We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Glencoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My small family and I spent five days at Villa Beach Cottages. The accommodation is quite good ... very clean .... right on the beach .... good for kids who like to swim! The pool is also quite nice! Staff are friendly and helpful. For persons who are really into the resort feel ... all meals catered, planned tours, etc. then this is not for you. All in all VBC were a very good option. Car rental is suggested.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    64
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
302
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very well appointed and decorated rooms and right on the beach. You could almost fish from the balcony. Definitely best if you intend to do a bit of self catering as the only restaurant within easy walking distance is next door, the Wharf restaurant, which is good for lunch or a simple dinner, but haute cuisine it is not. They do great cocktails for about US$6 to $7. Its about US$10 to $15 taxi ride to some excellent restaurants in either Gros Islet or the outskirts of Castries. The CoalPot is great. Helpful staff or Colin, the owner, can organise a chef to cook for you or deliver meals to your unit. The cottages are set on a fine beach which was very calm when we were there in July. I am told it is calm most of the year, but can get a little choppy in December & January. There is a small but very nice pool overlooking the ocean. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: very close to Vigie airport, about an hour from the main airport at Vieux fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Saint Lucia recently for our wedding and honeymoon and having spent the first 7 nights in an all inclusive resort, we spent the remaining 7 in the 'Honeymoon Villa' at VBC to experience the north of the island and eat at local restaurants, etc. We chose VBC mostly based on it's excellent reviews - unfortunately we don't agree. Read on for details.

On arrival a good effort was made to welcome us, bags taken to villa and up to bedroom, lovely flower petals on the bed, however I noted the absence of the bottle of bubbly which I had been promised as a surprise from me to my new wife. This was resolved and placed in the villa the next day in a bucket of ice - in the early afternoon.

Let me just say we did not skimp on anything with it being our honeymoon hence booking the 'best' accommodation they had - but for $300 per night (for a self catering villa) the honeymoon villa is definitely not worth it. The outside areas lack some maintainence - the barrier between the villas and the beach was noticeably half painted; the paths could do with serious pressure washing.

Moving to the interior, 1980's style just about sums it up. The gas cooker has to be lit with matches, the place is dark and dingy even with the shutters open. The worktop in the kitchenette has cracks which as a food prep surface must be harbouring a lot of germs. Ignoring the aged look for a minute, the villa does need a serious deep clean.

Moving upstairs, the bedroom was quite pleasant although not very modern. The bathroom was actually pretty grim. The shower 'screens' have been bodged (looks like a blind man has siliconed around the cubicle) and leak water everywhere even if you're careful. The grout between the floor tiles both in and out of the shower is orange and brown in places, and many floor tiles around the shower area are cracked and jagged. On arrival there was a large group of tiny ants next to the sink which I managed to eradicate myself, surely an attentive cleaner would have noticed them when preparing the villa. Not a nice place to freshen up!

The view from the villa is fantastic, and the veranda is a lovely place to sit and look out over the sea, especially at sunset. If you took away the view and moved the villa to a coastal town of Britain I'd say around £50-80 per night in high season is what you'd pay for accommodation so outdated.

One night at around 9pm we lost our hot water. The cold tap worked but the hot had nothing coming through. I reported this to reception and was advised that a plumber would be called first thing. 10am the next morning still nothing - called reception who seemed surprised when I said we had no hot water - the message hadn't been passed on and no-one had been called. I was then unbelievably told, no joke!!, that 'the water company has had a problem and turned it off and it should be back on soon'. I didn't want to sound rude but replied saying it's pretty obvious a water company can't just turn off someone's hot water remotely - I'm not stupid!! I was fed some more rubbish and then suddenly a while later the water came back on. No-one called in or phoned to check if it had, so when I asked reception later what the problem was, they confessed the water had been turned off by mistake when they were isolating another villa. Over 12 hours without hot water? Unacceptable especially as it was human error in the first place.

The service from reception was mostly very good. They have good links with local taxi drivers - absolutely necessary if you want to feed yourself while you're there! The local Super J store is a precarious 30 min return journey down a main highway which mostly has no walkway. There is a 'restaurant' next door which closed at 5pm most days so we were limited to snacks or lunch in there. A taxi up to the restaurant area is $30 US, we spent around 300$ in a week on taxis - quite an expense when you're already paying a premium for the villa.

There is a small on site shop which sells bottled water, crisps, a very limited selection of tinned produce (no tinned veg or fresh items) and an Internet cafe which due to the age of the computers can be quite laborious.

The wifi in and around the villas is poor, very slow even when signal strength is full.

Despite the faults we did have an enjoyable stay, I came down with a stomach bug a few hours before we left the place so unfortunately was not in a fit state to confront anyone on reception or the manager about the issues mentioned. However, to be honest the only resolution would have been to turn back time, send in a team of property refurbishers and p'raps label the water pipes, and I get the feeling my complaints would have fallen on deaf ears.

After our experience I am very surprised this place is rated the best St Lucia self catering accommodation - I'd hate to see the worst!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank Chris11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very beautiful cottages. Spacious and nicely situated directly on the beach. The staff are exceptionaly warm, welcoming and accomodating and Colin the Manager is extremely client oriented taking the time to meet and greet all guests.
Even though they are self contained Units, there is the possibility to order dinner from a local Chef - reasonably priced and great Food.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibs6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The cottages and beach location here are great, and waking up to the sound of the sea was amazing. However, the cottages are pretty isolated with few restaurants nearby. Definitely set up for self catering, so depends what you are looking for - on balance, we preferred staying in the south of the island for the second half of the week. Staff are lovely and very helpful, and very relaxing place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JacMul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Add us to the list of other satisfied guests of Villa Beach Cottages. Our cottage was very spacious - 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a spacious dining room/kitchen area. We were steps from the pool and a few more steps to a nice beach with very few people. View from our small deck was perfect for watching sunrises/sunsets. Service at VBC was excellent - always friendly and smiling from everyone - front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, security. Colin provided an interesting overview of the island, history of VBC, and gave good tips on places to go and restaurants to try.
Also noted by other travelers, there is no restaurant on site, but cottages are well suited for preparing meals and grocery stores are nearby. Alternatively, you can go next door to The Wharf Restaurant.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swimmer283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've travelled around the world and stayed at countless resorts and hotels. This is definitely in my top five. What a fabulous place to spend our honeymoon!

We did not want to do the all-inclusive resorts on the island, as we like to see more of the local culture and support locally-owned proprietors as much as possible. We paid $285/night for a deluxe room, while the couples-only Sandals would have cost just under twice that. With our savings on eating in, we were able to venture out to sample some wonderful local restaurants, and take some taxi rides out beyond the area.

As you learn in the orientation the owner Mr. Colin Hunte gives every guest, this wonderful, refurbished, seaside facility has been in his family for generations. He will tell you the history of the hotel, show you family photos, provide interesting geopolitical details about St. Lucia, regale you with amusing anecdotes, and perhaps most importantly for the visitor, give you detailed maps and expert guidance on day-trips and activities you may want to pursue.

Our deluxe room was beautiful and spacious. We had a second-story unit with ocean breezes flowing and overhead fans on during the day (air con at night for us), balcony with chaises and table and chairs for dining and relaxation, wonderful colonias-style furnishings, a couples jet tub and glass block shower with double sinks, full kitchen, wonderful dark-wood floors, 220 and 110 current both available and more!

There are two small, heated pools on site, with little man-made waterfalls, a gazebo for oceansde massages (Mary and Alana are great!), and the beach is just steps below. Choc Bay is a lovely golden-sand beach, and you can get in serious walks along the length of it. Rat Island, just across the water, is accessible via ocean kayaks you can rent, and we practically had the place to ourselves as June is part of the slow season.

The staff was also excellent. Neeva and Wilma provided wonderful concierge services, making reservations at restaurants, organizing taxi service through their preferred drivers (ask for Claudius, he was a very safe driver on the crazy steep and curvaceous roads, a certified mechanic who maintains his own car and is very knowledgeable about the island), opening up their little mini-mart for any basic supplies needed, and providing local info about catching the island buses (privately owned, easy to use, and cheap).

A Super J supermarket is a 10 minute walk down the busy road, but if you don't feel like cooking, The Wharf Restaurant is next door and has excellent food for lunch, but was only open for dinner on the weekends. The staff will also order in food for you if you like, and there is a Domino's and some local food court shops within walking distance.

We are active types, so we did get out a fair bit to see the sites, but managed to have two full down days just at Villa Beach. They were wonderful, peaceful and very relaxing! One of our favorite memories is the night we climbed into the couples-size hammock, gazed at the stars, and talked for 45 minutes to the sound of the lapping waves.

We'd like to see more of the Carribean, but we're not sure we could find as sweet and reasonable a resort as Villa Beach Cottages, so we may go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Property: Villa Beach Cottages
Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing