaret shows and on Beach Night there is a BBQ on beach with fire eating, limbo dancing and dancing on stilts, which was hilarious.

We also made some new friends, two of which got married there and we were invited to watch their wedding on the beach.

To those of you who are going to the Rendezvous you will not be disappointed. One of the best things about it was no children. You can be yourself and totally relax in a fantastic place. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gail_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

The good: Mostly everything. We stayed in a luxury beach front room and it was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We liked the room a lot. There was a little terrace with a cushioned couch and hammock, which was very nice. There were many specialty drinks to choose from (although you can order anything). We liked the Baywatch. Give it a try, it's tropical and refreshing! The staff was friendly and the service was very good. Shout out to MiniMe who was especially friendly. The Caribbean Sea is beautiful and much better than the Atlantic side. There are many activities throughout the day. You can also choose to not participate and just relax. If you decide to be more active, we had a great time on the hobie cat.
The bad: Not the resort's fault, but all the beaches in St Lucia are public and the locals trying to sell you goods was a bit annoying. To their credit, they were respectful if you told them no. It was just a bit awkward to have to keep declining merchants while trying to get some sun on the beach. The resort did try pretty hard to keep the locals from bothering the guests too much. Castries is the capital city and you do hear city noise once in a while. We heard a siren during our stay. Not a huge deal, but it reminds you that you are located close to the city.
Tips: The island is gorgeous and you should try to get out an explore it if you can. The pitons are worth checking out. If you fly in/out of the big, international airport in Vieux Fort, we recommend taking the scenic helicopter transfer. It was MUCH quicker and a great way to see the beautiful island of St Lucia. Very cool.
Overall: We had a fantastic time and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TropicalParadise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
BodyHoliday Saint Lucia
BodyHoliday Saint Lucia
#1 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, West Indies and Travelbag so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing