We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location for a Wedding”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic location for a Wedding”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

East Winds certainly exceeded our expectations. We chose to get married during our stay and the staff could not have made this a more stress-free occasion. They took care of everything and provided a fabulous romantic location. Credit to Glenda, the wedding planner, to Sylvanus, the head gardener who arranged the flowers and site, and to Ashley the photographer who was very professional and produced some superb photos. Apart from the wedding, which was of course a highlight, East Winds gave us a free room upgrade, assigning us the suite with access directly to the beach.
The food was of a high standard, and couldn't be faulted. We particularly enjoyed the excellent fresh seafood. As others have said, this is a superbly relaxing place to stay made so by the welcoming, professional and extremely friendly staff. We are already planning to be back for a future anniversary.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazadilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post a lovely review following your wedding at East Winds, we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future for the anniversary celebration.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    64
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
597
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fantastic is the only word.The staff were attentive and the food was excellent. The variety of fish dishes was amazing and Auntie Paula's breakfast omelettes were worth the trip on their own.

Loved the cocktails too.

We will certainly be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post a review, and another positive plug for Auntie Paula's corner.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Where do i start,, A huge thank you first of all to all the wonderful staff who work at this hotel, A credit to the hotel in their manner, friendliness very happy to help with any thing day or night. We just got married at this hotel and what a beautiful day it was. The garden took us around the grounds so we could choose where we wanted to get married. We chose the beach as it was quite close to our sea view room. What a magical day it was. We met some wonderful people who where staying there too. We had a couple that have become our friends from the states who were our witness for our wedding. It was a marvellous beautiful day. The photographer took some beautiful photos for us. The food in this hotel was very good every night. The afternoon scones i adored as i would skip lunch after a large breakfast and then have evening meal which was always tasty. A b b que once a week with huge prawns, steak, fish etc all cooked in front of you. The sea was calm and very inviting.. The pool bar was one on its own as we have never been any where where you help yourself to drinks. All named brands too. All in all a Superb place to stay. Thank you to each and every one of you for a great 2 week holiday. So looking forward to returning some day. xx

Room Tip: sea view rooms are beautiful.lovely balcony too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HAUGHLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review following your wedding at East Winds, it is highly appreciated.

We look forward to your return some time in the future for an anniversary celebration!

Gareth Leach
GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently spent 11 nights at East Winds Inn and had a fantastic time. Having read so many superlative filled reviews before we went I was concerned the hotel would not live up to my expectations, I need not have worried it exceeded most of them.

We had a deluxe room (these are the more expensive rooms) which had everything we needed. It was very spacious, the sunken shower was something we had not seen before and we loved sitting on the terrace with a drink from the fridge or cup of tea watching the wildlife particularly the humming birds.

The pool was great, we had it all to ourselves for a couple of days. We enjoyed making our own cocktails at the self serve bar and using the floats provided to laze away the minutes. The beach is ok we had 2 really good days for snorkelling when it was very clear and we saw loads of different fish and 2 days when it was choppier and the sand was churned up and you could see very little. The beach was the one thing that I found disappointing. As previous reviewers have said it needs smartening up, some umbrellas had only one bed under them some had none and some tables from the pool area were on the beach. The metal fence is not very attractive and not helped by having a dustbin at the end of it, for this reason I much preferred the beach on the other side.

The food was outstanding, I'm vegetarian and food always becomes a problem on holidays but other than a couple of lunchtimes when there was not much of a selection for me the food was the best I've had on any holiday. When the staff realised I was vegetarian and didn't have a lot of choice the chef started to cook something specially for me at lunchtime which was very much appreciated. My husband loved all the food even dishes he wasn't sure about turned out to be delicious. The choice of wine was good 2 reds 2 whites and a rose were offered every night.

We did the fitness trail and tried the yoga and pilates classes, the pavilion is stunning and we enjoyed the classes but felt they would have been quite difficult for complete beginners.

I can't put my finger on what it is exactly that makes EWI so special but from the minute we arrived and were shown to our room we felt completely relaxed. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The staff are professional as you would expect at this sort of resort but some went out of their way to be
friendly and chatty and take an interest in us. We have never returned to a hotel before but EWI will
definitely change this, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gracie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a lovely review, and I like the constructive comments you made regarding our left hand side beach , the one we call "Horlicks".

New improvements have recently been made to the boundary fence, sixty feet of attractive green trellis fencing now hide the metal one, and regarding beach furniture , a full compliment of beach loungers are now back in place from being serviced and fitted with new slings.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Read the review by BigGCary it says it all!!
Spent 2 weeks at this fantastic hotel beginning of May. We had a Superior room that was spacious, air conditioned and had a lovely patio overlooking the garden.
The food is of exceptionally high standard, with touches of al a carte, wonderful barbecues and outstanding wine matches. The bars are stocked with international brands, champagne and cocktails are all of a high standard.
Gareth the General Manager is very visible and approachable and all of the staff seem happy to work there. Staff are polite, friendly and really want to make your stay enjoyable. I would like to thank each and every-one of them, too many to name, as we felt they were all wonderful.
I will however, give a special mention to Narcis who runs the water sports, he taught me to sail solo in a Hobie cat, in just 5 days and was an extremely friendly, patient and encouraging instructor. This was an amazing achievement for an inexperienced, 'mature' lady! Thank you so much.
The entertainment is very traditional, and the jazz band was fantastic. Beach is small and pretty, shallow sloping into calm sea. Pool area is lovely, plenty of sun beds and a swim up 'serve yourself bar'.
This hotel is ideal for a peaceful, relaxing escape and we would definitely return and recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We paid for a Superior room , but I did take a look in the cheaper deluxe rooms and thought they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for seven nights in the mini suite, absolute heaven, waking up to the sound of the sea.
Service is excellent all staff are so attentive and friendly.
Can't fault it really a very relaxing experience our, only disappointment........ no lobster!
Met some lovely people too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenmorangie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is one if the nicest hotels I've stayed at anywhere in the world. It's perfect for relaxing as it's very quiet and peaceful, and the staff are so friendly they will do anything to make you feel welcome. The food and drink were of an extremely high standard.

Don't go to this resort if you want nightlife or a packed activity schedule, although there were excellent options for non motorised watersports, the aim of this hotel is relaxation. Make sure you watch the sunset from the beach, it's one of the best locations on that stretch of coastline.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a superior room, the standard rooms have more character and are just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1302holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
7.0 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
924 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing