We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Miss Margorie”
Review of Marjorie's

Marjorie's
Ranked #21 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Marjories is the real taste of St Lucia, the very best of local food served in a unique location - Cas en Bas beach.We serve locally sourced and in season products and specialize in fish and chicken but we have much more on the menu than that.Come and try out the best kept secret in St Lucia and "lime" the day away watching the activity in and around the bay.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thanks Miss Margorie”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The day before leaving SLU' I ventured I from my space and made it down the beach to Marjorie"s. Welcoming smiles and conversation. Jason was so kind. Marjorie ensured I had some coconut water and oh boy.......amazing food. Fantastic hot sauce too. Meal was a great sendoff. Dessert of local sweets was super. Marjorie is so motherly. On way out she ensured I got my hot sauce to go.....on the house too. Thanks Marjorie. I will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkij N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    36
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“warm hospitality and delicious local food”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had the best meal of our entire trip at Marjorie's The restaurant is open, sits right on the beach and provides wonderful views while you dine. Marjorie, the owner, is delightful and came over to our table to see how we liked our meal and to tell stories. She's so fun to talk with. There is no menu, rather the waitress will tell you what's offered that night. I had swordfish served with standard local sides ( rice and peas, plantains, green bananas, breadfruit etc. ) It was a huge portion and absolutely delicious. Since there is no menu, there are also no set prices, so we had no idea what to expect. The prices seemed reasonable considering the great food and views, and the fact that it's practically on top of the Cotton Bay resort (For comparison, a plate of pasta at the resort bar was about the same price as what I ordered.) I wish I had found Marjorie's sooner in my trip, I would have eaten there every day!

Bring cash, they don't accept credit cards!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesserdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots of food, poor service”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

All the food is prepared fresh so be prepared to wait an hour for your meal. The waitress is cooking so don't expect to get any drinks until your food arrives. Nice out of the way location, however a lot was taken away from the atmosphere by all the guys there trying to sell the same tourist stuff you see in Castries.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, generous portions, charming Marjorie”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had a very nice lunch there with tasty grilled fish (King Fish and Tuna) and lots of side dishes. Marjorie was very nice and welcoming.

Thank you!

Sonia and Stéphane

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best lunch with beautiful view”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I visited St Lucia for the first time for our 30th Wedding Anniversary (April2013) and Cas En Bas beach was near our villa. I love the peace and quiet of the beautiful beach. I shopped and brought home some gifts for my 4 daughters. Plus we now have a unique Mahogany Carving with our wedding date on our mantle.Thank you Jonathan. Having lunch at Marjorie's was delicious and very special. Her crew were nice, friendly and made us feel at home. One day I had the shrimp creole and barbeque chicken on another, both were excellent. The dinner sized plate was filled with a delicious salad and grilled bananas and veggies, topped off with a free dessert including crystalized coconut and fudge. Prices are very reasonable for such delicious large portions of food. We did not need dinner after our huge lunch. Spending time meeting and talking with Marjorie was wonderful. We can't wait to return!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maudBabylonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marjorie's also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet Quarter, St. Lucia
 

Been to Marjorie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing