We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-located budget option in Castries”
Review of Casa del Vega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa del Vega
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well-located budget option in Castries”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Overall, Casa del Vega is an OK place for those on a budget and who want to stay in Castries (or stay in a location that's within a 15 minute walk of nearby SLU airport). The rooms are a bit basic and missing some essentials (adequate lighting and, at least during our stay, hot water). The proprietor is certainly friendly, helpful and honest - she arranged a free ride for us to go to a nearby restaurant. Perhaps the proprietor was just having a bad day, but the early morning coffee and ride to SLU airport promised by her failed to materialise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
33
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We were unfortunate travellers delayed by the recent strike of Liat airlines; we were at Vigie airport in St Lucia and needed an accomodation for the night, not too far and not too expensive. The tourism office suggested this guesthouse located nearby the airport..with an amazing view of cruise ships leaving Castries. The lady of the guesthouse (Merlin) was there in minutes to pick us up (well, our luggage as we had to resolve certain issues at the airport). We got a very clean room, with air conditioning, shower facilities, a very comfortable mattress and shared a kitchen facility and a large living room with deck with another couple (met at the airport). Basically, this was a huge suite for two parties. Meals were served and priced in US dollars - we cannot comment as we did not make us of that service. And yes, the view was amazing! It was a very fun stay despite the circumstances of the strike! We would go back again...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyageuse53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The rooms have an amazing view of the ocean and are sorrounding by trees and nature,which you can see from the big terrace. Everything was fully equipped and clean. But the best thing of all is the staff, they treated us so warmly and helped us in everything we needed. The private beach is perfect if you like snorkelling, or if you want to have a swim. Good choice if you want to be in Castries, and is also very close to the airport.
Jose Luis Vazquez

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseBarcelona_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Excellent place to stay. The service is excellent, we were picked up from and to the airport. Our Host was very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient, it is walking distance from the airport and the French, Mexican and Venezuela embassies.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelsony_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed up on a hill at the outskirts of the city at Casa Del Vega, the cheapest guest house we could find online, at $70 USD. After getting a good lay of the land, I’m convinced that this is the only place in Castries to stay, and with good reason—It’s cheaper than your other options, there’s a beach ( locals) only a 15 minute walk away, the rooms are clean and have a common kitchen stocked with basic cooking utensils, there is a small and rocky (but lovely and secluded) beach behind the house where the snorkeling is good, and the service by Mrs. Compton and her assistant Paula is excellent.

Mrs. Compton provides a simple breakfast and dinner in the common area, for those who request it ($3 USD/$4 USD, respectively) and her cooking is pleasant. If you rent a car during your trip (check your life insurance policy), her guesthouse is a perfect midway point for your travels to Rodney Bay and Gros Islet (to the north) and Marigot Bay and Soufriere (to the South).

Mrs. Compton and Paula were so kind to us. I have very pleasant memories of this place. It is also a great location for meeting fellow travelers…the kind of people who don’t limit themselves to the borders of all-inclusive resorts. You can read my entire account/view my slideshow of my two-week trip here: bit.ly/f2iUu9

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bencarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Casa del Vega is truly everything we anticipated it would be and more. CDV is a lovely guest house offering bright, comfortable accomodations topped off with excellent service from a friendly staff that is second to none. CDV is scenically located on the Vigie Peninsula with gorgeous views and beautiful grounds, and is conveniently located between attractions to the north (Rodney Bay area) and to the soulth (Soufriere area). I strongly recommend CDV to anyone looking for nice, quiet apartment-style accomodations in a lovely setting on beautiful Saint Lucia. I doubt you'll find a better value, and the service is not to be topped.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here on a trip to St Lucia to attend a relative's wedding. The last time we were in St Lucia was also for a wedding but we stayed at a high end resort outside of Castries. i must say that I am very happy with our choice of location this time around. The view was fantastic, the service and friendliness of the of the staff was impecable. They went out of their way to help us and to my mind, that is a major thing. The value for money was great, it's near the airport, in a great neighborhood also. Internet speed was fast and I will be looking to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilledd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
1.9 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
4.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
11.9 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Seraphine
Auberge Seraphine
#9 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Vega

Property: Casa del Vega
Address: Clarke Avenue, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castries
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Casa del Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Vega Castries
Casa Del Vega St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing