We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Enjoyment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Enjoyment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We recently visited EWI for the first time and can say with confidence that it won't be our last!

This was a vacation to remember, to say the least. We fully experienced the three "R's": Rest, Relaxation, Rejuvenation (and perhaps a little Rehabilitation after all those rum punches!). First off, the food: we consider ourselves "foodies" and we plan most of our vacations around the culinary experience. The food far surpassed our expectations, even after all of the glowing TripAdvisor reviews. Gourmet breakfasts featured homemade yogurt and health-drink-o-the-day, lunches brought paella and barbecued kingfish, and dinner...well, dinner was it's own beast. What an experience! Four course dinners were served with a smile by the local and professional St. Lucian staff. Wine accompaniments were always on par, with a varying Managers List available upon request.

We thoroughly appreciated the familial atmosphere between all of the guests. We enjoyed sharing in drinks and scrabble with fellow guests in the Bamboo Lounge before and after dinner. The community feel of the resort was obvious as guests often chose to invite others to join them at dinner.

We started days with both the yoga and pilates classes in the beautiful, open-air yoga pavilion and were pleased with the instruction. We spent many hours lounging on the beautiful natural sand beach, and barely had to leave our loungers to snorkel the underwater world of St. Lucia. There are two reefs right out front of the resort! The lush gardens are clearly maintained with love by Sylvanus and his crew - every day we saw them out working, even during rain! The rooms offered every amenity we needed and were meticulously cleaned each day by the wonderful housekeeping staff.

In fact, the entire staff is what made this trip so memorable for us. From the ladies greeting us at reception late at night with a bright smile and a choice of beverage, to Francis and his well-mannered security staff. The water sport boys, Kim & Johnny, gave us a lesson on the hobby cat and a couple thrilling rides. Titus, Hannah, Leron, Windel and other bar staff kept our drinks topped-up with premium liquor and were always ready to mix a new drink at our request. Henry & the restaurant staff, especially Eli and Mouse, made every dinning experience wonderful. We enthusiastically give EWI staff the three "F's": Flexible, Friendly and Fun!

Oh...and did we mention the food was amazing?

Thank you to all for such a great getaway. We can't to come "home" again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
A GREAT ENJOYMENT IN READING REVIEW – THANK YOU

We sincerely appreciate the most personalized review of your recent experiences at East Winds Inn – it is obvious you found a great many activities to compliment the relaxation time for which the resort is so well known. How pleasing to see that younger couples such as you can find so many positive activities to fill your days without even leaving the East Winds property. Thank you for pointing that out.

From your comments, it is clear that the resort is suitable for all ages, offering free yoga and palates classes with expert, experienced instructors, snorkeling on our own reefs, guided hobie cat sails, an assortment of active games such as table tennis, shuffleboard and even our own outdoor fitness trail with over 20 activity stations. It seems you partook in virtually all of these opportunities, as well as more passive elements such as the guided garden tour, bird watching and just relaxing on the pristine beach.

In addition to all these activities, are the food and beverage elements you so enthusiastically describe in your posting, covering breakfast, lunch and dinner. Your self professed classification as ‘foodies” suggests you have a critical eye and a sophisticated palate, which clearly were satisfied by everything on offer and stating – “did we mention the food was amazing?”

Again, the resounding compliments to all the staff – over 10 of them you mention by name and also refer to each and every department – underscores the core asset of East Winds Inn, the wonderful people of St. Lucia.


We appreciate your commitment to return to East Winds Inn – you should find everything just as it was, with perhaps some continuous minor improvements in our effort to provide a genuine Caribbean experience at “the small hotel with a big heart”.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    62
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
134
567
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Notts, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a fortnight at East Winds and honestly could have stayed much longer, if not forever! It was quite simply, just perfect for us.

Having never been to the Caribbean before we spent a significant amount of time researching islands, websites and customer reviews. After a while, we were almost blinded by the number of glamorous websites on show and expansive promises of Caribbean perfection. However, the beacons that drew us in were the many honest Trip Advisor reviews of East Winds and the careful and considered responses from George Reti, the owner.

It was very clear that the responses were not written by an office junior, nor were they formulaic platitudes, bloated with blinkered confidence in a showy hotel. Instead, George’s detailed and considered responses glowed with pride and happiness at the positive reviews. Although tempered with sadness at the less positive ones, he took each one on board as constructive criticism and instead viewed them as an opportunity to make East Winds even better for the next guests.

This visible passion and personal attention to detail from the owners is the reason we booked East Winds – if this much care is taken over both positive and critical reviews, then I felt sure that the same care and attention would be reflected strongly at the hotel – we weren’t let down in any way.

I’d liken East Winds to a swan gliding along the water…beautiful and elegant to look at, but there’s a lot of effort and work going on under the water that you don’t see, all of which combines to create effortless elegance. Thank you to George and Marilyn and all the wonderful staff at East Winds for all your hard work – it’s certainly paying off.

East Winds is blessed with a beautiful location, but the owners and staff continually work very hard on all the other elements of the hotel and are constantly striving for perfection: the lush, manicured gardens, sumptuous, varied food, comfortable, elegant rooms, cheerful, hardworking staff, there’s even Juliana’s small shop selling useful items such as suncreams. To be honest, I could crack open the dictionary for more superlatives and go on for pages, but just read some of the other reviews for more opinions.

From the moment we walked into East Winds we were welcomed, quite literally, by staff and guests alike with open arms and immediately made to feel at home. It has a warm, personal touch which is unlike any other hotel we’ve stayed in anywhere in the world.

Very quickly, East Winds becomes your home from home. In fact, if you’re looking for the hotel version of ‘Cheers’, where everyone knows your name, then the charming East Winds Inn is for you.

East Winds is refined and elegant, large enough to cope with your every need but small enough to really care about you and your happiness. The staff are relaxed and happy and love delighting the guests. Everyone wanted you to have the perfect holiday you were expecting and needed, and they bent over backwards to accommodate you. Any comments are taken on board with blinding speed. Nothing is too much trouble, and requests and issues are dealt with quickly and efficiently.

The mantra for the hotel is ‘timeless seaside elegance’ and through careful and subtle confidence, and the hotel certainly achieves this. East Winds is perfect for us. The hotel, people and island will linger happily in our memories for a long time, until we are able to return and experience another small slice of Caribbean heaven.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12, a deluxe room closer to the resort and beach. Apart from the falling mangoes o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leafytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
ELOQUENT REVIEW MOST APPRECIATED

The obvious time and effort you have taken to post such a detailed and lovely review of your recent visit to East Winds Inn could not be more appreciated. It is heartwarming to see how accurately you have captured the essence of the resort and the manner in which your outgoing personalities helped make the overall experience such a favourable one for not only you, but fellow guests as well as our staff.

Knowing that you are experienced travelers to many exotic locations worldwide, your comment “It has a warm, personal touch which is unlike any other hotel we’ve stayed in anywhere in the world” is indeed gratifying, as are your glowing remarks about the “sumptuous, varied food, lush, manicured gardens and comfortable, elegant rooms”. Of course, what really makes East Winds Inn, as you point out, are the “cheerful, hardworking staff”.

We are delighted that you have discovered East Winds Inn, and look forward to welcoming you back to “experience another small slice of Caribbean heaven”. What more could we ask for than that?

Thank you for your generous support of East Winds Inn.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We arrived from wintry Britain to East Winds Inn mid-February, for the sixth time, and on arrival it felt as if we had never been away. For us the anticipation of our holiday at East Winds is important and having followed the Tripadvisor reviews since we were here last time we knew that the place could not have changed for the worse. Did it deliver? It most certainly did! The atmosphere was the same, exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff, smiling and always helpful. The grounds were looking lush and beautiful. Good selection of wines, lovely champagne, meals as delicious as ever, if not even more so this year. We're not vegetarians, but tried many of the vegetarian options and they were excellent. Evening entertainment is not intrusive, just nice background music, exactly the way we want it. Our deluxe cottage spacious and with a comfortable bed, large bathroom, terrace overlooking the garden. Peace and tranquility. Yes, it was all there, as we remembered it. Even the hummingbird!

Others have described better than I can do it here all the wonderful things that make East Winds Inn to such a special place. We just want to say how happy we are that we found this absolute gem, somewhere to go for total relaxation and enjoyment, a 'problem free zone', somewhere to recharge our batteries after a year's hard work. Will we come back again? Certainly, our seventh trip to East Winds Inn has already been booked!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
LOVELY TO HAVE YOU COMING BACK

Thank you for the kind remarks in your recent posting outlining your sixth visit experience to East Winds Inn. The numerous superlatives you have used to describe your stay, the staff, your room, food and wines as well as the gardens, are most appreciated – especially the fact that you found everything the same, if not better, from your previous visits - even the hummingbird. Obviously, the best proof in all that is the fact you have already booked your seventh upcoming visit to your own special “problem free zone” – East Winds Inn.

What really captures our hearts however, is the manner in which you openly state “We just want to say how happy we are that we found this absolute gem…”, and to that, knowing who you are, we just want to say how happy we are to have you coming back! See you in 11 months, and thank you for all your support of East Winds Inn.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The headline probably says it all. We had a very nice time overall, and the value for money in terms of food and drink quality was very good. The rooms were charming in a rustic way, and the staff, in general, were lovely and attentive. The genuine local musical entertainment was also excellent. However.. if you are used to robes, slippers, beach service, a little more sophisitication and so on, you will be disappointed.
The only real complaint of the week was the manager - he did not even bother to introduce himself to us (or the people we got chatting to) at the manager's welcome cocktail party - surely a minimum for a manager at his own party?!
Our only visit to St Lucia before was to Anse Chastenet, and this does not compare at all favourably for us. However we appreciate that we can, and would/do prefer to pay more for what we want. Unfortunately we misinterpreted the rave reviews on this website in this regard.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UKexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
VERY GOOD VALUE – THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENTS

We appreciate your review of the time you spent at East Winds Inn last November, 2011 – particularly your candid comments pertaining to the fact that you had “a very nice time overall”, “the value for money in terms of food and drink quality was very good” and “the staff in general were lovely and attentive”. You also state that “the genuine local music entertainment was also excellent”.

Your comment that the “rooms were charming in a rustic way” is interesting, given that they are appointed with new McGuire furniture and lamps of the Caribbean style, imported Italian linens, museum framed original antique art and maps, high quality double lined curtains with local fabric cushion accents and many modern amenities depending on the room classification. Your room also had a hidden flat screen TV and DVD player, as well as an I pod docking station and free Wi Fi throughout the resort.. Also provided are professional chrome hairdryers, personal make-up mirrors and beautifully framed full length mirrors to check appearance from head to toe.

Every room is also supplied with two Frette bathrobes of 100% pique cotton embroidered with the East Winds logo, which at one time could be purchased at Harrods in London for some 150 pounds each – certainly meeting the definition of sophistication. In terms of beach service, as there are four (4) bars on the property – two of which are right on the beach - plus each room has its own mini-bar which is stocked daily, access to any type of drink is always nearby and convenient. Because “sophistication and so on” is such a subjective term, it is difficult for us to comment on. However, we will confirm that we do not have white gloved butlers prancing about the property with artificial accents pretending to be something they are not. Rather, we have friendly and gregarious St. Lucians who are eager to please in the most natural and honest way they know how – which has given us the excellent reputation we enjoy today. None of these people or our management team received a single negative comment from you during your stay, yet you have graded us relatively harshly under many subcategories for no apparent reason. The General Manager of the resort was traveling to London the morning of November 22, 2011, and was therefore unfortunately absent for virtually your entire visit.

Finally, you have indicated that this was your second visit to St. Lucia, first staying at another well established resort - Anse Chastanet – for which we too have great respect and share a mutual sales representative. Underlying the subjectivity of this all, it is only fair to point out that for 2011, the year in which you visited East Winds Inn, we received a 99.1 percent Customer Satisfaction Index rating on this website, as compared to 91.1 for Anse Chastanet on a similar number of reviews. This represents the general public’s viewpoint - not ours – and should be taken into account.

We appreciate your continued interest in East Winds Inn, and hope to have you return as so many of our guests do to enjoy timeless seaside elegance.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Mary Bourne UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Reading 'Complacent' and 'A great disappointment' came as a total surprise to us, is this the same East Winds Inn that we have just enjoyed ?
Our week was SO good, we stayed on for another three days!
Why do people want to change anything? The hotel was more than we expected, from the moment of our arrival to the wave of goodbye, we could not have been treated better. Happy staff who were always prepared to go the 'extra mile' for our comfort, wonderful wild garden full of birds, uncrowded beach, more than enough delicious food, varied wines and excellent rum cocktails. All this accompanied by a variety of talented musicians, absence of 'fire-eaters' and 'limbo-dancers' made for a truly relaxing holiday!
Thank you East Winds, please don't change anything as we will definitely be returning along with the other 99.1% !!
Max and Diana

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
THANK YOU FOR NOTICING THE SAME EAST WINDS INN

The positive posting of your recent stay at East Winds Inn is SO appreciated – your presence as wonderful guests will remain a fond memory for our staff and fellow guests until your promised return next year. It was gratifying to see that you recognized so many of the aspects which help make East Winds what it is for most people, and the comment “The hotel was more than we expected, from the moment of our arrival to the wave of goodbye, we could not have been treated better”, underscores the type of guests that you were. We also appreciate the excellent photographs of the hobbie cat and Eric which you posted with your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back and allowing everyone at East Winds to go that “extra mile” for you once again – we promise not to change the small hotel with a big heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

As we are currently staying on the island and have availed ourselves to one of East Winds' greatest amenities, the dining experience, we feel compelled, in light of an extreme minority of recent negative reviews, to post our thoughts. First off, both the ownership and management strive to create the perfect experience for their guests. The fact that perfection is unattainable to all, we believe, is not in their mind set. It is evident that they work hard each and every day to offer the perfect and complete guest experience. The fact that Mr. Reti, the owner, is sensitive to every guest review, judiciously replying to every point made on this board, shows that he and his wife are serious hoteliers, striving for only the best possible and impossible for their guests. Mr. Leach, the General Manager, has always shown interest and availability to us and our guests. It is evident that he runs a professionally tight ship while displaying a caring demeanor. The resort and its guests are blessed to have such a hands-on gentleman at the helm. The East Winds provides an experience. It is not an experience for all. There is no marble, there are no show girls. It is not inexpensive, but for the perceived value involved, we believe it is spot on. We consistently tell people that their are plenty of other establishments on the island that are equally priced and do not offer nearly the attention to detail, quality of food and beverage, service, and entertainment. Comments that were made about staff having egos or not smiling are perplexing to us. In fact, our first night, while sitting at the bar, Mousey made a point to come out of the restaurant to greet and welcome us back to the island with a big smile and outstretched arms. In regard to the comment about the wines poured at dinner, as someone who is fortunate enough to make a living by being in the wine business, we completely disagree. Our guests the other night in fact, commented that their was only one problem with the Champagne; it was too good! We have always found the wines to be well chosen and more than appropriate for the price that we pay. And, as Mr. Reti mentioned, there is a reserve list available if the wines of the evening are not suitable to your palate. We could go on and on about the food and service but it is not necessary as there are so many testimonies to that effect already on this board. Thank You East Winds!
-J.P. and Sarah

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JPKACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORTIVE REVIEW

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to outline your positive experiences at East Winds Inn. Your sweeping, generous comments pertaining to our staff and management are clearly based on a level of satisfaction which you have come to expect at East Winds Inn. We thank you for acknowledging that so eloquently and completely.

It is true that the entire team strives for perfection and pays attention to detail, while at the same time, does not ignore the friendly, personal touch required to keep our guests returning time and time again. You are also correct in stating that East Winds provides an overall “experience” – as we like to say, it is not about doing – it is all about being.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are grateful for your continued support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Oh dear ! We've been going to East Winds for several years and still intend to do so, so lets start with a positive and say that it is a lovely lovely place, super staff and really takes some beating however.............things are not quite as good as they used to be, and it is such a shame to let standards drop, so in writing this review, I hope that George and Marilyn take heed as I'm sure they will, and stop the rot before it gets any worse............ A few moans - In previous years the beaches used to be swept every morning so 'debris' from the day before disappeared, this was either done by the garden staff or the two beach boys, Johnny and Kim, or both. A very perfunctory sweep near the restaurant and beach bar was noted on one or two occasions in a two week period. I don't appreciate having to pick up the fag ends, around where I wish to sit, that the night time security staff who 'rest' on the beach lounges, have dropped during the night. This happened every morning and also glasses and tea cups and empty water bottles were not collected from the tables near the beach lounges. The semi circle of buoys which is a delight to swim out to proved to be a bit of a shock as curtains of seaweed were hanging from it with small crabs inhabiting same, which delighted in a new venue, namely my back - not appreciated. There were several weeks if not months of growth there, not at all nice. This was regularly cleaned and kept clear by the beach staff in other years, what has happened ? On mentioning it to Kim I have to say that by the afternoon it had been sorted (by him) and was then weed free, but I shouldn't have to be doing this. Who is supervising ???

The gardens were as ever a delight, BUT not receiving the TLC that has always been apparent in previous years. The grass was left to get very long before being cut, in fact in places was up above my knee and made the garden look very unloved to put it kindly. It was very windy while we were there, more so than usual, so a lot of leaves were lying around,more so than usual, again in previous years these would have been swept up straight away, whereas this was not the case and piles of leaves were gathering in mounds under flowering shrubs and noone was doing anything about them. The pool was permanently covered in floating debris, which I have to add was cleared several times by me and other guests ! We just feel that there is no one in charge or generally supervising this aspect of East Winds and if there is they aren't doing their job properly and it is letting the resort down. Small things I know, but lots of little things become big and they are important and make one feel disgruntled, and you don't want that on holiday do you.

Dining - just a small moan you'll be glad to hear. In the lounge before dinner, poor Hannah (and a delightful chap I forget his name) try their best to serve everyone with drinks, in order of their arrival, but oh dear, what a long wait, not their fault, Henry looks on, why doesn't he help or at least get them some help, night after night this happens and we really found it very frustrating to watch. Food as always was very good, but why oh why do they overcook the lobsters, and that is not just me moaning, but several other guests as well, it makes them so tough that they are inedible. This is a suggestion not a moan ! Would it be possible to have a cold alternative to 'stews' at lunch time, something like a quiche, not all of us want a big meal with meat and veg, just something light to have with the lovely salads. Last but not least, Mouse is a lovely fellow but can you get him to smile, it would make the dining room so much happier !! Because of these little moans I feel that things are not quite as they should be for the price we are paying, and on tactfully mentioning this to the Manager it was felt that not much interest was shown and I was made to feel quilty for even mentioning my few moans, so can't give you an 'Excellent' as I would have liked to do - may be next year, heres hoping.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank piggywiggy4571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
NO COMPLACENCY AT EAST WINDS INN

Thank you for the review of your recent visit to East Winds Inn, which is more akin to a list of items you might have mentioned to our extensive management team, as opposed to posting them on this web-site. Notwithstanding all our efforts to identify you and the source of your various comments, we have been unable to do so, as no member of our management team can recall a discussion about your specific concerns. To clarify, we keep a log record of any issues or complaints received from any guests to our management team, and there are none recorded relating to any of these items. Nonetheless, all of your comments have been addressed.

Your acknowledgement that the resort is “a lovely, lovely place, super staff and really takes some beating” (the double lovely is noted), as well as the fact you intent to return next year, is extremely gratifying for all of us. While we greatly value all guest comments, as you appear to be a many time repeat guest of East Winds Inn and clearly have an appreciation for all of its positive qualities, we take your comments and suggestions very seriously – especially those of a constructive nature. In fact, many of the items you identified had already been addressed prior to your posting.

It should be highlighted that East Winds Inn is one of the few resorts in St. Lucia which has retained all their staff numbers during these trying economic times. There have been no changes or cutbacks in service of any nature. With a staff of 84 persons for a 30 room hotel, we have now implemented more frequent and overlapping duties associated with the beach area, which has always been a focus for the resort. Similarly, as you point out, “the gardens were as ever a delight”. A great percentage of our guests return on account of our verdant gardens, and many of those who return are also avid gardeners – making them well aware of all the variables that can challenge a gardener – especially in the tropics. Our gardeners are not only maintaining, but also regularly replacing and adding to the gardens from our own nursery and outside sources. This will be highlighted in the soon to be released new Garden Tour Guide Book featuring over 100 plant species, to be found in all guest rooms in the next few weeks.

Our friendly and determined staff look forward to greeting you next year, when you will feel comfortable in giving East Winds Inn the five star rating which you are hoping for, in recognition of our striving for continued excellence.

Thank you for your ongoing support of East Winds Inn - where “Timeless Seaside Elegance” will always be our passion.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
7.1 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, West Indies, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing