We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is perfect - relaxing, delicious food and totally unlike the other big resort hotels. Everything mentioned in the other reviews is true but none quite sum up how great it is. We arrived to be given rum punch and cold towels, we were then shown to our lovely room.
The pool was lovely and so was the beach. Everything was very close together and easy to access.
Because it was our honeymoon we were offered a private dining experience which was wonderful - in one of the gazebos by the beach. Very romantic!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melonh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    62
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
134
567
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'm trying to find the right words to describe the East Winds Inn without sounding like I'm being paid to write about it. It was wonderful. Wonderful wonderful wonderful. Maybe it was the attention to the little details, such as when we arrived hot and tired after our transfer being immediately given ice cold face towels and a glass of Champagne... a good way to start the trip! Someone took our bags and we were walked, glass in hand, to our chalet which was nestled in the beautiful landscaped gardens. I saw my first hummingbird. We arrived just in time to head to the beach and watch the sun go down over the sea. Dinner was exceptional. A genuine restaurant-quality three course meal topped and tailed with amuse-bouche at the start and coffee and digestif to finish.

Our bed was big and comfortable and the chalet well equipped. It was nice to be able to make our own tea or coffee, or crack open a beer and hang out on the veranda without worrying about mini-bar charges. Our chalet was air conditioned which is helpful for all of us who struggle to sleep on sticky summer nights. No creepy-crawlies to be seen; the only uninvited guest was a little gecko which became our de-facto pet for the week and a reluctant model for my budding wildlife photography ambitions.

As for activities, I spent a lot of time snorkelling around the two reefs which flank the bay and are accessible directly from the beach. There is a good variety of flora and fauna including some very impressive brain corals and schools of blue tang. I also saw a lion fish (from which, like the spiny urchins, you want to keep your distance). Along with the snorkels, goggles and flippers there were kayaks, pedalos and so on which were available to use during the day. All in all, there was plenty to keep us entertained for the whole week without having to leave the grounds.

I want to make one more comment. It is the staff who really made the holiday so special. All the way from the General Manager Gareth, Hopkins the chef and waitress Mavis; nothing was too much trouble.

We would absolutely recommend the East Winds Inn to anyone and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely positive review and we like the title " The reality ....."

I'm interested to note your comments on the reefs, for some time they have been recovering nicely from years being clogged up with silt, former guests who happened to be marine biologists conducted studies on our behalf, the results were very positive.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wow, after moving from the UK to Holland we desperately needed a copy of our wedding certificate. We got married at Eastwinds in 2008 (a beautiful wedding and stay, by the way) and so tried for 3 months to get hold of the registrar in St Lucia via different avenues to no avail. I then tried Eastwinds and as usual absolutely amazing service. Within a week we have a knock at the door and it was FEDEX with our certificate. Yes, we had to pay but the speed was great and from other people's experiences, could have taken months to get. So a huge thank you to Glenda and the gang at the most beautiful resort in the world. Michelle and Nick

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for posting a thank you message to us, for securing an original copy of your 2008 wedding certificate.

Hats off to Glenda and front office colleagues, it was not so easy, however once they had identified the registrar it was relatively plain sailing.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I don't know where to begin except East Winds is the most beautiful place myself and my husband have ever been and experienced the moment you arrive to when we left we totally fell in love with everything which made it our dream holiday we can't thank every member of staff enough from the bottom of our hearts how welcoming friendly hard working and how special and lovely you made us feel thank you . We took so many photos but the best memories are in our head and heart . We now truly understand why people return not only to St Lucia but to East Winds .

Room Tip: All the cottages are set in lovely beautiful surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, it is much appreciated.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to East Winds in the not to distant future.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from a 12 night break at this beautiful place. We also got married here which was out of this world, Sylvanus the gardener beautifully decorated our chosen place on the beach with fresh flowers picked from the garden, the whole setting was amazing.
The staff are all so genuinely lovely and nothing is too much trouble. A special thanks to Mavis and Haige who we truly loved.
The food is so delicious and the choice is just amazing, the detail and preparation that goes into the meals is of very high standard.
We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post a lovely review, it was a pleasure for us to host your special day at East Winds, we look forward to seeing you again, indeed for a wedding anniversary.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having recently returned after a fabulous 2 weeks at beautiful East Winds, I would like to pass on our sincere gratitute to all the wonderfull staff at East Winds whose hard work made our holiday very special! It was so nice to see everybody again, 'the lovely' Hannah, Lilia , Miriam , Debbie, Fina , Elie, Windell, Simeone, Gurvy, Haige, Kerwin ,Jonah, Narcis, kensley, etc , love to you all and thank you!

This was our second visit to East Winds inn, as we rebooked almost the moment we landed after our first trip last year and once again East Winds was fantastic! The beautifully manicured gardens, lovingly tended by Sylvanus and his team of gardeners are breathtaking! Not only are they a Botanical delight, they host a huge array of birds, little frogs, small gecko lizards, land crabs etc!Just sitting outside our cottage spotting humming birds, listening to the cacophony of buzzes, chirps and whistles was shear joy!

Once again the staff shone! Everybody is so warm and friendly and a pleasure to be among, It really is like spending your holiday with friends and family, a true credit to East Winds! Always with a smile, often a laugh (especially Windell Bird), and forever with the fabulous St Lucian warm hospitality!
The food was, once again, wonderful, lunch time bbq with freshly cooked Dorado, Marlin, Lamb chops etc was very enjoyable, (take an outside table for this), all cooled by one of Kerwins epically good frozen Margaritas! Evening meals were a treat, nibbles and a cocktail in the Bamboo lounge to start then sit down to 4 courses of very tasty, well presented food accompanied by jazz musicians or a pianist! Special thanks to Charlie and his band, Manmay Lakay, who we always enjoy immensely!
Rooms, again very comfortable, with a nice 'homely' feel to them, always spotlessly cleaned everyday! We even asked for the same room again because it was like returning home!

Well it has been a week since our return, I have recovered from jet lag, 'over' the long and tiring journey home but still have a pain in my heart caused by the separation from my St Lucian family! 'Til we meet again!

Our Kindest Regards

Steve, Joanna & Amber

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely positive review, it is much appreciated.

Your patois is not bad either, however there is no mention of the fishing !

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Exhausted from our long yet worth while journey. This was our second stay in the glorious East Winds hotel. It was like slipping back into your favour item of comfortable clothing. Again from our first meeting in the office we were welcomed with open arms back to our second family. We love you and miss you all individually for all the hard work and effort that you all put into making our stay the amazing holiday it has and will always be.

Thank you again and we will be back xx

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Goldfish30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review, and I know the entire East Winds family would look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd time.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
7.1 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, West Indies, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing