We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pick!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2005

Villa Beach Cottages was truly the idyllic vacation spot - we organized three families to spend Christmas together on a Caribbean getaway. I chose this hotel on the basis of other traveller reviews at Trip Advisor and was not disappointed in any way!

Colin and his staff made superb hosts on this extremely friendly island. We spent 11 days having nothing but fun and relaxation. The staff make the difference at this establishment because you really get to know them. With only 14 units, you are truly more than just a number to them. I have to point out that this resort is not for the person looking for an all-inclusive experience. It's exactly the opposite - it is meant for a holiday where you set the agenda for yourself and pursue it.

Some things that were not covered by other reviews include the fact that good grocery and souvenir shopping are available very close by. It's only a five minute walk, but you must walk along the side of a quite busy road that can be narrow in spots. You must just be very careful. An alternative is to use the on-site mini-mart, but the small size means that they can't match the variety that is up the street. Villa Beach also has excellent security. There is a guard on-site 24 hours a day. As with the Villa Beach day staff, Security staff are extremely friendly - we sang Christmas carols with one of the guys on Christmas night while standing by the gazebo on the beachfront.

A few recommendations worth considering for your leisure time:

- Take a two-hour horseback ride on the northeast coast. It includes a portion where you can ride the horse into the ocean to a depth where the horse is swimming with you on its back. Amazing! US$60 per person including transfers to/from the hotel. Villa Beach will arrange the whole trip for you.

- Rent a car and drive to Soufriere and area. This is a full-day trip with incredible scenery. A jeep costs US$65 per day - they drive on the left side of the road in St Lucia, but it's not too difficult to adapt. The going is slow due to multiple switchbacks on the roads: 25-30 miles of distance covered takes 90 minutes on this part of the island. While in Soufriere, have lunch at Ladera Resort where the rich and famous stay. Very reasonable prices (main courses US$15-16) with views that will blow you away. Snorkel at Jalousie Plantation, literally at the foot of a Piton that descends from about 3000 feet straight into the ocean. Beautiful tropical fish and clear, calm waters. We liked it so much, we went back a second time. You can also get fantastic snorkelling at Anse Chastanet, just north of Soufriere. Go to the Botanical Gardens and Diamond Waterfall.

- Go to Anse La Raye for Fish Friday. Reasonable prices and great interaction with a very local crowd.

- Have Clara cook supper for you one night. Delicious food and outstanding service.

- Visit Rodney Bay and Pigeon Point. The history is fascinating here. Have a drink and/or lunch at the Captain's Cellar on Pigeon Point. Again, you have to see it to believe it.

St Lucia and Villa Beach Cottages are truly worth more than one visit. The local people really want to see you back on the island and go out of their way to tell you so. I came away with the feeling that my patronage was highly valued both on St Lucia in general and at Villa Beach specifically.

Many thanks to the Villa Beach crew from John, Lisa, Jillian and Matthew. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2005

We just returned from celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary in St. Lucia and we stayed at the fabulous Villa Beach Cottages. Colin, the owner, is friendly and provides invaluable advice. The 4 front desk staff women was friendly, helpful and great to hang out an talk to, as was the cleaning lady and the security staff. The cottages are spacious and tastefully appointed; the views of the beach and Caribbean Sea are literally breathtaking, especially at sunset. Some advice: try to get either Mr. Charles or Moses to be your taxi driver; Moses for his great tours and Mr. Charles for his stories--in some ways he is a living island history. We are so happy we stayed here and after visiting some of the other amenities on the island, we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. This is a top-rate hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, Arizona
19
Reviewed 8 December 2005

Me and my sister and her 3 children vacationed in St. Lucia's November 11 thru 20th of this year. We have only great things to say about Villa Beach Cottages and the staff there! The site was beautifully manicured and the beach was actually a hop and a skip away from our Cottage. Our Cottage was very clean and had the Carribean style that was appealing. WE are so pleased with our stay that we will be making Villa Beach Cottages our Official Family Vacation spot 1 time a year there!. The front office staff (Chandra and Neva) were so pleasant and very helpful. Also, one of the staff members named "Sabe" was very helpful as well, we had alot of questions about the different beaches and the history of the Island, and he was always so helpful by answering all our questions. On one of our days the Manager and staff recommended that we take a private boat tour with one of their preferred Local boat tour guides. They told us to be ready at 8:30 in the morning and the guide would pick us up right on the beach in front of our cottage. THAT TOUR WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP - The tour was Jon Popo and he was Awesome and made it a blast for us (we will always tour with him when we go back) The Manager, Colin was very nice and very accomodating. We had decided to changes our reservations at last minute, and with no problem he had us in another suite in a snap. WE will always have great memories of our visit to ST. Lucia. But we know that Villa Beach Cottages played a big part of our wonderful vaction because of the Staff and the accomadtions of the hotel.
The Olea-Ontiveros Family would like to make a formal "Thank You to Villa Beach Cottages and Staff" for our wonderful stay!

Thank You and we will see you Next Year!!!
Desire, Antoinettte, Justin, Jacob & Taylon

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, Maryland
118
Reviewed 7 November 2005

My wife and I wanted something more personal and intimate than a large hotel or all-inclusive, and we were very pleased with Villa Beach Cottages. We were in the Nobel Cottage, which was very comfortable, with the beach right outside our front porch. Location is quiet, but not remote, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The owner must know every restaurant on the island, and his recommendations (not just where to go, but when, and what to order and avoid) were right on the money. We saw many other hotels and resorts while we were on the island, and we'll return to Villa Beach the next time we go to St. Lucia. Excelent value for the money, wonderful service, one of our best vacations ever.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
113
Reviewed 12 September 2005

A wonderful family vacation. Very relaxing, very comfortable and very cosy. Villa Beach Cottages's staff and collaborators are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 9 days with a four years old son who enjoyed the location and the pool very much.
The cottages are very clean and full equipped with all the kitchen appliances.
I will definetely reccomend to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort McMurray Alberta Canada
126
Reviewed 10 September 2005

Villa Beach Cottages is a beautiful beachfront property that offers pure peace and relaxation. My husband and myself along with our two boys ages 7 and 9 months stayed with Colin and his staff in June 2005 and our visit was fantastic. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and always ready to assist you in any way. The cottages are completely self-contained with more than you could imagine, including kitchen supplies needed. We found the rooms to be immaculately clean and nicely decorated. There is a small plunge pool on the property that just happened to be right in front of our cottage, which was great for the kids. Mind you, for those of you who like to swim in a pool there was no large pool, but, …who needs a pool when the ocean was just a stone throw away. The beach is a beautiful, long white sand beach which often felt like our own private beach as there was very few people there. The crystal blue waters in front of the hotel are quite calm and safe for children to play in with supervision. My husband and son took out a kayak which was provided by the cottages and kayaked to the nearby Rat Island and did some exploring which our son loved. The grounds of this hotel are beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage all around. There is a shopping center within walking distance with a supermarket if you want groceries, as well as, there is a little mini mart on the property. The ocean view from our front veranda was breathtaking and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore lulled us all to sleep at night. All in all, this was one of our most fantastic vacations and we would definitely return to Villa Beach Cottages. I highly recommend Villa Beach Cottages for families and couples who want to get away from the busy resort scene.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado Springs, CO
114
Reviewed 17 August 2005

My wife and I stayed in the Honeymoon Villa for our honeymoon in the middle of June. This place was great. We were greated at the airport by Charles who became our tour guide/marriage advisor throughout our trip. The staff was incredible. Colin invited us to his office the day after we arrived and gave us a map of the island pointing out all the hot spots to see and the traps to avoid. He also gave us plenty of dining tips that were great. Our only negative was the AC in the villa. It had a really hard time keeping up with the heat and humidity you get in the summer there. Overall, awesome place right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
13.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: £113 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, West Indies and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing