We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in St. Lucia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartment Espoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartment Espoir
Ranked #1 of 16 Castries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in St. Lucia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have stayed at Apartment Espoir on two different trips and it is always a great experience. The addition of a swimming pool was great on our last trip as that is a nice place to relax in the evenings. Keith is so helpful in telling the history of the island and recommending restaurants and things to do around the island. He also made all of our dinner reservations on our last trip, even one for our wedding anniversary when we had even moved to a place further south on the island. We are hoping to return again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caribbean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you once again for posting your review following your second visit very much appreciated.
It was great to read that you would choose to return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our island of St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    29
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
98
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Once again I m back in St-Lucia ,can t stay away from paradise to long ,it is so relaxing & beautiful.the feeling of being in a secure place with no worries about nothing .Keith & Sabina are still as helpful as ever to make your stay as enjoyable as possible .they will go out of there way to make sure that your stay is memorable.that is one of the reasons that I come back here years after years .From all the places I have been in Lucia this is where you want to be .this year I did not bring the kids but if you travel with kids and want to make your own food well this is the perfect place .fridge stove everything you need is in the apartments all you need is your personal effects,the beach & pool nearby walking distance ,& the beach is so clean & water clear as you would not believe.it is worth every dollars you spent to be here.If you compare oranges for oranges wow this is it .Also long term rentals I have not yet find another place at better rates they are very reasonable .well hopefully this will help in choosing the right place to be in Lucia .Have a nice trip to you all travelers out there .

Room Tip: they also have 2 bedrooms apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samgen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir Thank you once again for posting your review following your second visit , very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

on our cab ride from hewanorra to Espoire, my wife and I couldn't help but notice all the derelict cars abandoned roadside. whay a shame for such a beautiful island.upon our arrival at Espoir we noticed numerous vehicles parked there. much to our chagrin we realized these were all junked / abandoned. it's kind of funny how none of the pictures of Espoir show the broken down cars strewn about the property (land rover) and the many abandoned cars littering the road adjacent to this place.
With a little investigating I found out that all these eyesores belong to the owner of Espoir.
Keith clean up your surroundings so people can enjoy a tropical vacation that doesn't resemble a car parts lot. definately not what we paid for or expected to see. Save yourself a bundle of cash and camp out at your local used automall at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
I wanted to respond to this one after much thought and research on my end. I am not unopposed to criticism if I deserve it and it is accurate. This report is unfair in many ways: I feel it is misleading and inaccurate. You have never been to Apartment Espoir. We have absolutely no record of you ever staying at Espoir. It is a great shame that you have been able to use such a great medium as Tripadvisor to deceive people & degrade a country & an establishment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We found the location of Apartment Espoir to be great - not that far from Castries, nor from Rodney Bay with the clubs and restaurants, but still rather secluded and peaceful. Public transport to and from the guesthouse, accessible after a short walk, was frequent and cheap. The closest bar&grill, 'No Stress Bar' was 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse - very much a local place and not suitable for fancy dinner arrangements, but loads of fun with a friendly owner. A couple of more eateries were within a 15-minute walking distance. The guesthouse does not have its own beach, but is very close to other hotels with clean (and public!) beaches. Windjammer Landing with its restaurants (not great, but OK) and waterfront bars is a short walk away, but the walk might not be suitable for everybody. Unless we were enjoying the pool in the guesthouse, we were usually on the Windjammer beach, sipping cocktails. Our room had a kitchenette with a fridge, so we stocked up on ingredients for breakfasts and occasional dinners while visiting the shops in Rodney Bay or the market in Castries. The room was clean and spacious enough for two, with a veranda that was perfect for breakfasts.The hosts, Keith and Sabine, were very friendly and available whenever we needed their assistance. Although our first time there, we felt like visiting old friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. It is greatly appreciated. I often think of Estonia. Do you realise we have our Independence Day on very close dates. Estonia’s independence is 24th Feb. St Lucia is 22nd Feb so for sure whenever we celebrate our Independence Estonia is very close to my heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our hosts ,Keith & Sabine, were incredibly warm and helpful. They were ready with all types of information and advise. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and letting the world go by- as we watched the beautiful tropical sunset each night. The colors were fantasticl!
The entire complex is surrounded by gorgeous tropical plants and brightly colored flowers all integrated in the surrounding natural foliage --a sort of miniature jungle paradise experience that rivals the St. Lucia botanical gardens.
The pool is situated among all this marvelous foliage.
A very unique experience to say the least. Once you arrive you do not want to leave. Just sipping a drink looking out over the Caribbean and the jungle from your own private balcony. Keith recommended Peter, a wonderfully helpful taxi driver, who tooks us to all kinds of great sites. If you are in Castries this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the sea and watch the suns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonaldTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that your vacation was just what you wanted - relaxed and left you both invigorated It is also good to note that your taxi driver provided a smooth transition from the airport to the hotel and plenty of useful information and commentary to make you feel truly welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We loved our stay at Espoir, Keith was a fantastic host, he answered our many questions and was very helpful. He arranged for transportation to and from the airport as well as arranged a day trip to Martinque for us. Keith also took us on a tour of the island sharing his great knowledge of St. Lucia allowing us an insiders view of the island.

The room was well equiped with everything necessary however we spent much of our time on the balcony as the view of the ocean, pool and garden was incredible.

The location of Espoir is ideal, close enough to Rodney Bay to go for dinner, near to Castries and has a grocery store & bbq spot just a short walk down the road. With the Windjammer just a couple minute walk away, the resort's restaurants and beach were very accessible.

Our stay at Espoir was amazing and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilyd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir It was great to read that you would choose to return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our island of St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkenberg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We feel very welcome at Espoir. This is the best place we can think about it when coming to St. Lucia.. We have been coming here to Espoir since 9 years and we just love it. Sabine & Keith are like family and very, very helpful in all things.
We can recommend this place highly. It is a place to relax, feeling welcome and to enjoy the holidays.
If you ever come to St. Lucia, go to Espoir to stay. You will not regret it.
Keith and Sabine thank you for having us once again and as usual we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasueierkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c130Engineer, Manager at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for the nice comments. Coming back to Espoir since 9 years shows us that you truly enjoy St. Lucia and this place. It is great to have such amazing and friendly guests like you staying with us. We hope to see you back in 2012 !
Sabine & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.0 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Espoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Espoir

Property: Apartment Espoir
Address: Labrelotte Crescent | East Winds/ Marisule, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Espoir 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Espoir, a unique experience, The 11 fully self contained apartments (clean, light, friendly Caribbean colors, well equipped), fantastic view overlooking the Caribbean Sea, lush garden, beautiful palm fringed sandy beach, great service, warm friendly atmosphere, English & German speaking, great unforgettable tours, home away from home. Don't just Dream it! Do it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartment Espoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Espoir Hotel Castries
Apartment Espoir St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing