We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as amazing as the first!”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our second visit. Never been to the same place twice before so were worried it wouldn't live up to the first time we went. However we felt at home as soon as the taxi dropped us off what a fabulous welcome!!
We booked a garden room this time as oppose to a beech front room that we had last time. The reason being we spent very little time in the room apart from sleeping and showering. We were upgraded on the last night to a beech front room and no doubt it is a better room but quite honestly for the time spent in it for us it isn't worth paying the extra.
The staff are fantastic each and everyone of them but especially Eric, Trevor and Francis.
The food and drinks are of an excellent standard .
We enjoyed the water sports. My husband particularly enjoyed the water skiing (he learnt last year at Rendezvous).
We never left the resort. Only stayed for 7 days but we found there was plenty to do. Archery ,tennis organised bike ride, walks table tennis , the list is endless .
Can't fault the place. We are looking to go back next March and really can't wait. Well done Rendezvous.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank BessieBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for your very complimentary review and your support of Rendezvous. We know the world is a big place and there are so many other choices you could have made. Therefore, we are so pleased you chose us a second time. We feel very honoured.
Thank you also for your confirmation that we were again able to live up to your expectations which means everything to us. It is our greatest reward knowing that we have met or exceeded the expectations of our guests.
Thank you for your enthusiasm and we are very much looking forward to hosting you agin in the near furture.

Yhasmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

The approach from Castries' town centre gives no hint of the beautiful lush grounds that provide a gorgeous quiet setting for this hotel with a palm lined beach frontage. The accommodation is very comfortable and our room had sublime views over the gardens. The terraces, bar and dining areas are airy, comfortable and mostly open sided with beautiful sea views. The whole place has an air of peace and relaxation. The food was excellent and varied. Without exception the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Save for scuba diving, the water sports were all-inclusive and the sailing instruction great - solo sailing of the hotel's Hobie Cats after one lesson is guaranteed! So is getting up on water skis, but we didn’t try it out! St Lucia is a beautiful island and the Rendezvous is the perfect place for a couple to experience and enjoy it to the maximum. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The cheaper garden view rooms are worth considering as they are conveniently located in the heart of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend. Never seen such friendly stuff, this is really what makes this hotel so different. food great. everything clean. only disadvantage - the " low tier " young americans who spent all their time drinking and shouting. regarding drinks - all fresh, made in front of you.
we both have very high standards for the hotels and this one will always be our reference.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful week long holiday. The hotel was great, I believe recently refurbushed, and everything was top quality. The bed was huge and very comfy, the bathroom was well fitted and had REN products, the gym had modern equipment and was very clean, the showers available for post check out on our last day were amazing. The food was excellent (my husband was very impressed by the fact the vegetables weren't soggy and covered in margarine like in Mexico), the theme nights were well done and we really enjoyed the beach bbq with the steel drum band playing. The a la carte restaurant was impressive although some of the dishes sounded a bit odd, just one or two ingredients too many, seems they are trying too hard.
The service was good and everyone was so pleasant and genuine. Tipping is not required, you're even asked not to as everything is included, so the staff are definitely not laying it on in order to up the gratuity.
All of the public areas were well maintained and very clean and there were enough sun loungers for everybody. The hotel sits pretty much at the end of the runway for a small airport, so you will get noise from planes taking off. One benefit of this though is that we were at the hotel, drink in hand, within one hour of landing as we opted for the helicopter transfer.
Overall, we had a fantastic, very relaxing time. This is not a place to go to if you're looking to party. If you want to go and chill out and soak up some sun, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just returned from our first trip to St.Lucia, and it was wonderful. We picked the RendezVous based on various reviews, and found the resort (and reviews) to be accurate. Before speaking about the resort, I just want to point out that St.Lucia is a really nice, lush destination. Languages spoken are English and Patois (Creole). US dollar accepted; 240 V (bring adapters if you're from North America). They drive on the left.

Resort: It's a little on the older side and style, but well maintained. While I'm a huge fan of modern, boutique-style establishments, this resort was still very nice, with its cozy rooms, two pools, pristine beach and nice amenities. Only complaint: no TVs in the rooms (I know it's to keep things romantic, but romance does not preclude a litle TV watching...). Wifi is spotty at best, very slow, and just doesn't work a lot of the time.

People: when we were there, most residents of the resort were retirees, mostly from the UK. While this makes for a tranquil getaway, it also makes for a strange environment when you're in your 30s. But not the end of the world. The staff is extraordinary. They go out of their way to make you feel special, and most of them know your name by day 2.

Food: the buffet (Terrace restaurant) has a different menu for lunch and dinner every day, and the food is great. Nice selection of salads, daily a la carte sauté station, among other standouts. The fish is always really good; the fruit is always fresh and juicy - try the bananas. The Trysting place restaurant has a nice a la carte menu, but take note: the menu changes on Mondays and Thursdays, so be cautious about booking it for dinner two nights in a row. The bars (lobby and pool) have an adequate variety of drinks and liquors. However, if you're not a huge fan of coconut, your selection of drinks gets pretty limited at the pool bar. Try the Piton beer instead.

Activities: there is a wide variety of activities on the resort, pretty standard stuff, but well organized. There is also a nice spa onsite, where the staff is also great. In terms of excursions, having travelled with Air Canada Vacations (they're great too), we were offered some great options by their local representative, Spice Travel. We took a private land and sea tour: down the West coast by car to Souffrière (the old French Capital) and the botanical gardens; lunch at a hotel with a fabulous view of the Pitons; back up to Castries on a private boat (snorkeling and champagne sunset included). The Spice Travel people and guides were awesome. Take note: check with your hotel to find our when (and how many) cruise ships are in port in Castries; there were 3 on the day we took the excursion, which makes for very, very crowded attractions...

Overall, great relaxing vacation. Will likely return to St.Lucia!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LarisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is our second time at this resort, we went 5 years ago for our 30th wedding anniversary and we have just returned today, as we went for our 35th wedding anniversary.
We went for 10 night both times but wish it was longer.
The management cannot do enough to please you, we yet again had fruit and champagne in our room for our occasion.
The rooms are excellent and the food has a good variety, including theme nights like Bar-B-Que on the beach.
The hotel is directly on the beach and there is plenty to do if you require it.
Or if you just want to chill this is definitely the place to be.
THE STAFF- well what can you say each and every one of them always have a smile, good morning and welcome they all treat you like the queen, nothing is too much trouble.
We was invited by the management to a return to the hotel special dinner, wow what other hotel does that you felt so important. You would be surprised how many people do return.
If you want something special book now.
I wish to thank the management and all staff for yet again a fantastic holiday, see you again !!
Oh and if you can take the helicopter in, it takes 12 mins and is great.

Room Tip: The varandah suits have a very large varandah. The sea front are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Br00kside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 12 nights in March and would really recommend the Rendezvous as an ideal retreat for Rest and Relaxation with a wide range of activities for those so inclined. The setting, beach, accommodation, facilities and especially the high standard of food is impressive. The friendliness, commitment and attitude of the staff is beyond compare. Do not hesitate to holiday here as you will not be disappointed. We will not repeat the details provided by other reviewers but only endorse the overwhelming positive nature of these comments from both new and returning clients.

We would strongly suggest booking the standard garden rooms especially on the top floor as this spacious refurbished accommodation provides for all your needs with splendid sea views. Why pay more?

So given the above why have we not awarded five stars?

Actually It would be 4.5 stars if we could. The reason not 5 is that we found that the evening entertainment was ,for us, disappointing. It was nearly right and we expect for some it would not be an issue. However it was rather hit and miss and always ended about 10.30pm. Given the bar closed at midnight this was too early. The accommodation was well away from the entertainment area so noise would not be an issue for those who are not late retiring. There was a great combo group with good singers but just as the evening was warming up -it finished. A simple suggestion would be for a resident DJ with charisma to have a final hour after the main act finishes and for the Ents team ( who are very good) to encourage dancing especially as some are brilliant movers (You know who you are Clavi!!) When they did it worked. I know others like us did make similar comments to the team who actually shared our frustrations but there seemed to be a fear from the management of potentially upsetting other guests. Given that such had left the terrace area anyway we could not see this as a problem.

However we really enjoyed the Rendezvous and would not hesitate to return and our criticism is quite minor. If you are a couple planning a quality all inclusive holiday to St Lucia - look no further for a first rate holiday experience.

Room Tip: Top flow standard Garden room are refurbished with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank follower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
863 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 12 in Castries
7,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £363 - £758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing