We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The crown jewel of the Caribbean”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Snow Bound Canuck
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The crown jewel of the Caribbean”
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I've just returned from my third trip to East Winds Inn on the North West coast of St. Lucia. Although I knew what to expect from my previous two visits (2007, 2008), I was still happy to find this beautiful location in such pristine condition. Not only were the grounds and gardens more lush than ever, the resort has added two fantastic open air pavilions for playing cards, yoga, and even ping-pong. They have also refined the network of paths that wander through the property, and put in a beautiful new bridge next to the beach side restaurant. I did a lot more exploring of the island during this stay, which only reminded me of how good one has it at East Winds. I went to see the famous Pitons in the South where you find some of the other nice hotels, but I don't think I'd trade the view for the easy access to the beach and easy walking around the property you have at EW. Again, this year, I was greeted by so many familiar faces - not only the first-rate staff, but also a good portion of the guests that recognized me from last year. I think I can now say why this resort has such a high percentage of return guests - it's like a reunion with great friends from around the world! Just before I was to depart, the guys were setting up some brand-new Hobie sailing catamarans and two new pedalo boats. I will definitely be taking them out when I return next year. Also, this year I was able to see my first 'phenomenal' St. Lucian sunset. Almost as if the sky was painted with hues of orange, red, pink, yellow and purple - something you must experience! I think the one thing I would want to tell you if you're considering a visit to East Winds is to know what you're in for: peace. Peace that comes from such a unique landscape quaint caribbean villas set amongst lush tropical gardens. Peace that comes from a calibre of guest second to none anywhere I've traveled in the world. Peace that comes from the ability to fully and truly relax. And ultimately peace that comes from the attention to detail at ever turn. At East Winds you are not just a room number - you are a guest. You will become a friend. If you do make it down, say hi to George, Marilyn, Gareth, Reynolds, Carrington, Vincent, Titus, Didier, Nick, Hannah, Melissa, Mouse, Harry, Henry, Zeena, Nicole, Pearl, Juliana, Linton, Kerwin, Deb, Sylvanus & Merle (just to name a few of my friends there)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    64
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
148
597
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

East Winds is an all-inclusive property located about a 75 mins drive from the St. Lucia International Airport at Vieux Fort, (UVF) at the south end of the island. Taxi fare is us$80 each way.

Seasoned travelers might consider flying into Bridgetown, Barbados, then using LIAT to fly to G.F. Charles Airport, (SLU), at the north end of the island, followed by a 10 minute taxi rather than trekking across St. Lucia is an often dodgy taxi.

Under no circumstances allow your taxi driver at UVF to take the "bypass" road around Castries, unless you want a vigorously nauseous start or finish your holiday.

We would classify this property as "barefoot elegance". If you are looking for a mega resort, this is not the property for you.

One has to remember that St. Lucia and Barbados seem to cater principally to British clientele, who in many cases, have differing standards than North American clientele. You'll see this in spades in Barbados with hotels that would be unacceptable to North American's but just fine for UK based "package holidays". As a general rule, the bar is not set as high as in other areas of the world.

For this reason, it easy for properties like East Winds in St. Lucia or Little Arches in Barbados to stand out.

The property clearly caters to a mainly British clientele, which in many respects, is charming to those of us from "the colonies". It is also fair to point out the average age of the guests whilst we were there was at least 60. We would have difficulty recommending the property to the "under 40" crowd. We definitely noticed a "clustering" of nationalities / cultures, though it was not a big deal.

The pre-dinner tradition of cocktails in the lounge prior to dinner is alive and well here. Gentlemen, although this is the Caribbean, the sun hasn't quite set on the Empire here so long pants are a necessity at dinner.

The food at East Wind is clearly of a higher quality than most all inclusives and approaches Relais and Chateaux standards.

The accomodations are nice, though not luxurious. For example, the kingsize bed is actually two twins pushed together. We haven't seen that in a while. The bed linens are good, but not luxurious. The bath products are good. Prospective guests with mobility issues would probably find this resort to be a bit of a challenge.

The beach is very nice, though because of it's orientation, one has to move around throughout the day to catch the sun. There are enough beach chairs to go around and the ridiculous and obnoxious practice of "reserving" loungers at un-Godly early morning hours was not overtly in evidence.

The practice of "reserving" beach chairs is abhorent to most North Americans and hotels that tolerate it do so at their peril.

The pool is set back from the ocean and is quite nice. The self-serve swim up bar was a nice, fun touch. We haven't seen that concept before.

It would appear a small fitness centre was under construction during our stay. This would be a welcome addition as we suspect it would be unwise to go for a run outside the property.

The staff were all very polite and more than willing to serve. No issues here whatsoever.

We did notice what smelt like a mild septic field odor along the main roadway in the property from the office towards the pool. That should be looked into.

On a couple of occasions, loud music could be heard from the neighbouring resort, (the Windjammer), located about 500m down the beach.

The digger mentioned in other reviews was quite annoying, but is likely a temporary issue.

Of greater concern was the nightime cacophony of dogs barking. We're not sure what the solution, if any is to this as the property is adjacent to a typical caribbean residential neighbourhood and dogs will be dogs. They do not, however, contribute to the peace and quiet associated with a property at this price point.

All in all, East Winds delivers on it's value proposition and there is definitely an attention to detail here that is often hard to find in this area of the world.

If you are considering a holiday in St. Lucia / Barbados / St. Vincent, and you fit a slightly more mature demographic, you will likely be quite happy at East Winds.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TedBellScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We had a fabulous time at East Winds. I would not describe the hotel as fancy, more that it has a great charm. You will find everything that you need. It is not long before you feel you have been there forever and we quickly felt that we would want to return again. Delightful staff, varied menus and plentiful drink. We came back feeling we had truly relaxed. A great place to stay. Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aboyandagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

yes the reviews are all true - it's a lovely hotel, the food is good and the staff are lovely. However for most of the week we were there there was a JCB on the hill ovelooking the hotel banging away with a pile driver - tends to dent the experience a little. According to our taxi driver this had been going on for months. We got a letter from the acting manager saying that they regretted the noise and the manager would speak to us on his return to the island. This never happened. Don't let this put you off but confirm the noise situation before you go!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, President/Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 14 February 2009
IT’S ALL TRUE…..NO IF’S AND’S BUT’S OR MAYBE’S

The preceding posting and rating is based on conditions and circumstance outside of East Winds Inn’s control, and does not reflect upon the day to day management and operation of East Winds Inn. In the posting writer’s own admission, all of the positive reviews for East Winds Inn (over 95%) are justified - “it’s all true” – the hotel “is lovely”, the staff “are lovely”, the food “is good”. The hotel was rated at the highest possible level under two of the most important categories, being service and cleanliness. The writer has also stated he would return.

The guests complaint comes from temporary construction activity on a nearby resort, separated from East Winds Inn by a residential subdivision, as well as a good portion of our 12 acre landscaped grounds. This nearby resort was building a retaining wall to stop the slippage of some of their buildings down a hill, hence, there was some urgency in its completion. On numerous occasions, our management asked for their contractor to be sensitive to the impact of the construction - not only on our guests, but their own.

We have been guaranteed that the nearby hotel’s construction work will be finished on or before February 15th, 2009. Accordingly, guests of East Winds Inn should feel fully comfortable in coming to the resort and enjoying the same serenity and positive holiday experience as virtually every guest we have had the pleasure to host in the past.

Thank you for the opportunity of clarifying this situation and pointing out the basis of this rating insofar as East Winds Inn is concerned.

We appreciate your continued interest and support of East Winds Inn.

Sincerely,

George J. Reti
President/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We travelled to St Lucia in January for our wedding and stayed at East Winds for a week. We were absolutely in love with the hotel it truly is a paradise. Having found the hotel in the holiday brochure, we did some research on trip advisor and could not find a single bad report which meant we had definitely chosen well. We arrived on Friday evening, a few hours later than planned due to aircraft delays but on arrival were met at reception with a hot towel, most welcome after our journey. Our host took us for a tour of the hotel grounds before taking us to our room, and we were amazed by the beauty and tranquillity of the place. Set in a secluded bay, there are only 30 rooms in the hotel, all semi detached bungalows spread throughout beautiful gardens, whilst the restaurant, cocktail lounge and bar are by the beach.

We had booked into a deluxe room, which was a semi-detached bungalow in the corner of the gardens, perfect for newlyweds! The room was very spacious with an 8ft wide bed but we were mainly taken aback by the size of the shower, it was awesome, I want one of those at home!!!

As it was our honeymoon, the staff had arranged towels in the shape of a heart and 2 swans on the bed with rose petals - what a lovely touch! And there was even champagne in the fridge to welcome us (along with a bottle of rum, lager and numerous soft drinks). The minibar was restocked daily and anything specific that you wanted, you only needed to ask.

The food was exceptional, we particularly enjoyed the barbeque on our first night with lobster and steak. Every meal was a carefully prepared feast and the 4 course dinners were out of this world. The chef's are clearly very talented.

The staff are incredibly friendly and although we were not getting married at the resort, they did everything to make us feel special. On our wedding day, my husband went over to his best mans house to get ready whilst my bridesmaid and my parents came to my hotel. I checked that this would be ok, and there were no problems at all, infact they even brought champagne up to the room for us! When we departed, all the staff stood at the reception and waved us off which was just lovely and when we returned after the wedding we met some of the guests in the cocktail lounge where the barman opened a bottle of champagne for us all. It was an amazing day.

We would definitely stay at East Winds again. If you are thinking of visiting St Lucia - stay here - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loubielou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Our family of 5 returned to East Winds for our second consecutive Christmas. We were greeted at the front office with cold towels and refreshing water and from that moment on, had a totally stress free 7 days. The staff seem very happy at East Winds. The Generall Manager, the bartenders and servers, even the head gardner and security person, and the East Winds cat, Thomas were all familiar from the previous year and greeted us warmly and made us feel very welcome. We again stayed in the side by side duplex unit, with a lovely veranda overlooking the lush grounds. Although it only takes a couple of minutes, it's actually a nice little walk down from these units, through the gardens and by the pool to the dining room every night.
We love the tradition of the guests congregating in the Bamboo Lounge every night before proceeding into the adjoining dining room. It allows an opportunity to be sociable if you want to be, without having to be on a night to night basis. There were 3 other families whom we met from the previous year and it was fun to share drinks and an occasional meal with them. We found the guests to be very engaging, at the same time providing each other with plenty of space.
The food is delicious and truly unbelievable especially for an all inclusive. It is always carefully planned and prepared by the French Chefs and presented beautifully. There is a different menu on the table each night and guests are asked to select a choice of appetizer, entree and dessert along with accompanying wines each night. The servers who always look very smart even change their uniforms to suit the theme of the evening. The Barbeque night is a big hit with a live St. Lucian steel band and amazing barbeque of lobster, steaks, local fish and locally made sausage. My husband's favorite is the Christmas day lunch which is served buffet style. We feasted on the most delicious turkey, roast beef, ham and I believe, goose, in a private gazebo right on the beach.
Live music is a real tradition at East Winds and throughout the week, there are numerous entertainers, (it seems either at lunch or dinner on a daily basis) ranging from a group of elderly St. Lucian gentlement playing St. Lucian music, accomplished pianist entertaining on East Wind's own Steinway piano, and on Christmas Eve a choir of school aged children. .
We only went off the property one day for deep sea fishing, arranged by the General Manager . The boys were thrilled as they each caught a barracuda and we also saw a sea turtle and two sperm whales. We also went over to the resort next door to rent their hobbie cats several times. But other than that, even our university and high school aged children were very content to just enjoy the ambience and relaxation offered at East Winds. Because there are only around 30 units in the whole resort, the beach is not crowded at all - no beach chairs lined up in rows like at some of the other resorts. Each group can have their own private area of the beach and the beach is so beautiful with so much sand, the water crystal clear and the staff so nice that you can't help feeling happy!!
Will we go back? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happyateastwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Previous good reviews say it all about this exquisite holiday location. We visited for 2 weeks at the end of Novemeber through to early December and had a wonderful time meeting some lovely people, to include other visitors and all the staff. Indeed, the whole experience was enhanced by the friendly, professional and helpful attitude of all staff members. There is absolutely no doubt that we will return in the future for another dose of total luxury and relaxation.

  • Liked — Excellent Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JTWJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
7.0 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
924 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, West Indies, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing