We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with great view and an AMAZING restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed in a swim up room at the main infinity pool. The property has a great view inside a bay on the Caribbean side, and the sea was crystal clear even at dusk. The rooms were a bit on the small side for a luxury resort, but were well appointed. The staff was very attentive, and really there's nothing you could not like. Then there was the restaurant - which claims to be aspiring to be Michelin rated. They will hit that mark. Every meal was absolutely wonderful, and being from Chicago, we agreed that it was as good as if not better than any 5-star restaurant we had dined in before. It was that good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlliniFan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

Our week at the Calabash Cove was fabulous. We spent 4 nights in a swim up suite (#103) and 3 days in cottage #4. The swim up suites are very modern with a four poster bed and a terrace overlooking the amazing infinity pool. Although lovely, they are on the smaller side, but beautifully presented. There were a few things missing from the room, such as a place to hang your towels and space for your suitcases. The cottage was amazing - with your own plunge pool, wooden terrace area, sitting room, bedroom and spacious bathroom. We loved it!

The hotel only opened in February 2009 and is still finding its feet. Some small things were lacking, probably due to the fact that it's still new - but we believe this will all be ironed out in the coming months. For example, there's a pool bar but it is manned rather infrequently. So, if you want a drink you have to go to the main bar, which unfortunately is up a couple of flights of steep stairs. This could easily be resolved with the addition of a bell or a phone on the bar.

The only real criticism we have is that the menu in the restaurant is really limited and does not change over the week so you become tired of the menu after a few days - we hope this is something the hotel will address.

Our dive master was great and picked us up from the beach each morning we went diving, always returning before lunch. He really listened to our requests and led us on dives that we asked for. It was also really good value at $50 each dive when 6 dives are booked, normaly $60 per dive. Other guests had been on numerous trips including zip wires through the rain forest and horse riding on the beach - we however didn't take appropriate attire!

The hotel is about an hour's drive from the airport but the journey is interesting and at least you get to see a little of the island. There is a helicopter ride available which takes you to the other side of the bay from the hotel which would also be a fabulous experience - perhaps next time!

The surrounding scenery is stunning and the views are breathtaking. We would certainly go back again. We had an amazing time and loved our stay. We certainly would recommend it to our friends and anyone wanting to go to St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunseekerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

If you are looking for a relaxed and romantic vacation at a beautiful location, you should continue reading. If you are looking for all day and night party or full day animation for kids and adults, you may choose to stop reading this review and change to another resort.

Calabash cove is a new opened (Feb. 2009) and well managed small resort of about 35 units (cottages and suites). We came for our 5th wedding anniversary and stayed in one of the water’s edge cottages for 2 weeks with all inclusive plan. The Balinese style cottage was spacious, equipped with tasteful designed furniture and has stunning views over the bay and to sunsets from veranda and private pool. The cottages as well as the remaining resort lie above a nice strip of beach which is not very long, but has fine sand without rocks and reefs.

Despite of very few minor issues resulting from the fact that the construction work of the resort has just finished, the overall impression of the resort is absolutely wonderful. It has a nice open architecture and sits in a perfect location overlooking the turquoise sea. In between buildings and pathways there are amazing gardens with so many colourful tropical flowers and trees and with lots of humming birds and butterflies. The perfect place to relax and breath the Caribbean spirit.

The food at Windsong Restaurant was excellent. Everything for breakfast, lunch and diner was freshly cooked to order (no “standard buffet food”) and you can easily ask for special modifications. Due to every day changing “specials of the day” in addition to the regular menu card we even after 2 weeks discovered new delicious meals. And from discussions with the French Chef, we additionally learned a lot about local spices and food. The wine selection is quite good.
At the C-bar there is a good choice of international branded spirits available. The variety of spirits as well as of beer could have been a little wider (except for rum there was mostly a choice of 1 or 2 brands only). Do not miss to ask Lilly for her very tasty cocktail specials. Some of them are excellent!!

But the most important fact to write about are the absolutely amazing people of the resort staff. To whomever from front desk, restaurant service, house keeping etc. we were talking, we always earned a smile and friendly answers and conversation. I travel a lot for both, business and vacation, but I never before met so friendly people at a hotel/resort around the world. These people were making us feeling more like being friends than being customers.
Absolutely great!!! Keep on going!!!

Finally some tips for activities: Besides relaxing, swimming and sunbathing you can use the gym, borrow kayaks and/or snorkel equipment or enjoy some treatments at the spa. For further activities outside of the resort ask the concierges at front desk. With them you can book sightseeing tours, sport/sailing activities, car rentals and much more to explore the beautiful island of St. Lucia.

We can really recommend the “Tout Bagay” (means: a little of everything) catamaran tour with Sea Spray Cruises. There you get a full day cruising tour from Rodney Bay to Soufriere and back. Included are all transportation, a sightseeing tour at Soufriere with waterfall, sulphur springs and Fond Doux cocoa plantation with creole style lunch buffet, snorkelling in a nice calm bay, free drinks during the whole trip and finally a great crew making a good party. We were also very lucky to have a school of dolphins accompaigning our ship for a while.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KielerSprotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here last March for our honeymoon. At that point the hotel was still under some construction... the junior suites, spa/exercise area, and landscaping were not complete yet. This worked out for us, as we felt we had the whole resort to ourselves. We stayed in a waters-edge cottage located on a lush cliff about 10-15 ft above the ocean with a wraparound veranda, plunge pool and travertine outdoor shower. The craftmenship and details to the outside of the cottage was gorgeous, though I do think they might have skimped a bit on the interior. Nothing to complain about at all, I just felt that given all the details of the outside the same attention to detail was missing on the inside. Our cottage had a living room with flatscreen tv, a bedroom, and a bath with jacuzzi tub and seperate shower. Only the bedroom had AC which was not a big deal as the living area opens up you can get a nice breeze coming off the ocean; however, there are lots of mosquitos so I would recommend bringing some bug spray and citronella candles along. We highly enjoyed the restaurant and would recommend the all-inclusive package. We didn't do that as that's not our sort of thing but the quality is good enough that it's worthwhile. The service was excellent. The staff was genuine and helpful. Not the most beautiful beach (though the landscaping more than made up for it)... but St. Lucia is more known for its lushness than beaches... and I'm from Florida so I'm spoiled by white sand and clear water. They have a nice dock with a sunbathing deck and a terraced lawn leading down to a sandy beach for sunbathing as well. Also we would recommend booking the airport transfer through the hotel as it's not the easiest to find. The drive from the airport is about an hour so we were happy to find our driver and his mercedes waiting for us... nice leather seats, smooth drive, and lots of cold AC. The concierge provided us with flawless service (booking and whether or not we enjoyed ourselves, our opinions on the vendors, etc.). The cleaning staff was excellent and unobtrusive. Everyday we returned to fresh flowers throughout the bedroom and bathroom. All in all, a great secluded hotel for relaxation and to get away. Not for nightlife and for those who want to be in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hofmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

About a fortnight ago, I was deciding on a short but very relaxing holiday with my wife and friends. We wanted to rejuvenate ourselves and hence, decided to go to somewhere peaceful and relaxing. I was advised about a resort called Calabash Cove in St. Lucia, which certainly looked beautiful, very exclusive, extremely romantic and very picturesque on its website www.calabashcove.com.

Without giving it a second thought, we decided to spend our short holiday at Calabash Cove in St. Lucia. Tell you what; we were not disappointed at all at the end of our holiday but on the contrary we wished we could have extended our stay.

We flew out to St. Lucia and were picked by a taxi company organised by the resort and it took us the best part of over an hour to get there from the airport but the driver kept us well informed about the route we took, basically acting as a tour guide – very charming he was!

Just when you reach the little road that leads to the resort from the main road; it is a bit deceiving, making you wonder as to where it will lead to!

However, when you reach your destination is when it hits you – you are simply looking at paradise. This resort is tucked away in a landscape of gentle sloping hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. It is the most secluded and romantic of places that I have ever been to. I work for an airline and have travelled the world in my last nine years or so but I have never ever stayed at such a beautiful place. The view from restaurant across the bay is absolutely stunning.

My wife and I stayed in one of the Water’s Edge Cottages and my friend and his wife stayed in one of the swim up suites – the view from both were absolutely fascinating. Both forms of accommodation are simply fantastic in their own way. There is a small private secluded beach where you are guaranteed not to be bothered by anyone. I could go on and on but I would actually want people to experience this place by themselves otherwise I would be giving all the secrets away. All I can advise is that this resort is SIMPLY THE BEST!

We only had breakfast there, which is a set menu but you can choose whatever you want from there. And it was good – yes, very good. We were not disappointed at all. We did eat in the restaurant in the evening on a couple of occasions and certainly enjoyed our meal there.

It goes without saying that with such a beautiful resort, comes of course the staff, which is simply energetic, helpful and always at hand. Yes, every single person working there tries to do their very best to help you, without going overboard. And hence, you cannot single out any one person for praise.

My advice to anyone going to St. Lucia for a refreshing holiday is to go for the Calabash Cove Resort in the Islet Gros area. It is actually very good value for money. You will not regret spending that little bit extra than other resorts nearby but on the contrary, you will become rejuvenated and leave with a feeling of contentment. And rest assured, I will be going there again without a doubt!

My score for this Resort is definitely 10 out of 10 – Exuberant and Excellent! Home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prashant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We just got back from a one week honeymoon package at Calabash Cove, although this was our second honeymoon.

Our flight got in late (after 10) but the staff was up and greeted us. We were taken to our room, one of the private plunge pool cabins and were presented with a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit plate. The staff take care of every detail and completely spoil you. They went out and bought us games when we asked for a deck of cards. Barbara decorated our room every day with different tropical flowers. Justin, brought us bags of fresh mangos, and green coconuts to drink. We left on an early morning flight out, and the chef packed us a breakfast. Never in my life have I stayed at a resort that was that welcoming and personal. You truly got to relax, because everything was planed, thought out and handled for you. Even Sadiq the car service the hotel uses, would lend you a cell phone so you could call him when you wanted to go somewhere.

We opted not to go all-inclusive because in our experience we never eat the amount of food and drinks to make up for the cost. Plus we are less likely to over-indulge. We also liked the idea that we could explore other restaurants on the island. Although I have to admit we never did. The food at the Calabash was unreal. I consider myself a bit of a food snob, who easily gets bored with cuisines and food. But the Calabash menu is wonderfully eclectic. Including: chicken roti, tilapia sashimi, wasabi creame homemade salmon ravioli, Creole stew, shrimp in a coconut sauce, roasted chicken, steak, and the world's most amazing cheeseburger. The staff were great at climbing up and down those stairs and pretty much brining food and drinks to wherever you wanted to eat them. Skittles was great, he brought us beers on ice directly to our plunge pool. You just can't beat that. The dinner for two as part of the honeymoon package on the pier at sunset was one of the most surreal and romantic evenings of my life. The food was great. The service was attentive but discreet, and you can't beat the location.

The beach is very private. The water clear and beautiful turquoise, with very small waves. The resort has snorkeling equipment and there is rather amazing fish to see right there.

The cabin was large, very ample with a jacuzzi for 2, and an amazing outdoor shower. The bed was incredibly comfortable, we slept forever. The outdoor bed on the front porch and the hammock were also great napping places. What was most incredible was how quiet and soothing this resort is. It really gave us a chance to relax and regroup. We stayed at a large resort in Puerto Rico as part of this trip, and it seemed manic after being at Calabash Cove. As we went by on a boat, I could see the Sandals resort we were considering staying at also seemed rather manic and crazy, and less secluded and relaxing.

There were several other couples there at the same time, who were all very friendly, but everyone gave each other a lot of space. It was the perfect place for a second honeymoon, to regroup, reconnect and relax. Every single one of our needs was met.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ibpaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Calabash Cove in June 2009.
We stayed in a “swim up” junior suite and as the hotel was so new, we were the first to occupy the suite. There were a few initial minor glitches as one would expect, but our lovely room attendant Barbara got these sorted out very quickly. The suite had elegant modern decor of polished wood, pale tile and voile with a comfy four-poster bed and flat screen cable TV. The bathroom had a square Jacuzzi with a view and a roomy shower. We were not disturbed by any sounds from the restaurant or bar two floors above.
The suite had a sunny terrace directly onto the great infinity pool with its spacious decking, comfy sun beds, stunning views and pool bar. The pool bar, also “swim-up,” became quite a social hub for those of us who liked to cool off in the pool after a morning on the beach or touring the island.
There had been little marketing of the hotel at the time, so we were the only British guests staying there, but we found the other guests, mostly US honeymooners, to be really sociable and charming.
The staff were all well trained and enthusiastic. Everyone conveyed a genuine warmth and friendliness and seemed to be like one big happy family.
The restaurant was airy and elegant, again with stunning views over the bay. The cooking was Caribbean bistro-style, but with American sized portions that we found so generous that we never actually made it through three courses. It was not really close to what we would call Michelin Star refinement, but it’s only early days. The same menu was offered for both lunch and dinner, with a room service menu that was similar. Although a menu “special” item was offered some evenings, we would have liked a few more menu changes. The breakfast menu was a little confusing as some items were never available.
Overall, a great place to stay with a pretty beach, great pool, beautiful views and happy staff. And yes, we’ll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValShoesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
857 reviews
6.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
752 reviews
14.7 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range: £269 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing