We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury resort ???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Luxury resort ???”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Calabash Cove has the prices of a Luxury Resort but is not a Luxury resort.

Nothing to say on the nice room, beautiful location, good food, nice staff but some signs that is not a luxury place : basic and limited bathroom amenities (no Hair conditioner, no sewing kit ...), no real bed turn-down (just towels changes), even not a pen in the room and a single (old) piece of paper. During 4 days on the beach we only saw a safety guard one day (the beach is public even if secluded you cannot leave your belongings if you go kayaking) and only once a waiter proposing drinks, no free drinks or no cold tower proposals. In addition the resort did not took into account our request for a second floor room and I got 3 different explanations from 3 different people.

Details I know, But details make Luxury. And they are not there.

Better luxury places in the island for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HenriNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    75
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
488
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My Husaband and I were holidaying in Barbados from 5th-12th May 2013 and wanted to do a day excursion so we went back to Calabash Cove for the day - having stayed in February 2012

Half hour flight over and a quick taxi ride and we were back at this beautiful resort

I had emailed in advance of our day trip and we were given a Sunset oceanview room free of charge for the day to use - how fantastic is that!!

The hotel was as we remembered stunning - it was great to see Ronan, Lance and Konrad and meeting Gavin
sorry we missed Lily and Unita

We had a delicious lunch and a lovely chilled bottle of wine and just enjoyed the views

Then back to the beautiful pool for some cocktails before our flight back

A truly exquisite small resort with charming staff, and great views

See you next February we are coming back :o)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We are just leaving calabash today, I was hurried to write a review..as I rely a lot on other's reviews! We had the most incredible time! Staff is at your beckon call, views are phenomenal, and the resort is so peaceful/relaxing! From maintenance to managers, the ppl could not be more friendly and helpful...staff was entertaining (lance at the pool bar) and like family! Cottages are secluded, clean, and air conditioned!! All inclusive is definitely the way to go...no worries on keeping up with money while relaxing! Food from room service to pool bar to restaurant was all top notch! Front desk provides excursion setup and information...private tour with sadiq of island was amazing and free of kids/nauseating bus rides. We compared other hotels while riding the island and were truly confident in our decision staying at calabash cove! First class resort!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Went to Calabash Cove Resort 19 May 13, and it is amazing! rented a cottage with a infinity pool, the place gives you all the privacy you want, the resort is well run and you feel very safe. A suggestion for the resort is to put in screen sliders so the bugs cant come in the room and you can have a nice ocean breeze and still have a light on, because as of now you better have doors shut if you turn a light on or the bugs will fill the room! and eat you alive.
And for future guests, forget the "all inclusive" and take a cab to the local grocery store and get food(water) YOU want to eat...much cheaper.
Overall the place is just AMAZING!!! very romantic !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firedude_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Calabash Cove on the 29th April and stayed for 10 nights, sadly returning home today. We had booked a swim up suite (room 101), although when we arrived we were advised for our last 2 nights we would be upgraded to a cottage which was a nice surprise. Both types of accommodation are special in their own insicidual ways. To be able to leave your own patio and step into the pool with its infinity edge and 'swim up' bar is amazing. Equally having a spacious cottage with your own plunge pool and outside shower, is also a special experience. The views from everywhere in the hotel are absolutely stunning. The rooms were serviced extremely well and every member of staff in the hotel, from the guy who maintains the pool, the restaurant staff, right through to the gardener who does all the wood carvings and gave us a bowl with our names engraved on them, were all so welcoming, polite and really couldn't have done anymore to make our stay so special. I have to add a special 'thank you' to Gavin & Lance at the pool bar who really did entertain us all with their friendly banter and excellent service. We have been to other destinations but to date 'nothing' beats this hotel for a wonderful alround holiday experience. Neither of us would hesitate to recommend the Calabash Cove to anyone seeking a Caribbean holiday that encompasses a fantastic location, stunning views, welcoming and attentive staff on every level, topped off with excellent food and wines. The only downside was having to leave!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its exclusivity. It only had 26 rooms. In the end we chose this location to get married. We had been together 20 years and had not got round to getting married but after choosing Calabash Cove as our dream holiday destination we then decided it was a perfect place to get married. We were not disappointed, Kim Dennis the wedding co-ordinator was superb, she arranged everything and made our day very special and memorable. It is now month since we returned to the UK and we are still talking about the amazing experience with friends and family. We spent 16 nights at the hotel, the first 9 in a swim up suite and our honeymoon week in a Waterside Cottage. The cottage (no 9) was secluded and perfect and worth the upgrade. We stayed all inclusive and well worth it. Food was varied and delicious, plenty of choice. If you want total relaxation, peace and quiet this is the place for you. As our special destination we will return to celebrate a future Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is a small resort with only 25 or so rooms compared with the hundreds in other resorts on the island. It is no coincidence that about half of those staying at the resort during our stay were American honeymooners! That tells you the seclusion and intimacy are high on the list of attributes.

This is a high quality resort with a superb staff who are genuinely interested in you and keen to provide for your every need. They could not have been more helpful and this goes to the majority of those we encountered on the island in general. It appears most of the population have recognised the importance of customer service and have decided to try and attract people back to the island.

The resort has a great setting on the west side of the island which is the better side weather-wise. With its own beach (not private but secluded), pool, superb restaurant with a very quality chef, and bars it provides for all you need. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere appropriately informal.

The rooms are great - we saw two because of a kind arrangement to allow us to book out late in the day for an overnight flight - and each has its own charm. Our main room was a swim-up suite which meant it was three or four swimming strokes from the bar! Plenty of room to sunbathe, very good spa treatments on site, and enough exercise to allow us to enjoy the excellent food and drink! Cocktails are an essential part of the Calabash diet and created an excellent friendly atmosphere with the other guests most evening at the pool bar.

Despite some inclement and unusual rain, we thoroughly enjoyed the resort and would strongly recommend it to those who want a quiet getaway - not for the night-life heavy-drinking people at all - there are plenty of other resorts for them!!

Room Tip: The middle two swim-up suites are slightly larger but all have a jacuzzi. The rooms above the swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
6.9 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing