We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very,very special place.”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Eastwinds Inn is an amazing place. The cottages, set in beautiful botanical gardens, are well appointed and kept clean and tidy by the housekeeping staff. The guests are always a mixture of different ages, with many returning guests. New comers, who say they never return to a place more than once as there are so many different places to visit in the world are soon heard to be changing their minds and saying they will return. What makes it so special? It has to be down to the staff, who are so friendly and professional, and do everything possible to make sure everyone has a good time. I really love having dinner in the beautiful candlelit dinning room just by the sea. Choosing from the extensive menu is very difficult and takes a great deal of thought whilst sipping a glass or two of champagne. The gentle lapping of the sea, the quiet buzz of conversation, an excellent meal, frequently topped up glasses and wonderful background music makes a perfect evening after a hard day on the beach! We have visited the very special Eastwinds Inn many times----we are extremely lucky!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SevemoaksKd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

A VERY, VERY SPECIAL REVIEW – THANK YOU

What can one say about a review that begins – “East Winds Inn is an amazing place”? Other than ”Thank You” many times over, we would also like to say how pleased we are that you have been continually satisfied during all your visits to the small resort with a big heart. There is no need to repeat what you have said about the cottages set in the beautiful botanical gardens, which are cleaned to the highest of standards, the variety of interesting guests, the number of repeat visitors and so forth.

As you so rightfully point out, what makes East Winds Inn so special is the staff – “who are so friendly and professional, and do everything possible to make sure everyone has a good time.” Yes, there are many other positive qualities of the resort, but what gives any holiday destination its true soul are the people who work there to ensure that you have the best experience possible. And from your lovely review, it is obvious that you have captured that element as one of the main contributing factors to your numerous visits in the past, for which we are extremely grateful. “The gentle lapping of the sea, the quiet buzz of conversation, an excellent meal, frequently topped up glasses and wonderful background music makes a perfect evening after a hard day on the beach” – that epitomizes East Winds Inn and we thank you for your insightful comments.

As you state, you have “visited East Winds Inn many times-----we are extremely lucky”. To that, all which needs to be said, is so are we! Thank you for your ongoing support, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had booked well in advance as a celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary, We had done much research, read many good reviews, our hopes for a wonderful holiday were very high. So to have all our expectations so vastly exceeded was so amazing. A helicopter ride from the air port opened a window on paradise followed by a short private car ride to the East Winds Inn started this wonderful experience. Cold towels and a choice of fresh fruit juices and champagne greet you on arrival and after a sort walk to our ocean view room we were settled in with the timely arrival of our luggage and were ready for a dip in the Caribbean Sea.

Service is total, what ever you want, whenever you want it, with a big smile, no fuss and quickly delivered. Fresh flowers, a bowl of fruit, drinks to the the highest standards 24 hours a day. Sparklingly cleaned rooms every day with soft towels for the shower and large beach towels with sumptuous soaps and lotions. Masses of wardrobe space, a fridge, tea and coffee making, a desk, high speed internet and quality bathroom fittings compliment the huge double bed, picturesque room and beautiful paintings. The ocean suite we had had a second equally wonderful room with a separate toilet, dressing area and washing stand. Both rooms had sea-views with doors opening onto a very private patio complete with a shower for rinsing sand and seawater and very high quality loungers and table. Just 50 strides to the sea. Each morning from our bed we watched humming birds sip the nectar from the abundant flowers around the patio.

The staggering beauty of the beach front restaurant is matched only by the quality of the food. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are gastronomic wonders. Such taste and variety and so elegantly served with a range of top draw wines from the new and old worlds. Dinner is accompanied by musical gems from local artists such as steel drums, saxophonists and a pianist (they have a Steinway Grand piano). Late evenings are quiet but an opportunity sample a variety of spirits and liquors and to a converse with other guests in the oriental style lounge area.

This was a truly fantastic holiday for both of us and our 16 year old son who made many friends and enjoyed the numerous beach facilities. I am sure we will return. It is perfection, a distillation of all that you could wish for on summer holiday.

Many thanks to Gareth and his team.

Room Tip: All 30 rooms are of the highest standard. 4 with ocean views and 26 with the most beautiful gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FantomFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

THANKS FOR THE UNDERSTATED PERFECT REVIEW

“To have all our expectations so vastly exceeded was so amazing” – this you posted after a great deal of research relative to where you would spend the specialness of your 25th anniversary and decided on East Winds Inn. Thank you so much for all of the wonderful comments about your holiday and how it was all you dreamt of and more.

Statements such as -“the service is total… whatever you want, whenever you want it, with a big smile, no fuss and quickly delivered.” – “Sparklingly cleaned rooms every day with soft towels for the shower and large beach towels with sumptuous soaps and lotions” – “The staggering beauty of the beach front restaurant is matched only by the quality of the food” and on and on…..we cannot thank you enough for sharing all of these observations with existing and would be guests of East Winds Inn.

Then, to summarize by concluding – “I am sure we will return. It is perfection, a distillation of all that you could wish for on summer holiday”…... that is satisfaction personified, which we appreciate ever so much. Please do come back and relive the experience as so many of our guests do, for there is only one East Winds Inn, and now you have discovered it.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Prior to our 10 night stay , we got home on 3rd Nov we had visited Barbados (Mango Bay Hotel 3 times) and Grenada (Spice island resort) I will attempt some comparisons in my comments as I noted a question from someone on tripdvisor about this.

East Winds is fantastic for a pure relaxing holiday, however; I made an error in booking during the UK's school half term so there were more children about than would be usual (we are retired so this was a real error on my part), most were very well behaved and added to the holiday, there was an exception as one family had two very ill mannered noisy boys I dubbed them the 'Woosters'.
In terms of availability of Sunbeds, even when full there were plenty and there was not so much towel reserving as at Mango Bay, however; there was some for the sun loungers on the beach.

The environment and the type of people it attracts lead to the friendliest bunch of fellow holidaymakers I have ever encountered, with groups chatting at the pool , beach and bars. This far exeeded experiences at Mango Bay (people kept to themselves) and the Spice Island Resort (snooty guests). This is odd as the financial outlay is very similar. I can ony commend the East Winds Inn for creating that environment.

The food was very good and in my view edges the other hotels mentioned above.

East Winds run free Yoga (Iyengar by Jill Hagar) and Pilates classes in a beautiful open sided hall, these were brilliant even if you had never done it before, there is also a fitness trail which is really good for beginners and experienced alike.

Bugs are an issue and the hotel tries hard with Fogging and room spraying, however despite spraying ourselves with enough DEET I brought of my own to kill a small child, we still got bitten, we then reverted to a brand sold by the hotel gift shop and things improved, so yes take your own, but then use what they have found works locally. I stress this is not a Hotel issue its a carribean issue at the end of their rainy season and St Lucia is verdant !

We were in a Delux room and had aircon, apparently some rooms dont have this essential item I would not enjoyed the break without a cool haven to go back to.
However, even with that the rooms seem to have a strange design feature , the bathroom had an open air shower (bug nets at the window dont worry), the issue with this is that that meant the bathroom was at ambient temperature and humidity ( 28-30 degs and 90% post showering), this meant it was hard to get dry after showering. I would say that the rooms at Mango bay and Spice Island (best) are better.

We ventured out of the hotel and found that St Lucia is not so full by far, of interesting things to do as in Barbados.
The capital Castries is like 3rd world dump I was attempted scammed 3 times and borderline racially abused twice. For example as my wife and I walked the markets cries of 'Icicles' followed us around to warn stallholders that we were coming, not the cleverest of signals and insulting, the hotel staff confirmed that I was right in our interpretation.
The hotel booked Safari tour however was fine, the Botanical Gardens are beautiful, the waterfall we stood under was a great experience and the volcano mudbaths were also a great thing to do, but apart from those and maybe Rodney bay, St Lucia is much quieter than Barbados so its a question of what type of holiday you are looking for.

Finally the Hotel Staff, I would say that East Winds Staff would be tough to beat for friendliness and are level on service, they just edge Mango Bay and beat the Spice Islands resort not on service but on heartfelt friendliness.

Room Tip: Only stay in an aircon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scranl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

A GREAT REVIEW – THANK YOU

It is always gratifying to receive such a thoughtful review from a first time visitor to East Winds Inn who has had the benefit of staying at other Caribbean resorts in the past. While we are not generally interested in subjective comparison with other hotels as we know that each one is somewhat different, has its own positive points and appeals to various markets, it can prove interesting in terms of which aspects of a holiday stand out in a traveler’s mind. In this regard, and with a great deal of consistency, the guests of East Winds Inn, further reinforced by your generous comments, focus on the quality and genuine friendliness of the East Winds staff. As you state – “I would say that East Winds Staff would be tough to beat for friendliness and are level on service” – that is a true compliment and everyone thanks you for your frankness.

Similar accolades are awarded by you to the level of cuisine at East Winds Inn – “The food was very good and in my view edges the other hotels mentioned”, as well as some of the other facilities such as our yoga studio and fitness trail – “free Yoga (Iyengar by Jill Hagar) and Pilates classes in a beautiful open sided hall, these were brilliant even if you had never done it before, there is also a fitness trail which is really good for beginners and experienced alike” . Finally, you comment on a most important aspect of any holiday, and that is the nature of your fellow guests. To this, you opine - “The environment and the type of people it attracts lead to the friendliest bunch of fellow holidaymakers I have ever encountered, with groups chatting at the pool , beach and bars. I can only commend the East Winds Inn for creating that environment.”

Thank you for such a detailed review and the numerous positive recognitions of East Winds Inn. Given your obvious level of satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President









George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This holiday did not get off to the best of starts...The Virgin Flight from Gatwick called in to Bridgetown, Barbados and was therefore over an hour later than usual getting into St Lucia. This led to delays through immigration as other incoming flights were cleared ahead of us. The helicopter transfer involved a 45 minute delay....Then...

All this tension was forgotten as we arrived at East Winds Inn, to be greeted by Reception staff (and Thomas the Cat) like old friends. Most of the wonderful staff at East Winds are still there and are ever helpful. The new members of staff, particularly Miriam and Fina, were soon our friends too. The mood for our 2 week stay was soon lifted even further as we met up with returning guests who were also old friends. This is what staying at East Winds Inn is all about. Don't expect an impersonal, third rate hotel of the global branded variety. East Winds Inn is in a class of its own!

Life for us soon develops into a well practised routine for my wife and I.....Paulas's excellent breakfast. On to the beach or to the pool. A cleansing beer at 11.00am. Out on a kayak or Hobie Cat for an hour. Sample the Cocktail of the day. Lunch with the attentive restaurant staff. Relax for a couple of hours. Afternoon tea by the pool. Another cocktail or "sundowner". Relax, shower and change for dinner. Meet up with chums in the bar for a glass or two of bubbly. Excellent 4 course dinner. An Après dinner digestif or two. Then back to the room for a good night's sleep.

This routine may appear to some to be dreary...but add to it the friendliness of everyone, and each day a new contest to see who had the 'loudest' Hawaiian shirt, and you start to appreciate the fact that there is no pressure and relaxation is therefore so natural.

There are many trips available around the island which can provide variety, and activity, and these can be arranged via reception or Natacha, the Virgin Holiday Rep. Both are extremely helpful.

As well as the "October Gang", ie those of us who had visited several (or many) times before at this time of year, there were also a number of Honeymooners from both the U K and U S. The mix of age groups from old retirees like us to the younger generation was never an issue. The staff were always on hand to make special occasions, like birthdays, or anniversaries truly memorable.

It has been said in many previous reviews that the standards in the restaurant, gardens, rooms, reception, watersports, kitchen and security are superb. This is true and they all mix together to lay the foundations for the relaxing, chilled out sort of holiday that draws people back time and time again.

We understand that the Executive Chef Thomaslav was away on vacation during our stay. The remaining Kitchen staff, and Georges in particular, ensured that there was no dip in quality.

What about the bar staff? Titus and Kirwen were memorable for their B52s. Windel as ever was always smiling and Titus also developed a new cocktail known as the Doddle....This was devised with our friends from Glasgow in mind and involved setting fire to the contents of the cocktail glass and drinking through a straw, hoping to empty the glass before the straw ignited! It must be a Scottish thing!!

Any downsides? Only the visit of Diamonds International to the Manager's Champagne Reception....leading to another addition to my wife's jewellery collection and another hit to the holiday budget!

So...How to sum up?

Sometime the weather can be "moist"...but St Lucia after all is a tropical rain forest island.

From the very top...the owners Mr and Mrs Reti, through Mr Gareth Leach, the General Manager, all the way through the 80 or so staff at East Winds, they all have it as their mission to ensure that every guest is given a holiday to remember. This, they achieved in spades!

And yes....we're already thinking about coming back fo what will be our 7th visit next year...in October!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BillandPat1653506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

YET ANOTHER GEM OF A REVIEW – THANK YOU!

The wonderful review of your two week holiday at East Winds Inn – your sixth to be precise – has more meaning and appreciation than you could possibly know. A sincere thank you from everyone at East Winds who knows you as well as they do, and who value your friendship and ongoing support of the “small resort with the big heart” - including Thomas the cat.

Because your posting had so many interesting aspects and favourable comments, it is difficult to single out any one element which we would like to focus on. The fact you know so many of the staff by name is encouraging for those who work so hard to please all our guests, but perhaps what we find most fulfilling is that you clearly are enjoying yourself in the most relaxing manner possible. This is an art that not everyone in our modern society is capable of, and the manner in which you have recounted your daily activities shows us that you really do appreciate what East Winds Inn is all about. To state that “East Winds is in a class all of its own” truly is rewarding, and we will continue to do our best to maintain that reputation and experience for your future visits.

Thank you for being such a great supporter for all of us, and giving us the chance to continue to meet your holiday needs. The ongoing, repeat nature of your visits is the greatest reward we could ask for, and hopefully, we will see you again next October - with the entire October Gang!

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Staying at East Winds is such a treat. My boyfriend and I badly needed a very relaxing holiday and this place definitely exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe cottage which was furnished to high standards and extremely clean. I don't think I have ever experienced such amazing standards of service and I really hope all of the staff are rewarded as they are extremely astute, empathetic and good company. I think, in fact, they should be hired to train staff in the UK on customer service standards : ) The food is definitely 5/5, I loved the evening four course meal and very happy with the wine on offer. The cocktails were delicious, (I very much wish I had one to hand on this rainy October evening), and the entertainment was just right, in particular the band on a Friday night which was our favourite night with the BBQ (fantastic lobster and steak etc). It's definitely the place to go to really unwind and do as you please. We met some really lovely people there and St Lucia is a beautiful island with justifiably proud and knowledgeable residents. We went to Redruit beach in Rodney Bay for the day and that is a beautiful white sand beach, we also did the catamaran trip which is great as you get to see a lot of the island, the mud bath made my skin feel amazing afterwards!
Basically this place has true class which a lot of other all-inclusive resorts lack. You should go there, at least once!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RonniePrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

THANKS FOR THE RELAXATION CENTRAL REVIEW

To begin your complimentary review by stating that East Winds Inn “definitely exceeded our expectations” is a great start to a stellar posting. The deluxe cottage you occupied “was furnished to high standards and extremely clean” – this, thanks to our excellent housekeeping team who pride themselves in doing a good job in preparing all rooms for guest arrival as well as during their stay.

“I don’t think I have ever experienced such amazing standards of service…the staff are extremely astute, empathetic and good company . In fact, they should be hired to train staff in the UK on customer service standards”. That is a powerful statement which goes a long way toward job satisfaction, which for many, is a good portion of the reward they seek. The fact that so many of the staff have remained employed at East Winds Inn for over 10, 15, 20 or even 30 years, speaks volumes for their sense of pride in what they do, as well as the manner in which they are treated by the guests as well as the resort itself. We thank you for noting such an important part of a quality hotel offering.

Your positive comments about the food (5/5), the wine, cocktails and entertainment are all so gratifying, as well as your line “It’s definitely the place to go to really unwind and do as you please”. The obvious appreciation of St. Lucia as a beautiful country, as well as its exceptional people is pleasing to read. Ending your review by suggesting “this place has true class which a lot of other all-inclusives lack….. You should go there, at least once!” – that is more than we could ask for.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to seeing you – at least twice!

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The answer to this can be summed up in a few words ... within a couple of minutes of arriving at East Winds it was as though we had never left 12 months previously. When you return to a hotel you have visited before there is a bit of apprehension that there will have been changes from previous visits, any changes from the previous year have not changed our minds about East Winds at all. Everything was as perfect as is had been on our previous visits, right from the cold towel and drink on arrival to the send off on leaving. So what makes East Winds so special? Importantly for us, the resort is tranquil, the feeling of peace is a far cry from the hussle and bustle of so much in life these days. It has been said that a organisation's major asset is its people. This is certainly true at East Winds. Everyone at East Winds, from Gareth down, strives to make your stay as relaxed and memorable as possible. It's difficult to single people out, but there are a few that deserve a mention; Titus, your sense of humour is wicked and you mix a mean drink (and my Hawaiian shirts have been put away for another year); Hannah, how on earth do you remember all those drinks in a round? We trust the cocktail competition in Antigua went well and you did East Winds proud with Velvet Oak; Windell, your smile is infectious; Elie and all the dining room staff, as efficient and happy as ever; Francis Reynolds, we always enjoy the chats on the beach. And Claudius, your happy smile all day long always makes us smile. The cuisine and wines are as good as ever, in fact we thought the presentation was better than in the past. Tomislav, you and your culinary team are a credit to East Winds. And many thanks to all the unseen staff in guardening, housekeeping and maintenance who work so hard in the background.

And what else? The entertainment in the evenings, not at all obtrusive but adding to the ambiance of the resort. The rooms are very well presented and furnished (and the A/C works!), in fact the matresses are the most comfortable we have experienced in any hotel. We particularly like the way the cottages are laid out in the grounds, there is always something to see from the balcony - the grapefruit tree in front of our cottage was a magnet for birds. The grounds are kept in tip top condition, well tended and not a spot of litter to be seen. The beach is well kept and swept each day and sunbeds are plentiful. It was nice to see that this year there were a number of younger people staying, many of whom were honeymooners. From speaking to them it was clear they were impressed by East Winds and a number said they intended to return. And then there were old friends who had returned, Tommy and Karen, Bill and Pat, Ronnie and Helen, good to see you all again and perhaps next year?? Oh and one more person to mention, our "lodger" , Thomas the Hotel Cat, who decided our balcony would do for 2 nights!

Our flight home was cancelled by British Airways, who put us up in a hotel in Marigot Bay overnight, and this made us realise even more why East Winds is so special. If you want a hotel with entertainment and noise until the early hours of the morning then there are other hotels in St Lucia to go to. If you want to chill and relax in friendly surroundings with good food and wine and impeccable service and let the outside world carry on at 100 mph, then East Winds in the place for you. East Winds is a real star and George and Marilyn should be proud of that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onh0lidayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

WHY ARE WE SO LUCKY TO HAVE HAD YOU BACK AGAIN?

They say the true way to differentiate between a great hotel and a mediocre one, is the level of repeat business it receives. Your testament to the fact that you have visited East Winds Inn on numerous occasions is a great compliment for everyone at the resort, and we thank you for that. More importantly however, you have noted that if anything, despite your understandable apprehension for disappointment based on wonderful past memories, your experiences have actually improved the more times you have stayed at East Winds Inn. That is a true accolade which we greatly appreciate.

Noting that the entire team, from GM Gareth Leach to the hard working gardeners and housekeeping staff, is the resort’s “major asset” is most gracious of you, as is the specific singling out of certain staff members such as Titus, Hannah, Windel, Elie and the dining room staff. Even mentioning our chief of security, Francis Reynolds, as well as newer staff members such as Claudius demonstrates your involvement at the resort, which is certainly part of the experience.

Recognition towards our chef Tomislav is also a nice gesture, as he has worked very hard at East Winds Inn over the past two years to bring our culinary offerings to even greater heights. He certainly takes pride in his presentations using only the freshest of ingredients and techniques. Thank you for noticing that as well.

We are honoured that you have chosen to become a regular repeat visitor to East Winds Inn. Knowing that there are so many alternatives throughout the Caribbean, the commitment you make has significant meaning to everyone who tries to make each and every holiday an unforgettable one. Each member of staff thanks you from the bottom of their hearts for believing in them and entrusting your valuable vacation time in their capable, yet humble hands. Even Thomas the cat.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After 4 nights at Jalousie Plantation and 4 nights at Ti Kaye Village (see separate reviews), surely a week at East Winds could not match those standards. But they certainly did, exceeding our already high expectations.

Once again, the great thing is the contrast in character; this is a really relaxed, spacious all-inclusive property. On arrival we were greeted by two charming receptionists with cool towels and cooler drinks, and by Gareth Leach, the General Manager. (Why does nobody mention him in all the compliments? The standards are set by the owners and then maintained by the management, and that's Gareth).

We were shown to our beach-side suite and were delighted. Stepping out onto the lawn and then the beach each morning was a delight. The bedroom and sitting room were very well appointed, mini-bar well stocked (although very small glasses if you wanted a beer), good bathroom, two wardrobes with loads of hangers.

The beach and gardens were lovely and there were more than enough sun loungers even when the hotel is full. The pool area is very pleasant and the swim-up self-service bar was popular, as one would expect.

Reviewers have used many superlatives for the restaurant, and I would agree with all of them. Paula does excellent work at breakfast (even fried bread if you ask nicely) and there is always a good selection of buffet dishes at lunch, while dinner is an experience in itself. Excellent food, great wines (although we mainly drank the good local Piton beer), a variety of entertainment, including the (in)famous Steinway piano (the piano tuner must have his work cut out to keep it in such good shape). Their barbecue is great.

Both the bars were really welcoming and fun. And to get a single malt whisky (Glenmorangie) on an all-inclusive deal is pretty good. The fact is, you really don't want for anything - if your waiter brings you after-dinner coffee in the bar, he or she tries to anticipate your drink preference (if any) and gets it without needing to fetch another member of staff. Don't call it multi-tasking; it's better than that.

We didn't have anything to do with the Pilates or Yoga, but we did walk the fitness trail and were most impressed, and might just give it a go next time!

This is a very special property, made even more so by all the boys and girls who work so hard and are so enthusiastic to anticipate your needs and make sure you are having a nice time.

We cannot express any preference between the three hotels we stayed in because of their differences, but one thing is for sure: they are a pretty special bunch.

Many thanks to the island of St Lucia for making two old people very happy.

Room Tip: Beach-front suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YHH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

EXCEEDING EXPECTATIONS REVIEW DOES JUST THAT – THANK YOU

When a Senior Reviewer on this website arrives at the number one rated all-inclusive resort in the Caribbean, and number three in the world, after already visiting two reputable hotels on the island of St. Lucia, one can imagine the level of expectation brought to bear on East Winds Inn. To then have that guest publically state that we “exceeded expectations” is a true accomplishment, for which we are so grateful for being given the opportunity.

It is not necessary to repeat all the wonderful things stated about St. Lucia and East Winds Inn in this exceptional and eloquent review, other than to read it carefully a few times over, as there are many little hidden gems throughout. The fact that the reviewer has called out Gareth Leach, the General Manager of the establishment for over 20 years, is a true compliment – in fact, he questions why more people do not. All the excellent superlatives and adjectives used throughout this review give it such character and feeling, you certainly have captured the essence of East Winds Inn. However, I can’t ignore the line “This is a very special property, made even more so by all the boys and girls who work so hard and are so enthusiastic to anticipate your needs and make sure you are having a nice time.”

We thank you wholeheartedly for such a kind review, and are extremely pleased that you left with the feeling you might one day return. Certainly, we will anticipate that moment, and ensure that your memories are re-lived to the standard which you expect and deserve as a guest of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
962 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
7.0 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,281 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
755 reviews
14.9 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: £514 - £925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, West Indies, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing