We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of Paradise”
Review of Apartment Espoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartment Espoir
Ranked #1 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We loved our stay at Espoir, Keith was a fantastic host, he answered our many questions and was very helpful. He arranged for transportation to and from the airport as well as arranged a day trip to Martinque for us. Keith also took us on a tour of the island sharing his great knowledge of St. Lucia allowing us an insiders view of the island.

The room was well equiped with everything necessary however we spent much of our time on the balcony as the view of the ocean, pool and garden was incredible.

The location of Espoir is ideal, close enough to Rodney Bay to go for dinner, near to Castries and has a grocery store & bbq spot just a short walk down the road. With the Windjammer just a couple minute walk away, the resort's restaurants and beach were very accessible.

Our stay at Espoir was amazing and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilyd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir It was great to read that you would choose to return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our island of St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    29
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
98
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkenberg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We feel very welcome at Espoir. This is the best place we can think about it when coming to St. Lucia.. We have been coming here to Espoir since 9 years and we just love it. Sabine & Keith are like family and very, very helpful in all things.
We can recommend this place highly. It is a place to relax, feeling welcome and to enjoy the holidays.
If you ever come to St. Lucia, go to Espoir to stay. You will not regret it.
Keith and Sabine thank you for having us once again and as usual we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasueierkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Manager at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for the nice comments. Coming back to Espoir since 9 years shows us that you truly enjoy St. Lucia and this place. It is great to have such amazing and friendly guests like you staying with us. We hope to see you back in 2012 !
Sabine & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

It is difficult to know what to add to the other glowing reviews, but Apartment Espoir is a beautiful place. The apartments are well furnished, with everything you need. We didn't self cater, with the exception of breakfast, but the kitchen was extremely well equipped if you want to cook. The things that make this place so special are the views, from your balcony and the lovely pool area and Keith's hospitality is second to none. He obviously knows his island in depth, and loves it, and his enthusiasm is infectious. We followed all his recommendations and were glad we did. The walk to the beach is easy and the access to Windjammer means you have all the advantages of a big, high class resort combined with the privacy, intimacy and charm (not to mention price) of a beautiful, owner run small one. On our last day, we had a late evening flight and Keith let us use his personal facilities and gave us drinks and fed us delicious paw paw before we left. Thank you Keith for making us so welcome and being the perfect host!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-Ian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir We look forward to welcoming you back to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Espoir are lovely self catering apartments on a hillside in Labrellotte Bay, just 3 minutes up the hill from the East Winds & Windjammer Resorts. Plus you can use the facilities at the Windjammer. The sunsets at Espoir are phenomenal.
Espoir also has a lovely pool & gardens with a host who makes your vacation worhwhile. The Mini bus system is very easy to use, however you can rent a car right on the premises, if you are a little more adventuress.
E-mail the Espoir & they will arrange transportation from the airport as well as make suggestions & arrange tours for whatever you like. Make sure that you get a chance to meet the local people & sample their food, both are a treat.
Rodney Bay is right up the road, only $1.75 EC by Mini Bus,it has many restaurants & shopping. Castries is only a little further but worth the trip. There are boat trips from the Windjammer as well as all types of water sports & don't miss the Happy Hour.
Make sure you take a tour of the Island to see the beauty of the Pitons & the villages along the way.
Don't be intimdated by the walk up the hill or do what we did, walk done to the Mini Bus & for very little EC's, take a Taxi back.
Try to spend some time the host's as they have a wealth of knowledge about the Island, both its history & things to do.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadRetied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with
Once again, thank you for posting these wonderful comments; I am sure it will help assist other travellers when planning their own holiday.
We hope to welcome you back to Apartment Espoir at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

when i first spoke to the owner, keith, he was so accomodating and helpful,and at any time during our stay he or his wife were always around or available by phone for whatever help or advise we needed. we dont travel much, so it was a great comfort to know they were around if we had a problem so far from home. the apartment was great and the view from the balcony was fantastic. if ever i am lucky enough to go to st lucia again this is where i will stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with It was great to read that you would choose to return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our island of St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trincity, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have been coming to Apartment Espoir for a few years now, ever since finding it (where else) on TripAdvisor. The place is quiet and beautiful, just what we come for. Over time Keith and Sabine have become real friends but right from the very first minute I've always felt genuinely welcome. Keith has worked very hard and created a little corner of paradise by bringing seeds and shoots of plants from the forests and nurturing them around the hotel. Most of the people we've met here have been repeat visitors too!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weetikveel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir
Thank you once again for posting your review following your second visit , very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

It's a great place, close to beaches, about half mile from the bus route, studio apartment has everything, kitchen, tv, cable and internet, aircon, fan and the owners are most accomodating and friendly.

However:
Internet wifi connection was patchy, kept throwing me off and that was important to me.
Bedding was clean but had signs of mold from the past. Also I'm not sure it was cotton and this was a shame as it tends to keep you cooler. Fan on,problem solved.

If you think there are two top class resorts nearby this really is the perfect option for the more budget minded, without sacrificing quality.

Did I mention the pool? And the grounds?

Keith and Sabine, you have a lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipdobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir We appreciate guests feedback as it assists us in identifying guests' needs and areas to improve on to provide maximum guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 12 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Espoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Espoir

Property: Apartment Espoir
Address: Labrelotte Crescent | East Winds/ Marisule, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Espoir 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Espoir, a unique experience, The 11 fully self contained apartments (clean, light, friendly Caribbean colors, well equipped), fantastic view overlooking the Caribbean Sea, lush garden, beautiful palm fringed sandy beach, great service, warm friendly atmosphere, English & German speaking, great unforgettable tours, home away from home. Don't just Dream it! Do it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartment Espoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Espoir Hotel Castries
Apartment Espoir St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing