We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Touring Service is Outstanding”

James Touring Service
Ranked #6 of 56 Tours in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: James Tours is the definition of a 'Premiere Touring Company' in St.Lucia. At James' Tours we do everything we can in our power to keep our customers happy. We therefore pay all government charges to pick up our customers at the cruise ship terminals. Are you looking for a hospitable, exciting, adventurous , courteous and sociable tour operator? Do you want to feel secured and assured that you are going to be in good hands? Well look no further, James' Touring Service is the perfect tour guide for you!! As a visitor of the simply beautiful island of St. Lucia, you want to feel a sense of security and happiness. James' Touring Service offers an outstanding deal of professionalism, great rates and excellent customer service. Come cruise through our majestic island in a comfortable, clean and air conditioned atmosphere. In James' impressively designed "Steelers" van, you will feel relaxed and well taken care of while visiting the various historical sites, landmarks, beaches and more! James Touring Service is the best way to travel on land in this breath-taking Island of St. Lucia.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a wonderful experience touring in St Lucia with James in June 2014. We contacted James at the last minute late on a Saturday evening asking about tours. We contacted a number of tour companies at the same time but did not expect that we would be able to set up a tour on such short notice. James responded immediately to our email. He then set up a tour for Sunday with us. I was in St. Lucia for business and am so pleased that we were able to see a bit of the island with James. James is extremely knowledgeable about St. Lucia and its history and offers service at the highest level. I recommend him highly and would certainly do a tour with him on any future visit to St. Lucia.

2  Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently visited St Lucia on Thursday July 10, 2014 as a port of call on a cruise. Let me start out by saying that James was not my first choice for a tour. I had researched and chose another operator that did not show up. While in the port, I noticed James standing with a sign wearing his Pittsburgh Steelers hat. Since I was familiar with his tour service via Trip Advisor, and the fact that my wife is also a Steelers fan, I thought this was a good sign. We approached James and let him know our situation. He was very nice and offered to take us on a tour. We waited about thirty minutes to add more people since James did not have any booked tours for the day. Not only was the tour great, but was half the cost the original tour operator was charging. The roads in St. Lucia are not for the faint at heart, lots of hills and tight turns. A few of us got sick. James helped with some local remedies that made our tour pleasurable. James also pointed out many local facts that made the tour interesting. We were able to sample some of the local cuisine when we made stops in some of the small villages. St. Lucia is very beautiful. If you should find yourself in the cruise port in Castries St. Lucia and there's a gentleman with a Pittsburgh Steelers hat hold a sign for tours- then he IS YOUR TOUR GUIDE.

2  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked a tour with James instead of the tour offered through our resort. Best decision we made. James and his tour guide D picked us up at our resort in the morning in his very comfortable van. We went and saw the true beauty of st lucia. It was a very personal tour in which james displayed his true passion for the tour service and the beautiful island he calls home. We were never rushed on any stop and we even got an authentic home cooked meal for lunch from a beautiful ocean view home. James also took us that evening into the carnival and stayed with us the whole time which was another great memory from our trip. James is hands down the only way to go to see and learn of all the island's beauty and culture.

1  Thank pitluver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband Eugene and I went on a tour with James on Tuesday, June 17, 2014 and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment he picked us up at our resort we felt like we were fast friends with him and his tour guide Desiree. We toured the island and he took us to several places. He knew when to stop us for a break and when we ate he took us to a quaint little spot on the side of the road and the food was DELICIOUS!!!! He also had refreshments for us and anytime we wanted something, we had it. From our experience, when we return to St. Lucia we will definitely call on James again. THANKS JAMES!!!!!

1  Thank Eugene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were recently in St. Lucia for a cruise and had booked with James Touring Service in order to avoid the cruise ship crowd. It was truly the right decision as it ended up with only four of us on the tour. The only drawback initially was that two other people had made reservations and never showed nor cancelled. James waited faithfully for at least 45 minutes for this couple to show before finally calling it and getting us on our way. This coupled with the fact that the ship docks at 9:00 instead of the traditional 8:00 caused the second half of the tour to seem a bit rushed and we missed out on the snorkeling opportunity. That was the ONLY negative to the whole excursion. James' van was comfortable and stocked with coolers full of water, local beer and rum punch. During the tour James and his guide Desrina took us to and through a variety of local areas while providing a lot of historical and guide information along the way. We went through the banana plantations where we got to sample some of the local bananas and then later feed the peels to the goats. We also visited the nearby fishing village.

Because of James' commitment to his customers and the smaller size of our group, we were treated to a number of unique stops that I doubt other vendors offer. James stopped and picked a cashew plant, cut a piece of bark off of cinnamon tree, mangos, cotton, etc. Each provided a unique flavor of what this island has to offer. We went to the volcano, experienced the mud baths then traveled to one of the many waterfalls where we got to get in and under the actual falls. James provided lunch at the picturesque La Haut Resort with a great view of the Pitons and the ocean. It was truly a postcard setting. The food featured curry chicken, tuna and a variety of sides and all were excellent.

The tour ended with James taking us to one of the local beaches for a quick little walk around the area. James returned us to the cruise terminal, posed for a few pictures and was on his way. This was a great tour and I highly recommend James. My only recommendation to James would be to take a deposit or at least a credit card hold and then not wait for no shows. Great tour and I highly recommend James for his true care and concern for the quality of tour he offers.

1  Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Touring Service also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Been to James Touring Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing