We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Relaxed and luxurious with outstanding staff"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Relaxed and luxurious with outstanding staff"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent 10 incredibly relaxing days at the hotel for our honeymoon. Total bliss! The hotel is in a beaufiful spot, hidden away on the edge of Castries. Facilities are incredible & had more than we expected. The staff are outstanding and bend over backwards to accommodate your every need. We never had a 'no' to anything - not that we had to ask for much because they think of everything before you even realise you might want or need it! The hotel & staff really do focus on ensuring you have a relaxing and luxurious holiday. For our honeymoon they put a lovely bottle of champagne in our room, scattered petals on the bed and gave us a brilliant couples massage in the spa (1 hour of complete luxury & relaxation). It was so good and the Spa facilities & staff were so fantastic that I booked to go back for other treatments!
The food is very good and they cater for everyone tastes. In fact, we even heard the chef come out and talk to a guest who was pregnant so he could accommodate her cravings!!
We were originally going to stay in a Verandah Suite but having read reviews, decided to upgrade to Luxury Beach Front Room. The best decision we made and would highly recommend. The Beach Front suites, cottages and rooms are on the other side of the hotel to the garden, verandah and seaside rooms so you really feel like you are in a more secluded & quieter bit of the resort. You have hotel sun loungers on the beach within only a few lazy steps - bliss. In fact, they have dedicated staff who give you a flag to stick in the sand anytime you want a drink! The other side of the resort also has a bit of beach with sun loungers as well as the swimming pools so plenty of options if you want to be a bit more involved & central to everything going on e.g. volleyball on the beach etc. All watersports are also included & the staff couldn't have been more helpful and willing for you to try anything & everything (sailing, water skiing, wind surfing, ringo, wakeboarding, kayaking, scuba diving etc). Lessons also included.

The only criticism we have is the evening entertainment. Most evenings it was fantastic, very relaxing and fitting to the romantic nature of the hotel e.g. piano player, saxophonist. However, some evenings we felt it turned into a bit like Butlins and was very intrusive which is not what we expected from a 5 star, romantic hotel. The entertainment is held right next to the Terrace restaurant and a couple of evenings everyone was still sitting having a relaxed meal but then the entertainment co-ordinators jump on the microphone at 8.45pm and loud music is blaring out of the speakers which ruined the end of the meal & there is no way of escaping it. The only option if you don't want to be involved is either the Champagne Bar (inside, very quiet and can lack atmosphere) or going back to your room. It therefore feels like the hotel is a bit confused on what it is trying to offer. It says it is focused on being very romantic and quiet which 95% of the time it is but then they arrange intrustive themed nights which completely take over the hotel and with over-enthusiastic co-ordinators who walk around trying to drag you onto stage or get you involved. Cringe! We are sociable people and enjoyed casually chatting to other guests but the reason we avoided the bigger hotels is so we could avoid things like cheesy themed nights. During the day the hotel is fantastic at letting you do whatever you want to - group activities are just posted on a blackboard so you can go along & join if you would like to (e.g. fishing trip, beach volleyball, beach cricket, yoga) or you can just do your own thing, quietly relaxing on the beach or by the pool. So it is just the evenings when it can get a bit much. This does only happen a couple of times a week though so just be prepared to either get involved or have a quiet & early night in your room on those nights!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c_e_clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    498
    126
    49
    38
See reviews for
31
2,076
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

friendly welcoming staff set the tone for this relaxing resort. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Certainly the place to go to unwind and relax. Food and service were excellent. Would recommend for some quiet romantic time away from the hussle and bussle.

Room Tip: ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike-at-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arundel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff of this hotel work incredibly well as a team and their friendliness and sense of humour and love of life, make a stay here so much fun and so relaxing. There are too many names to mention, but I will try and remember as many as I can….Symon, Liz, Francis, Carmen, Nadia, Jackie, Michael, Kendel Harry and Veronica. All the staff quickly remember all the guests' names and could not do enough to make sure that we were all enjoying our holidays. This hotel is sister hotel to the body hotel and has the potential to be 5 Star plus if the owner invests a little in updating it to make the common parts a little more intimate and stylish. I think all it really needs is some clever dressing - perhaps more plants, drapes and some plantation shutters to create a stylish and more secluded atmosphere. The staff however, cannot be faulted and their warmth is what makes the Rendez Vous special. I hope the owner treasures them as much as I know all the guests do. P.S. Please look after Snow the cat - she is gorgeous. Book the helicopter transfer for your arrival and pack a costume and/or outfit for the evening as your main case will follow you by car and can take up to 5 hours to arrive. Definitely worth it to reduce your arrival time and you get stunning views over the island. The car transfer is fine for the return journey. We hired a car for 2 days or a weeks stay and would definitely recommend this. Did the mystic mountain trip with sun link tours and the tram ride through the rainforest canopy both of which we loved. Spend a day or two at The Body hotel - the sister to the Rendez vous.

Room Tip: we stayed in a beach view premium room. this was spacious and Una kept it immaculate for us. She is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The food, surroundings and individual staff excellent. Previously I have given rave reviews but this time I was slightly disappointed, I felt an undertone of discontent amongst the entertainment staff and a bit of friction at times. The other problem was at the swim up bar pool near the beach - we went for a relaxing holiday but found this pool area very noisy, a few of the staff seemed to gather at this bar area and the noise level drastically increased with the banter with a few guests. Also before arriving I had emailed the hotel requesting a lounger on the room balcony instead of two chairs as I have a back problem, on arrival there was no lounger, I mentioned it in reception and they promised to attend to it, but still no result.
The entertainment at the hotel was certainly inferior to previous years and the staff were totally unrehearsed for the carol singing and carnival events. A few years ago the hotel employed a professional choreographer and they put on shows like the Lion King and others - they were brilliant.
Sorry Rendezvous but I do feel a bit let down- you need to get a grip quickly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Fla
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I were recently married at this beautiful resort. Everyone there was very helpful & ensured that our special day turned out PERFECT!!! Special thanks to Sandra Francis the wedding coordinator at Rendezvous Resort & to Mikael Lamber Photography. She did a fantastic job making sure that every small detail was taken care of. MIKAEL LAMBER PHOTOGRAPHY is not affiliated with the resort, but Sandra highly recommended him & we are so grateful she did. He has very affordable prices for picture packages & does a phenomenal job! Loved the resort & all staff members were friendly. We would highly recommend this resort & photographer. :)

Aaron & Misty Jones

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel in November and overall we were satisfied with it, but a little disappointed. I had read some critical reviews before and, I have to say, I thought that they were just written by overly-critical people (there's always a few negative reviews, even for great hotels). But, for only the 2nd time in my life, I find myself leaning more towards criticism than complements with this hotel.

Pros
Accommodation: We stayed in a Garden view room on the top floor, and this was very nice. These rooms have recently been refurbished and, if you are on the top floor, you get a good view of the beach and sea. The room was small but decked out very nicely, including nice Ren bath and shower products.

Entertainment: Only went a couple of times but seemed to be pretty good for a small hotel.

Gym: Again for a hotel this size the gym is very good.

Sister hotel: Bodyholiday is great. We went a couple of times for the day and I would recommend to anyone. Definitely the highlights of our trip. Great facilities, great food, beautiful setting. It's more expensive but definitely worth it.

Cons

Minibar: All rooms had a minibar, but they had nothing in them! We asked for drinks on a few occasions but all we were offered was the opportunity to go and collect drinks in plastic cups from the bar and bring them back. Clearly not going to bother doing that when you can drink them in glasses at the bar. At other 4 and 5 star all inclusives, not only have we had out minibar re-stocked daily with beer and soft drinks but bottles of wine were put in on request. It just seems pointless having it there. I would either fill them (even just with soft drinks!) or take them out.

Food: This was frustratingly hit-and-miss, but mostly miss. When local ingredients, such as fish, were cooked it was very nice. However it seemed like they were trying to re-create British Winter fare in a hot Caribbean resort. Personally, when I go away somewhere like that I want to try the food and eat light dishes appropriate to the weather. Therefore 'Carvery night' on Sunday (when the trysting place is shut....) featuring Yorkshire Puddings and Beef Wellington is not very appealing.
Nor is the trysting place menu containing things such as deep fried Camembert (very nice I'm sure but not local!)
Also, the Trysting Place, set off a beautiful beach so with lots of potential, is decked out like a Grandma's living room in the 1960s! All of the furnishings are so dated and the windows are covered with flowery curtains so you can't even see the beach! It's a shame because the quality of cooking is superb...its just the wrong setting, with the wrong food being cooked!
Breakfast was generally good (the cooked breakfast was very good) with my only criticism being the pastries, which were pretty tired and dry. Which is surprising because the ones at Bodyholiday, the sister hotel, were outstanding.

Staff: Most were fab. Some, mainly reception staff, were a bit unhelpful/unfriendly.

Overall - wouldn't return or recommend I'm afraid, purely because I've paid less for a lot better in other resorts. I would definitely recommend Bodyholiday though.

Room Tip: Garden rooms top floor are great as newly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sussex28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Managers1, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that your overall experience was enjoyable, despite the issues mentioned in your review.

We are happy that you had the opportunity to visit and experience The BodyHoliday. The two resorts and brands although subscribing to the same service ethos are different in terms of concept, offering and pricing.

Rendezvous’ culinary team works really hard to cater to the varied pallets of our varied guests and we do apologise that we were unable to meet your expectations.

We have noted all of your comments, which we welcome. Guest feedback is very valuable to us as we are guided by this to continuously improve standards and the guest experience.

Warm Regards,


Yhasmine Remy-Hylton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have just returned from Christmas/New Year at the Rendezvous, this being our tenth visit in total. We got married at the Rendezvous in June 2000 and have returned for special anniversaries and we now spend every Christmas at the resort. It has become our second home and we are always excited about returning. The staff are brilliant and cannot do enough for you and have almost become family to us, nothing is too much trouble. The food in both the buffet and Trysting place is great and there is always a good variety. General facilities are good but most of all it is a lovely relaxing break at a couples only resort so very peaceful!!!!!!!
It is close to a small airport but the flights are so infrequent that it really is not noticeable.
Plus side is you can get a helicopter from airport to airport which is a 10 minute ride versus 1 1/2 hours by car so can get your holiday underway even quicker.
We have met up with several returning couples and most people we speak to who are on their first visit, agree it will not be their last. The resort is continually being updated.
Thanks to the staff for another memorable holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a good standard so would recommend any from Garden Room upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AS1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
BodyHoliday Saint Lucia
BodyHoliday Saint Lucia
#1 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Ebookers, Destinology and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing