We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad I read Trip Advisor reviews!”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester Hants England
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So glad I read Trip Advisor reviews!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have been to most Caribbean islands now and left the best till last!
I knew this was a little more upmarket than the usual holidays and paid a little more than usual, but boy was it worth it !!!
For a month or two before booking, I read reviews on this resort and could never find anything negative. Ratings were always good, in fact too good to believe, yet this place deserves all the praise it gets in most reviews.
Spent two weeks in May at the Rendezvous and was amazed. The food, rooms, service, cleanliness, and staff never ceased to please.
Beach always clean and serviced as were the lounge suites. Towels available on beach any time of day, very unusual!
The gardeners need a pat on the back too, lovely well kept gardens, beautiful!

We went on a Virgin Ahoy catamaran trip which was great and so much fun. The crew were so friendly and really happy. The waterfall they took us to was not worth getting off the cat for, but it was only an hour of our time on shore so no big deal, at least we had a look around.

The staff at the hotel were so attentive, not just because it was their job, but they were really
happy to make us happy. Some lovely characters around like the cook at the breakfast station who gave us a greeting every morning , dear Veronica. The two bar staff, Giovanna and Jackie were so attentive and gave a brilliant drinks service on the beach and at night in the lounge. Last but not least, Francis, the restaurant hostess who was always smiling and very attentive. These were just a few that went the extra mile, but all the staff were great.
Dawn, the hotel manager was very helpful and attentive too, nothing was too much trouble and she was always there to help with anything.

All rooms, anywhere on site would have been good, and found that even the cheaper garden view rooms were lovely which is what we had.
So folks, all the good reviews you read about Rendezvous are true, a lovely place to return to and I hope we can.
When it came to completing a form given to us asking "what could we do to improve" I was just lost for words and it was left blank!
The only thing I was disappointed in was the fact that there was no "check in chill out" which was advertised when I booked. This of course, is nothing to do with this resort, this is Virgin cutting down on the little luxuries we have been so used to. Because of this I was dreading the trek to the airport with cases to queue with, but the hotel checked us in on line, gave us our boarding passes and when we got to the airport we just took cases to a "drop off" counter, no queuing, no problem.
All in all, brilliant time had by all and a great thankyou to all the staff at the Rendezvous.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,817
    512
    132
    50
    38
See reviews for
34
2,157
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely welcome with a refreshing non-alcoholic cocktail and cold towels, which were more than needed! Having arrived about 1pm we were well looked after by the fantastic staff with food & drink until our room was ready. Your bags are taken care of from arrival and are taken to your room so no lugging around of heavy cases in the 32c heat. We had a 1st floor Veranda Suite which was pleasantly decorated and spacious, however we never used the veranda as it trapped the heat and was too hot & humid to use despite the nice recliners, table & chairs.

The resort is immaculate with beautiful botanical gardens, well looked after pool and bar areas with the Terrace Bar/Restaurant & Trysting Restaurant complimenting the food requirements. The Terrace Bar served until midnight but for those that like a late night in air conditioned comfort there's the Champagne/Piano Bar which is open until the last couple leave (3am was the best we achieved, despite our best efforts to keep Shawn the bartender there until daylight!!). Beware as Shawn will get you back with the 'magic glass' the next night I only had one drink but seemed very worse for wear the next day.

The food is varied and always fresh and tasty, one of the highlights being the beach bbq/party on a Thursday night. Even the buffet style eating in the Terrace restaurant is of good quality but you can always book into the Trysting Restaurant at no extra cost for the more refined dining experience.

The staff are ALL wonderful, incredibly helpful, attentive, fun and informative. They have lots of activities to keep the less lazy pool or beach dwellers occupied. Watersports, Archery, Tennis, Volleyball amongst others throughout the day with daily changes to the itinerary.

Without wanting to ramble on I couldn't really fault the hotel at all, my only one grumble was the lack of wi-fi reception in the rooms, around the bars/restaurant & pool areas it was okay, but could do with improvement in the guest rooms.

Looking at other reviews regarding the age range, the 20 somethings can't complain if they were all in bed by 11pm while the older 30-50 year old guests carry on until the small hours. I suggest they broaden their outlook!

In summary, I would highly recommend this resort for anyone and to join in the activities, getting to know the staff & other guests helps to make your stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sund01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we arrived to a welcome drink and cold towels after a long flight such a great welcome. its about a hour to a hour and half from the airport via private taxi.the hotel itself is amazingly beautiful the grounds are well kept and look like paradise. the room was good but for the price we paid i would of expected a higher grade of room with wifi. the wifi on offer was poor at best and the water pressure on the shower was horrific.but dont let this drag away from the hotel it was great the food was on another level to any other hotel i have stayed at although gents take trousers as the trousers at evening rule is upheld. the activities at the hotel were well organised and all the facilities were great. the one thing i would say is that we are 27 years old on honeymoon and felt too young for the hotel. i know this isnt the hotels issue as they dont restrict the ages etc but i feel it is more suited for older more mature people. all in all a unforgettable honeymoon even with the niggles we will never forget st lucia and rendezvous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are in our 30's and decided to do a change from our usual holiday to Couples Swept Away, Jamaica, and were looking for somewhere quiet, where we could just relax and unwind. Rendevous proved to do just that. Please don't change the atmosphere to cater for "younger couples" as this will spoil that lovely ambiance and if anything it's so nice to find and build on elegance in this kind of intimate, romantic resort.
Yes, showers worked better at certain times, but this is a poor country! Yes the food was not as good as other places we've been to, but the choice was still good and no one ever went hungry! Plus you could reserve at Tristing as many times as you wished. I was also very impressed at the catering for gluten free and health options, and nothing was too much trouble!! Yes the beach was a little choppy while we were there, and is not as lovely as others, but that's nature and as much as we love lying on the beach on holiday, we ended up at the pool which to our surprise was lovely and quiet! Even when it got to beer 'o clock! We are not ones for rowdy pool bars in the late afternoons which often is the case at some resorts! Do understand, we enjoy a drink, and usually manage to suppress the urge until 11am, when I start on the local rum and my husband beer, but we like to ensure that we remain sensible and are able to enjoy the rest of the day and holiday without feeling dreadful!
The lovely staff made us feel so welcome and were so tentative to our every wish, and that for us is what made our holiday so special. Plus the amazing sunsets we had to watch every evening- now that's something money can't buy! And being able to settle so quickly into the resort, relax and spend so much romantic quality time with the person you love!
The gardens were so beautiful and considering the dry spell they are in, it must cost the island, as there were water restrictions in place. Maybe that's why we had water at certain times of the day? Maybe the hotel could inform guests of the "problem" or of the best times to shower, if this is the case? That way if people expect it, then they are less likely to complain! It really did not bother me as it only happened a few times and we forget what an important and precious commodity it is to life! And the island!!
Island trips, well we did not do many this time around as we've been to St Lucia before. Loved the private sunset cruise and did the helicopter transfer back to the airport which was amazing!! Be aware that you may not see dolphins or whales and if you do a lunch at one of the plantations, it is basic food that's provided.
Oh, and no televisions please!! Holiday is for togetherness, getting back in touch with our bodies and minds and back to nature, and those important values that are lost in our western, modern society!!
Thanks to all the lovely staff and friends we met! Veronica, Ashley, Trevor, Bina, Marie, Francis, Makayda, Luscious Jackie, Harry, Kayto, Ian, Eric, Lorencia, Shane, Carmen, Matilda, Pauline, Josie, Albert aka " blue moon" the pianist, Givanie... Gosh and everyone else!!
A big hello and hug from Will & Grace xxxxx

Room Tip: Verandah rooms are bigger and more private than the beach front rooms, the beach front room verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was probably the first upper end hotel we stayed at and we had a great time. The staff are all friendly and really happy to help. We found the activities great as well - as you may note from other reviews the average age was around 45-50 - and as one of the younger couples there there was never a wait for any of them including the watersports. All given with full instruction.

We found the food to be of good quality as well. The daily specials (Cooked at live stations) did outweigh the standard dishes by quite alot though, although this was not really a negative it would have been better if the quality of the pre-prepared food was equally as good. We found the a la carte menus, and the trysting place (Special restaurant you need to book) were a bit lacking and we preferred the buffets. One other negative is the advertised 'Try our sister venue the body holiday, just pay for transport' - we tried to book their hotels special venue the Tao but due to their policy of only allowing rendezvous guests to book 2 days in advance we were unable to get a table until 9, which was around the time we retired to bed each evening.

To clarify on the wifi; there is intermittent and very slow wifi in the rooms - I would say these networks were not usable for us. In the lobby you got a stable 5mb/s connection, so bottom line, wifi is there but you need to go to the main lobby.

Location wise it is within walking distance to Castries and the duty free mall at Rodney bay is a $25 taxi ride each way. Anyone thinking of touring the coast, I'd advise doing one way in a minibus, and the way back up by water. The roads are very windy and it can take 70 mins from Soufriere in the south to the resport, however by water taxi it must only take 15-20 and a much more pleasant trip.

I have rated this five stars as honestly the pros outweight the cons by far. In the interest of feedback though; they could improve by 1/In room Wifi 2/ Quality of the mass prepared dishes and 3/Revision of the smoking area (You can smoke at the bar which is technically outside, on the terrace, though we frequnetly had to abandon our seats due to Smokers - smoking should in my opinion not be allowed in any of the convered areas or gardens)

Overall thank you Rendezvous for the great holiday - we will not be back next year as there are other parts of the world for us to explore but if we do re-visit St Lucia it will certainly be to Rendezvous.

Room Tip: Premium Garden View rooms are fine - try asking for a ground floor if you want an easy time popping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in May....
We got a discounted price via Secret Escapes/Destinology.
Flight Virgin Atlantic using air miles.
Our thoughts -
~ Transfer from the airport by road is a bumpy 1 1/4-1 1/2 hours.
~ Helicopter transfer is US$165 per person, per journey,(+taxi) takes about ten mins across breathless views of the coast and the interior rain forest - if you can, you should do this , especially on the way out, as you arrive relaxed, ahead of everyone else .... Your luggage will arrive 1-2 hours later, so pack a swim suit and a pair of flip flops for your hand luggage for the helicopter. Book this through the hotel, as tour operators will add fees and the hotel will know to make sure your room is ready first. Taxis are waiting to take passengers to hotels ... This is US$10 for the Renezvous(3 min ride) .
~ Arrival meet and greet superb... Cool drink and cold towel... Minimum of hassle, do paperwork later.
~ Great service, friendly, always trying to help. Many of the staff will remember your name, which makes it feel that more personal.
~We stayed in a luxury beach front room at the top floor (3 floors inc ground) - We always had plenty of towels. The room was always kept clean. There is small fridge, so we had fresh milk.
~ In hotel costs and tourist trips are in US$, all major cards accepted.
~ Outside the hotel it's usually East Caribbean Dollars, but locals like US$
~ Taxis , always ask a price as most trips have a government fixed price. Taxis from the hotel are trustworthy , but take some care elsewhere ( on pricing). Taxis from the hotel are usually air conditioned - you will want this - especially if going out to dinner - again, check this if you are elsewhere .
~ Food - Plenty of it and always good .
Very varied , always various vegetarian options , plus other diet needs ( just ask).
Usually buffet style, beach BBQ is good.
On site Tryst restuarant is air conditioned , a more personal service.
~ Beach- White sand.
Raked every day and kept very clean near the hotel.
Attentive drink service to all the sun loungers along the hotel beach ( North side).
Fresh towel station.
Plenty of sun loungers ( although we went slight offseason in May). Comfortable,
Although the loungers around the pool are better.
Numerous wood style permanently fixed umbrellas , but also shade from coconut trees.
Beaches are public, so Saturday and Sunday was more crowded with locals... Just in front of the hotel , next to the breakwater , is a favourite picnic area for the locals, this gets busy and noisier , there is always a security guard here and at weekends it is doubled, although we never saw any problems. Unfortunately there is always rubbish left here -but the hotel clears this up.
Horses - nearby there are stables where the locals keep their horses, they ride these bareback along the beach , including in front of the hotel , at the weekends... we found this fascinating to watch, but some guests found it worrying and it is noticeable that the security guards get a bit nervous... We heard that there had been a fatal accident this year due to a tourist been knocked down - but couldn't get this confirmed.
~Sea - Warm as you would expect ... Not crystal clear near the hotel, as there are sandbanks and breakwaters, which churn the sea/sand up.
~Pools - Main oblong pool, with some 'couples loungers '. Quiet. Drinks service. Towel station.
Lazy river with a few 'couples loungers ' dotted amongst the banana trees. Very quiet.
Drinks service.
Third pool area is more open, close to the beach and has a swim up bar. Next to the beach volley ball , so more lively, but never uncomfortable. Towel station.
All pools were regularly cleaned.
~Lounges Main lounge, open air, sea breeze, drinks service plus large bar, 24hr tea/coffee self
service station. Comfortable seating. Ceiling fans. Beautiful view.
Champagne lounge - open in the evening. Air conditioned . Piano player in evenings.
~Safety - 24hr security guards . Noticeably present during the day on the beach.
I never felt unsafe, but would not walk on the beach away from the hotel in the evenings/night, especially at weekends. In town(s) just take the usual precautions, stay in the crowded areas , if you wander away from the main areas you can quickly end up in 'shanty' areas.
Vendors in towns will constantly approach you. A polite but direct no thank you, with a hand up is sufficient and most are friendly and polite. On the hotel beach, the security guard keeps them away,,,,unless you show interest. If you do buy from them, be careful as a lot of the items have never seen a Caribbean craftworker - better to buy up in the hills, where you can see them making the articles and buy something genuine , where the money goes direct to the villages.
~Must do - A sunset cruise - beautiful.
A boat trip along the West coast - gives a prospective of the island. Maybe link in with the sunset cruise? ... Check on what sort of boat it will be and the numbers on it ... Sometimes they crowd out the large catamarans which is ok for a party , but not for a romantic trip.
Organised tour, or taxi tour, or jeep - however you choose , see the island... The hotel has a booking agent desk for Suntours , there every day. We did a guided jeep tour. The variety of fruits is mind boggling and many grow along the roads . The bays are amazing ( especially Marigot ). The Pitons add to the majesty of the island. Diamond falls is a bit overhyped , but worth seeing ( swim in it if brave enough ) . See one of the cocoa plantations. Marvel at the worlds largest herb. Find out how cashew nuts grow.
The rum distillery trip I think is overhyped, the public areas are run down.
~We had dinner one night at 'The Cliff at Cap Maison' , a 15/20 min cab ride , expensive but very high quality food, lovely setting, wonderful service .
~We had lunch at Spinnakers, Rodney Bay , 15 min cab ride ,,,, it's right on the beach, really relaxing, good food ... We would have liked to of tried dinner here.
~We heard a lot of good things about a restaurant called 'The rain forest hideaway ... But never got to go there....20/25 min cab ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in April 2014 for 2 weeks for our honeymoon and we had such a wonderful holiday. This resort is couples only so it specialises in making the whole holiday a romantic occasion.

My husband had pre-booked the helicopter transfer from the airport so we were at the hotel 12 minutes after leaving the airport. The views were spectacular and arriving so quickly to our resort was a massive plus. We stayed in a seaside suite which, although attached, were like little cottages. We had the end one and it was just beautiful. And we were only seconds from the swim up bar and the sea. And they have English sockets which was a bonus. Hair dryer in the room so no need to pack one. Slippers and robe in your room too. Iphone /ipod 4 docking station in your room. If you have the 5 make sure you take a lightening connector. I got bitten a fair bit so a good repellant is a must.

Some of the added bonus's of this all inclusive was the water sports which we did a couple of times.

Trips: we went out with Pauline on the sat morning for a walk into Castries. We looked around the local market, it was a nice way to spend the morning. We also did the catamaran trip to the Pitons which was a great trip. You are out all day but see most of the island. We definitely thought it was worth the money.

The rest of the holiday was spent relaxing by the lazy river or by the spa pool. Drinks arrived regularly, the food was good, i particularly enjoyed the Champagne hour each night. The wine at this resort is really drinkable too. All in all, everything was amazing.

And of course the staff are fantastic and really nothing is too much trouble. We had a holiday of a lifetime. We met some fabulous people and we will never forget our honeymoon.

Only negative, which the hotel really couldn't help with, the weather was pretty hit and miss. Quite overcast some days and tons of rain. But April is their dry season so it couldn't have been predicted. Of course their island is so lush it needs the rain so the locals were grateful for a break in the continuous sunshine that they had in March. But we still came home tanned and relaxed....and a few pounds heavier!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
833 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing